Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Robbie Kearns

grey_nurse

I read in the telegraph today Robbie Kearns will be a free agent from tomorrow.
Do you think the sharks would be interested?
He did start his footy here after all??

Nuffs

i wouldn't mind him in sharks colours

a solid benchie for us with loads of experience

As I said elsewhere I'm sure his last contract with the Storm had a job after life clause in it. I think he'll retire.

Remember his efforts for the Sharks in the earlay 90s. He was good, pity we let him go, but it was a time when we had plenty of great forwards. I reckon 34 is a good age to retire.

tiburon

He'd be good off the bench if he would be interested in that role at the Sharks. We are losing Stevo and maybe Galloway.

amzz

tiburon said:
He'd be good off the bench if he would be interested in that role at the Sharks. We are losing Stevo and maybe Galloway.
yer agree but i would still like to see the sharks buying some younger props,eg:sargent,myles

shadowboxer

I thought he was going to a gig with the NRL regarding recruitment or something. He would be good for experience but he has to be getting a bit long in the tooth now.

black_dot

He must come into the picture , if not for any of the reasons everyong points out above, the mere fact that we don't have many more options.

would be the good leader to bring on the guys like galloway, williams and hutch for another year.....

black_dot

That's where I see merit in getting him mate, Stevo would play one year for us if he could, he's retiring due to injury. So I think kearns could fill that prop mentoring role and really teach the young blokes something. They have got to know stevo and will have learned from him, a year with a new prop that has fanastic experience, has won GFS and plenty of origins and test jumpers can't hurt then kids, a fresh face with new things to learn off.

Last time he was off contract, he was indicating he'd like to have one more year in the Shire.

pogo

signing a well over the hill robbie kearns would be a retrograde step.

why do you think melbourne are prepared to let him go.

black_dot

Because his stature in the game and form commands more dollars in the open market than the storm can afford to pay him under the cap to keep him.