Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RLWC2017 Media Watch

Perth Tiger

even the world cup talk on NRL360, the only thing Ikin gave a shit about was how the success of international footy was going to affect State of Origin.

surprisingly it look like Rothfield was the only one who cared about the world cup.

insert.pause

I was watching Fox Sports on the hour news a few nights ago and it took them 22 minutes before they even mentioned rugby league. They had all of the A-League, "Hybrid rules football", every international soccer match around the planets results, rugby union, and even car racing before they mentioned the RLWC.
The self anointed "Home of Rugby League" ran through the results in 30secs on Sports Sunday, yet they spent 5 minutes talking about some bald Victorian playing for a new AFL club. Considering they don't have any AFL broadcast rights it would seem that commercial considerations only apply to Rugby League. Even then it's foolishly myopic, as one would think promoting the success of a rugby league event could only be advantageous for a network with rugby league rights for the next 5 years.

Stallion

The self anointed "Home of Rugby League" ran through the results in 30secs on Sports Sunday, yet they spent 5 minutes talking about some bald Victorian playing for a new AFL club. Considering they don't have any AFL broadcast rights it would seem that commercial considerations only apply to Rugby League. Even then it's foolishly myopic, as one would think promoting the success of a rugby league event could only be advantageous for a network with rugby league rights for the next 5 years.

Yes. We are seeing a disproportionate amount of media coverage on various media in comparison to the consistently dominant popularity that rugby league provides for such media. It reeks of a reluctance to have rugby league in the spotlight despite it deserving of such publicity. If the fans like it (shown in tv ratings)let them be engrossed in it! But no, this doesn't happen for rugby league? Wonder why?

Stallion

Because we are sht at media management/manipulation

If it were a 'user friendly ' media like other codes experience this would not be an issue. The issue goes deeper than that. Although a media watchdog/management office would not go astray at the ARLC/ Nrl or for international rugby league.

It goes a lot deeper, its an organisational cultural lack of self belief. Sociologists may say it is due to our working class history and "knowing our place". Fact is we cant control the media, we daren't try to control the media, and we don't punish the media when it heaps sht on the game. Where does that fear come from? Is it ineptitude, weakness or lack of confidence? Probably a bit of all three

Ch9 and Fox should have been brought to task about their treatment of RLWC17 by now. They clearly haven't. Why haven't they? Nobody shts on RL as well as RL itself, it seems its in our blood to do so.

Stallion

It goes a lot deeper, its an organisational cultural lack of self belief. Sociologists may say it is due to our working class history and "knowing our place". Fact is we cant control the media, we daren't try to control the media, and we don't punish the media when it heaps sht on the game. Where does that fear come from? Is it ineptitude, weakness or lack of confidence? Probably a bit of all three

Ch9 and Fox should have been brought to task about their treatment of RLWC17 by now. They clearly haven't. Why haven't they? Nobody shts on RL as well as RL itself, it seems its in our blood to do so.

Think its worth working out where or why this stance against rugby league is emanating from? Perhaps a flow on from a school system that doesn't allow rugby league to be a sports option or to be played? (The influential elite private schools of Australia and elsewhere? ) Many students from this sector are employed in high ranking and highly paid media jobs with no feeling toward rugby league as they are not familiar with it.

So what's your theory on the actual RL people in the media that also sht on the game? That's nothing to do with class or private schools, these are our own who run the game down. Its far more sociological on our side than media being controlled by public school rugger boys. Your theory doesn't explain our lack of response and that we meekly bend over and take it time after time. Like I said it is much deeper on our side of why we capitulate to this. The rugger boys may well drive it at their side but our dothing of the cap and taking whatever they serve at us our doing.

Pedge1971

I was watching Fox Sports on the hour news a few nights ago and it took them 22 minutes before they even mentioned rugby league. They had all of the A-League, "Hybrid rules football", every international soccer match around the planets results, rugby union, and even car racing before they mentioned the RLWC.

f**king seriously give the rights to another bidder next round. Cable tv will be dead soon and it is only oligopolies like Fox and Optus that keep the thing going. Streaming is the way fwd.

I live in Singapore and shut all my cable off and have a digital box that has all the content on it for zero fees.

Only charge I pay is for the Rugbypass app and it is about AUD 15 a month and you can switch it off during off season and re-subscribe in March at no extra cost. I have Netflix as well nothing else is needed.

Just shows what a rort cable tv is as you get whacked for a shitty package most of which u dont want or need.....

Stallion

So what's your theory on the actual RL people in the media that also sht on the game? That's nothing to do with class or private schools, these are our own who run the game down. Its far more sociological on our side than media being controlled by public school rugger boys. Your theory doesn't explain our lack of response and that we meekly bend over and take it time after time. Like I said it is much deeper on our side of why we capitulate to this. The rugger boys may well drive it at their side but our dothing of the cap and taking whatever they serve at us our doing.

The theory is that those that are in control will happily employ these 'dumb'/ignorant rugby league people as they keep perpetuating what they want the general public to hear.

Jim from Oz

Loads and loads of pages in today's SMH on the World Cup !

Unfortunately all of it is about Oz v Honduras in the Soccer World Cup! :-(

Stallion

What, in the last week?

No. Over the past few decades! Poor targeted development a big part to blame. It's absolutely happening in the Newcastle area. Especially the inner city suburbs. I think many areas in Sydney are mirroring this poor targeting in development as well.

Springs09

No. Over the past few decades! Poor targeted development a big part to blame. It's absolutely happening in the Newcastle area. Especially the inner city suburbs. I think many areas in Sydney are mirroring this poor targeting in development as well.

So the 'decline' over the past few decades is to blame for the drop in ratings over the last week? Sydney's numbers have been fine for the first three weeks, and it's not like they were awful last night either.

Stallion

So the 'decline' over the past few decades is to blame for the drop in ratings over the last week? Sydney's numbers have been fine for the first three weeks, and it's not like they were awful last night either.

Thought the comment reflected a downsizing of tv ratings in Sydney for rugby league compared to metropolitan population increases? Pretty fair call I think? Their is a decline overall in Sydney especially with the demise of longstanding and widely popular clubs. This does have a negative impact, like it or not.

LeagueXIII

The agenda for rugby league has always been to marginalize it, from day dot. You see that in this world cup.

marginalize
(ˈmɑːdʒɪnəˌlaɪz) or
marginalise
vb
(tr) to relegate to the fringes, out of the mainstream; make seem unimportant