Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ref and Bunker Decisions

Iamback

You only need to read a gameday thread to see that a rule or a penalty could be blown every second tackle. You may want our game to look like rugby union but I certainly don't.

Attend any game you see the same thing.

Refs spend most of the set calling guys off side.

Then you get the laying in the ruck, hands on the ball the game would be all penalties if that happened

I Bleed Maroon

You only need to read a gameday thread to see that a rule or a penalty could be blown every second tackle. You may want our game to look like rugby union but I certainly don't.

Random idiots in a game day forum on LU is hardly the sort of metric you want to be using.

kurt faulk

I could give two shits whether one team cops 20+ penalties. REF TO THE RULES. If you want to focus so hard on making sure the "flow of the game" remains entertaining, you're on a fast track to WWE territory.

There is a big difference between a "mistake" and an intentional move coached into the players to try and draw an advantage. Paul merkin is absolutely a merkin, but he is right about one thing: 90% of the dramas when it comes to officiating in the NRL find their source in the coaching staff examining rules within an inch of their lives looking for a loophole to exploit. Bellamy, Robinson and Cleary have made their whole careers out of it. It's well past time the NRL tells them to get f**ked; this code wasn't made for them to feather their own nests with.

That dicknose would be the first to complain about all the penalties if that happened. His whole shtick is to complain about something.

I Bleed Maroon

That dicknose would be the first to complain about all the penalties if that happened. His whole shtick is to complain about something.

Then so be it, if that is the case let him make a clown of himself when the chickens come home to roost. The bottom line is there are a million potential penalties that are just being ignored on field arbitrarily because the refs are too terrified to have too much of an influence on the result. The Raiders beating the Titans at GIO on the weekend doesn't surprise anyone, the opposite certainly does and that is the difference. The game should have been over on that one blatant offside that the ref CHOSE not to pull up. It's a penalty goal in GP in front of the sticks. She is either a blind ignorant moron or she made a conscience decision to ignore it, and I wouldn't dare to call it the former.

gerg

Then so be it, if that is the case let him make a clown of himself when the chickens come home to roost. The bottom line is there are a million potential penalties that are just being ignored on field arbitrarily because the refs are too terrified to have too much of an influence on the result. The Raiders beating the Titans at GIO on the weekend doesn't surprise anyone, the opposite certainly does and that is the difference. The game should have been over on that one blatant offside that the ref CHOSE not to pull up. She is either a blind ignorant moron or she made a conscience decision to ignore it, and I wouldn't dare to call it the former.

I can only assume you're referring to Chevy being offside, but you're conveniently ignoring the 28 other indiscretions from the Titans that were also ignored.

I Bleed Maroon

I can only assume you're referring to Chevy being offside, but you're conveniently ignoring the 28 other indiscretions from the Titans that were also ignored.

The key difference being that one decision decided the result, which is binding without any possibility of dispute from the moment full time is blown. The other 28 indiscretions as you call them were just lost in the "flow of the game". That's my point, I don't care if all 28 indiscretions were properly ruled upon. Of course it doesn't make for a very good product, but being just a product isn't what professional sport is supposed to be.

The Titans copping 28 penalties or set restarts or whatever it might be isn't a reflection on the NRL or the officiating, it's a reflection on the Titans and the absolute shitshow they are and have been for years. If Melbourne's wrestlemania had been properly refereed over the past 20 years, they wouldn't have the pedigree they do today (despite the stripped premierships, thanks NRL media) because they don't get to as many Grand Finals off the back of their dogshit methods which were, by the letter of the law in Rugby League for the past 100 years, ILLEGAL. Instead they cop 10+ penalties for ruck infringements per game, and they more than likely miss the 8 every time.....OR, Bellyache wakes up to himself and changes his tactics.

The NRL really don't mind scribbling in the rulebook every single off season, but they are way too good at ignoring what is already written in there.

gerg

The key difference being that one decision decided the result, which is binding without any possibility of dispute from the moment full time is blown. The other 28 indiscretions as you call them were just lost in the "flow of the game". That's my point, I don't care if all 28 indiscretions were properly ruled upon. Of course it doesn't make for a very good product, but being just a product isn't what professional sport is supposed to be.

The Titans copping 28 penalties or set restarts or whatever it might be isn't a reflection on the NRL or the officiating, it's a reflection on the Titans and the absolute shitshow they are and have been for years. If Melbourne's wrestlemania had been properly refereed over the past 20 years, they wouldn't have the pedigree they do today (despite the stripped premierships, thanks NRL media) because they don't get to as many Grand Finals off the back of their dogshit methods which were, by the letter of the law in Rugby League for the past 100 years, ILLEGAL. Instead they cop 10+ penalties for ruck infringements per game, and they more than likely miss the 8 every time.....OR, Bellyache wakes up to himself and changes his tactics.

The NRL really don't mind scribbling in the rulebook every single off season, but they are way too good at ignoring what is already written in there.

Hahaha. I guess that one (non) decision was just another included in the final tally 28 - 10 of "lost in the flow of the game" indiscretions?

Nice little Storm rant too. The wrestle is mostly gone now thankfully but I'm seeing a little of it creeping back into the game. Couldn't hurt to go a little harder on the penalties/6agains to stamp it out.

no name

I don't understand the point Annesley has attempted to make, by singling out Badgers performance. Does he want all the referees to blow 40+ penalties a game? Why doesn't he do the exact some critique and scrutinise every single game and referee the exact same way? Pick out every mistake in every single game and let's see how that goes. What a f***ing imbecile. Very strange to use his weekly platform to go after one of his own referees like that.
I saw it as him saying yeah Badger got the Stewart offside wrong, but she also got all of these wrong too.
It seemed like a really weird way of justifying an incorrect decision.
I don’t think it will ease the pressure on referees making important decisions at the pointy end of games, especially the bunker ref. Do they intervene or not?
I reckon the obstruction leading to the Raiders field goal was a bigger blunder.

Vee

Then so be it, if that is the case let him make a clown of himself when the chickens come home to roost. The bottom line is there are a million potential penalties that are just being ignored on field arbitrarily because the refs are too terrified to have too much of an influence on the result. The Raiders beating the Titans at GIO on the weekend doesn't surprise anyone, the opposite certainly does and that is the difference. The game should have been over on that one blatant offside that the ref CHOSE not to pull up. It's a penalty goal in GP in front of the sticks. She is either a blind ignorant moron or she made a conscience decision to ignore it, and I wouldn't dare to call it the former.
Jason Smith.

Apey

Hahaha. I guess that one (non) decision was just another included in the final tally 28 - 10 of "lost in the flow of the game" indiscretions?

Nice little Storm rant too. The wrestle is mostly gone now thankfully but I'm seeing a little of it creeping back into the game. Couldn't hurt to go a little harder on the penalties/6agains to stamp it out.
Lol merkin just wanted to sook about Melbourne for the 100th time.

gerg

I saw it as him saying yeah Badger got the Stewart offside wrong, but she also got all of these wrong too.
It seemed like a really weird way of justifying an incorrect decision.
I don’t think it will ease the pressure on referees making important decisions at the pointy end of games, especially the bunker ref. Do they intervene or not?
I reckon the obstruction leading to the Raiders field goal was a bigger blunder.
What obstruction?

skeepe

What obstruction?
I think that's a reference to the fact that it looks like Strange ran behind Savage.

This was, however a trick of the camera that only fools stupid people.

In reality, Strange was about to run behind Savage but noticed and changed direction. There was no obstruction.

gerg

I think that's a reference to the fact that it looks like Strange ran behind Savage.

This was, however a trick of the camera that only fools stupid people.

In reality, Strange was about to run behind Savage but noticed and changed direction. There was no obstruction.
Yes that's the one that a few people are complaining about but he didn't run behind Savage. Like you say he stopped, realised that Savage was there and ran the other way. No obstruction at all.

Saxon

Oh have a f&%@ing whinge why don't you? Might I remind you that the wrestling tactics were already common at several clubs including the Broncos while Bellamy was an assistant coach.
That's right, he learned it off Wayne. Craig just proved to be better than the old skeleton at it. In this, as in head to head games, Bellamy proved that the apprentice had surpassed the master.

Penrith fan

More crazy bunker decisions last night.

Robbo went off, his eyes were bulging out of his head.

Dodgy decisions and does the bunker even know the rules?

mxlegend99

More crazy bunker decisions last night.

Robbo went off, his eyes were bulging out of his head.

Dodgy decisions and does the bunker even know the rules?
Robbo is worse than Ricky for blaming refs. A hundred calls will go his way and he whines about a minor one that doesnt. After every loss. His team has never been beaten by a better team.

I dont think NAS had even the slightest impact on any defenders. If the roles were reversed and a try was taken off his team for that he would blow up about it. He should be blowing up at his players for a piss weak defensive effort.

Ref had many blunders last night. Roosters got the better of them comfortably.

Canard

Funny how Robbo is treated by the press, and the NRL will alude to other coaches being whingers, and ignore them until Monday afternoon

There will be a grovelling apology issued from the NRL to the Chooks by about 5pm this afternoon.

Robbo is worse than Ricky for blaming refs. A hundred calls will go his way and he whines about a minor one that doesnt. After every loss. His team has never been beaten by a better team.

I dont think NAS had even the slightest impact on any defenders. If the roles were reversed and a try was taken off his team for that he would blow up about it. He should be blowing up at his players for a piss weak defensive effort.

Ref had many blunders last night. Roosters got the better of them comfortably.
It doesn't matter what impact he had, he ran in and touched both his own player and ours lending his weight, you can't do it, it's as simple as that. NAS even realised what he did and ran away.

Also, that was the first question he got asked in the presser, is he supposed to not respond? He didn't just sit down and gratuitously whinge about it. In the next question he lamented our inability to capitalise on being a man up and commended the storm defence.

Funny how Robbo is treated by the press, and the NRL will alude to other coaches being whingers, and ignore them until Monday afternoon

There will be a grovelling apology issued from the NRL to the Chooks by about 5pm this afternoon.
And so there should be

It's getting a bit old though, this is three 6 point losses in a row where we have had to deal with shocking bunker decisions.