Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Roosters looking to kill rugby league in Australia

ozzie

Dogz_of_War said:
oh and for the rooster cogburn dude! ur a typical rooster! arrogance and much of it im afraid! ur a disgrace to everyone involved here in the rleague just like ur arrogant roosters are in the nrl! u guyz should just stop this sh*t and let some footy be played! no one gives a sh*t wat u guyz think from know on u guyz are gonna be knwown and the arrogant roosters! congrats u made an honourable name for urselfs. :lol:

???? wished i could understand what you just wrote!! did you go to school??

ozzie

Chook said:
As a Rooster supporter let me start by saying that I strongly dissagree with what my club is planning to do! Even the mere threat of legal action and court cases with all the obvious negative media coverage that goes along with it is extremely bad for the game. And to do it after the success of season 2003 was for our game is selfish and stupid.

My club agreed in principle to the guidelines of the cap. If it now challenges those guidelines legally because it doesn't want to play by them than sorry fellow Rooster fans, that is plain wrong!

I will defend my club against all and sundry. But when it does the wrong thing, like it did signing Walker and now this challenge, than I will be the first to criticise it. We are not infallible!

However let me say this. The Daily Telucraps' unprecedented attack on my club has far more to do with the possible financial repercussions for News Limited if the cap rises than it has to do with News Limited's concern for our game or any club that might face similar financial repercussions. Do I need to remind everyone News Limited own 50% of the game and any rise in the cap would have financial repercussions for that organisation.

Which also begs the question how did the media maggots at news limited get a hold of the letter if it was suppose to be confidential? Doesn't say much for the credability of the NRL in handling sensitive matters. If I had to guess I'd say Gallop leaked the letter to his 'ex' bosses at News to get them to conduct a media campaign against the Roosters to get them to change their minds about the challenge. They of course leaped at it, as it would a)save News limited money, b)allow their maggots such as Toohey and Kent to have a shot at Gould's club, c)squash any near future challenge to the cap (see a), d)increase circulation, e)do the right thing by Rugby League. Again I don't need to remind everyone that it's the Daily Telucrap that reports the negative aspects of our game before it reports anything else. And that they are still trying to come up with their own "Secret Bulldogs Business" exclusive they completely missed in 2002.

By all means criticise the Roosters, I am, as they deserve it. But please don't be swayed by the media maggots and their chief grub at News Limited, they also have their own agendas.

Chook.

I agree with you Chook - I don't know how the sotry wasn't in the herald???

I think in the long term there will be an increase in the salary cap - maybe a modest rise to keep in line with inflation...say $3.6m then again in four or five years time a rise to $4m. It is going to happen - players will dictate this...

Once Dead

When Brisbane wasn't happy in the early 90s......they went and started the ball rolling with Super League by telling the ARL to get stuffed because they weren't getting treated the way they wanted and weren't able to do what they wanted (GF-in Brisbane etc)...............that led to Super League, the darkest period that many fans will ever see............i honestly can't see much of a difference with what the Sydney Roosters are doing - yes, its less underhanded and sinister, but still all about their own interests.......just like Brisbane back in the day

What i can't understand is the fact that in the letter it says......that the Roosters won't be able to continue to keep their top flight players without the increase (or something along those lines).........tell me which club has never lost top talent?

IKnowIt

melon said:
"Iknowit"..what an interesting name for someone like you...I can smell the irony from here. You know little.

I know more than you realise

melon said:
How exactly did the cap favour Easts a couple of years ago?

The fact they could build a team, knowing that other clubs will not be able to offer loads more money

melon said:
We've been at the top of the cap for 5 years.

That’s good for the roosters and is tantamount to how well the club has been run by its management.

melon said:
So has Newcastle, Melbourne and Brisbane. So how is it different now? There hasnt been a raise for 6.

When the salary cap was introduced it was designed to be higher than it could be to allow for players salearies to come down after the super league war.

melon said:
How is this killing League? Who says a "poorer" club has to spend the whole amount. They arent now, so what will change?

No and they need to spend within their means, but having a salary cap ensures that they can compete, in an open market system, the weak clubs will only spend what they have and have no to chance to hold onto they players as richer clubs have no restrictions.

melon said:
And Penrith's CEO better keep his trap shut. His club is making millions yet shows a loss because they cant stop expanding their empire.

You do realise that Penrith Leagues Club and the Penrith Football Club are two separate organisations? Just because the leagues club is making large amounts of money, doesn’t mean the football club is.

melon said:
Why isnt more money going into your Football Club Mr Las Vegas??

You will have to ask the Penrith Leagues Club management and board that one.

IKnowIt

Melons post fron a deleted thread So Easts are the bad guys again? So Easts want the game destroyed? The game they poored millions into? So taking the NRL to court does what? Proves the Cap illegal?

Just because something is illegal doesn’t mean that it is right or moral

So what do we then drop it all together? Morons like nospam49 who have no idea, should be taken with a grain of salt. Anyone with half a wit about them, would realise this is about a minor raise in the cap. Its about 5 years of no increases, and its about it falling so far out of the system, that it can and will be classed as a retraint of trade.

It the Salary Cap is a restraint of trade, it will deemed illegal, and then courts cant rule for an increase, it will order it removed.

court action will not signal the current system null and void. It will just bring along the necessary increase.

If the Salary Cap is illegal the courts will remove it.

The recent NRL conference had a vote to see whod support this action. I think the 4 teams supporting an immediate raise were: Easts, Brisbane, Melbourne and St George.

Yes those clubs want an increase in the Salary cap but the NRL said no, most clubs so no, so they continued to play within the rules, not take the game to court again.

At the most recent NRL conference a vote was held on increasing the salary cap and the result was 14 clubs voted against an increase, only the roosters voted for it.

Yep thats right, it isnt just Easts who want a raise.

But it is only the roosters going to court

So Easts sould develop juniors? WELL THEN GIVE US COOGEE AND RANDWICK BACK SOUTHS!!!.

If the roosters have a problem with the area in which they have, then the club can go to the NSWRL and get them to do something about it. It’s their responsibility

IKnowIt

Melon said:
There is no legal action to abolish it. Its for an increase!! Simple. Increase it and get on with it.

If the Salary Cap is deemed by a court of law to be a restraint on trade, they will order that the salary cap be removed, not increase it.

choc_soldier

The salary cap is there for a reason - to maintain a level playing field (in principle). Not every club, to my knowledge, can afford the $3.25 million per year anyway, so for the Roosters to want it raised, I don't think they have the best interests of league in general in their sights, just their own. OK, the salary cap may be seen as a restriction of trade, but at least it maintains a level playing field, to the point that the lower ranked clubs can at least compete with the top clubs in relation to the composition of their playing roster.

If the salary cap gets scrapped, or dramatically increased, you are going to see the same 5 or so clubs every year be in contention for the premiership, because they can corner the market with their financial power, and buy all the good players that are available, with the other clubs just making up the numbers. It would become very predictable, and that would not be good for league.

I hope common sense prevails in the end, and this whole request by the Roosters is thrown out. Because it's bloody stupid! But the arrogance that is the Roosters is once again apparent... no wonder they are slowly becoming the most hated club in the NRL...

IKnowIt

ozzie said:
I agree with you Chook - I don't know how the sotry wasn't in the herald??? I think in the long term there will be an increase in the salary cap - maybe a modest rise to keep in line with inflation...say $3.6m then again in four or five years time a rise to $4m. It is going to happen - players will dictate this...

Yes the Salary Cap will rise its not going to be at the same level forever. The NRL will determine when and by how much the Salary Cap will rise depending on the economic and financial viability of the NRL, the NRL Competition, and the Clubs in that competition (and possible new clubs), this is the only reasoning there should be behind any increase in the Salary Cap. Not the greed of one particular club.

melon....

IKnowIt said:
Melons post fron a deleted thread So Easts are the bad guys again? So Easts want the game destroyed? The game they poored millions into? So taking the NRL to court does what? Proves the Cap illegal?

Just because something is illegal doesn’t mean that it is right or moral

So what do we then drop it all together? Morons like nospam49 who have no idea, should be taken with a grain of salt. Anyone with half a wit about them, would realise this is about a minor raise in the cap. Its about 5 years of no increases, and its about it falling so far out of the system, that it can and will be classed as a retraint of trade.

It the Salary Cap is a restraint of trade, it will deemed illegal, and then courts cant rule for an increase, it will order it removed.

court action will not signal the current system null and void. It will just bring along the necessary increase.

If the Salary Cap is illegal the courts will remove it.

The recent NRL conference had a vote to see whod support this action. I think the 4 teams supporting an immediate raise were: Easts, Brisbane, Melbourne and St George.

Yes those clubs want an increase in the Salary cap but the NRL said no, most clubs so no, so they continued to play within the rules, not take the game to court again.

At the most recent NRL conference a vote was held on increasing the salary cap and the result was 14 clubs voted against an increase, only the roosters voted for it.

Yep thats right, it isnt just Easts who want a raise.

But it is only the roosters going to court

So Easts sould develop juniors? WELL THEN GIVE US COOGEE AND RANDWICK BACK SOUTHS!!!.

If the roosters have a problem with the area in which they have, then the club can go to the NSWRL and get them to do something about it. It’s their responsibility
Youre not in business are you knowit? Is your club going broke as we speak?

IKnowIt

melon said:
Youre not in business are you knowit? Is your club going broke as we speak?

Yes I’m in business but what relevance has that got to do with this discussion?

What club I support is also irrelevant to this discussion, but I’m happy to say my club is far from going broke, but in saying that, it could also do a lot better

Kiwipanther

The thing the Rooster's club doesnt realise is, by taking the cap issue court it won't be increased it will be removed. If the cap is removed they will never be able to compete with clubs with the huge junior areas anyway, those clubs will have there entire junior league base under contract. The Roosters will be worse off than before, recent success the Roosters have experienced is because of the cap and the demise of South Sydney. Lets face it Rugby League is about juniors, clubs will always benefit from having huge resources there. The Roosters face the problem with having no juniors to develope hence their player payments will always be inflated due to the fact that they will have to sign juniors from outside areas. The majority of juniors do not wish to relocate, however if the price is right they will. The Roosters cannot afford to be unsuccessful on the field, soon as performance drops juniors will not sign with them on the basis of joining a successful club, which is the only reason why they compete currently. What IS in the best interest of the long term future of the Roosters is relocation where they can setup and nuture their own junior league.

Grantwhy

Kiwipanther said:
The thing the Rooster's club doesnt realise is, by taking the cap issue court it won't be increased it will be removed.

They do realise it. What they are saying is raise the Salary Cap or we will take it to court and there will be no salary cap.

A good standover tactic - but it will be intresting to see if the NRL will call their hand and see if it is a bluff.

JJ

Good discussion!!

I think the NRL will increase the cap at some stage anyway. But the tax on pokies means that this has to wait, to see what effect this increased tax has, as so many clubs derive much of their funding from this source.

As many people have pointed out, or at least alluded to, I think the problem is not so much that the Roosters want the cap increased, but that they are willing to take the NRL to court to achieve this. I'm not a lawyer, but the problem obviously is that the salary cap (like the draft) is a restraint of trade, if legal procedings are undertaken the court will almost certainly abolish the cap althogether, and that's where the problems start - obviously the richer clubs will get richer, and the less rich get poorer. Does anyone really want to watch a 4 team comp, with others making up the numbers???

I heard an interview with Neil Cadigan on NZ radio this morning, and he said the AFL has both a cap and a draft, and there is an understanding within the sport that both are there for the betterment of the game, and it seems very unlikely that anyone will challenge this - ever (being a kiwi I know bugger all about ARL).

Surely the Roosters administration can see this?? Or are they colely concerned with their own situation at the expense of the game? They need a little perspective (as do some Roosters fans on this site) - the game itself is bigger than the Roosters. The Roosters are obviously strong currently, but this has not always been the case, and will not always be the case (see Liverpool FC - who were dominant in St George terms in the 80s - hell, look at the Dragons, Rabbitohs, and yes even the Broncos who have slipped a lot).

They really need to pull their heads in and do what's best for the game, which is to leave the cap as it is for the time being, and move on by consensus between all the clubs and the NRL.

As many have pointed out - clubs like Newcastle and Parramatta have lost much talent due to the cap, the Roosters just have to grin and bear it too - for the greater good!