Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Robbie Farah restaurant and club feeding players.

LRC

Interesting watching the Sunday footy lounge when Farah was questioned about his team mates coming down to his restaurant.
They asked him does he make them pay...he said of course..the club pays anyway!!
Sounds like a great way to top up Robbies income to me.
Even Warren Smith sort of back tracked a bit.
Hey boys, lets go to Tiger Tiger, clubs shout... we need to keep Robbies income up to meet our obligations.
Wonder how this sits in the cap?

Did anyone else see this?

I reckon its a genuine business but def a good way to by pass the audit.

kmav23

Fail ! Clubs provide meals to players all the time . If they choose his Restraunt nothing wrong as it's a business.

Talanexor

Fail ! Clubs provide meals to players all the time . If they choose his Restraunt nothing wrong as it's a business.

Interesting idea though. What if a player owned a car dealership? Or a resort somewhere? Where do you draw the line?

Cliffhanger

Don't draw the line, if a team finds a creative way to circumvent the ridiculous salary cap let them.

Well played Tigpies, well played.

DC_fan

Now if every player in the squad (25) showed up at Farahs restaurant every night of the year for a meal, well that would be worth something like (say $30 a meal) $273,000 for Farah.

Ulysseus

Whether it would be a contentious issue would depend on the monetary value over a period of time as others have stated, although you'd think he'd need to have them throwing down some serious food to make anything outlandish from it, particularly when you consider he has to take out the overheads from the profit etc.
However, if the club were paying for the restaurant directly or financed it in any way shape or form then that would be a very big no no.

little_aza

Surely the restaurant would be registered as Tiger Tiger Pty Ltd, and hence a separate legal entity. It's a great loophole as Farah is getting paid as a majority shareholder in his company, which legally has nothing to do with the Wests Tigers. Any arrangement for meals between Wests Tigers and Tiger Tiger would be solely dealings of the company. There's contractual consideration between two companies...it sounds legit!

I'm quite impressed with this Tiger Tiger deal - good on ya Robbie. Here's hoping Schubert doesn't read this thread and the lightbulb switches on and new rules are created.

Melbourne had the same scam going with INglis and Maccas. The boat was nothing compared to the Maccas account

BunniesMan

The salary cap is already overly draconian, if Farah does make some money form the club, good on him.

I like the fact that a player is investing his money wisely and looks to have his future set up after his footy career. Good on him.

aqua_duck

This could be a brilliant way to get around the cap. I mean say for example a player starts his own catering business, what's stopping say Russell Crowe giving the catering contract to that player's business for all his events and during filming of movies?

playdaball

Now if every player in the squad (25) showed up at Farahs restaurant every night of the year for a meal, well that would be worth something like (say $30 a meal) $273,000 for Farah.
Chances of that are very remote. Once you take out food costs, wages and other costs it would be about $91,000 for the restaurant.

AlwaysGreen

This type of thing has been going on since the salary cap came in. A non issue. Has anyone been to Farah's joint? Review?

Didgi

I have, it's much better than Ennis' restaurant. A lot less grubby too :sarcasm: