Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 0

So what might you be doing next Saturday when there's no footy on?

Fri night we have the Test, then Sunday City Country, yeeehaaarrr

Anyone know if NSW U-21 v Qld U-21 on Saturday will be televised?

Pretty f**king stupid scheduling if you ask me, Tigers and Rabbitohs have 2 weeks off, play two weekends , another 2 week off for the bye.....but primarily theres f**k all footy next weekend.

carlosthedwarf

Pretty f**king stupid scheduling if you ask me, Tigers and Rabbitohs have 2 weeks off, play two weekends , another 2 week off for the bye.....but primarily theres f**k all footy next weekend.

I'd like to know why we can't have stand alone weekends for Origin but we can for a one off test and City/Country.

docbrown

This is a trial to see how a stand alone round will go in terms of Origin - an experiment if you will.

In my opinion it won't work and State of Origin should be structured as follows -

EDITING ORIGINAL POST -
Thursday (in lieu of Monday), Friday, Saturday, Sunday - 9 game NRL Round
Sunday night - Origin team lists are announced at a press conference at 6:10pm and covered by the news
Monday - Origin players go into camp (camp would therefore go for 8 days)
Friday, Saturday, Sunday - 5 games only for NRL (Origin players excluded)
Monday - State of Origin game
Next weekend - all state of origin players back up but have at least 4 days instead of 2

There would 15 NRL games affected by Origin (3 weekends of 5 games) i.e. with 18 clubs each club would only be affected at most twice each - effectively only 3 Origin affected weeks.

If City vs Country remains then play it on the Sunday afternoon the day before State of Origin I - that way it becomes a proper selection trial for State of Origin II. You could play the Under 20's & Reserve Grade Origin at different locations on the same weekend.selection trial for State of Origin II. You could play the Under 20's & Reserve Grade Origin at different locations on the same weekend.

HowHigh

This is a trial to see how a stand alone round will go in terms of Origin - an experiment if you will.

In my opinion it won't work and State of Origin should be structured as follows -

Friday, Saturday, Sunday - Normal NRL Round
Sunday night - Origin team lists are announced at a press conference at 6:10pm and covered by the news
Monday - Origin players go into camp (camp would therefore go for 8 days)
Monday Night Football remains either sans Origin players (these clubs should be notified of potential player losses with a degree of notice) or with Origin players who would go into camp a day later
Next weekend - all state of origin players back up but have at least 4 days instead of 2

If players are excluded on Monday night football those teams need some notice. Also it could be scheduled so that any team playing Monday night football during this period would get it's 3 byes on each origin weekend (teams should have 3 byes if the comp starts first week of March) so that they're no more affected than any other team.

There would 18 NRL games affected by Origin (3 weekends of 5 games plus 3 Monday night games) i.e. with 18 clubs each club would only be affected twice each - effectively only 3 Origin affected weeks.

If City vs Country remains then play it on the Sunday afternoon the day before State of Origin I - that way it becomes a proper selection trial for State of Origin II. You could play the Under 20's & Reserve Grade Origin at different locations on the same weekend.
Scrap Monday night football for that round and it'd work better

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=8161051&postcount=15

BunniesMan

I hate that there's no club footy for a weekend. Doesn't feel like a weekend. Feels like a 12 day week. And all that so we can see us whoop NZ and a meaningless City v Country game.

f**k the one off rep games, keep club footy every weekend and have every game of the week of Anzac day pay respect.

gronkathon

I will being watching some State Cup games.

That and a mate thoughtfully (not sure if by luck or design) has his wedding on this Bye weekend

docbrown

Scrap Monday night football for that round and it'd work better

Well you'd be scrapping it 6 times

3 times for Origin
3 times for the week just prior to Origin

Maybe that's a good thing though. Perhaps on those weeks instead of Monday Night Football we could have Thursday Night Football as an alternative.

EDITING ORIGINAL POST -

In my opinion it won't work and State of Origin should be structured as follows (with 3 Thursday Night NRL games instead of 3 Monday Night NRL games) -

Thursday (in lieu of Monday), Friday, Saturday, Sunday - 9 game NRL Round
Monday - Origin players go into camp (camp would therefore go for 8 days) - No Monday night football

There would 15 NRL games affected by Origin (3 weekends of 5 games) i.e. with 18 clubs each club would only be affected at most twice each - effectively only 3 Origin affected weeks.

If City vs Country remains then play it on the Sunday afternoon the day before State of Origin I - that way it becomes a proper selection trial for State of Origin II. You could play the Under 20's & Reserve Grade Origin at different locations on the same weekend.

docbrown

Have to make sure though that no team that plays on those 3 Thursdays play on the Sunday or Monday prior.

carlosthedwarf

I hate that there's no club footy for a weekend. Doesn't feel like a weekend. Feels like a 12 day week. And all that so we can see us whoop NZ and a meaningless City v Country game.

Agreed, it's just crazy to have a week off for two nothing games.

Coastbloke

The ARLC should have taken the opportunity to promote the idea of supporting local footy..

Newcastle, go see a real NRL game. Central Coast, go see a CCDRL match..etc etc...

Park Footy is great..Rock up watch 3 grades have a few beers and a pie or a sausie sanger and see some great footy..

Canard

Its not much of a "test" though is it.

Rightly or wrongly (and a lot will piss and moan about this statement) if it was a stand alone Origin match on Sunday night, the hype for the event would be massive and dominate the media.

You could play u/20's Origin on the Fri night and other rep games on Saturday etc.

docbrown

Rightly or wrongly (and a lot will piss and moan about this statement) if it was a stand alone Origin match on Sunday night, the hype for the event would be massive and dominate the media.

You could play u/20's Origin on the Fri night and other rep games on Saturday etc.

Well see what your opinion is about stand alone weekends next Monday.

Remember - it would happen 3 times.

eozsmiles

A week without footy? I reckon we'll be ok. Friday night footy, Autumn carnival racing Saturday, Jones V Rashad on Sunday, then more footy. Sounds ok.

Or you could mow the lawn then take the wife out for tea. That'd be nice.

BunniesMan

This is rugby league, it's not soccer.

Origin >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>international footy.

I'm more interested in NSW v QLD than test footy when we beat everyone except NZ all the time. And we beat NZ whenever we take them seriously.

No club footy for a weekend would be tolerable for Origin, but it's a pain in the arse for a test and city v country.