Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Roosters '10

jdbronco

Definately the form team coming into the home straight. Lets see if they can keep it up in September though.

The Brain

My chooks get hammerd by the penalty counts every week thankfully theyve got through their games .Gotta fix that because come semi time -good teams step it up a notch and you give away that much possesion -you lose

Gaba

I hate them, but they are starting to put up the best displays of RL and look like scoring off every set. Will be hard to beat this year now that they are really gelling

test will be next week , against the dragons defence :D and whether they can stop the dragons from scoring.

roosters did well yesterday the only time i was happy to see them win

Fein

My chooks get hammerd by the penalty counts every week thankfully theyve got through their games .Gotta fix that because come semi time -good teams step it up a notch and you give away that much possesion -you lose

Alot of those penalties in those counts should not have been given either so there isn't a great deal to fix.

Without doubt the best team to watch this year and as an impartial I hope they make the GF based on what I have seen so far.

thommo4pm

That was easily the best team performance of the year last night.

The chooks are the team to beat right now, credit to them, they have turned around massively after getting the spoon last year.

stimpy u idiot

As a Easts supporter I am very happy just for them to be in the eight this year. All this talk being the "team to beat" makes me very very nervous. We have to drop a game sometime between now and September otherwise we have to win 5 more rounds of normal footy then 2 or 3 finals games to even be in the final taking us to 12 or 13 straight. Its very hard to get winning streaks like that nowadays. I just hope that Smith bans the reading of the sports media in the team. One At A Time has to be the mantra from here on.

Monk

People are kidding themselves if they think our discipline isn't an issue.

We gave away something like 11 stupid penalties last night, and had Parra not given away 8 or so we would have been in trouble, Good sides will take advantage of good field position, and all the teams in the finals will be good sides.

thommo4pm

As a Easts supporter I am very happy just for them to be in the eight this year. All this talk being the "team to beat" makes me very very nervous. We have to drop a game sometime between now and September otherwise we have to win 5 more rounds of normal footy then 2 or 3 finals games to even be in the final taking us to 12 or 13 straight. Its very hard to get winning streaks like that nowadays. I just hope that Smith bans the reading of the sports media in the team. One At A Time has to be the mantra from here on.

Mate just enjoy the ride, your team is playing quality footy right now.
Enjoy watching it and being a part of it.

If the grand final was next week, they would win it.. Maybe.
Will the form last through to September though?

Next week should be interesting.

The comp doesn't let you win 12-13 straight anymore.
Hope it's a packed SCG next week. Saints are still the benchmark

Monk

It will be a packed SCG, i dare say most of the people who rock up 30min before the start of the game will find there are no more tickets left.

I am purchasing mine in the coming days :D

thommo4pm

It will be a packed SCG, i dare say most of the people who rock up 30min before the start of the game will find there are no more tickets left.

I am purchasing mine in the coming days :D

Lets hope that it is a sell out at the SCG.
If Saints win today against Brisbane, I think it will virtually guarantee a sell out.

Noa

I wouldnt mind seeing them win if only for the fact Ive always rated Brian Smith and think he deserves a GF win on his CV.

Tom Ace

I said the same thing to the people I was watching the game with.

It might be this week and I can't really see it being a bad thing.

thommo4pm

What's the SCG capacity these days? It seems to shrink whenever they renovate.

I think with the new stand mate, the capacity increased to around 46K.
It would be perfect size for Rugby League if the sidelines weren't so far away from the fences.
It's not the best ground to watch Rugby League at.

Danish

I think with the new stand mate, the capacity increased to around 46K.
It would be perfect size for Rugby League if the sidelines weren't so far away from the fences.
It's not the best ground to watch Rugby League at.

Its the worst ground in sydney to watch league at, and is probably on par with Etihad as the worst ground in australia.

MCG used to be but they don't play Origin matches there anymore

Red Bear

I dont mind the SCG for league. The bottom level isnt great, but if you go up into the stands you get a really good view of the plays unfolding.

SEAT 1A

East's are playing well this year. As much as I like Freddy, and a legend at East's, he was never going to get the best out of East's a bit like Brown with Saints. Smith did a bit of a clean out last year.

One gamble they took was with Mini, he deserved to be resigned due to his commitment to the club. He has been able to move back to fullback and Carney into 5/8th and with a fit Braith, moving to lock. The team can go either left or right when attacking with Pearce or Carney moving it to a good finishers SK Dowall, Phil Graham and Perrett.

Smith has a bit of pressure off him with signing a long term contract. which they would have hoped with Wayne Bennett a few years ago.Smith knows what to do the turn a club around and is a fine coach, he took the Saints to 2 GF's but they were playing BNE at a time BNE was at there best.

Their forward pack is good with Anasta, Aubusson, Myles,Ryles and Conn coming of the bench.

Will be a ripper of a game next week.