Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 1 2007

Gus22

KrypnotiK said:
16k on a monday night, i doubt that, monday night is basically TV viewing for those of us who dont care to see pre teen soft core porn at summer bar,i only see it getting 16k cos of game 1, rest of the year crowds wont make more than 7k, no matter who, monday is stupid, sunday avo 3 games and the 2nd 7.30 should be a 3pm saturday game

I strongly disagree.
The last time MNF was in vogue (1996) I remember 37K+ crowd for consecutive weeks at the SFS (Roosters v Broncos then Roosters vs Manly). I think MNF will feature strong attendances in 2007.

Jobdog

I'll have a whirl:

Friday night
Brisbane Vs Cowboys @ Suncorp
Titans Vs Dragons @ Carrara

Saturday:
Raiders Vs Warriors @ Canberra
Panthers Vs Sharks @ CUA
Eels Vs Tigers @ Parra

Sunday:
Knights Vs Sea Eagles @ EAS
Storm Vs Bulldogs @ Olympic?

Monday:
Rabbitohs Vs Roosters @ Telstra

Kingytek

Dont they have double headers anymore in sydney?

Personally, I would like to see the Titans play the Knights....

Inferno

Broncs and Cows is pretty much locked in for round 1 next year.

http://townsvillebulletin.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,7034,20520607%5E14793,00.html

NRL champions Brisbane are planning to start their premiership defence against the North Queensland Cowboys in an opening-round blockbuster at Suncorp Stadium in March next season.

With all 16 clubs preparing to submit their draw requests for season 2007, the Broncos and Cowboys have informed the NRL of their desire to stick with the round one clash, which has become traditional since 2005.

It is a move which is likely to pour cold water on a plan by new kids on the block Gold Coast who had been hoping to play neighbouring rivals Brisbane in the inaugural NRL match in March next season.

However, North Queensland chief executive Peter Parr has been given assurances from Broncos boss Bruno Cullen the premiers wished to continue their traditional round-one clash against the Cowboys.

"Bruno and I have indicated to the NRL we want to continue with what's developing into a really good tradition," Parr said.

"We've indicated that to both the NRL and the Gold Coast.

"We'd be very disappointed if the NRL didn't adhere to what we'd like to continue."

The Cowboys and Broncos have contested opening-round blockbusters since 2005, with both matches attracting crowds of over 43,000.

The Broncos proved too classy with a 29-16 victory in 2005 before the Cowboys ran riot in a 36-4 romp last season.

The other two main draw requests to be submitted by the Cowboys are to receive their one bye for the year directly before State of Origin III and to be granted an away game on the Townsville Cup weekend in order to avoid a clash.

Although the inclusion of the Gold Coast next season means byes will not be necessary in determining the draw, the NRL will give each club a bye throughout the year on four designated bye weekends which coincide with representative fixtures.

The NRL has already released its pools for next year which determine how many times teams play each other during the 24-game season.

The Cowboys will play the Broncos, Bulldogs, St George Illawarra, Canberra, New Zealand, Wests Tigers, Roosters, Souths and Penrith home and away but will play the Gold Coast, Melbourne, Newcastle, Manly, Parramatta and Cronulla just once.

Meanwhile, the Cowboys are still to discuss Graham Murray's future as New South Wales coach, with Murray and chairman Laurence Lancini both currently out of Townsville.

"That's something we want to address in the near future but at the moment Muzz and Laurence are away," Parr said.

The ARL is waiting on confirmation about Murray's availability, which is up in the air as a result of the Cowboys' form slump before and after the State of Origin period.

The combined involvement of Murray, assistant Neil Henry and trainer Billy Johnstone for Queensland, and seven players coincided with the Cowboys' fall from grace this season.

aids

Tigers v Tits at Telstra
monday night, the two newest teams facing off against each other.

Quidgybo

Townsville Bulletin said:
The NRL has already released its pools for next year which determine how many times teams play each other during the 24-game season.

The Cowboys will play the Broncos, Bulldogs, St George Illawarra, Canberra, New Zealand, Wests Tigers, Roosters, Souths and Penrith home and away but will play the Gold Coast, Melbourne, Newcastle, Manly, Parramatta and Cronulla just once
Why on earth would they not ensure the three Queensland teams all play each other twice? Would it really upset the balance of the pools unfairly to swap Gold Coast with Souths or Penrith or whoever to make that happen? Depending what point in the season you schedule the Gold Coast's away games against the Cowboys and Broncos, you've got six virtual sell outs without really having to try.

Leigh.

Quidgybo

U-Boat said:
HOw do they solve it?
Cos I'm thinking every team will be wanting a bye before Origin...
The Warriors wouldn't. They'd obviously prefer their bye around the weekend of the Anzac Test. Given that "the NRL will give each club a bye throughout the year on four designated bye weekends which coincide with representative fixtures", I think it's fair to assume those four weekends will be around either the three Origin games, or the three Origin games and the Anzac test. No problem.

Leigh.

Quidgybo said:
Why on earth would they not ensure the three Queensland teams all play each other twice? Would it really upset the balance of the pools unfairly to swap Gold Coast with Souths or Penrith or whoever to make that happen? Depending what point in the season you schedule the Gold Coast's away games against the Cowboys and Broncos, you've got six virtual sell outs without really having to try.

Leigh.
No idea....if they needed to do this theyre really in trouble.

We also have Saints/dogs, saints/Tigers & tigers/Dogs , as well as rabbitohs/Tigers & Rabbitohs/Roosters in one pool, Sharks/manly, Eels/Manly & Knights/Manly in another....all draw well, traditional rivals.......you do it for one group of teams you do it for all of em.

Charlie124

Cowboys V Broncos will be on a Sunday arvo, not friday night.

There would be plenty of teams who would rather not have their bye around origin time, Souths, Warriors, Tigers, Sharks, Titans, Panthers would all prefer to play understreangth opposition than have a bye, souths proved that against the broncos this year.

Quidgybo

innsaneink said:
We also have Saints/dogs, saints/Tigers & tigers/Dogs , as well as rabbitohs/Tigers & Rabbitohs/Roosters in one pool, Sharks/manly, Eels/Manly & Knights/Manly in another....all draw well, traditional rivals.......you do it for one group of teams you do it for all of em.
Well exactly. It's called playing to your strengths.

Leigh.

T-BONE MCGRAW

I believe I read that that they are trying to get most Monday night games close to a city centre so people will go after work. So that will probably mean most Roosters and Storm home games will be Monday nights.

Also with Storm games on Monday they will not clash with AFL games and that may equal bigger crowds. I think a Storm game on a Monday night will become a tradition in Melbourne

Quidgybo

There's no way any team will have most of their home games on Monday night. Their crowds would plummet. It's one thing to ask fans to come out for one or two Monday matches per team per year but asking them to turn up to six or seven or more is just fantasy land stuff. People stay at home on Mondays precisely because they are Mondays. They've spent their money and had their fun on the weekend, now it's time to have a quite night in watching the tele (and Monday Night Football on the tele at that). Drinking alcohol and getting home late are just not things most people do on a "school" night.

Leigh.

aids

from the press release earlier on in the year, they said teams with ground close to the CBD would be getting monday night games
i assumed that to be roosters, broncos and storm.

maybe telstra might pick up a few as well, and parra as well.
we'll have to wait and see.

ledzep

IMO, Monday night footy could work well being played once or twice in places like Penrith, Newcastle and Wollongong, where it could be quite an event, plus it's only a one-team town
Does this idea have any credence, or am I way off the mark?

c_eagle

If Manly gets a Monday game, I'd be getting the tin cup, walking over to Fox Studios and asking the NRL to underwrite the difference.

phonetic

Monday night football for most Sydney teams = that sound they play on family feud when you get the wrong answer.

Actually, Monday night football in general seems like a crap move designed only for television ratings. There could be an embarrasing amount of empty seats in the background.

I'd still go to see my boys play on a Monday, but I know a lot of people who wouldn't.

Why oh why are we seeing fewer and fewer afternoon games??