Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rnd1: Raiders v Knights

edabomb

Bay56 said:
Happy Bday ed .... maybe you can time both events at the same time ... will take a bit of effort on your part to last the 80 mins

:lol: I really do lack the stamina Bay, not a warhorse like your good self. Thanks for the well wishes.

We should at least fire a shot this year Timbo, have a good one tommorow BTW!

Chachi

The footy has finally returned!!

I agree this is the type of game we need to win for us to be a legitimate top 8 chance. I have no idea what to expect, but if we hold onto the footy then we're a great show.

If we don't (like the Cowboys last night) it doesn't matter how big our forward pack is...we'll be in trouble. Having said that, we should go out with all guns blazing trying to get the ball out to our bigger outside backs in Monas, Best and Campo. If they create some room then Zilly and Graham could have a field day.

IMO the key may be the Buderus vs Withers clash. If Linc can do the job we'll go OK.

paulquinn49

Happy Bday Ed! whatd yah get?

Also good call before Bay, the side with the most possession might win this one. Only happens about 90% of the time, but good call anyway champ.

Prediction for tonight, side with most points may win

edabomb

paulquinn49 said:
Happy Bday Ed! whatd yah get?

Also good call before Bay, the side with the most possession might win this one. Only happens about 90% of the time, but good call anyway champ.

Prediction for tonight, side with most points may win
A new wallet, a shirt, a CD and some DVDs. All up pretty decent considering I'm 24 IMO.

IMO this is a big game, if we can jag a win on the road early it should become less of a hott topic. And the Knights are definately beatable.

Bay56

Half time and my fears of drop ball and some curious ref calls have been our undoing.

Only down by six with the wind in our favour ... might I say we could come home with a wet sail.

Mind you if we keep on dropping the pill we could have Cyclone Tracey in our favour and we'd come home with zip.

Wonder how ed's going.

matt

ya confident bay...its begining to look alot like christmas ....remember this sides is prolly worse than us . omfg

Bay56

matt said:
ya confident bay...its begining to look alot like christmas ....remember this sides is prolly worse than us . omfg
'

that 's the worrying thing ,,,

from what I have seen thus far not much has changed since Rnd 26 ... we still srop the pill, withers still throws forward passess, we dont seem to have a structured play in attack, Junior Pearce still hasnt ot over 89 and refs still like to root the living daylights out of us

Here's hoping we can string a few sets together and get over the line ... we should make use of the wind and maybe a few bombs and hail mary's and we'll come home with the points.

Now lets see if we've got over that kick-off after halftime and dropping the ball in the first set.

nickraider

Totally inept performance from the Raiders!!! Great start to the season as per usual. Pathetic!!!!!!!!!!!!

matt

just noticed the sharks are up 16 to 6 good start to the season for the sharkies:lol:

on withers if he ever gives up football or gets sacked by someone that has a clue i am personally going to head hunt him and plonk him on a idiot proof press to punch my brackets out all day long ,f**k i dont reckon he'd ever take a day off.

more of the same ..oh well brekky in bed tommorow with the family:lol:

DISGRACEFUL,as per usual.

Bay56

Withers drops the ball after we were on a roll ... Knights in 30 secs later and follow up with another to win

Same ol, same ol, same ol ... dropped ball, headless attack ....

a well coached side ?? ... I'll reserve my judgement

we've just played the worst side in the NRL and we lost dismally .

better luck next week ... over and out

azza

Positive: There are 25 rounds to go and we can only go up after that performance.

Negative: There are 25 rounds to go and if we don't improve it's going to be a looooong season.

Bay56

Did I mention that nothing has changed since Rnd 26 ... Tilse is still a powderpuff ... why the hell isnt Thurling picked .... ohh yea and Withers still throws forward passes and makes crucial mistakes.

Spike

Well done Canberra, once again you've shown how inept and mediocre your team is :clap:

Hanscholo

Raider_69 said:
I disagree
your pack is rubbish, it lacks size and agression, and impact
you're halves are good potentially but from what ive seen both crack under pressure and Dureau is suspect defensively, our halves are far more developed (Carney > Mullen and Campese > Dureau) and with Campo there, defensively sound
the backs are not all that potent with exception of Giddley and leak alot of points... Monaghan's addition will sort out one side of our sh*tty outside back defence, but the other is still fair game, whilst both of you're fringes are fair game.

Giddley and Paterson are the only real worrys imo... assuming we dominate the forward battle like we should, Buderus and Mullen will be ineffective behind a well beaten pack... Paterson and Giddley have the ability to create something from nothing. We'll have to watch them very closely

So in concludsion we should win this game, thats not to say we just have to turn up and we will, we've got to turn up, execute our game and we'll be fine... but as you do state our away record is not good, for what ever reason we seem to struggle to execute away from bruce, if that happens tonight we will lose, the knights have enough talent to make us pay if we dont play well enough

lol owned. I thiought the Canberra pack were well beaten.

darkness

Might wanna tell your boys that, grappling around the head isn't allowed anymore either, they got penalised a few times for it tonight and I saw many more times where they should have as well. It became costly for the Raiders. I thought they have potential, but there catching and passing coach might wanna have a good look at himself. And how could you call the knights the worst side in the comp Bay, it's only round 1.??