Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RLIF....how hopeless are they?

ripper

Sorry for the 2 posts, I did the top 1, decided to reword it, but I cant edit it, comes up with all this debug shit

Te Kaha

carlnz said:
League will be the number one sport soon, if the Warriors win this year and the Kiwis win too. Know one wants to keep watching the All Blacks lose, they are hopeless anyway!

I almost thought you had some thing smart to say then you come up with a stupid comment like that. But I s'pose 12 yr olds can't be expected to know a lot.

carlnz said:
League is not only big in auckland, But WAICOBAY is pretty big, Canterbury is getting bigger and bigger and even Otago is starting to grow. Plamerston North is getting more players due to there Barter Card Cup Team, Wellington is as strong as ever...

And again.... you do know that Waicobay isn't a place don't you?
Canterbury is holding on but is a fraction of what it was 20 years ago, Wellington is a fraction of a fraction of what it ever was. And P'North can only grow as the presence there is not all that pronounced.

carlnz said:
BarterCard Cup is a Joke?? Hmmm yeah like the NPC Second Division, They have teams in there that win all the time but when they play the worest team in Divison one they get smashed!! That is what you call a joke!!!!

BarterCard is the second best thing to ever happen in Rugby League in NZ, that and the Warriors. Barter Card get at least 1000+ per game...Kings get just ABOUT that. Oh and well done Kinngz for getting the wooden spoon!

Do you just pluck these figures out of the air? MOST of hte BC teams averafed less than 500 people to their games. Check your fugures before making these claims.

carlnz said:
Yes the Kiwis got smashed but then they game back and beat Aussie, and the Kiwis were missing there top stars aswell....we will beat aussie this year....

The reason why the All Blacks suck is not because of the coach, its because they have always sucked ass. They havent won a world cup in what 16 years? they will always suck, i hope they lose every game next year....such a wimpy sport!

Too many children, not enough ritilen.

carlnz said:
Tipical rugby fans, the cups we have mean jack sh*t...who cares about the tri nations cup, super 12 is soooo boring the BC is about the only half decent cup we have in rugby, even the sevens teams are losing....hate to be a rugby fan........
I'd hate to be you. A little bit of free advice, your arguments would come across better if you didn't use terms like "sucks ass" and actualy did some research before shooting off your mouth.

carlnz

Te Kaha said:
[quote="carlnz"
I'd hate to be you. A little bit of free advice, your arguments would come across better if you didn't use terms like "sucks ass" and actualy did some research before shooting off your mouth.

Firstly, how would you know how many people turn up to the Barter Card cup games? Do you even go to them?

I know about WAICO BAY, the fact is rugby numbers are dropping, sure soccer players are going up but so is Rugby League too. And do you even know about Canterbury Rugby League?

And what would you know about Manawatu Comp? Last year 2 more clubs joined the comp and that is a major plus side for a city that has just over 100,000 people. And man that’s real big, craping on them when the Central Falcons came higher on the table then Wellington?!?!

And I’m sorry you must know it ALL about everything don’t you?

Here are a few points about Otago rugby League:

Re-establishment of the Waitati Warriors and the St Kilda Sharks for 2004,
Emergence of new clubs: Harbour Seals, and the Aotearoa Bulldogs for 2004,
4 Teams to start a new Reserve grade, plus the possibility of North Otago Knights, the South Otago Rams and the Queenstown Giants seeing the Rugby League in Otago go from non existent in 2002 to quadrupling in size in 2004,
Add onto this the re-establishment of Primary and Intermediate Rugby League in the second term of 2004 on Tuesdays and the Secondary School's Competition on Wednesday, and
Otago Rugby League VS Russia Bears.

Canterbury:

Has 12 competitions playing, ranging from CRFL New City Hotel Competition to Under 10,s. They have 14 Clubs,
Plus the West Tigers have moved there game against the Warriors to jade Stadium.

Wellington:

Has a competition where they play all the clubs from the Manawatu Competition, the comp is called Western Alliance,
Victoria University of Wellington Rugby League Club has been invited by Woolongong University Australiain 2004,
Might be applying for an NRL team,
Has an NRL game every year with 10,000+ attend,
Had four players named in the 2003 Jnr Kiwis,
A rugby league development role focusing on clubs and schools will happen this year,
Has 9 teams in the Wellington Comp, average crowd per match is 200+

WAI CO BAY:

Has 17 Clubs from Waikato, Coastline and the Bay of Plenty District Rugby Leagues. Also have a preseason NRL match in Waikato between Dragons and the Warriors. Also has team entering Barter Card Comp in 2004. The 2003 season which featured 17 teams was also a great success, with big crowds attending round robin games and the top eight finals series and to cap the season off, the Grand Final was attended by a 4000+ strong crowd to see Turangawaewae beat Bay of Plenty's Pikiao Warriors. ( Yeah League can’t attracted a crowd!) Now the third strongest rugby league region in New Zealand, with rapid growth in recent years.

Auckland:

Nothing is needed to be said about the strong hold of rugby league in NZ

The point is Rugby League is growing in many areas, with the inclusion of WAI CO BAY to Barter Card Cup is a major plus for Waikato, Coastline and the Bay of Plenty Rugby League’s. With No Taranaki Team in the Barter Card Cup, this will make Central Falcons stronger with more players to pick from and means there will be no more 80 point thrashings in the Cup.

Many of you say that the standard is not very high in BC Cup, the standard is very highly considering this is only the 4th year. Let’s have a look, well the Sharks come over here last year and the year before to play the Canterbury Bulls. The BC Cup is well recognised over in Australia, with the standard been rated higher than the Queensland Cup!! The amount of talent coming out is unbelievable, hence why the Australian clubs have scouts over here signing players. All the best players in BC Cup 2003 went over to England for a tour, so they didn’t win any games, but considering they went all right against Great Britain and had a couple players signed to NRL clubs (one Penrith Panthers and one to the North Queensland Cowboys) plus some stayed back to play in the challenge cup.

You watch, when England come to Auckland later this year and beat the All Blacks, everyone will go into sadness about such a boring sport and hopefully will turn to League. The Fact that Wellington (and maybe Canterbury) are applying for NRL Licences is nothing. Yeah mate Canterbury isn’t getting any bigger and oh yeah Wellington is a fraction of a fraction of what it was....yeah well done.

Wellington will be the best place, because in Christchurch it will be hard challenge the results of the Crusaders, where in Wellington its will be easy against a team that wins some games but hasn’t/and never will win the title.

And before you start calling people 12 year olds, maybe YOU should go back to SCHOOL and learn how to spell? Maybe there is some trust you can.............
:clap: :clap: :clap:

carlnz

You know its people like you who ruin this forum, im here saying my opinions with other people and then idiots like you come along and pick fights....How you became a Moderator I will never know....must be just handing them out to any Joe Bloggs......

Te Kaha

carlnz said:
Firstly, how would you know how many people turn up to the Barter Card cup games? Do you even go to them?
No I don’t, I would go and see my old Prem teams but Marist Northern folded and Paramata has to pull out due to lack of players. Which leaves me with only Randwick to watch. Did you know that the Wellington BC team had four games where less than 200 people turned up. With free admittance or $5 entry?

carlnz said:
I know about WAICO BAY, the fact is rugby numbers are dropping, sure soccer players are going up but so is Rugby League too. And do you even know about Canterbury Rugby League?
Yes as a matter of fact I do.

carlnz said:
And what would you know about Manawatu Comp? Last year 2 more clubs joined the comp and that is a major plus side for a city that has just over 100,000 people. And man that’s real big, craping on them when the Central Falcons came higher on the table then Wellington?!?!
And how many Wainui boys played for the Falcons? Most of their team was drafted from out side of the region.

carlnz said:
Canterbury:

Has 12 competitions playing, ranging from CRFL New City Hotel Competition to Under 10,s. They have 14 Clubs,
Plus the West Tigers have moved there game against the Warriors to jade Stadium.
And do you know how many clubs & teams there used to be 20 yrs ago? I didn’t think so otherwise you would understand why I said the state of the game in Canterbury is a fraction of what it was.

carlnz said:
Wellington:

Has a competition where they play all the clubs from the Manawatu Competition, the comp is called Western Alliance,
Victoria University of Wellington Rugby League Club has been invited by Woolongong University Australiain 2004,
Might be applying for an NRL team,
Has an NRL game every year with 10,000+ attend,
Had four players named in the 2003 Jnr Kiwis,
A rugby league development role focusing on clubs and schools will happen this year,
Has 9 teams in the Wellington Comp, average crowd per match is 200+
There you go making up figures again. 200+ would be a rarity indeed. How many of these games have you been too to verify? None.
And Wellington has its LAST game this year with the Bulldogs not coming back due to rapidly declining numbers.
And don’t kid yourself Wellington will not be getting an NRL team. There are more people in Australia wanting more Australian teams long before a second NZ team.

carlnz said:
Auckland:

Nothing is needed to be said about the strong hold of rugby league in NZ

The point is Rugby League is growing in many areas, with the inclusion of WAI CO BAY to Barter Card Cup is a major plus for Waikato, Coastline and the Bay of Plenty Rugby League’s. With No Taranaki Team in the Barter Card Cup, this will make Central Falcons stronger with more players to pick from and means there will be no more 80 point thrashings in the Cup.
You had better hope so because most of the Wainui boys have pulled out.

carlnz said:
Many of you say that the standard is not very high in BC Cup, the standard is very highly considering this is only the 4th year. Let’s have a look, well the Sharks come over here last year and the year before to play the Canterbury Bulls. The BC Cup is well recognised over in Australia, with the standard been rated higher than the Queensland Cup!! The amount of talent coming out is unbelievable, hence why the Australian clubs have scouts over here signing players. All the best players in BC Cup 2003 went over to England for a tour, so they didn’t win any games, but considering they went all right against Great Britain and had a couple players signed to NRL clubs (one Penrith Panthers and one to the North Queensland Cowboys) plus some stayed back to play in the challenge cup.
I see you also didn’t mention that the best of the BC talent got beaten by 100+ by the Aussie team.

carlnz said:
You watch, when England come to Auckland later this year and beat the All Blacks, everyone will go into sadness about such a boring sport and hopefully will turn to League.
Again kidding your self. It won’t happen.

carlnz said:
The Fact that Wellington (and maybe Canterbury) are applying for NRL Licences is nothing. Yeah mate Canterbury isn’t getting any bigger and oh yeah Wellington is a fraction of a fraction of what it was....yeah well done.
Don’t talk about things you don’t know. Especially things that were before you were born. As I have said a second NRL team, if ever, is ten or twenty years away.

carlnz said:
Wellington will be the best place, because in Christchurch it will be hard challenge the results of the Crusaders, where in Wellington its will be easy against a team that wins some games but hasn’t/and never will win the title.
Funny I thought Wellington won the NPC recently and made the Final at home last year (Sold out in one day). And I seem to remember a Westpac Stadium average for the Super 12 of around 30K.

carlnz said:
And before you start calling people 12 year olds, maybe YOU should go back to SCHOOL and learn how to spell? Maybe there is some trust you can.............
:clap: :clap: :clap:
Your lecturing me about spelling???????????????? I'm a little to old to go to school now besides I might cramp your stlye if I ended up at your primary school.
carlnz said:
You know its people like you who ruin this forum, im here saying my opinions with other people and then idiots like you come along and pick fights....
I disagree, its people who make up “facts” and figures who ruin forums like this. Had you done some research and been honest and accurate I wouldn’t have had to say a word.

carlnz said:
How you became a Moderator I will never know....must be just handing them out to any Joe Bloggs......
Probably true, All I did was ask and they said yes. Why don’t you ask and see what they say.

carlnz

I went to every Central match last year plus the final in Aucks, Central always good a good crowd with the odd games less than 500

And how many Wainui boys played for the Falcons? Most of their team was drafted from out side of the region.

That is utter BULLS*IT!!! Why dont you go look at who played for them this year? See you should take your own advice and go do some research.

And do you know how many clubs & teams there used to be 20 yrs ago? I didn’t think so otherwise you would understand why I said the state of the game in Canterbury is a fraction of what it was.

That was 20 years ago!!! Im talking about the development of them game in this country...the game fell away there in the early 90's...and now is starting to build up again....maybe you should read before you open your mouth???

Well if you go to Rleague.com and have a look at the wellington page and wellington comp, then look at match reports it tells you how man people went to the game!!

And don’t kid yourself Wellington will not be getting an NRL team. There are more people in Australia wanting more Australian teams long before a second NZ team.

Yeah well with a Billonare backing another NZ team they cant really be fobbed off

Yet again you dont know crap about Central......
I see you also didn’t mention that the best of the BC talent got beaten by 100+ by the Aussie team.

That was the NZ Residents like 3 years ago!!! Yet again this is about the rapied growth of rugby league...you keep going back to the past and im talking about how fast the sport is growing in NZ So you are saying that if the pick an NPC team with no all blacks to go play England they wont get thrashed?? yeah right!! Look at the barbariens they got hammered and they are ex all black

Again kidding your self. It won’t happen.

Don’t talk about things you don’t know. Especially things that were before you were born. As I have said a second NRL team, if ever, is ten or twenty years away.

It will happen you will see...

Funny I thought Wellington won the NPC recently and made the Final at home last year (Sold out in one day). And I seem to remember a Westpac Stadium average for the Super 12 of around 30K. Yeah but they still lost?

the NPC is going to go down hill, its going to be good to see all the smaller unions beat the larger unions because the larger unions cant pinch there star players no more.

Your lecturing me about spelling???????????????? I'm a little to old to go to school now besides I might cramp your stlye if I ended up at your primary school. Gee your such a big man! you were the one calling me kid....

I disagree, its people who make up “facts” and figures who ruin forums like this. Had you done some research and been honest and accurate I wouldn’t have had to say a word.

I did reasrch them you idot.....why cant you just accept the facts???[/b]

Te Kaha

carlnz said:
I did reasrch them you idot.....why cant you just accept the facts???[/b]

And you think I have bad spelling. Your facts are nothing but your opinions. You say that RLeague has the figures? provide the links and I will believe you.

ripper

Your an Idiot (Carlnz)

If you theroy about everyone switching to union because the AB's lost, that wouldve happend in 98 or 99, or 2000, or 2001, or 2002, or 2003 but has it happened? No.

Even if BC got 1000 a game, thats jack all compared to 3RD DIVISION NPC.

Thats right boys and girl, the premier league competiton gets its butt kicked by our lowest Division :lol: :lol:

The BC gets no news coverage, the Grand Final got a 10 second report on the news and a 2 sentance review in the Paper :lol: :lol:

The Warriors Fans are mostly bandwagoners (Including myself :D) Hows a sport with no media coverage apart from one team in a Aussie competition meant to overtake our national sport...

ripper

That was the NZ Residents like 3 years ago!!! Yet again this is about the rapied growth of rugby league...you keep going back to the past and im talking about how fast the sport is growing in NZ So you are saying that if the pick an NPC team with no all blacks to go play England they wont get thrashed?? yeah right!! Look at the barbariens they got hammered and they are ex all black

Gte your facts right. The Baa Baas team was meant to be our NZ A team.

It was an NZ D Team.

There were 11 players who are classified as Fringe All Blacks who shouldve been in there, Merthens, Nonu, Atiga, Holah, Soaialo, Braid, Cullen, Carter, Maxwell are just a few who shouldve been in there for it to be A true NZ Baa Baa's game.

In-goal

carlnz i think your alright mate, don't worry about what the Union people have to say as real rugby will one day take it's place

carlnz

ripper73 said:
Your an Idiot (Carlnz)

If you theroy about everyone switching to union because the AB's lost, that wouldve happend in 98 or 99, or 2000, or 2001, or 2002, or 2003 but has it happened? No.

Maybe you should look at what you write?? that is not even my theroy...whos the idiot now?

carlnz

ripper73 said:

Gte your facts right. The Baa Baas team was meant to be our NZ A team.

It was an NZ D Team.

There were 11 players who are classified as Fringe All Blacks who shouldve been in there, Merthens, Nonu, Atiga, Holah, Soaialo, Braid, Cullen, Carter, Maxwell are just a few who shouldve been in there for it to be A true NZ Baa Baa's game.

Mate you should really read stuff before you write things, I didnt even say that was NZ A about the Baa Baas....NZ Residents in League is just that! Like a C or maybe D side.....before you start calling people Idiot's you should read things aye???

All I was saying was that if an NPC selected side that hasent played for the All Blacks played England today they would get thumped by 100 points. Because look at the Baa Baas, they are ex all blacks and they still got thumped by England. The other guy talked about when the NZ Residents played Australia and lost by 100 points back in 1999. Im sorry but i cant find any info about that game.

Te Kaha here is the info about the crowd figures fior the wellington comp, only some have figures..

UNIVERSITY 18
Tries: Rekene Skeggs, Milton Weston, Henry Heke
Goals: Rekene Skeggs 1, Tui Matawalu 2 gls
defeated UPPER HUTT 16
Tries: Leighton Brightwell, Tu Kingi, Daniel Potter
Goals: Rocky Lake 2 gls
Venue: Whakatiki Street
Crowd: 150
Date: Sat Apr 12 2.30 pm
Referee: Allan Prentice
Half time: 12-6 Upper Hutt
Match Comments: LAST MINUTE EFFORT GIVES HUNTERS THE POINTS A missed conversion in front of the posts cost Upper Hutt dearly in their first round Mulqueen Shield clash with University at Whakatiki Street. Varisty opened the scoring in the 8th minute after finally winning some possession and both sides showing some good early ball skills. In the 18th minute and the Tigers were scrumming in front of their own posts and broke away down field. They easily outflanked the Varsity left side defence and scored behind the posts. The conversion missed and hit the upright! In the 27th minute the Tigers showed some great counter attacking skills and went the length of the field to score on the left wing. Although both sides were guilty of wasting chances, the homeside had detected a weakness on University right side and were seemingly pushing their numbers that way. The students were committing a number of handling errors, some in point scoring positions and one in particular, when they had no defence to stop them! Just prior to the break the Tigers again attacked the vulnerable Varisty left defence, and pulled play back wide to bomb the right corner and score. The Tigers had scored 3 unconverted tries in the first half to lead 12-6 at the break but the second half started badly with both sides having players in the sin bin. In the first minute of the restart the Varisty five eighth dealt a high tackle then attacked the player on the ground for the first bin, which resulted in a kickable goal for Lake to push the Tigers out to 14-6. And although the students scored not long after with 12 men to restore a 14-12 margin, an Upper Hutt player repaid the head high on one of the Kingi brothers with a nice coathanger on a student. Sin bin 2! For the next 20 minutes, and the scores only 2 points different, the game see-sawed on Whakatiki with some outstanding scrambling defence from both sides, but to be fair their was more bad handling at important times and some of the options taken issed out on some glaring try scoring chances. Surprisingly there was a tight head taken in a scrum, and a try-scoring bomb was missed. Frustration began to show in some of the students when in the 30th minute, consecutive penalties in defence gifted Lake with his second goal to give the Tigers some breathing space, albeit 4 points and 10 to go. However in the last 10 minutes of the game, the young Hutt side were showing some amazing courage on defence holding back wave after wave of University Heke and brothers Nathan and Mike Batchelor were the pick of the students in defence, although it took a rugged team effort to finally break the Tigers defence. Hutt coach, Ron Hohua was happy with his teams performance especially on defence with Leighton Brightwell at hooker and young looseforward Daniel Potter outstanding. A story to come out of the injury list of the Tigers, and reflects what everyone is cooping at the Hutt Hospital A & E. When the first of the Kingi brothers was taken to hospital, he was joined by his mum to accompany him. You could imagine her dismay when, after the usual “wait”, her other son turned up as well for an injury! That’s two experienced players for the Tigers off the field, but as their next opponents coach (Norths Debnnis McMahon), “I don’t care what they say about being down in numbers. The Hutt clubs can do anything, and that’s the way I’ll be looking at the game.
Click here for this game's match page

NORTH CITY 32
Tries: P Latele 2, Adrian Saolele 2, L Simi, Tino Tato, Frank Rameka tries
Goals: Buddy Death 2
defeated KAPITI 24
Tries: Anton Wereta, Ross Kronfield, Leo Perez, T Nu, R Williams tries
Goals: Greg Deans 3
Venue: Porirua Stadium
Crowd: 200
Date: Sun Apr 13 12.450pm
Half time: 20 all
Match Comments: BEARS PUSH VIKINGS The Bartercard Cup curtain raiser was a good game in that I think everyone was surprised at the display put on by the Bears against a much spoken about North City Viking revival. Although Norths scored the opening points of the game, the Bears flew out to a 20-4 lead, but with some bench changes, were hauled back in by the Vikings to go 20 all into the break as the Bears had a player in the sin bin. Norths coach Dennis McMahon said that the Bears got away for 20 or so minutes in the first spell, but the defence picked up in the second spell. The Vikings jumped out to a 32-20 lead after the third quarter as Kapiti were looking lethargic and getting caught short out wide. With 10 minutes remaining, Kapiti set claim in the Norths quarterline but were held out with some great on the line defence, and in a few cases, where the wrong options were taken, and the ball should have been spun wide. With 5 minutes remaining the Norths line was cracked and only a converted try separated both teams from a point apiece. However, not even a late Norths sin binning could help Kapiti snatch a draw. Tino Brown has been given the captaincy of the Vikings and has returned to the amazing form that saw him in the Wellington provincial side a few years back. He led well in this game, and this according to McMahon will help bring the young ones on. Buddy Death filling in at fullback until Kopa returns after knee reconstruction played well, and kicked well. And it looks like Frank Rameka has made up his mind to stay in club footy, and made his presence felt in the game. McMahon has the interesting task of holding players returning to training late this season in the reserve grade side, giving the ones who were there at the start of the pre-season, the chance to impress. And impress, they have. Meanwhile Kapiti manager Ed Maihi was disappointed that the 20-4 lead was whittled away when the Bears pack looked to be dominating Norths and more. “We missed the opportunity to win the game and did’nt maintain momentum,” said Maihi. Best players for the Bears were as usual, the reliable Fred Laumua who helped lay the platform for the forwards in most cases. Also Anton Wereta showed why he is in the Bartercard squad with his dictating of play and getting the backs away. This result will help lift the footballing fortunes of Kapiti who were not sure how or if they had a team for the game. This showing and the consequent trainings this week, should return the Bears to a competitive side.

ST. GEORGE 24
Tries: Moses Vaovasa 2, Luis Baker, John Pesefea
Goals: Jason Parker 4
defeated UPPER HUTT 20
Tries: Alan Matapuku, Jeff Ingi, Tu Kingi
Goals: Nathan Rolls 4
Venue: Cannons Creek
Crowd: 120
Date: Sat Jun 7 2.30 pm
Half time: 14-2 St George
Match Comments: St George picked up their first win of the season at Cannons Creek after leading Upper Hutt 14-2 at the break. The Dragon forwards began to gain in confidence with the front row pair of George Galo and Sam Tekira gaining plenty of yardage, and veteran playmaker Moses Vaovasa directing play, picking up two tries himself. Dragons coach Tausini Galo fielded a new line up for this must win game, and was concerned as the Tigers came back into the game late in the second half. “It was shades of the Kapiti game,” says Galo, where the Dragons also had a handy lead, only to lose in the last minute of the game. Both sides were guilty of not completing their sets, with handling errors and taking the wrong options when scoring opportunities arose. Alan Matapuku was the best go forward player for the Tigers in a beaten pack, and continues to show improvement in recent games. He was supported in defence by the second row pair of Dylan Cassidy and Natano Keni. A number of times, the Tigers showed their lack of experience when taking the wrong options on attack, often losing possession from unnecessary kicks when the ball would have been best kept in hand. It was unfortunate that the experienced Kane Haerewa was pulled more into a defensive role for the side, and was left to try too many things himself in the smaller pack. It would be fair to say that both sides were guilty of poor finishing at times, and while the Dragons pack was gaining in confidence making ground at will, the Tigers best options were to throw the ball wide, away from the bulkier Saints side. So while one side picks up their first win of the season, and the other keeps searching. Both clubs will need to get support for their sides in an effort to improve their standings after the first round. They can both look at what they desperately need to fix, in order to finish the season with dignity. And it is with club members past and present that need to get in and help these sides retain the respect of the local league community for the business part of the season. More support and help for players and coaching staff to keep these clubs in premier football. Just like to mention the ‘trainer’ for the Tigers against St George was Team Wellington second rower Toby Hall. Representative player and Bartercard regular was there to help his club side out with the messages and the bits of encouragement that nearly pulled off a win for them.

WAINUI 30
Tries: John Monu, Marvin Karawana, Mike Sharpe, Tama Renata Willie Pohoutaua tries
Goals: Marvin Karawana 5
defeated PETONE 26
Tries: Maunga Sikuvea 2, Vila Apa'ula ,Dion Laulu, Chris Savali
Goals: James Toala 3
Venue: Petone Rec
Crowd: 1500
Date: Sat Aug 30 2.45 pm
Referee: Mark McCaffery
Penalties: 6 all
Half time: 14 - 8 Wainui
First Try: John Monu
Man of the Match: Marvin Karawana (Wainui)
Rleague Points: Karawana (Woa), Sikuvea (Pet), Sharpe (Woa)
Match Comments: The Wainuiomata Rugby League club had good reason to celebrate on Saturday night as boththeir premier and reserve grade sides won direct entry to their respective Grand Finals after wins in their major play offs. Wainui relied heavily on the youthful enthusiasm of their national age grade representatives, especially their halves combination of John Monu and Marvin Karawana in defeating Minor Premiers Petone 30-26 at the Petone Rec and booking their second successive Grand Final appearance. It was a case of deja-vu for the Panthers as they had beaten Wainui twice in the league last year, only to fall to the Lions in the play offs. Petone made plenty of the early play in the game with halfback James Toala making two telling line breaks that were not converted into points. But it took some early forward momentum from the Wainui pack up the middle of the park to set Monu up for the first try of the game in the 9th minute. The Panthers hit back after another Toala break from deep inside their half, which saw inspirational front rower Chris Savali off load well in the movement that lead to fullback Dion Laulu diving over in the left corner to close to 4-6. Although Karawana pushed Wainui further ahead with a penalty, Petone drew level from another counter attacking move when Bartercard star Vila Apu'ula scored off a Mounga Sikuvea offload under pressure. Wainui took the halftime lead 14-8 after their forwards again made ground up the middle, with Karawana scoring handy to the posts. The second half became very tit for tat, as first Petone levelled the scores at 14 all when second rower Sikuvea went over for the first of his tries for the game. Then Karawana restored the lead for the Lions with his second penalty,this time for a reckless tackle which saw referee Mark McCaffery become more visible in the game. McCaffery was then called upon to settle two small brawls either side of a Tama Renata try that pushed the Lions out to a 22-14 lead. Petone hit back admirably midway through the second half, first after a big carry by front rower Doug Tafili, that saw Savali cross for a popular try. Then the Panthers edged their noses in front for the first time in the game after some surges for the line by five eighth Malcolm Lewis were repelled, saw Sikuvea cross over for his second try of the game and a 26-22 lead. With 10 minutes to go, Wainui threw everything at the Petone defence and found room down the grandstand touchline where winger Mike Sharpe was put through a gap out wide to level the scores again 26 all. Then dangerous Lions centre Willie Pohoutaua who had been well contained for 74 minutes of the game, was put in the clear by Delaney Edmonds to also score out wide, and take the game. Although the game mirrored these sides previous encounter at Wise Park two weeks ago with good counter attacking, well constructed tries and a last minute winning try, a number of the players failed to exert themselves as in preceding games. The tenacious tackling expected did not eventuate, and although referee Mark McCaffery was called on to keep the sides apart in the second half, neither of those incidents had any bearing on the result. Earlier in the game, Petone halfback James Toala showed he has become the teams most effective line breaker making a number of great attacking moves from inside their half. But the minor premiers lacked the precision to inflict the final punch a number of times, often falling to the youthful Wainui scrambling defence. Lions loose forward Michael Price gave a man of the match contribution with his tackle count well into the 40’s, and he often attracted two defenders whenever he had the ball. Wainui coach Clinton Buchanan said his young halves of Monu and Karawana often shoveled the ball on for the backline, and that although Petone had Pohoutaua well marked, it allowed Tama Renata more freedom to move. Buchanan was surprised that there were no sin bins in the game but praised referee McCaffery for his consistency and hopes he gets the Grand Final job. “The mistakes cost us,” offered Panthers player coach Chris Savali when thinking of the first half opportunities that went begging. “We didn’t finish off those breaks.” Petone assistant coach Eddie Elliott praised the performance of hooker Jason Crown for another sterling effort on defence. And the half combination of Toala and Lewis worked smoothly, arguably the reason for those early line breaks. Petone have a week to re-group before facing Randwick at Wise Park in the preliminary final on Saturday. Their options should include the maximum use of both Vila Apu’ula and Toala, two game breakers who would cause any opposition concern. Dom/Post Colin O’Neill Best & Fairest 3 points Marvin Karawana Lions Five Eighth 2 points Maunga Sikuvea Panther second rower 1 point Micheal Price Lions Loose forward

RANDWICK 35
Tries: Alapati Manusuega 2, Pio Tuia,Matt Sotaaga, Dave Tuia, Feta Luamanu tries
Goals: Wesley Henry 5 gls
F/Goals: Jeremy Poihipi 1 f
defeated NORTH CITY 28
Tries: Tino Tato, Nigel Taumoli,Jason Penny, Dennis McMahon,Jaye Bolstad tries
Goals: Tino Tato 4
Venue: Petone Rec
Crowd: 500
Date: Sat Aug 30 1.00 pm
Referee: Matt Kotuhi
Penalties: 7-6 North City
Half time: 18-10 Randwick
First Try: Alapati Manusuega (Randwick)
Man of the Match: Ralph Leafe (Ran)
Rleague Points: Leafe (Ran), Patelesio (Ran), Brown (Nor)
Match Comments: Randwick coach Darryl Marino said seven weeks ago that every game had to be treated like a final by his players, if they had any hopes of reaching the Grand Final this season. At that time they had been dealt a big blow by Wainui, and sat outside the top four awaiting any slip ups from those above them on the table. Now seven weeks later, Marino still has his players doggedly treating every game as a final, and while Saturdays’ sudden death semi final win over North City was far from perfect, there were glimpses of hope for the Randwick faithful that just perhaps, the 2003 Kingfishers may have enough gas to make it again. Randwick hit their straps early in a dream start, running out to an 18 nil lead after just 10 minutes of game time scoring 3 converted tries and displaying great support play and sending the ball out wide at any opportunity. They continued putting pressure on the North City defence often causing the Vikings to turnover the possession and never allowing the big forward pack to get rolling. Midway through the half, Norths improved their ball control and were able to get their forwards into some momentum. They scored their first points on the back of two penalties, to be 6-18 down after 24 minutes. And although Randwick would have the Viking defence back peddling with good running from dummy half, consecutive sets in the Randwick quarter, followed by more penalties, allowed Norths to pick up their second try, when Nigel Taumoli stretched the Randwick defence to score out wide. Prior to the break, the much-vaunted North City forward pack had moved up a gear, and were beginning to gain in confidence, the more possession they could get. Randwick play maker Ralph Leafe was being well contained by Norths, and it was left up to other players to control the play. Veteran centre Wesley Henry was just that person, starting the movement that put front rower Dave Tuia under the posts for a 24-10 lead from the restart. But North’s began to show some aggressive defence and still with plenty of time on the clock, picked up two converted tries to move within two points of the Kingfishers. But at 24-22, Randwick lost Mike Patelesio and Joe Finau to the bin for holding down in a tackle. The 11 man Kingfishers did well to hold the big North City forwards at bay, and even scored when the Norths failed to take an in goal bomb allowing Feta Luamanu to score in the corner. But relentless pressure up the middle saw the Vikings draw level at 28 all, when centre Jay Bolstad went over, and still 18 minutes to play. In the 29th minute a good roll on began when Randwick were able to retrieve their own goal line drop out on defence. Big second rower Alapati Manusuega was able to score in the ensuing set stepping through the Vikings defence to retake the lead 34-28. A late field goal from Jeremy Poihipi booked Randwick a meeting with Petone in the preliminary final at Wise Park on Saturday, 35-28. Coach Darryl Marino admitted it was good to win this game knowing who the Norths key players were. “We had to shut down their space,” says Marino of the obvious threat the big opposition pack threatened with. The Randwick defence were getting in the Norths faces and forcing errors that resulted in the early big lead. A lead that North City coach Dennis McMahon said was just too big, and took a lot out of his side. “We had no ball for 20 minutes. Were down 18 nil. And we took to long to get cracking,” says McMahon. “Randwick ran the show and it took a toll on us.” After last weeks defeat at Naenae Park, McMahon said that training this week did concentrate on stopping Ralph Leafe, but that other players stood up and took over. Randwick second rower Alapati Manusuega summed up the teams feelings saying that things were hard when they were reduced to 11 players. “We were guilty of it, and Norths were running the ruck fringes well, so we had to shape up ourselves.” Manusuega also said that the game was won for hooker Mike Patelesio who transferred from Norths in the off season, and copped some stick from their supporters in the loss in the first round. Dom/Post Colin O’Neill Best & Fairest 3 points Ralph Leafe Kingfisher Halfback 2 points Mike Patelesio Kingfisher hooker 1 point Tino Brown Viking prop

I must say i was very impressed to see 1500 turn out to the major semi final, that is very impressive. Like i said only sum had some of the results and im not going through all 18 rounds ...the link is
http://www.rleague.com/summary.php

carlnz

I have tried to look around for the result, but can anyone find any information about NZ Residents Vs Australia in i think it was 1999 in New Zealand...or was it 2000 before the world cup? anyway Aussie won by 100 points so im very interested in seeing who played for the residents that day??

ripper

"All I was saying was that if an NPC selected side that hasent played for the All Blacks played England today they would get thumped by 100 points. Because look at the Baa Baas, they are ex all blacks and they still got thumped by England."

There were 2 ex all blacks, Randell and Flavell. All the rest were either NPC Players, or People who played for the AB's once on a mid week tour match. Also, There were 5 different Nationalties playing, there were also Some Sth Africans, French, Aussies and there was meant to be the worlds best winger (Ruipini) but he pulled out.

I couldve picked a better team of NPC only players.

People like Orene Ali, Sam Tuitopu, Bruce Rehina, Atiga (he played for 30 seconds vs Tonga and a made 1 tackle in the WC), Roger Randle, Tesea Lavela shouldve of been in there if it was top NPC Players

ripper

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

1500 to a semi final is not impressive, most NPC 3rd divison Round Robin Games get more

carlnz

ripper73 said:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

1500 to a semi final is not impressive, most NPC 3rd divison Round Robin Games get more

You are really thick arent you? that semi final was wellington club rugby league!! you have no brains at all.........

carlnz

i have no idea what the hell you rugby idiots are on! I really dont...how you put Club League at divison 3 i have no idea?

ouwet

ripper73 said:
Umm, whos the one who said that all the Union Fans would cross to league when the ABS lose :D

Who really cares...
It was obvious thou the chockers would lose! :-({|=