Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rock Star II - who should they choose as a band?

jed

There's already been talk (including on the show) that next year will see Rock Star return to find the lead singer for another band. What bands are there that need a replacement lead singer? After a bit (about 2 minutes) of thought, I came up with:

Midnight Oil
The Doors
Nirvana
Queen

For the show to work, it'd have to be a fairly decent group, one that has been around long enough to build a big enough following to convince people that the show was worth watching.

NPK

elyod138 said:
The only thing going for MOST of those bands were the lead singers...

Yea, apart from Midnight Oil..I like their music but not Peter Garrett's voice. He doesn't even try to sing..he chants.

choc_soldier

Queen COULD work.

But they would need to find someone who has the vocal range that Freddie had - otherwise, it just would not feel right.

simostorm

parra_panther said:
Queen COULD work.

But they would need to find someone who has the vocal range that Freddie had - otherwise, it just would not feel right.

Yeah they could get Mig.:D

I think the Doors would work, but not Nirvana cos I doubt Dave Grohl
would want to.

Dread

Sweet jesus.

Peter Garrett IS the Oils.
Jim Morrison IS the Doors.
Likewise Cobain with Nirvana and Mercury with Queen.
And Hutchence with INXS.

I think it's sad that a once great band had to whore itself out to television. They should've moved on when Hutchence died. I heard 'INXSs' new single the other day. What utter trash.

simostorm

In real life when a lesser known band losers a member they get someone new and move on, so why shouldnt INXS? Just cos they are big and famous does that mean they cant do that?
In the times we live in, if you dont think TV is a good way of promoting something
then your simply foolish.

Mong

I agree with Dread...

I'd be horrified if my favourite band lost their lead singer then went and did what INXS have done... I wonder what the hardcore, (if there is such a thing), INXS fan thinks of all this.

I don't mind that they went to television for promotion and the bonus of a new singer, it's just that they succumbed to the ridiculous format and overhyped themselves. They wouldn't have done such a thing if there wasn't some label thinking it'd be a great way to make money. They can only really regain credibility if they disappear in the meantime and do things their own way, with the new singer an integral part of the band and if they succeed on their own merit then that's fantastic.

In the times we live in, TV is the best way of promoting something, but what they promote is shallow and crap. I'd hate for INXS to be some kind of tailor-made vessel that is forgotten in a month, and all the band members appear on a celebrity Big Brother or Backyard Blitz shortly afterwards. It doesn't seem unlikely.

Nuke

Queen don't need to use this kinda idea to get themselves a lead singer. At the moment, Queen are touring with Paul Rodgers (of Free and Bad Company fames). Paul hasn't replaced Freddie (who could?), the tour is officially billed as 'Queen + Paul Rodgers'.

Queen these days consists of Brian May and Roger Taylor (ironically, the two guys that met in the late '60s and started a band called Smile which evolved into Queen once Freddie Mercury stepped in a couple of years later). Freddie, obviously, has passed away, and John Deacon retired not long afterwards.

simostorm said:
Yeah they could get Mig.:D
Mig has actually played Galileo in the London cast of the hit Queen musical 'We Will Rock You' for a while now. I don't know if you knew that or not. I don't know if they mentioned that at all during 'INXS RockStar' - I don't have Foxtel, so I haven't seen any episodes.

poita

UndertakerMike said:
Sliverchair :D

pretty stupid seeing as daniel has 50+ songs written for the next album.

from recent interview

But while the Dissociatives is John's current musical addiction, he insists Silverchair isn't over yet. "I don't want Silverchair to break up. I feel really passionate about proving something. I don't think we've been as good as we are capable of being. I want one massive album (with Silverchair) thats good, not a few albums that i'm not entirely happy with. I just want to write heaps of music. I'm trying to model my career on someone like Brian Eno. I'm writing all the time and some of it goes in the Silverchair basket and some of it goes in the dissociatives basket and some of it goes in another basket altogether. we are definately looking at recording another Dissociatives album."

simostorm

I'd love to hear another Chair album.
Nuke wrote:
Mig has actually played Galileo in the London cast of the hit Queen musical 'We Will Rock You' for a while now. I don't know if you knew that or not. I don't know if they mentioned that at all during 'INXS RockStar' - I don't have Foxtel, so I haven't seen any episodes.

Yeah they mentioned it on the show, mig performed Bohemian rhapsordy.

simostorm

strewth_mate said:
I don't mind that they went to television for promotion and the bonus of a new singer, it's just that they succumbed to the ridiculous format and overhyped themselves. They wouldn't have done such a thing if there wasn't some label thinking it'd be a great way to make money. They can only really regain credibility if they disappear in the meantime and do things their own way, with the new singer an integral part of the band and if they succeed on their own merit then that's fantastic.

In the times we live in, TV is the best way of promoting something, but what they promote is shallow and crap. I'd hate for INXS to be some kind of tailor-made vessel that is forgotten in a month, and all the band members appear on a celebrity Big Brother or Backyard Blitz shortly afterwards. It doesn't seem unlikely.

Hmmm it is true that it would be great if they could do it on there own,
but the tv show was great entertainment to watch during the week,
and it made it much more entertaining knowing that a big name like INXS was involved.
So much awesome music got sang on the show, It was worth it form mine,
I was happy with the outcome.
The Winner does only get a 12 month contract also so it dosnt mean that
this singer will be with them for good.

HevyDevy

Mong said:
I agree with Dread...

I'd be horrified if my favourite band lost their lead singer then went and did what INXS have done... I wonder what the hardcore, (if there is such a thing), INXS fan thinks of all this.

At least Audioslave had the decency to rename themselves. Once Zack left RATM it was never going to be RATM again. Other bands should take a leaf out of their book ...

Can you imagine Opeth trying to replace Mikael Akerfeldt??

The only bands I know that have been successful with two different lead singers are AC/DC and Deep Purple.