Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Reds v Mounties - Rd11

Don't forget this game is Sunday at 3pm!

On the back of a poor performance on the road last week and 6 straight losses the Reds are going to be backs to the wall and needing all the support the fans can muster for this tough encounter. Mounties currently sit in 3rd spot having lost just 2 games. With 4 home games out of the next 5 we need to start winning some games for the good of the club so come on Reds lets see some WA pride, dig in and have a go!!

b0rt

and dont forget to come a couple hours earlier and watch the northern broncos play the eastern titans kicking off at 1.15

Alehana

F***, work again, i thought the game was next week and got next week off instead............... gahh, i'll be able to hear it, basically just down the road.

Nuke

I thought it was an odd choice for the WA Reds to play this game on a Sunday arvo given there's no seniors games this weekend and the juniors play on Sunday - meaning no-one has footy commitments on Saturday, but juniors and their parents won't be available on the Sunday.

I'll definitely be there!

You playing for the Northern Broncos this weekend Bort?

b0rt

sure am mate
i agree that it should probably have been a saturday game though

Roland

The Mounties team in Big League includes Jovan Clarke on a 6 man bench. He has never played for the club so I dont know how accurate that team is. When he was playing NRL for Souths about 4 years ago he was rated as the fastest rugby league player in Australia.

albert

Its more than likely because the Eastern states have a public holiday on the Monday.

Date: 07/06/2008Reds v Mounties - WARZONE - Sunday!

What better way to spend a Sunday?
This weekend the boys take on the Mounties who are currently in third position on the ladder. Their team is led by representative player Drew Dalton who at half back is there main play maker.
Dalton is backed up by an experienced and well drilled line up which has been very competitive over the past few years.
Reds Coach Chris Dever feels “the talent in the team has the ability to take it to any side in the competition even though they are currently sitting outside the five. It is important that we maintain our possession and play our full sets of six as part of that process which is something we haven't done in resent weeks.”
“If we can keep pressure on the Mounties with a simple game plan it will make sure we can stay in the game and wear them down which will always give us a chance and playing ay home will help”
We hope to see you all at Members Equity cheering the boys on, what better way to spend your Sunday!
Gates Open at 11:15pm
Under 15’s kick off at 11:20 & Colts kick off at 1:20pm

Main Game: WA Reds v Mounties kicks off at 3:00pm
See You At The WARZONE!

I have uploaded a load of photos from this game to the Reds facebook page.

n1196907613_30056466_8426.jpg

n1196907613_30056496_4851.jpg

Nuke

Wow, it really is like park footy over there, eh?
The teams that travel to Perth to play the Reds must be in awe at the stadium the Reds have.

WA Reds lost again today, going down 34-28. They were up 28-16 about midway through the 2nd half, but the Mounties clawed their way back and snuck ahead with about 10mins to go. Next week is another home game for the WA Reds with them playing Erina Eagles on Saturday night at 7:30pm.

b0rt

we played pretty well for the most part
that performance would have beaten a lot of JB cup sides, just not the brokeback mounties
defence on our right side near the line fell apart at time letting in 2 tries in the second half
mcmenemy should not be 5/8!
hopefully phillis is back soon

Nuke

It was definitely a more 80minute effort than any other game of theirs that I've seen. Usually they clock off for 20mins and the opposition score a few tries in that time. They kinda did the same for the 60-70minute mark period, but it wasn't as apparent to me.

Hey Bort, you guys had a close one, eh? When you skipped to an early lead, I thought it was gonna be a cricket score! I was the guy in the WA Reds jersey and Knights hat that sat right behind your bench during your game. Where was the rest of your team? 15 players isn't much considering it's a Joondalup-NorthBeach combined team. I guess there was a few guys playing in Alice Springs?

joondalup_giant

the Reds are so patchy, they had the game won at the end of the 1st half, then feel asleep in th 2nd!

any1 else notice how bad Egglestone is in defense?

thought Ryan Dickson played pretty well, his kicking game was awsome!

There nuggety halfback Drew Dalton was the differnce between the 2 side in the end imo.

Nuke

He's a pretty solid unit eh?!

How many tries did he end up getting? Was it 2 or 3? I have a feeling it was the latter.

Thought it was one of our best performances of the season and that last 20 in the 1st half was outstanding. Shame we couldn't go on with it after we scored first in the 2nd but they have very classy half backs and if we had had either their 6 or 7 in our team we'd have one easily.

What was Mcmenemy thinking at the end? If he'd have passed it right we'd have strolled in and leveled the game! We badly need a decent half back! Thought our pack did really well against a much bigger pack and our wingers were outstanding. The ref piggy backed them put of their haf a few times which led directly to their trys.

A big, big improvement on last week and if we play like that next week we should win.

Around 1800 crowd I'd say.

joondalup_giant

Thought it was one of our best performances of the season and that last 20 in the 1st half was outstanding. Shame we couldn't go on with it after we scored first in the 2nd but they have very classy half backs and if we had had either their 6 or 7 in our team we'd have one easily.

What was Mcmenemy thinking at the end? If he'd have passed it right we'd have strolled in and leveled the game! We badly need a decent half back! Thought our pack did really well against a much bigger pack and our wingers were outstanding. The ref piggy backed them put of their haf a few times which led directly to their trys.

A big, big improvement on last week and if we play like that next week we should win.

Around 1800 crowd I'd say.

happened twice we had a 2 man over lap and could have scored easily

b0rt

i thought dickson went ok, when he ran at the end though no1 ran with him
hopefully soon we should be able to get back to the combinations/lineup which we had when we were winning games and havent had since we started losing