Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

rogers goorne!!!!!!! who else?

White Poiner

hey now rogers is out of the picture who do you think our prime targets are to buy

i think we will need to get a 5/8 but we will have to see how bird will go when he returns because he just might start playing better also i think we need bigger and better back only one like tahu so vangana isnt alone.
where else :?:
well if sully becomes our hooker we dont need one but we could use a better 2nd rower because bikkers and isemonger is playing crap

oh yeah we need a kicker
and a player to take the preassure of kimmorley like anasta on the kicks.

I think we are ok in the forwards department bar one experienced front rower. This problem would be solved if Beattie steps up when he returns from injury. I think we have enough young quality forwards coming through with Vagg, Green, Dumas, Newton, Ciraldo, Galloway and R Williams to eventually blend in with the likes of Bailey, Nutley, Stevo and co. Depending on when their contracts finish it would surprise me if the club shed the likes of isemonger and bickerstaff.

The backs are a different story. There is not alot of depth there. Fullback is relatively well covered for Peachy's retirement. Wing is a problem. We need some big fast strong wingers and maybe another center who are defensively capable in the mould of a Timana Tahu. (I dont know if mellars will be the answer). 5/8 is a problem but there are no real solutions out there (I cant seee us getting Lockyer) so we may have to develope Aitken or Bird more.

Who is going to cover for Peach!!!!
f**k me there is nothing there.
Merrit? What a joke.
simmonds? UUmmm catching
Lord bronx? No where near ready.

my excitement is definitely focused on Makisi. he might be a possiblility.

We are lucky the Peach will be here for another 2 years.

On second thoughts your probably right reefy and its probably a comment i would like back
I think Merrit goes alright though. He hasnt done much, but what he has done has been ok. He has suffered like Vagana in that our attack is more directed down the left hand side and he hasnt been able to show his stuff so we really dont know what he is capable of.

Simmons would not be up to it at the moment.

I rate Goodwin more than Simmons but like you say he is no where near ready.

Saleh could cover it. He has had a run or two in PL at fullback and if his positional play at fullback is as good as his wing play he is alright.

It might be a dead issue anyway like you said as Peach may play for another few years yet.

beekershark

NOt sure of the strength of it, but ORFORD is a name that has been talked of in high places at the club, and noddy is a supporter of the idea.

Genius Freak

Of course if you were gonna have 2 halfbacks we could sign Johns and play him at 5/8. You'd need an extra footy, but between Noddy and Joey you could play me on the wing and still go all the way.

Special K

Orford turned down playing 5/8 with noddy in the past so I doubt he would want to now.

Go for some young blokes like we did a few years back with Bird and Franze and hope they produce. And for a big name try and steal Kidley(I know it won't happen shut up)

RICHO

Hmmm Orford and Noddy in the same team? I doubt it would work.

Both are very similar players. Both are a similar size.

Nup, not working for me.

Cometshark

Im liking Scott Hill (I think he's off contract) after him what about that young warriors winger we were close to signing last month?

Jimbo

Genius Freak said:
Of course if you were gonna have 2 halfbacks we could sign Johns and play him at 5/8. You'd need an extra footy, but between Noddy and Joey you could play me on the wing and still go all the way.

Not with the skills you showed on the hill on Saturday night!!

:p

f**k me!!
Scott Hill is not off contract!
he has just resigned with the Storm for 3 years on a contract with injury clauses.
It made the papers for weeks when it was announced.
Gonski!!! Ages ago.

We put our second best halfback at hooker not 5/8. :?
I would be happy to play our second best halfback at 5/8, I reckon it would work well.

Foz

Re Preston. You'd think we learnt our lesson once.
No Orford for me.
We need a big forward,a centre and a 5/8 ASAP.

beekershark

Im not saying I like the idea, and was taken aback when I heard the suggestion, but it was from a pretty good source indeed.

I questioned the wisdom of it and was told that Noddy has been complaining that unloess he takes the pill 4 out of 5 tackles, there is nothin doing.

I would prefer to see him ALLOW the likes of Sully and Hilder and peach a bit more ball before he made that comment, but anyway, that's the reason behind a push for orford, or similar style player.

Personally, I think the best player to sign would be GLEN MORRISON, or a player similar, let's face it, he should be in the origin side, is a hard one to handle, and had trememdous ball skills and offload skills, plus breaks tackles and makes tackles.

Put him in number 6, or play him at lock leaving hilder at 6 and that would do me, let noddy control the pill, and let morrison bust the short side every second set of six with rieck, peach and simmo running off him to score the tries.

anybody have any (real) idea how the club is travelling financially and approximately what sort of budget / cap limits we will have to work within re: recruitment ?

i get the feeling we're not exactly cashed up, don't/won't have a lot of room under the cap and aren't renowned for the premiership success that's likely to attract quality players.

beekershark said:
NOt sure of the strength of it, but ORFORD is a name that has been talked of in high places at the club, and noddy is a supporter of the idea.

Wasn't Marlin a huge supporter of that idea?

beekershark

was he mate ? I haven't read alot of posts recently, but if Marlin posted something similiar then credit him for the scoop, cause I heard from a very good source at the club.

millersnose

McSharkie said:
beekershark said:

Wasn't Marlin a huge supporter of that idea?

morpheus and marlin were pretty similair - sudden appearances and dissappearances and a bubbling hatred of brett kimmorley

uncanny these resemblances

Uncanny indeed Millers . . . .

What are the positions we need to target?

Left Centre
5/8th
Prop
Wing

In order of preference.

Left Centre: Greg Bird? He is going to end up as a second rower or a centre because he doesn't offload enough. Can he play left centre? Might be time to trial him there. Vince Mellars. That seems to have dropped right off. Paul Whatuira? He'll be hard to get with Girdler retiring but he would be nice.

5/8th: We have to buy a ball playing 5/8th that can kick in general play. Who is there? Orford? Possibly. Kidley? Doubt he will leave Newcastle. Lockyer? Buckley's. Dykes? Yes. He will fit the roll perfectly. Is he off contract though?

Prop: Must get another strong running prop. Mark O'Meley? Apparently he has been re-signed by the dogs already. John Skandalis? He is underrated, I'd have him. Paul Stringer? Jury is out on this bloke.

Wing: I dunno who's available but surley we can find juniors to cover our wings.