Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Reminders of your childhood

___

They have the same now - its the DVD version.
51KSE31BX2L.jpg

counterpuncher

Cracking thread all, some fantastic memories.

One which probably won't be coming back is getting into the footy for free at half time. Money was a bit tight as a kid, so we did this pretty often at Kogarah in the 80's... they stopped allowing it somewhere around 1990 or 1991 from memory. Also remember doing it at least once at Belmore (spending the first half waiting for a footy to sail out of the ground after a conversion).

Any other grounds do this? Was it a widespread thing?

I dont think it happens in NRL considering how they bump the prices for tickets.

I think it still happens at the Cricket for test matches. Day 5 and sometimes Day 4 if it is likely that a result will occur that day. Its either free of gold coin donation.

On cricket I remember I used to collect the stickers for each player in the Australian team and also state sides, wouldve been season 97/98 as it also featured NZ and South Africa.

That season I attended my first ever Shield game and test match both at the SCG. Great experiences on both sides of the ground, cause for the Shield you could sit at the MA Noble Stand then during the lunch break you can visit the museum.

Before that I used to collect the cricket cards besides the footy cards. I think I still have a heap in my collection, some would include the likes of Tom Moody, Michael Bevan, Tim May, Allan Border in their state colours.

And who could forget the Mercantile Mutual Cup?

1994%2B95%2BMercantile%2BMutual%2BCup%2BCaptains.jpg

We were at the SCG for a 1 dayer and my little brother went down to the boundary to get his mini autograph bat signed.

Everyone was happy to sign it, except Tony Dodemaide.

Tony f**king Dodemaide.

Who this merkin thought he was, I still don’t know but we f**ken gave it to him.

“Dudder-Maide, Dudder-Maide, Dudder-Maide!!!!”

What a cock.

horrie hastings

This f**kers.

fishwow.jpg

Having to deal with these as a kid is probably why I'm not such a keen fisherman even though we would go alot.

Remember my sister using one off the pier at Rottnest Island and throwing the whole thing into the water.

I remember learning to fish with the old hand line, used to fish off the beaches with them when we were younger, father taught us how to cast out with them properly, caught quite a few sand whiting on them. Still fish with them off the wharfs when I go for leatherjackets but doubt whether I could cast with one of them these days.

Zadar

View attachment 25212 View attachment 25213

I played a shit load of these on a Commodore 64 on that tv above.

The day we upgraded from the cassette to the floppy disk was a special day.

Mind blowing load times.

I found mine about a month ago and decided to hook it up to see if it still worked, the blue screen came up, put the disk in, and couldn’t for the life of me remember how to load a game. Had to google it.

Load”*”,8,1 and load”$”,8 if you have more games on it.

Great games at the time, test drive was one of my favourites, deciding between the Ferrari,Lamborghini,corvette ,Porsche EFE03B40-664A-4B20-AC47-20B91AD60023.jpeg

roofromoz

I dont think it happens in NRL considering how they bump the prices for tickets.

I think it still happens at the Cricket for test matches. Day 5 and sometimes Day 4 if it is likely that a result will occur that day. Its either free of gold coin donation.

On cricket I remember I used to collect the stickers for each player in the Australian team and also state sides, wouldve been season 97/98 as it also featured NZ and South Africa.

That season I attended my first ever Shield game and test match both at the SCG. Great experiences on both sides of the ground, cause for the Shield you could sit at the MA Noble Stand then during the lunch break you can visit the museum.

Before that I used to collect the cricket cards besides the footy cards. I think I still have a heap in my collection, some would include the likes of Tom Moody, Michael Bevan, Tim May, Allan Border in their state colours.

And who could forget the Mercantile Mutual Cup?

1994%2B95%2BMercantile%2BMutual%2BCup%2BCaptains.jpg

I had that exact same NSW shirt and also the Australian shirt with the southern cross on the chest. Both long since donated but I would love to see a re-release of some of these 90s shirts, especially this design.

1993%2B94%2BMercantile%2BMutual%2BCup%2BRichard%2BChee%2BQuee%2BMichael%2BBevan.jpg

roofromoz

Cracking thread all, some fantastic memories.

One which probably won't be coming back is getting into the footy for free at half time. Money was a bit tight as a kid, so we did this pretty often at Kogarah in the 80's... they stopped allowing it somewhere around 1990 or 1991 from memory. Also remember doing it at least once at Belmore (spending the first half waiting for a footy to sail out of the ground after a conversion).

Any other grounds do this? Was it a widespread thing?

I can't remember that with the footy. But what I do remember is with the cricket that Channel 9 used to restrict the broadcast in the host city to encourage attendance... in Sydney we only got the last session each day for the Test and the first two hours of an ODI. Hence I did not see this moment, only heard it:

From memory it was stopped in the late 90s maybe early 00s.

Incorrect

I can't remember that with the footy. But what I do remember is with the cricket that Channel 9 used to restrict the broadcast in the host city to encourage attendance... in Sydney we only got the last session each day for the Test and the first two hours of an ODI. Hence I did not see this moment, only heard it:

I loved the sportsmanship shown by Roger Harper there at the end, it's a great moment that where he gives Bevan a high 5... Class.

horrie hastings

Even though I know what happened I still got a chill up my spine watching that again when Bevan launched into the last ball.

Annyong

I had that exact same NSW shirt and also the Australian shirt with the southern cross on the chest. Both long since donated but I would love to see a re-release of some of these 90s shirts, especially this design.

1993%2B94%2BMercantile%2BMutual%2BCup%2BRichard%2BChee%2BQuee%2BMichael%2BBevan.jpg
Richard Chee Quee!

___

Something I also remember... this logo. When RL was at it's height, as opposed to the circus it is now!

upload_2018-12-4_9-3-43.png

Playing tip-and-run street cricket with one of these.. a good old plastic bat that - if you middled it - made a booming "pppoooooommmmm" sound..

So light, every shot was a slog..

4492ffb9349adf605950561bf95a7d37

And these were usually the wickets...

img.ashx

Unless the driveway was the pitch and you were playing in front of the garage door - which was always "Electric Wicky"..

Headless Chook

Playing tip-and-run street cricket with one of these.. a good old plastic bat that - if you middled it - made a booming "pppoooooommmmm" sound..

img.ashx

Unless the driveway was the pitch and you were playing in front of the garage door - which was always "Electric Wicky"..
We couldn’t afford no fancy plastic bin though. We had to make do with the old beaten up metal one with the lid that never quite fitted after the garbo’s dropped it a few times. Great memories.

Parra

img.ashx

Good old "electric wicky" Never dropped one.

roofromoz

Played with the old yellow metal bins at school. If someone had been in for a bit too long, the wicketkeeper may have picked it up and put in the firing line of a wider delivery. Perfectly legitimate play.

nöyd

I am going to include Henny Penny in the list, I know Henny Penny is still around in Newcastle and the Hunter region but back in the very late 60's till the mid 70s there were outlets all around Sydney and even up to the early 80s there were outlets still in country NSW townships, back in the very late 60s and early 70s it went head to head with the launch of Kentucky Fried Chicken and honestly Henny Penny was the far superior product. I still call in to Henny Penny when driving back from the north coast for old times sake but it is no where near as good as it once was, it still craps over KFC even now though.

View attachment 24687
bit of a necro-post but $2 chicken and cheese burgers from Henny Penny plus a 750ml bottle of diet coke - ultimate hangover cure after a night chasing skirt at Cardiff Workers.