Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RLWC2017 Media Watch

deluded pom?

Compared to the union world cup I don't think there has been one mexican wave....in the union that is usually the highlight of the games.
They tried to do the MW at the NZ v Samoa game when a player was receiving treatment for an injury. It just shows a lack of respect for the players, especially injured ones, IMO.

Stallion

Compared to the union world cup I don't think there has been one mexican wave....in the union that is usually the highlight of the games.

And well pointed out. True sports fans go to and watch rugby league. The other code is for social expediency/networking. It's certainly not watching what's on the field!

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-derbyshire-42109316

A journalist who suffered severe brain injuries and a fractured skull when he was attacked is back reporting on the sport he loves.

Gary Carter, 38, from Manchester, was left fighting for his life after he was punched to the ground and hit his head on the pavement.

After six weeks in a coma, he woke unable to speak or walk.

But now, two years after the attack, Gary is covering the Rugby League World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

With the help of his wife Gemma, the freelance reporter is back interviewing the game's top names for the national press.

On Saturday he covered England v Tonga in the semi-final in Auckland, which England won 20-18.

_98894004_img_8340-1.jpg
Image copyrightGARY CARTER
Image captionGary Carter and wife Gemma covering the Rugby League World Cup in Australia
Gary told the BBC: "I have taken massive steps forwards. I remember waking up and I couldn't move or talk or anything.

"I literally had to learn to walk all over again. I couldn't put one foot in front of the other."

Secondary infections meant Gary also suffered a cardiac arrest and respiratory failure.

He shed six-and-a-half stone in less than two months as he began the long recovery process.

After a gruelling physiotherapy regime, Gary is able to walk again.

He still struggles walking down steps and gets frustrated with his mobility, saying "it takes ages to do stuff".

_98890780_gary2.png
Image captionGary Carter interviewing England's Sam Burgess
He cannot go out on his own any more but luckily has the support of his wife Gemma, 36.

Gemma gave up her job as social worker to become Gary's full-time carer and now accompanies him to matches.

The reporter said he owes her everything.

"She makes sure I'm all right every day and comes to the games with me to make sure I'm sorted.

"I am definitely very lucky to have had the people around me that I have," he said.

_98894005_img_8204.jpg
Image captionGary on wife Gemma: "She makes sure I'm all right every day"
Gary, from Stalybridge, Tameside, was in London in November 2015 to cover a test match between England and New Zealand.

He was having a drink alone at the Star of Bethnal Green pub, where James Flanagan was with friends and his nephew.

When their paths crossed outside the pub, Flanagan punched him on the left side of his face, hitting him in the eye. Gary fell and hit his head on the floor.

Flanagan, 37, of Marsden Street, Kentish Town, north London, received a two-year jail sentence, after pleading guilty to grievous bodily harm.

Sentencing, the judge said the attack was a "cowardly and vicious assault".

_98890507_img_0016.jpg
Image captionGary Carter is back interviewing the game's top stars such as Australia's David Klemmer
Despite everything he has been through, Gary is not bitter about his experience.

He added: "I am one of those people, I suppose. I don't really let anything bother me.

"I just feel like I am as near to normal as I will ever be. I am really, really lucky."

Stallion

Once again the BSB radio programme ignored rugby league world cup final when doing a weekly cross to English based European sports correspondent Jacqueline Magnet. Absolutely certain had it been a rugby union world cup game with England v Australia it would have been a major talking point. This is a clear example of the poor coverage rugby league has suffered many areas of the media. It's clearly not fair or transparent sports commentary of a sport compared to another sport. Pretty sure an Australian coaching an English rugby league team in a world cup final against Australia this Saturday is worth a mention?!

Stallion

The media coverage of this world cup final both in the papers, tv and radio has been dissappointing! Not many 'friends' out there when it counts for rugby league!

Stallion

Tv ratings for the finals. Im hoping the womens final will rate well on 7mate. I'm noting the luke warm media coverage of the mens world cup final however I'm thinking this one off event will rate very well despite the cricket telecast. Here's hoping!

DC_fan

The media coverage of this world cup final both in the papers, tv and radio has been dissappointing! Not many 'friends' out there when it counts for rugby league!

It’s Cricket season, and it is the Ashes, so we shouldn’t expect anything different. Rugby League has plenty of friends during the footy season.

Stallion

It’s Cricket season, and it is the Ashes, so we shouldn’t expect anything different. Rugby League has plenty of friends during the footy season.

It's a world cup champ! I'm aware its summertime and so are most people. That's why the media should be giving the world cup some appropriate exposure. After rugby league as a code is the game that keeps giving. Cutting it some slack is not much to ask for. This is an important event and deserves publicity.

DC_fan

It's a world cup champ! I'm aware its summertime and so are most people. That's why the media should be giving the world cup some appropriate exposure. After rugby league as a code is the game that keeps giving. Cutting it some slack is not much to ask for. This is an important event and deserves publicity.

The RLWC gets what the attention that the media believes it’s worth. It is interesting, in today’s Telegraph, thanks to Haynes and Pearces change of clubs, Boyd Cordners ongoing knee problems and Brookvale Ovals state of disrepair rugby league gets a good write up. They do not ignore the RLWC. So they are giving league a good write up. It’s just that’s it’s more NRL focused then RLWC.

Stallion

I
The RLWC gets what the attention that the media believes it’s worth. It is interesting, in today’s Telegraph, thanks to Haynes and Pearces change of clubs, Boyd Cordners ongoing knee problems and Brookvale Ovals state of disrepair rugby league gets a good write up. They do not ignore the RLWC. So they are giving league a good write up. It’s just that’s it’s more NRL focused then RLWC.

BSB sports breakfast just mentioned the poor publicity associated with this world cup final. Journalist Andrew Webster mentioned the great tv ratings but lamented that tickets are now being given away for the final.

DC_fan

BSB sports breakfast just mentionef the poor publicity associated with this world cup final. He mentioned the great tv ratings but lamented that tickets are now being given away for the final.

While not poor, crowds for this tournament have not been great. It will not look good if we can’t fill the stadium for the final, especially with Australia being involved. As we have seen in recent years NRL crowds have been down and crowds for this tournament could be a follow on from that. People get used to the idea of watching sport on TV, and not going to the game. For one thing it’s cheaper.

Stallion

While not poor, crowds for this tournament have not been great. It will not look good if we can’t fill the stadium for the final, especially with Australia being involved. As we have seen in recent years NRL crowds have been down and crowds for this tournament could be a follow on from that. People get used to the idea of watching sport on TV, and not going to the game. For one thing it’s cheaper.

Fully agree. And that's why ticket prices should be cheaper.

hutch

Not that I would ever purchase the scummy telegraph, but reading it at the airport on the way to brissy. There is heaps of rugby league in the sports pages, pages of it. Unfortunately the World Cup final is a couple of paragraphs at the bottom of one of these pages. The rest is nrl and origin. F*ck this sport.

deal.with.it

I read yesterdays DT while waiting for a coffee. One small column article beside the main article on Shaun Fensom's return from injury... WTF?

The media have decided it isn't worthy of coverage. Frankly they are wrong. They should worry about what interests their audience and not what their personal views are. 2.3 million people watched Australia's semi. That is real interest. It is a bigger audience than any other national football team in 2017.

Burns

Sydney Morning Herald and Newcastle Herald have 3 pages on Hayne and Pearce. Zero on the WC Final outside of Steve Mascord's column saying the International Game has been damaged.

DC_fan

The media have decided it isn't worthy of coverage. Frankly they are wrong. They should worry about what interests their audience and not what their personal views are. 2.3 million people watched Australia's semi. That is real interest. It is a bigger audience than any other national football team in 2017.

They would go out of business if they didn't worry about what their audience wanted.

Jim from Oz

Today's Daily Tele is just shocking … a few small pars about the RLWC final buried among pages and pages of boring RL stuff about the likes of Mitchell Pearce etc.

the Daily Tele has been very good all tournament … and now this. Very disappointing.

SMH has NOTHING apart from Mascord column … again, very disappointing.

Still, my mates are I are PUMPED for our weekend in BrisVegas …