Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ronald in today's Tele

Giving it to some winger who Brisbane have called up for his first NRL game. Played for Balmain in 05 and Canberra before. Ronald gives him a serve and basically says he's sh*t. Given Ronald has signed his own geniused son, Morris, and a heap of others that aren't up to it, expect this bloke to score tries like he's Ken Irvine.

Vicious

He`s not far wrong ?
I remember seeing Steve Turner play and carve up for the Panthers Premier League side prior to being signed by Melbourne. Now i don`t think Turner is no superstar, but he`s a very good finisher in the right environment. I compare Shannon McDonnell very similarly with Steve Turner, wait and see.

Vicious

super_coach said:
Vicious--who going to create the space for junior burger to become this star

Who knows.What i`m saying is, put Shannon McDonnell on that same Melbourne Storm wing that Steve Turner plays and i`ve got no doubt he`d look every bit as good.

Junior burger will drop any passes aimed his way the minute a defender looks like breathing on him. And kudos to ronald. He got Simpson right. He was bound to get one right eventually I suppose

Vicious

themanonthehill said:
Junior burger will drop any passes aimed his way the minute a defender looks like breathing on him. And kudos to ronald. He got Simpson right. He was bound to get one right eventually I suppose

As you know, i`m a bit of a fan of junior burger, that being said, i as much as anyone else have been disapponted in how he`s performed in his last few games in the top grade and feel that he has to work on putting on a little bit of size and becoming more consistent before being looked at as a first grade option again. Out of curiosity i`d like to know what themanonthehill and others feels would be the best realistic first grade backline for the Wests Tigers to start season `2008 with ???

With what we have at present or what is being speculated about who we may get and who may go:

As it stands no additions:
1. Hodgo
2. Lawrence (outside Collis)
3. Collis
4. Eshman (ST bulking up)
5. TNT
6. Benj
7. Lazarus

Beau Ryan didn't really impress.

BAsed on rumours, fantasies, wishful thinking, snippets on the interjazz:
1. Marshall (6 in attack)
2. TNT
3. Collis
4. Lewis
5. Rooney
6. Lawrence (1 in attack)
7. Lazarus

The as is scenario requires plenty of defensive work between now and March. I'd go so far as to say they shouldn't touch a ball until January.

Vicious

themanonthehill said:
With what we have at present or what is being speculated about who we may get and who may go:

As it stands no additions:
1. Hodgo
2. Lawrence (outside Collis)
3. Collis
4. Eshman (ST bulking up)
5. TNT
6. Benj
7. Lazarus

Beau Ryan didn't really impress.

BAsed on rumours, fantasies, wishful thinking, snippets on the interjazz:
1. Marshall (6 in attack)
2. TNT
3. Collis
4. Lewis
5. Rooney
6. Lawrence (1 in attack)
7. Lazarus

The as is scenario requires plenty of defensive work between now and March. I'd go so far as to say they shouldn't touch a ball until January.

That second option would be real nice, but Luke Lewis is no hope of moving just yet. I hope Eshmans comes good, but his first grade debut last season was very ordinary to say the least.

We got towelled by a side that lost 4 games all year and we were injury ravaged.
He was up against a good backline
Good old shines .. throw him in against Melb at Olympic PArk - that'll build his confidence up
Another stone or so up top and he could be a very very good centre

Vicious

themanonthehill said:
We got towelled by a side that lost 4 games all year and we were injury ravaged.
He was up against a good backline
Good old shines .. throw him in against Melb at Olympic PArk - that'll build his confidence up
Another stone or so up top and he could be a very very good centre
He`s apparently a very aggressive defender which would be very handy, your right in saying it wasn`t an ideal game to make your debut in, but he didn`t exactly show his solid defence that day. Also, like yourself i`m highly impressed with Blake Lazarus, but another of our signed up youngsters in Wade Dunley has made the train on squad for the Junior Kangaroos, i assume Lazarus would of also been available for selection ??? Maybe he can still be added as he`s still playing finals footy ??? And whilst on Lazarus, does anyone know the reasons as to why he was cut loose by the Bulldogs and then the Sharks before coming to us ???
And would you agree that Tim Moltzen looks to have the pace and running game to possibly be blooded and star as a centre before possibly moving into 5/8 later on, ala Laurie Daley ??? I`m not saying he`s got the talent of a young Laurie Daley, but he seems a very composed footballer and i`m impressed.

Vicious

crouching_tiger said:
Sorry, no can do, but he will highly unlikely be playing against us either.

Straight to Super League ala the last Panthers reject who went on to star in the Balmain lower grades in Michael Withers ???

Spoken of so highly by ROnald at the Balmain AGM as well.
Poor Eshy would have gone ok if he stuck to centre
But the minute he played wing and fullback his cards were marked `competition for junior burger'
We all know the rest

smeghead

Wrog on that one MOTH.

As you probably know Esh has had some hard times recently with family passings etc.

He may be making rush judgements atm but crouching tiger is spot on with what he said and no ESL is not an option either

Surely not yawnion ??
I didn't know about his passings but how many outside backs have we let go to give Ronald's spastic son a rails run.
I'll start the ball rolling:
Covell
Fitzy (as sh*t as he is he is Ken Irvine compared to Junior Burger)
Patty
Elf (played wing 06)
Jeffrey
Eshman
Whatz (meaning Lawrence to centre freeing up a wing spot)
It f**king stinks that this tard is being given the rails run whilst other (and many) better players are being let go. Absolutely stinks

Vicious

themanonthehill said:
Surely not yawnion ??
I didn't know about his passings but how many outside backs have we let go to give Ronald's spastic son a rails run.
I'll start the ball rolling:
Covell
Fitzy (as sh*t as he is he is Ken Irvine compared to Junior Burger)
Patty
Elf (played wing 06)
Jeffrey
Eshman
Whatz (meaning Lawrence to centre freeing up a wing spot)
It f**king stinks that this tard is being given the rails run whilst other (and many) better players are being let go. Absolutely stinks

The only 2 worth feeding are Pat Richards and Ben Jeffery, the others are only ordinary at best !!!

Wrighty79

The best thing I am oping for is that with the spare cash we have in letting go of Galea and Fitzy, is that we are paying for the fat pri(ks farewell. I reckon the fat fu(k can eat about $200K worth of food, and the other $100K is his redundancy cheque.

McDonnell you fat f**k, f**k off!

rupertpupkin

Vicious said:
The only 2 worth feeding are Pat Richards and Ben Jeffery, the others are only ordinary at best !!!

Despite his average pace, Covell is a reliable winger. Nothing flash, but puts in consistently, can finish well and is no bludger. He is particularly valuable in his role as specialist goal kicker. Whatever his shortcomings, he justifies his spot with a workmanlike approach, and converting tries plus penalties. If WT had Covell on the wing, those close games in 07 could have turned out very differently. Likewise 06 when the kicking went south. Covell may not set the world on fire, but is a better option than some of the choices on wing over the last 2 (even 3) seasons.