Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RIP NRL

Legion

you reckon they aren’t listening/watching the ref?

ha

how do they know to run at the dude that the ref has called offside?

90% of those players knew he’d called last tackle ...regardless of it being wrong or right you always play the whistle.

My only real argument is people saying this cost the raiders the game.
It didn’t
No way
No how
That's right, they play to the whistle. The ref did not blow the whistle.

Would the Raiders have scored? Probably not.
Would they have caught Easts in-goal? Maybe.
Would it have won them the game? We will never know.

The decision changed the momentum of the game. Easts scored soon after with little time remaining.

It was a refereeing blunder that spoilt the game for many of us.
All most of us want is consistency. It's not what we get week in week out.

This is a good example of why we need one ref & train the linesman to do their bloody job. [Half of them need the bunker to adjudicate whether a player touched or stepped over the sideline FFS - it's like they're too frightened to make a call]

Legion

Among all this controversy I've failed to mention one thing; Raiders gave us a much better game than many expected.
They really stepped up. Respect.

That's right, they play to the whistle. The ref did not blow the whistle.

Would the Raiders have scored? Probably not.
Would they have caught Easts in-goal? Maybe.
Would it have won them the game? We will never know.

The decision changed the momentum of the game. Easts scored soon after with little time remaining.

It was a refereeing blunder that spoilt the game for many of us.
All most of us want is consistency. It's not what we get week in week out.

This is a good example of why we need one ref & train the linesman to do their bloody job. [Half of them need the bunker to adjudicate whether a player touched or stepped over the sideline FFS - it's like they're too frightened to make a call]

mate you’re two weeks late

I don’t give a f**k anymore.
Go to the start and read...
it’s all been said

Spot On

Why does everyone keep predicting Rugby League will end one day? it's rubbish it never will.

Rugby league is in pretty good shape compared to the utter shit union is. The ARU keep digging their grave even deeper year by year and I didn't think that was remotely possible.

Honestly, watching some that tripe last night ... it was beyond laughable.

The skill level of the Wallabies is disgraceful. If that is the result of full time professionalism in modern rugby then time to blow it all up.

Will Genia is our best scrumhalf?

Tommy Smith

I think most have finally moved on.

Though I was wondering how this thread could go for 60+ pages... and then I browsed the gameday thread. Holy hell.

It's no surprise that some of the neutrals in here were the ones frothing the most during the match.

It's never too late to seek support, guys.

Heck, I even saw a comment in there wanting Luke Keary to be stretchered off the field. And it gained support.

Again, if anyone is having trouble coping with our b2b titles to the point that it's affecting your every day life then there are a number of avenues of support available these days.

Don't suffer in silence.

So I flew from NZ to Sydney (first ever time) on the morning of the GF, went to the game that night. Lost. Congratulated the Roosters fans around me. Walked out of the stadium devastated and flew home the next morning.

To make matters worse the Mitchell flick pass that won the game for the chooks unfolded right in front of me.

Congrats to them, but geez. Once a ref makes a hand signal, isn't that it? Decision made?

The trainer shit is just sad.

Loose Cannon

So I flew from NZ to Sydney (first ever time) on the morning of the GF, went to the game that night. Lost. Congratulated the Roosters fans around me. Walked out of the stadium devastated and flew home the next morning.

To make matters worse the Mitchell flick pass that won the game for the chooks unfolded right in front of me.

Congrats to them, but geez. Once a ref makes a hand signal, isn't that it? Decision made?

The trainer shit is just sad.
Class, right here.

Mr Spock!

I think most have finally moved on.

Though I was wondering how this thread could go for 60+ pages... and then I browsed the gameday thread. Holy hell.

It's no surprise that some of the neutrals in here were the ones frothing the most during the match.

It's never too late to seek support, guys.

Heck, I even saw a comment in there wanting Luke Keary to be stretchered off the field. And it gained support.

Again, if anyone is having trouble coping with our b2b titles to the point that it's affecting your every day life then there are a number of avenues of support available these days.

Don't suffer in silence.

Of course we'll wait and see if the NRL does anything about trainers on the field or the confusion of the 2 ref system which determined a GF.

Legion

You guys are shitting yourself that we are going to surpass souffs 20 premierships sooner than later aren't you?
What's that got to do with the price of fish in China on a sunny morning?

I barrack for two teams; Tigers & any Sydney club playing against a non-Sydney team. [Yes, even when it's Manly, lol]
Until that abysmal bit of refereeing, I was barracking for Easts against the Raiders.

I'd much prefer to see Easts continue to do well over Storm or Brisbane any day.

Tell me Val, how would you be feeling had the situation been reversed & the Raiders had won?

LOL because that's the REAL issue.

Easts fans couldn't give a f**k about the game so long as they get the rub of the green.

You are talking about one incident. We didn't get the rub of the green in many others in that game none of which matter to you because the roosters didn't benefit

What's that got to do with the price of fish in China on a sunny morning?

I barrack for two teams; Tigers & any Sydney club playing against a non-Sydney team. [Yes, even when it's Manly, lol]
Until that abysmal bit of refereeing, I was barracking for Easts against the Raiders.

I'd much prefer to see Easts continue to do well over Storm or Brisbane any day.

Tell me Val, how would you be feeling had the situation been reversed & the Raiders had won?

I would recognise that the incident cost my team a 2nd kick, nothing more Nd nothing less.

I would also not blame the incident for an inability to defend an 80m try and I would also recognise the other chances my team had during the game.

To be fair to raiders fans, most of them seem to accept what I described above, it is the moaning neutrals that don't.

Mr Spock!

I would recognise that the incident cost my team a 2nd kick, nothing more Nd nothing less.

I would also not blame the incident for an inability to defend an 80m try and I would also recognise the other chances my team had during the game.

To be fair to raiders fans, most of them seem to accept what I described above, it is the moaning neutrals that don't.
LOL sure you would have. Just like Easts supporters don't moan about Morris being out a decade ago.