Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces 2

POPEYE

Got to feel sorry for Benny, getting beaten by Bellamy is becoming a ritual. The referees were shit as usual, a couple of early decisions against the Broncos were rubbish and they were 'searching for' instead of 'needing to' promote stoppages as is the Aussie way

If a ball is lying on the ground just before the tryline and a player lands on it with his chest, rolls it and ends up around his dick over the line it's a try . . . lifting and separation is the key. Not that it mattered that Chambers did a variation, Bellamy in the press conference was not a happy chappy, his mob's cavalier approach to the game didn't deserve a victory and he knew it

POPEYE

Roosters should beat the Rabbitohs and they will if Connor Watson is given a run, Pearce is playing well but Friend is not smart enough for a modern #9 and Keary is getting 'worked out' . . . Robbo needs a surprise weapon. Madge needs luck

Panthers/Knights no contest?

Admittedly the Broncos have their abnormal home ground/timeslot head start but even Gunga Din wouldn't have them favourites over the Raiders . . . or is it Sticky's week off again

Seagles last week must have been a mirage otherwise you'd think the Dogs, who won the Dumb & Dumber battle, would be unders

With Norman playing the Eels/Sharks should be match of the round . . . it's really Norman v Maloney, the rest are just bit players

Titans won't have to put up with Hayne for a while yet thank f**k, no Zillman a bonus, so it should be full steam ahead back on culture track. Cowboys should have gotten over their golden point jet lag but Green has to look to rebuilding . . . hopefully with newcomers

Storm will flog the Tigers . . . at Leichhardt?. . . Bellamy will have to get away with killing a f**king Chinaman

I'm tipping the Dragons because I give up on the Warriors as long as Johnson is calling the shots . . . predicting 'luck' has nothing to do with real RL

POPEYE

I'm out of touch with what's going on off the field atm and couldn't give a shit anyway but Frawley can't be any worse than Mbye. Dogs will surprise one way or another in this game . . . shame there has to be a loser . . . wink wink

Strange as it seems the Roosters will have to step up against the Seagles, its all about mojo and both teams could be on the verge of regaining theirs

Only thing to like about the Rabbitohs is Braidon Burns, this mob's too erratic for mine. Finally GGM looks to become a regular Cowboy, pity Ponga is an outcast because of the Knights, not sure NQ can afford to be picky

Is it worth the Knights hiring a bus

Raiders are heavy favourites against the Eels . . . hmmm

If Melbourne continue to play the way they have been the Panthers should win if they play the way they can. I'll be counting the tackles again . . . as I do when the Storm struggle

How the f**k are the Warriors favourites to beat anyone, Foran will have to play 80 and the Titans whiz kids will have to have a downer . . . that is if luck plays no part

Go Mary . . . f**k the Tigers

POPEYE

Seems Kline hasn't forgotten what happened when Bellamy had him suspended for incompetence a couple of seasons ago, still the NRL send him to Melbourne every chance they get . . . you did your best Ashley but suck f**king shit

POPEYE

Nice to be woken up by Sunshine Kookaburras but it's good to be back in country NSW, crikey I missed Fox.

Apparently Benny doesn't believe Roberts is fairdinkum, just up to more of his f**king attention seeking bullshit, why else would he make The Frown Clown play 'injured'. Broncos should be favourites in their regular spot but the Roosters are on their way to where Benny wants his mob to be

I give up knocking the Knights, they are showing as much intestinal fortitude to their coach as any other team, they deserve respect for their efforts. Dogs however aren't in the same happy place and are expected to do better with what they've got . . . ironic really

Been a long time since I played musical chairs, should ask the Rabbitohs and Panthers to remind me of the rules

What can you say about the Seagles/Dragons except well, well, well . . . whoda guessed this game would be intriguing for a different reason. Pity Mary doesn't have the full contingent, be a shame if it's a blowout

Titans players need to get a move on if they want to wipe that f**king smirk from Hayne's face, be miserable if they give him the 'can't do it all by myself' crutch to lean on. Raiders need to play like Vikings, not periodic war maidens

Tigers will remain a bad suit, never to be tailor made . . . Cowboys should take them to the cleaners

If you gave Cronk to the Warriors would they be good enough to beat a Cronked Eels . . . the former would be a waste and the latter fascinating. Parramatta not gelling as well as I expected but it's early days

With Maloney playing against the team he wanted to become an Original Biggie in anything is likely to happen, continuing to prove he should've replaced Widdop is a lifelong desire . . . did James just say Cronk on the market could see him out of a job . . . sarcasm at its best

POPEYE

Some f**king drips under pressure in the SMH have it that Foran will be on Melbourne's radar now that Cronk has found the sweet spot irresistible. Bellamy stooping to poach 'an established match winner' doesn't ring true, why would he want a cum stain on his clipboard this late in the piece

If it were to happen I'd rather see Maloney return to where he's always belonged in a clean swap for Cronk and give that lovely lady of his a chance to buy the swimsuit of her dreams. Foran may need Bellamy more than Bellamy needs him but as always it would be better for RL if Melbourne do what they do best . . . find instead of beg, borrow or steal

Throwing Brodie Croft a #7 jumper couldn't be anywhere near as bad as what the Tigers are doing, paying overs for an under is far less unacceptable than giving a newie a chance to prove himself . . . especially one that Cronk says is better raw material than he was

POPEYE

You can blame whoever you like for the Roosters lack of application but the Broncos need for redemption would have been hampered a great deal more if Robbo had a smarter #9. Marvellous the head start a 'need' to win has over a 'want' to win

POPEYE

If Hasler has a headache it's not from deciding which player to pick as his playmaker, no Frawley last night and Dessie would've been banging his head against the shithouse door once again . . . this morning he would've been kneeling on a carpet facing Victoria

Don't anyone feel sorry for Brown, the Knights coach is a bright ray of sunshine for supporters, I'd rather be him than Maguire or Hasler, nothing haphazard about the way Newcastle are travelling compared to the 'favoured glamourous' Rabbitohs or Dogs

POPEYE

Mary Mary quite contrary, how does your garden grow . . . thank f**k he doesn't go to the games by taxi. What a coach and Widdop, such a great 5/8 and what about Mighty McCrone, who said he was a bum

The Dragons have gone from nightmare to dream, I never lost faith it would happen but how it was done needs bottling, there's more than one club that would buy a carton of Mary's brew. Offloads and speed to the line are the obvious but what is the Colonel Sanders key ingredient . . . maybe just plain old f**king discipline

If Brooks had of played the Tigers might not have made the kneejerk a reality, I'd rather have Moses if I was the coach. The game was only a wanker's big deal, the Cowboys would've struggled against anyone last might . . . the vibes were nasty from the get go

POPEYE

If NSW don't build their team around Maloney and I hope they don't, Daley's got f**king rocks for brains. James is a Cronk/Smith/Slater antidote and has always been a thorn in their cumulative side. He has the right amount of niggle to go with the footy brain and always pops up where he's not wanted . . . I hope he finishes his career in Melbourne

Better still, Laurie should ask Maloney to pick the NSW team, all the bloke needs is players around him that understand what he's capable of

wibble

If NSW don't build their team around Maloney and I hope they don't, Daley's got f**king rocks for brains. James is a Cronk/Smith/Slater antidote and has always been a thorn in their cumulative side. He has the right amount of niggle to go with the footy brain and always pops up where he's not wanted . . . I hope he finishes his career in Melbourne

Better still, Laurie should ask Maloney to pick the NSW team, all the bloke needs is players around him that understand what he's capable of

I'd "like" this (which I'm sure you care about...) but for the blasphemous suggestion that Maloney plays out his final days in Melbourne. We poached him fair and square!

I'm biased, but in a Sharks thread I rated Maloney up there with Smith, Cronk and Thurston when discussing the new wave of players who think their worth $1 million plus per season, suggesting these are the only players worth that. Maloney may not quite be at the same level as those three, but he is the next best general/ game manager in the game, and just ices so many games for us.

I'm with The Mad Hatter, thanks for another intriguing wrap of the intricacies of the round.

POPEYE

If I wanted to be 'liked' ol' mate I'd live in the Melbourne forum and use my gift of the gab to rack up a score, 'likes' actually defeat the purpose of this thread . . . no-one likes a f**king smart arse and that's fine with me

wibble

I rarely find that something that is liked by a lot of people, and something that is worth anything, are one and the same.

POPEYE

Must admit I'm surprised how well Ben Hunt tackles, maybe I haven't been taking enough notice or maybe he's determined to prove that he'll be missed next year. What better way to reduce the wanker stigma over one dropped ball than to make himself hard to replace

As fortune has it the Dragons are going gangbusters, could it be Mary's mob are influenced by proving that Hunt is not the only saviour. Since he's had a great start to the season Ben can now take his time 'overcoming' a bad hammy

Everyone except Benny will be happy, Hunt gets paid without the risk of dropping form, Mary has a safer 'keep up with Hunt' wand to wave and Dragon supporters may not have to wait for next year

POPEYE

Holland is back for the Dogs which is good news for supporters interested in talent but Souths have a better chance the longer Frawley sits on his arse. Doesn't Des realise his new playmaker is built like a normal human being . . . shouldn't need to be rolled out spasmodically

Robbo is determined to make a point with Mitchell, not sure Newcastle is the 'easy meat' that opposition coaches should use to resurrect discipline. Brown is no f**king Eeyore, the Roosters will have to return to their best. In any case Newcastle supporters will do something Sydney supporters won't . . . turn up no matter what

The overrated Milford has a chance to prove he's not, even if he equates consistency with Aeroplane Jelly, what better time than against a team that is struggling to field one

Only the Tigers/Knights have scored less points than Melbourne, every loss is a bungee jump for Bellamy's mob, defence is the shaky rope that keeps bouncing them back. Seagles/Storm will each look for what the other needs in this game

Raiders/Warriors will be made intriguing by the way Foran plays. He is the main catalyst amongst what could be, considering the teams involved, a series of unfortunate events . If RTS tries to prove the salary cap is not the f**king joke it is and Johnson either takes the line on or if he can't passes straight to Foran, it may be a great game

Dragons at half the return of the Cowboys . . . nothing I can add to make that any more fascinatingly f**king outrageous

I'm not one of the Panther>Premiers set, even though the cup is a poor man's Shield and Hook is in with as much chance as anyone why his mob are favourites in this game is beyond me . . . does Pepper on the grass scare away sharks

Tigers/Eels is anyone's guess, Arthur is disadvantaged by having no French and Cleary is advantaged by having no Brooks . . . Moses will visit the mount for this one

POPEYE

I've returned to the Sunshine Coast, sequestered away to do more additions to a family home, haven't watch a game so far . . . doesn't look like I've missed much.

By the scores it seems the Rabbitohs have died in the arse, the Knights have disappointingly capitulated, Milford is no Hunt and Seagles/Storm are still playing silly buggers

POPEYE

Thanks for the bump dopey, feel free to keep this thread on the front page while I'm away and can't watch footy . . . unimaginary f**kwits come in handy. When I come back maybe I can help you with your dribbling problem

POPEYE

Managed an opportunity to watch the game last night but only on 9. Ray Warren is as f**ked as my knees , once the Broncos took ascendency and with Klein refereeing I reneged . . . pity I couldn't foresee the end