Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rort of NSW game 1 thoughts

Bretto

I posted this in the Origin game thread, thought I'd post it here too.

Keep in mind I'm a QLD fan, so I'll try to be as unbiased as I can.

The Greg Bird penalty for upending the player: Fair dinkum. If that's a penalty, I'm not here. I thought it was a good, solid tackle and Bird was hard done by with that penalty.

The Jennings sin bin: Turn it up. He came running in and threw a punch, yes, but it hardly connected, and he barely looks like he could fight his way out of a wet paper bag. It's Origin. It deserved a penalty, but not the sin bin.

The Inglis try: If that's a try, I'm not here. I understand if we apply the rule book to it, that it's a try, well, I say the rule book is wrong. Inglis dropped that ball and I would have been happy with a knock on. It was too hard to determine if Farah deliberately played at the ball with his foot, IMO, and so it's a knock on.

Other points:

NSW - It was a funny old game. The better team on the night lost this one. I thought NSW out played QLD, especially their backs. Jennings and Hayne particularly in attack were extremely good. Hayne played his best game for years for mine. Morris did an excellent job on Inglis in the centres, much better than Gasnier has in previous years. I thought Tamou was really good, and Tony Williams when he came on had an immediate impact. Greg Bird troubled QLD all night, too. I thought Carney was average, at best. His kicking game was woeful, and his few touches were generally errors. Pearce was okay, but pretty much went missing for most of the game. Farrah was excellent. He really tried hard all night and made good meters out of dummy half around the big QLD forwards.

QLD
- How we got away with that one, I don't know. Cameron Smith was obviously still affected by the flu pretty bad. I've never seen him gas in a game, ever. Last night he was gassed hard after about 20 minutes. Petero and Scott were okay, but Hannant and Shillington were good, particularly Hannant - he was excellent. I really think Hannant needs to start next game and bring Petero off the bench. Inglis was shut down well all night by Morris, and Hodges had a quiet night guarded well by Jennings, but particularly Hayne. Boyd - well, 2 tries but a dropped bomb which let NSW score, but an overall good performance by him. Tate was tremendous and deserved the man of the match. He kept turning up for QLD, taking the hard yards when the forwards were tired, and was safe as a house under the high ball. Slater had a horror night, worst I've ever seen from him. Dunno what was up with that. Taylor and Gillet had minimal impact, but it wasn't the kind of game for them to really shine.

John Thurston - fair dinkum. If he's not the best player getting around ATM, I'll give it up. Without Lockyer there, Thurston really took on that ball playing delivery role. Some of his back line moves for the Boyd tries were spectacular. He was solid in defence, and his kicking game was excellent too.

I'm not going to get into the refereeing side of things, because it's pointless. Good close contest overall. NSW probably deserved to win it, but QLD managed to grind out a really ugly win. Can't wait for game two!

Frank_Grimes

I'm surprised people fail to see this. How can you say if GI got a "No-Try" call QLD would have still won? Can you see into the future? You do realize that it changes tha path of the game as position ad mention skew and who knows in an alternate reality we had 7minutes and could have easily scored. The same 7minutes don't play out when something happens so to say "Oh but they didn't
Score in 7mins anyway". Does not matter it would be a different scenario. Are some of you that stupid?

As you say, NSW still had those 7mins to score a try. But they didn't. Add to that they only scored points off QLD mistakes. You're doing the same by saying NSW could have easily scored in those 7 minutes, but they didn't easily score at all last night. Both tries came off luck and QLD dropped catches.

You can deal in ifs and buts all you like, but the fact is they couldn't make up a 2 point deficit let alone an 8 point deficit.

Hutty1986

As you say, NSW still had those 7mins to score a try. But they didn't. Add to that they only scored points off QLD mistakes. You're doing the same by saying NSW could have easily scored in those 7 minutes, but they didn't easily score at all last night. Both tries came off luck and QLD dropped catches.

You can deal in ifs and buts all you like, but the fact is they couldn't make up a 2 point deficit let alone an 8 point deficit.

They didn't get the chance though. As unlikely as it may have been considering NSW's poor attack earlier in the game, you have no way of predicting what may have happened.

Frank_Grimes

They didn't get the chance though. As unlikely as it may have been considering NSW's poor attack earlier in the game, you have no way of predicting what may have happened.

They definitely got the chance. That 7 minutes still happened. If NSW had been ahead, or even level, then there would probably be more reason for NSW fans to blow up. But as it stands that decision (right or wrong) did not decide the outcome of the match.

Dragon2010

They definitely got the chance. That 7 minutes still happened. If NSW had been ahead, or even level, then there would probably be more reason for NSW fans to blow up. But as it stands that decision (right or wrong) did not decide the outcome of the match.

But there was a swing in momentum. We returned the kick-off to you instead of it being our ball on the play. Different scenario. Score would be 10-12 and for all we know in InstaceB saying the GI try was ruled a No-Try we could have got possession and scored as the game was still in reach by getting down the field. QLD could have coughed up a penalty who knows. It's impossible to say how the last 7minutes would have played if it was a no-try. Yes NSW could have scored but I'll mark it fairly and say there is a chance the score wold have reminded 10-12. So while it didn't decide the outcome it destroyed any chance of a last minute comeback which was definetly possible if we had a few good sets in QLD's half.

grouch

I think Gallen was guilty again of being too involved. When Creagh came on Gallen's role changed slightly and he played more as a lock, and he started getting in the way of the halves a bit, overplaying his hand. Ricky's better off picking another out and out prop on the bench and giving Gallen 15-20 minute break - particularly since it's in Sydney, usually a wet surface

This was the biggest rort I have ever seen and not one single official from last night’s game should ever be allowed to referee another football game at any level ever again.

Jennings wasn’t the 3rd man in (that was Thaiday as usual); he was the 11th man in on a 10 on 1 mugging by QLD. He did run in like a lunatic and launch himself at QLD so the sin bin is ok I guess but as usual the man who actually started it (Matt Scoot [QLD]) gets absolutely no punishment.

The penalty against Bird was a disgrace. Every kid in the under 6’s gets told that that is a perfect tackle.

That cowardly dog Cameron Smith should have been sent off for his deliberate elbow to the face of a NSW player and should be given at least an 8 week suspension. Butt chin won’t get so much as a warning though.

We all know the last try to QLD was a joke. GI knocked it on twice yet the video ref still found a try out of it. Was he watching the right tape?

Let’s not also forget QLD being constantly offside and their numerous infringements in the ruck which didn’t get penalised.

Highlight of the game was Pearce smacking Thaiday square in the face. The dopey prick probably didn’t feel much though.

Bretto

What the f**k is wrong with the media in this country? Particularly the sporting media. One mob says Stuart says this n' that, and Harrigan said this. Then Harrigan claims he's got no idea what's going on, and he didn't even speak to Ricky Stuart yesterday.

No wonder the f**king NSW team didn't talk to any of the media on their way to their team bus. They carry on like a mob of merkins.

Dragon2010

What the f**k is wrong with the media in this country? Particularly the sporting media. One mob says Stuart says this n' that, and Harrigan said this. Then Harrigan claims he's got no idea what's going on, and he didn't even speak to Ricky Stuart yesterday.

No wonder the f**king NSW team didn't talk to any of the media on their way to their team bus. They carry on like a mob of merkins.

In fairness the NSW media are a bunch of merkins and twist your words. They're some of the worse Journos out there ala Paul Kent.

Bretto

In fairness the NSW media are a bunch of merkins and twist your words. They're some of the worse Journos out there ala Paul Kent.

It's disgraceful.

It shouldn't even be a topic. We should be talking about the footy, not the f**king refereeing, or who said this or that. THE FOOTY.

Dragon2010

It's disgraceful.

It shouldn't even be a topic. We should be talking about the footy, not the f**king refereeing, or who said this or that. THE FOOTY.

I'm not going to comment on last night for obvious reasons (Not to sound like a sook). But it's a joke and the media-shitstorm in NsW today is unbelievable its gone into full swing and there is a mountain of article. While I agree with some points allot of them are just bias piles of junk and there's allot of NSW journos I can't stand. Due to the way they see something. It's just crap, hard to digest journalism like Kent's "Artie is NSW" article

Usain Bolt

This was the biggest rort I have ever seen and not one single official from last night’s game should ever be allowed to referee another football game at any level ever again.

Jennings wasn’t the 3rd man in (that was Thaiday as usual); he was the 11th man in on a 10 on 1 mugging by QLD. He did run in like a lunatic and launch himself at QLD so the sin bin is ok I guess but as usual the man who actually started it (Matt Scoot [QLD]) gets absolutely no punishment.

The penalty against Bird was a disgrace. Every kid in the under 6’s gets told that that is a perfect tackle.

That cowardly dog Cameron Smith should have been sent off for his deliberate elbow to the face of a NSW player and should be given at least an 8 week suspension. Butt chin won’t get so much as a warning though.

We all know the last try to QLD was a joke. GI knocked it on twice yet the video ref still found a try out of it. Was he watching the right tape?

Let’s not also forget QLD being constantly offside and their numerous infringements in the ruck which didn’t get penalised.

Highlight of the game was Pearce smacking Thaiday square in the face. The dopey prick probably didn’t feel much though.

Atnet0OCEAAEFvT.jpg