Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ricky don't you lose that number

Engine

Article by Adrian Rovere in LU

I tell you what…it will be interesting to see what the reaction will be from Sharks fans if their team doesn't make it into the semi-finals.

The club has been starved of success having never won a premiership and not contested a grand final for nearly 30 years. They did make the GF in a mickey mouse competition in 1997, got beat of course, but most people particularly the traditionalists don't acknowledge that year anyway.

Their coach, the Vertically-Challenged Whiner, was ceremoniously dumped by his previous club only to be thrown a lifeline by the mob down at The Shire.

Alright, enough already. I'm sick of it too, but it was Ricky Stuart, who started it and who has maintained the rage by referring the Warriors counterpart Ivan Cleary as "The Warrior coach" and not by his name. I mean really, how childish, how pathetic!

And all because coach Cleary dare criticise Ricky over what he perceived were tactics by Stuart's players which were not in the spirit of the game ie: staying down after being hit in order to secure a penalty. Ricky's reaction was to launch a dummy from his lips, and commence his "the Warrior coach" routine.

It matters not whether Cleary was justified in his criticism of Stuart's team. What matters is the response to such criticism, to be delivered in a measured and dignified manner. Not bitch and moan and in a feeble attempt, comeback with something that is disrespectful and grossly immature.

So according to Mr Stuart, if my daughter loses out to someone in a ballet competition and my son is defeated in a game of chess, then I should refer to those responsible as "the fancy dancer girl" and "the bored game nerd" or something similar?

Nah, I don't think so. If they were wrongly accused of a certain action, I would explain to them that yes, it is unfortunate and is unfair, but that's life and incidents like these whilst tough to accept at the time can strengthen character and resolve. And just like the "dive" allegations by Cleary may have been harsh, perhaps even erroneous, build a bridge and get over it Ricky, cry me a river.

Surely Cleary's actions don't warrant being referred to by Stuart as The Warrior coach" for ever and a day. Perhaps there is a hidden agenda to all this. Perhaps Stuart is worried that The Warrior coach is going to be a better coach them himself.

If you asked me, I wouldn't be surprised at all if Cleary did finish up with a superior coaching record. If you dissect Stuart’s record, it's not as good as many would have you believe.

He had blockbuster rosters in the lower grades at the Bulldogs with the likes of Roy Asotasi and Matt Utai in his team and when he took over from Graham Murray at the Roosters at the end of 2001, he was getting a club that was on the rise having performed courageously in the 2000 grand final against a white-hit Broncos outfit.

And have a look at the players at his disposal. A near-immortal in Brad Fittler, excting youngster Justin Hodges, Brett Mullins, England's best Adrian Morley, a much younger Craig Fitzgibbon who was at the peak of his powers, Craig Wing at his most brilliant best, Jason Cayless, who was rated the number one prop in the game, superstar-in-waiting Anthony Minichiello, one of the best young backrowers in the league in Michael Crocker and the very accomplished Peter Cusack. Flip! What a squad and what more would you want? Talk about a dream team!

And what do the Roosters have to show for it? One premiership in 2002 presented to them on a platter when the league plummeted the Bulldogs from first to last following the Oasis development scandal. A punishment which to this day I say was far too severe for the breech they were found to have committed.

At the time I advocated what I believed was a much fairer sentence; that being the Bulldogs lose enough points to place them ninth on the ladder. But no, the Roosters and Ricky Stuart would not have accepted that. Oh no, that would have been far too lenient. Or to put it more accurately, the Bulldogs would have still been our biggest threat to winning the premiership, so the league saw fit to completely snuff out the chances of one of the most exciting teams we've seen in decades.

And what was ironic at the time and the irony repeated itself two years later, the Bulldogs were quoted on about the third line of betting at around $10 to win the premiership in 2002 and they won in 2004 with much the same roster. Go figure!

When Penrith beat the Roosters in 2003 grand final, I reckon I was happiest man on the planet. First thing I did was ring former player and sponsor Lou Zivanovic, and congratulate him. Boy, was that a sweet victory.

One thing’s certain, if Chris Anderson was in charge of the Roosters in 2002-04, they'd have won at least two titles, possibly completed the hat-trick. 'Opes would kill for a similar roster in 2007. But despite a much weaker squad in comparison along with injuries and suspensions to key players, Anderson has fared so much better than I expected. I had them morals to get the spoon. May still do, but it's looking increasingly less likely with each passing week.

Stuart had wonderful success at Origin level. But look at the players he had compared to those of Queensland's. Fittler, Johns, Gasnier, Kennedy, Buderus, Minichiello, Wing, Barrett, Hindmarsh etc up against Hannay (now playing park football in Sharkville), Flannery, Harrison (pretty much a premier league standard player), Fien, Marsh and a Darren Lockyer who openly admitted to performing poorly during the period Stuart was NSW coach.

Given these match-ups, it's any wonder the Blues clobbered the Maroons. Humphrey B Bear would been equally as successful as Blues coach such was the feeble squads that Queensland had at the time.

If Ricky does fail at the Sharks, and for Sharks' fans I sincerely hope he doesn't, because it would be great to see success come to the Shire, it seems there is another vocation he could make a go of.

Word is Stuart was instrumental in Craig Wing seeing the error of his ways and re-uniting with love interest Zoe Foster. Seems a few encouraging words from the Sharks coach put the relationship back on track to the extent that the wedding plans are well advanced.

I can see the logo on the business card: "When things get tricky, contact Ricky...the lurve god!"

Ricky, don’t lose Craig Wing’s number…

Quite simply, the best article I have EVER read from a League Unlimited representative. Probably the best article fullstop.
Adrian Rovere talents as a writer are developing quite nicely. He has taken a view which may make some people unhappy, but he has backed up EVERY fact with evidence.
He has taken the art of nulla hating to a whole new level.

For this, he should be nominated for the Pulitizer Prize.

Well done Adrian

http://www.leagueunlimited.com/article.php?newsid=14117

poor whittle Ivan imagine being called the "warriors coach" when in fact you are the warriors coach.

the little engine that couldn't said:
He has taken the art of nulla hating to a whole new level.

You have him covered.

Poor Ricky premiership winning player and coach, NSW player and coach, Australian player and coach, must be tough for those who hate him.

spacemanspiff

Those who can: Play
Those who cant: Coach
Those who could but now cant: Coach premiers
Those who wish they could have: Write articles.

Downie

Guest Moderator
wittyfan said:
It's a mish-mash of vitriol, jealousy and petty mindedness from Adrian.

I'm gonna hate myself for saying this, and I'm gonna go bash my head against a brick wall after posting, but I actually agree with you here, wittyfan.

Grail

As much as I dislike Stuart, and as much as I dislike the Sharks, (strange rationale for both I guess), this article is poor. Just because it sides with your distaste does not make it good.

Engine

Rovere, don't back down from your article. Build on it and stand upto the scum.

Inferno

lol at Opes wining at least 2 maybe even 3 titles with the Chooks.

He did so well at the Sharks right, took a regular top 8 side and rode them into the ground.

Titanic

This forum has really progressed - we now have postings that take longer to read than a game. What happened to clear concise criticism? Yes I know I've lead with my chin.

Tom Shines

Honestly, what a sh*thouse piece of journalism. On apar with Fat Quaddie Freedman that bloke.
First of all, there was the anti-Nathan Brown article, which you could tell was typed with gritted teeth in bitterness, followed by this unstructured, non-sensical piece of work.

FFS.

What a crap 'article'. Poorly written, completely biased, bitter, and childish, filled with hate against Stuart, the Sharks and Roosters. Completely hypocritical considering the subject matter. Souths fans aren't even using it as some sort of attempt to rip into Roosters, its below even that level of spite/rivalry/whatever you want to call it :crazy:

lucablight

Ricky Stuart never coached against a QLD side with PJ Marsh in it. Although he did lose his first game against one of the worst QLD sides ever and brought back Johns who owned everyone resulting in NSW winning the series.

reginald.p

So Ricky Stuarts Premiership and state of origin wins don't mean anything because he had a bunch of good players in those teams. so i guess that means Sheens, Bennet, Gould, etc aren't very good either, since you know they had a bunch of good players in there teams as well.

badav

this guy is lame. his exxagerations and poor totally over the top analogies present in everything he writes makes it more appropriate as a comedy piece than something you would post on a league news website.

and why would putting the bulldogs in 9th place in 2002 even remotely make sense?? What about the team in 9th fighting for a spot, to be displaced by a team that cheated?? last was the only place for them. they had no place competing in the finals series of 02.

Where do the administrators of this site find these blokes to write for them?? Ruins what credibility this site may have had.

ParraDude_Jay

"the bored game nerd"
a white-hit Broncos outfit

I don't like playing grammar cop but bugger me that article was pathetic and to carry on like that and not even proof read it is a bit weak. You haven't read many articles if that's the best you've ever read mate.

Tom Shines

ParraDude_Jay said:
I don't like playing grammar cop but bugger me that article was pathetic and to carry on like that and not even proof read it is a bit weak. You haven't read many articles if that's the best you've ever read mate.
I know it was late when you posted, but surely you could see that was laced in sarcasm from Engine?

legend

Badav, just because we may not agree with the sentiments of the writer, doesn't mean we shouldn't publish their work.

Fact is Adrian is controversial and he has you all tallking and polarises opinion. We are here to not only provide a news service, but to encourage discussion about the game, controversial issues and foster ideas etc

Fact is this is the same Adrian that calls every radio station on the AM dial and repeats the same thing.....his dislike of Ricky Stuart.
He has been doing this for the past 4-5 yrs.

Mr Saab said:
Fact is this is the same Adrian that calls every radio station on the AM dial and repeats the same thing.....his dislike of Ricky Stuart.
He has been doing this for the past 4-5 yrs.

LOL...explains a lot, thought he reminded me of someone.

What a tosser he is, bitching about Stuart referring to Cleary as 'the warriors coach' when he cant even spell Lew Zivanovics name correctly.