Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 1 (2008) Warriors v Ninjas

Forum 7s - Round 1 2008
NEW ZEALAND WARRIORS v CHUCK NORRIS TEXAS DEATH NINJAS
jersey_warriors_1.gif
-v-
jersey_ninjas_1.gif

Game Thread:
* Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
* Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee.
* Only original articles, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.

Naming Teams:
* 5v5 + 2 reserves each
* No 'TBA' or changing players named
* Captains must stick with original teams named

ALL THE RULES & REGULATIONS: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/rules.php

FULL TIME: Wednesday 26 March 2008 at 9pm (Syd time)
REFEREE: Pistol
Venue: Mt Smart Stadium

**The Referee Blows Game On!**
whistle_2.gif

CLICK HERE FOR OFFICIAL WORD COUNTER

Jesbass

jersey_warriors_1.gif

Due to a minor logistical glitch, the Warriors attempt to arrive on the team bus, only to discover the match is being played at their home ground. A lot of cursing and one U-turn later, the lineup fielded for the team goes as follows:

Run On Team:
7. Jesbass (c)
9. Misanthrope
11. rayroxon
23. Mixmasterreece
25. Swanley (debut)

Bench:
3. JonB
6. byrne_rovelli_fan82
8. whoateallthepies

paulquinn49

CNTDN team to take on Warriors

paulquinn49 (c)
Edabomb (c)
Titties (c)
jamesgould (vc)
Hallatia (vc)

Freddo (vc)
Raider Azz (vc)

Jesbass

Jesbass gets the Warriors' 2008 campaign underway by deftly fielding the kick off and spinning the ball towards Mixmasterreece...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Culture Club (748 words between the lines)

HermanRetzlaff.jpg

There’s something inherently beautiful about a rookie before he’s taken the field at the top level for the first time. It’s a purity borne of hopes for the future and excitement about the present. These are players who still hold their senior teammates in awe, much like a fan might.

I first encountered this phenomenon during a Warriors open day in the build up to the 2005 season. My wife and I spotted a relatively unknown junior player who we caught completely off guard by requesting his autograph. This stunned teenager, Simon Mannering, has since become a regular fixture of both Warriors and Kiwis teams. For some inexplicable reason, something deep within me insists ours was his first autograph opportunity.

I saw a similar innocence in another rookie during the first round of 2008, when the Warriors played away to the Storm. The club had put on an away match function – a chance to mingle with non-playing team members and then watch the game at a movie theatre – and I found myself talking with Herman Retzlaff, our most recent signing. He asked me my name, and we conversed briefly before going our separate ways.

The half time break saw a stampede of bodies as people rushed to take personal pit stops before the second stanza. As I waited outside the toilets for my wife to accommodate nature’s requests, Herman came by, headed for the men’s.

“Dave!” he called to me. “What did you think of the first half?”

“Nail biting stuff, mate,” I grinned back, surprised that he’d even remembered my name.

“How do you think we’re going to go in the second half?” he asked as he passed by.

“It’s only going to get better,” I replied, revealing in a single sentence just how poor a tipster I am.

It was such a simple and brief exchange, and yet it provided powerful evidence of a positive club culture, something which hasn’t gone unnoticed by recent signing Brent Tate.

After spending seven seasons in first grade with the Brisbane Broncos, (regularly perceived as the benchmark club for off field professionalism), the representative centre recently referred to his new club as “a really professional outfit from the front office right down to the coaching staff”.

And when a player of Tate’s experience says something like that, it pays to listen.

This is a far cry from what the culture used to be like – big personalities getting in the way of the on field excitement, and players of the ilk of Nigel Vagana and Stacey Jones becoming uncertain as to whether or not they would actually get paid as the club spiralled towards bankruptcy.

Fortunately, those days are long gone.

The Warriors are now a club that is respected by fans and players alike. The mere fact that former players Jerry Seuseu and Stacey Jones – both of whom were involved in “that try” in the 2002 grand final – along with foundation captain Dean Bell have returned to work with the club after hanging up their boots, is further testament to the administerial turnaround. In fact, Bell was approached by the previous management but declined because he "didn't get a good feeling about it".

Another positive sign is the amount of fan involvement that is not only welcomed but actually sought after by the club. Fan forums have been held, as have away functions allowing for fans to meet players, win prizes, and watch away games live on the big screen. An open and approachable CEO has replaced his somewhat standoffish predecessor. And an away fan season membership is in the works for Australian-based fans of the Auckland club.

This turnaround from management has afforded a similar about turn from the spectators.

When new crowd favourite Wade McKinnon was ruled out for the entire 2008 season through injury following an anterior cruciate ligament tear which required a knee reconstruction, fans on an internet forum organised a large get well card, filled with messages of encouragement, to be delivered directly to the player.

This simple act of kindness – appreciated by McKinnon, who, through a club staff member, thanked those responsible – wouldn’t have been possible in years gone by. Most fans wouldn’t have even tried for fear of being turned away by an impersonal organisation.

If anything, this proves that the gradual process of regaining faith and earning trust from sponsors and fans has finally begun to pay dividends.

And long may it continue.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sources:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/topic/stor...ectid=10498145
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/category/s...ectid=10430081
Photo of Herman Retzlaff and Jesbass courtesy of the Warriors

Jesbass

Jesbass is horrified when his spiral pass is misdirected, hiting Mixmasterreece in the temple and rendering him unconscious. The number 23 is placed on a stretched as his replacement, byrne_rovelli_fan82, takes the field.

OUT: Mixmasterreece
IN: byrne_rovelli_fan82

Jesbass

The medics carrying Mixmasterreece fail to look where they're going, and they collide with star recruit Misanthrope, who hobbles from the field. His replacement is JonB, making his Forum Sevens debut.

OUT: Misanthrope
IN: JonB

byrne_rovelli_fan82

byrne_rovelli_fan82, for the Warriors picks up the mis-directed pass that hit Mixmasterreece and sends it away...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
It’s All Mind Games

TSNikon1136.jpg

On a hot and humid St Patrick’s Day at the Telstra Dome in Melbourne, the New Zealand Warriors and Storm would open Monday Night Football for season 2008. Curiously, though, post game the talk focused on the Storm’s off field antics rather than their on field ones.

In the lead up, Melbourne planned it to a tee, timing every detail to their needs. Once the Under 20s game was completed, on came the pre-game entertainment with fireworks and blazes adding to the wow factor. This was followed by a performance from Aussie singer Vanessa Amorosi. Next was the unveiling of the 2007 Premiers flag and a little drive-by parade with Melbourne legend Robbie Kearns on a Suzuki quad bike. Injured Melbourne players Michael Crocker and Greg Inglis followed Kearns in an open top sports car, posing alongside the NRL Trophy from the roof scoop.

Festivities out of the way, the two teams could finally get on with their warm up. Melbourne emerged first and went through their usual routine. The Warriors soon followed looking slightly more tense than the home team but very business-like getting their warm up out of the way followed by a short meeting on field before returning to the sheds. Melbourne continued to linger around and it became obvious at this point that they would do things on their own terms. Halfback Cooper Cronk continued kicking high balls for the wingers’ catching drills whilst the other players just mingled and chatted – football seemed to be the last thing on their minds.

A few minutes before kick off, the Storm finally left the field after their warm up. They probably passed the Warriors players in the tunnel as their opposition came back onto the field moments later to take up their kick off positions. The players spoke, stretched, and went through their usual routine, but as each second passed by, irritation from the Warriors became evident. They paced around, dug their feet into the turf, and a few raised their arms in exasperation towards each other. Even the fans started getting restless, with some kids resting their chins on their arms, looking bored and asking “When’s the footy going to start?”

At last, the Storm made their entrance, but it was anything but grand by the time they got out there. They had dampened the home fans’ enthusiasm by their slow build up however had succeeded in unsettling the Warriors.

It was hardly surprising when, after the half time break, Melbourne once again took their time to come back out, infuriating the Warriors players. Warriors trainer Craig Walker incited a walk off and the Warriors had left the field in protest by the time the Storm finally emerged from the sheds three minutes late.

Later, at the post-match press conference, both coaches were quizzed about the delay in the start of the first and second half. Both coaches did their best to sidestep the question but in Melbourne’s case, coach Bellamy’s excuse was far from impressive. His response was that he wasn’t aware the team was late onto the field and they were not told by ground staff that their time was up. Was there any legitimacy to his poor excuses? Unfortunately for Bellamy and the Storm, the NRL was not in the least bit convinced, and after a brief investigation Melbourne were fined $10,000 on grounds of being late for the start of both halves. At $1,667 per minute, and with two competition points safe in the bank, the Storm probably think it’s worth it.

In the proceeding days the controversy continued. When Storm captain Cameron Smith was charged over an alleged grapple tackle on Warriors centre Brent Tate, Storm CEO Brian Waldron turned on the Warriors. He blamed them for not allowing Tate to testify at Smith’s case to possibly clear Smith of the charge, keeping his perfect judiciary record clean. Warriors CEO Wayne Scurrah was quick to fire back, maintaining his club were being very fair in regards to Smith’s charge and wanted to stay clear of the fuss, while pointing out none too subtly Melbourne’s earlier lack of on field respect.

All up in three days, the Melbourne Storm made it obvious for all to see their true goal. If they are going to win back-to-back premierships, they won’t take any prisoners. The owners of the infamous grapple and crusher tackles have added tardiness and mind games to their arsenal. It looks to have worked so far.
--------------------------------------------------------

word count: 749 words

Hallatia

Hallatia in her first game for the Ninjas makes an attempt to get them on the board

♠♠♠♠♠♠♠

March 25, 2008. What have we learnt so far?

Two rounds of NRL season 2008 have come and gone, what have they shown us?

This season will be tighter than any in recent history?
Raiders can win outside of Canberra?
Storm are beatable?
Cronulla are contenders?
The graveyard has survivors?
A team, which was all front row when they won a premiership, can surprise us minus all their front row greatness?
Despite 2007, South Sydney really do suck?
Dragons have great young talent?
As much as Dogs and Roosters traditionally hate one another, the better Dogs players like to take refuge with the Roosters?
Although South and Roosters hate one another more, chooks retire at South Sydney?
Goal kicking can make all the difference?
A team's second half performance most affects our perception of their coach?
Rugby league is played as much psychologically as it is physically?
Statistics involving Gold Coast are not a fair indication of anything?
Although the kids running around in the under 20 make the Foxtel live game, the majority still won't make the NRL?
Losing weight does not necessarily make you a better player?
Jerseys are becoming more hideous?
Home and away records psychologically take their toll on teams' performances?
There were way too many player movements that eventuated in 2008?
The reason Parra was predicted to do so well this year was their lack of changes?
Throwing money at problem areas does not fix them?
Captaincy is a burden for some, great incentive for others?
Kimmorley's fringe is hideous?
Broncos aren't half the team without Lockyer at the helm?
Cowboys are a one/two man team, but they will only get worse if Webb signs elsewhere?
Benji Marshall cannot seem to stay out of harms way?
Michael Robertson looks great with a beard?
Until Saturday Scott Dureau's dad didn't even know who he was?
Todd Carney's tattoo artist is a blind 5 year old?
Kirk Reynoldson was cooler with the beard?
We should never underestimate the difference a Monaghan makes?
Manu Vatuvei couldn't catch an STD off a 2-dollar whore?
Riley Brown's hit on Craig Wing is not too dissimilar to Karmichael Hunt's hit on Braith Anasta?
Legal tackles are the most damaging?
Ben Ross should plea posttraumatic amnesia for his hit on Cooper Cronk?
Rule changes are strange and confusing?
There's a huge difference (apart from grounding) between a "hit and drive" and a "lift and carry" (the penalty)?
Video referees are a necessary evil?
Match fees are funny?
Send offs are amusing?
South fans actually do have no real teeth?
Biff makes sports more watchable?
Andrew Symonds hit on the streaker was in a league of its own?
"Bringing the game into disrepute" is in fact good for the game in a number of ways?
Commentary highlights about Joey are hilarious in retrospect?
Particularly the likes of: "Andrew Johns can do no wrong"?
Off the field, professional athletes are mere human beings?
Parents paying off a mortgage should stop spending money taking their kids to games to kick a footy on the hill, as the park is free?
Families that complain about taking their kids to a game and spending large amounts of money on food should really just pack a sandwich?
Kids under the age of 8 going to the footy don't have the capacity to understand the game, therefore is taking them redundant?
Kids under 8 would make good video refs?
Time does not make referees any better at their jobs?
Linesmen are just there for decorative purposes?
Playing rugby league does not necessarily require a great deal of intelligence?
Olympic Stadium is called ANZ Stadium now?
Willie Mason is under-rated?
Football players are Homeric?
If our society was Homeric in its acceptance of professional athletes in sports such as rugby league we would appreciate "off field dramas"?
The Telegraph has no intention of desisting from its sh*t spewing?
"A game of rugby league is more than numbers on a scoreboard"?
Drinks breaks are often necessary?
We do still have some teams who are good sports?
What Cowboys did to the Warriors in the final series last year was just not in the spirit of the game?
Saturday night Cows v Tigpies was 2005 grand final re-match?
Tigpies are a better team then we give them credit for?
Panthers ... at least they have a good leagues club?
2008 is really anyone's year?
Two rounds into a season are not really anything to go by?

♠♠♠♠♠♠♠

744 words

edabomb

If You Are Good Enough You Are Young Enough

“…and Ben Lowe on Debut has forced the ball for the Rabbiotohs! Here we go again, another late bloomer!” - Andrew Voss (Souths vs Bulldogs, Round 2 2008)

The above quote says it all. Ben Lowe, having recently turned twenty-three, scores a try on debut and is described as a late bloomer. How things have changed in the last decade, youth has become an obsession in society. No longer are players given a season or two to work through the junior ranks and prepare themselves to play in Australia’s National Rugby League competition, now they’re expected to contribute from their late teens. Unsurprisingly this youth movement in rugby league has coincided with a terrible record of social behaviour amongst the leagues players.

So when did age become such a concern with the rugby league circle? It would seem pre-super league that it wasn’t as much of an issue. Many players made it into their early thirties in this era, with players such as Cliff Lyons, Terry Lamb and Andrew Ettingshausen playing till their mid thirties. However, with the money super league brought to the game rugby league became much more of a business than it had been previously. With the increased salaries being earned in the top grades it became far more desirable to maximize the length of ones career, this led to players being far more anxious to make their mark at a younger age.

In the post-2000 era rugby league has struggled mightily with its public image. Young men in groups with too much money appear to attract all sorts of problems, from many sexual assault complaints to the recent drive by shooting reports in Sydney. While promising players are sent to an NRL sanctioned rookie camp to warn of the problems with being in the public eye, there seems to have been no impact on players public behaviour. The players are missing the solid grounding their veteran teammates had, where they needed to work a job on the side of their first rugby league contract. Perhaps if the clubs had some sort of external working program these young men could meet some of the common folk and realize how good they have it. However, this would cut into training time and pre-season, and therefore not realistically going to happen.

The recent exodus of veteran players to the English Super League also hasn’t helped this obsession with youth. It now seems that as soon as players are reaching their thirties the discussion becomes when and not if they should head over to the ESL. We even have players in their prime such as Michael Monaghan heading over to the UK. Monaghan was offered a financial deal he couldn’t realistically turn down given the offers he’d received from NRL clubs, but his departure will give yet another youngster a chance to secure a spot.

It now seems that those that start their career at a mature age are behind the eight ball. For instance, how many prominent modern rep stars were not given a shot at first grade by the time they were twenty? Look back to the eighties and nineties and this number would be drastically smaller. Now with the promotion of the Toyota Cup, and under twenties competition, as the second most prestigious competition in Australia this trend is sure to continue and increase. It really does seem a tough road to first grade these days if you’re twenty-one and over.

It all comes back to Ben Lowe. At twenty-three he has started his career later than the average; he will be considered a veteran within a few seasons. I hope he succeeds and rival NRL clubs can learn that not all players will come through the system at nineteen or twenty, and can benefit more from a few years of junior footy than being thrown in the deep end. Perhaps then some of these young men will have time to learn a bit more about life before they get massive amounts of money thrown at them, the game would have a much healthier image if this becomes the case. We all love seeing a youngster out there challenging the old pros, however, it seems those old pros are now very few and far between. Lets just hope we don’t miss the next Andrew Johns because he wasn’t carving up the Toyota Cup at seventeen.

----------------------------------

736 words including title

Swanley

Swanley is making his debut, let's hope his first touch is not an error.

Change of Tack

I have been involved in rugby League for over thirty years, having played, helped manage a team at Mt Albert in Auckland or supported it by watching games live and in the flesh. I have lived and breathed a minority sport on the Shaky Isles and am proud of my involvement.

I have made friendships through rugby league which are still strong today, twenty years after we met.

I dislike the other rugby code. I sometimes watch the All Blacks because they make the game look good when the backs use the ball – or is it that the other teams are just really bad, skills wise? But I digress, and this could be the topic of another article.

The reason I am writing this is that I have made a decision which I should have made years ago. I have reached a juncture in my varied life, where I am no longer able to participate in a contact sport. I think it’s called “getting old”!

I also live in the South of England. England, of course, is that country where if you do not support a round ball team, you are classed as a “foreigner”. I get my league fix now through Setanta Sports which shows at least two live NRL games a week and lots of Warrior games to boot.

It is hard to watch live ESL games as the closest ground is for the Harlequins. This journey would take one hour and thirty minutes to get there on the busiest motorway in England. Suffice to say, that wouldn’t be pretty.

Recently I was surfing the net at work (lunchtime only, of course!) and I came across a local Rugby League team located only ten minutes away from where I live – I could not believe it.

I checked them out and even contemplated putting on the boots again! That lasted until about five minutes after I had been for a ten minute jog.

After speaking with the chairman of the club, he suggested I do a referee’s course as they were short of them and it was hard to get anyone to do it.

Hmm, this put a spanner in the works, so to speak, and got me really thinking hard about the positives and negatives of taking this change of tack.

The last time I actually refereed a game was as a 15 year old for a schools tournament. Of course, over the years I had run the line a few times as linesmen are hard to find on a winter’s day - the role of an assistant manager is varied!

I contemplated this opportunity long and hard. I spoke about it to the Mrs, who said I would be good at it. And I talked to my folks who also agreed I should do it.

I play cricket in the limited English summer and have to umpire during our matches, which I enjoy. So I figured, why not? I therefore, in February, sent off my application form, along with a cheque for £25, and waited patiently for a confirmation of acceptance for the course.

Seven weeks later, and I’ve heard nothing. I rang the RFL, but found no help there. I checked the number I had dialled to make sure it wasn’t the NZRL!

In desperation, I contacted the chairman of the local league club and explained the situation. In less than 24 hours I had a response that I was on the course. Brilliant.

I am now going to the course on the 13th of April. I have been told to bring trainers, boots and a pen. I’ll be digging through the shed to find those old boots (not old enough to be squared toed, mind you!) and going into the wardrobe for an old jersey and tracksuit pants.

Unfortunately, this could be the end of my cricket career as the season is in the summer.

But on the plus side, I am really looking forward to this as I see it as an opportunity to give something back to the great game of rugby league which has given me great memories, life long friends and lessons in life I will never forget.

Wish me luck, and if anyone gives me any cheek they’ll find themselves spending ten minutes in the bin!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Word Count - 722

rayroxon

Rayroxon for the Mighty Warriors runs onto the field to see the game's well under way. I thought kick off was 3 minutes from now...

****​

Game On!

Being a Ray has mostly been great. Sure, the unfortunate rhyming with Gay is a major downside, but mostly Rays are rare commodities. During primary school and high school I was like one of those collectors edition foil covered Tazos that you get from chip packets. I was rare, and I looked down upon the Michaels and Johns who had all the commonness of a dog-eared Chris Flannery Tazo.

During our year 12 new student intake my world crumbled – a new Ray had registered and I was as special as a piece of Nine Wide World of Sports Memorabilia. I decided I’d hate this challenger to the Ray crown in a weird passive aggressive way. I wouldn’t serve to him during handball, I wouldn’t talk to him during class and I would definitely not acknowledge him as a Ray. He soon took notice of my anti-Ray behaviour and, unable to bridge the gap, a rivalry ensued. I wanted to be the best Ray possible and so I worked my butt off at discrediting him and attempting to out perform “the other Ray” at every opportunity I had, be it school work or handball. In short, my irrational hatred made me a better, albeit more embittered person.

If I had been at school whilst “Everybody Loves Raymond” was on-air, perhaps the rivalry wouldn’t have occurred, as the show afforded Rays and Raymonds everywhere the commonness of a Kings Cross shooting. But that’s just hindsight.

In the world of sports, it isn’t all schoolyard name calling as Harbajhan Singh and Andrew Symonds would have you believe. Intense rivalries can develop from several things, but a recurring theme for the more bitter feuds is the proximity of the combatants. Some of the best rivalries are the local derbies and we’re blessed with several in the NRL: Rabbitohs and Roosters; Dragons and Sharks; Dogs and Eels, just to name a few. Who can deny that they followed the Round 1 Souths vs Roosters clash and preceding build up with a more than casual interest this year? The local derby harkens back to a time when you had to defend your turf from the opposing clan. It is conflict in its purest form, us versus them and, although they don’t involve ugly handball clashes, some would argue they’re just as painful – just ask Craig Wing.

For those who have no territorial opponents, tragedy can act as a catalyst for competition. For example, the Storm and the Warriors compete annually for a trophy, as there’s really no one else nearby to establish a rivalry with. The trophy dates back to 1998 which marks the Storm’s inclusion in the NRL. Originally called the Trans-Tasman Cup, the cup was renamed after Michael Moore, the Melbourne team manager who passed away in Auckland in 2000. Although the Storm has won it the last three clashes in a row, it lends the contest an importance; something extra that a regular competition match would otherwise lack.

Even the little known but highly competitive world of rugby league writing can claim host to several rivalries. These can be borne out of respect, much like the Bluebags-Warriors rivalry. This rivalry came about from three sound Warriors losses to their opponents’ respected yet gracious pens in 2007 when a different approach could have been taken. They can come from controversy, like the Gold Coast-Warriors rivalry. When one of the more colourful characters of F7’s football was released from the Warriors last season, sparks were bound to fly. I’m sure we’re all looking forward to seeing just how high they fly in this year’s final round. Finally, they can come from disrespect, like comments certain players made in the Warriors’ run to the Grand Final. In my debut season of Forum Sevens, I found out that on top of roundhouse kicks and being a team mascot, Chuck Norris also serves up a good slice of humble pie with a carb-conscious portion of hot air.

Rivalries make you feel good that you’re not one of “the others”, while giving you a valid excuse to hate something for a reason that would otherwise be completely irrational. They bring out the best and worst in people and they can motivate or intimidate. I look forward to both football seasons ahead, especially the Forum Sevens one. I’ll “Chuck” in my two cents’ worth to say I have a feeling that this rivalry has only just begun.

(741 words between the stars according to the word counter)​

JonB

Jonb gets the ball, tearing down the sideline.... hes going the wrong way......

The ACL

It didn’t look like much at the moment of action – merely a footballer having a hack at the ball – but Wade McKinnon was to come up lame. Warrior nation was soon to discover it was a knee injury, something that strikes fear into the heart of athletes and fans around the world. Initially, Warriors doctor 'Doc' Mayhew’s prognosis was that Wade would be seated for 3-4 weeks and then he would make his 100th NRL appearance. To the horror of every person that has any interest in the New Zealand based club, it turned out Mr McKinnon would be forced to sit out the season because of an Anterior Cruciate Ligament or ACL tear.

As a student nurse, I was interested in the significance of the ACL in sports; in particular it’s significance in Wade’s injury. Why was he able to hop on it, and yet be ruled out for the season? Here’s a quick breakdown…

Firstly, let’s understand the terms: anterior means "nearer to the front", cruciate "like a cross," and liga means "to tie together". This pretty much sums up the front ligament inside the knee. It crosses over the knee (in a diagonal direction) and essentially ties the thigh bone to the shin bone.

Now let’s consider its purpose: it stops the thigh bone from continuing upward when you plant your foot. (Note that the thigh bone and shin bones do not touch in the knee.) Cool, huh?

When an athlete is running at a high speed, a tremendous amount of force is generated, which is exhibited each week by the collisions and hits of the NRL. This provides a point of interest. When Wade’s injury occurred, he was going fast but to the naked eye it didn't look like much. No bone crunching tackle or anything spectacular occurred. It was just a guy having a kick at a ball on the ground and a bit of a rolly polly afterwards. It poses the question: if someone can get levelled by Lauaki or crunched by a Hindmarsh hit and come away relatively unscathed, how come a seemingly less significant action can bear such a foul reward?

It essentially comes down to the actual make up of the soft tissues that are ligaments and tendons. Ligaments and tendons are made up of a protein called collagen, (that may come as a surprise), which is the abundant protein in the body. It’s also found in bones, hair and nails. What’s great about collagen is that it provides strength and has flexibility due to the arrangement of the fibres. The strength comes from the fibres running in one direction. If you grip one end in each hand you can't pull it apart – trust me, I’ve tried! However, if you apply force to the same tendon in a direction which the fibres are not going, it is pulled apart with little to no strain at all.

Unfortunately for Warriors supporters, there is some more bad news about ligaments: they are white. This means that they don't have a high blood flow. Going further, it means that waste like scar tissue cannot be taken away very efficiently and also means there is not a heavy inflow of nutrients. The latter, unsurprisingly, is very important for growth. It is stated that the growth rate of ligaments is less than 1mm per day. This is why there is a need for what we call a knee reconstruction; it gives Mother Nature a helping hand. A muscle tear sits in direct contrast to a ligament tear – Steve Price, anybody? Muscle tears take a significantly shorter amount of healing time, even for a greater amount of actual damage.

The physical aspects of recovery from a reconstruction can take around 6-9 months. As a Warriors fan, it will be interesting to watch the complete recovery of Brent Tate, who suffered a similar knee injury in Origin 3, 2007. Of particular note will be the time it takes for him to be at full stride and confidence. Based on Sunday’s game against Parramatta , he isn’t far away from his best. An injury is never a blessing, but Tate’s injury could be helpful in some sense as he could provide a recovery gauge for McKinnon, as well as offer support in a more emotional sense. It’s something that is often over looked in our athletes and today’s league culture, and something that McKinnon will undoubtedly need in the months to come.

jamesgould

The Rugby League Devolution

Do you feel it? It’s the past, baby! Coming to a Seiffert Oval near you! Well, maybe not Seiffert Oval, but you get the picture. Rugby league in 2008 is definitely getting the feeling that what is old is new again, and I couldn’t be happier. So hop on board, because if we keep this up it should be a rollicking ride.

Of course there is the superficial feeling of nostalgia with this being the 100th anniversary of the NSWRL premiership, but the thing I’m most concerned about are the rules. It seems the NRL has finally seen some sense and realised that change is not necessary merely for the sake of change.

Rugby league by its very nature has been constantly evolving over its 100 seasons. The need to draw crowds and television audiences has meant that rule changes to attract viewers have been frequent. Two of the biggest changes to the sport – the limited tackle rule introduced in the 1960s and the ten-metre rule of the 1990s – were both introduced to promote attacking football. In comparison, rugby union – not needing the financial success of league to survive – has made relatively few.

In recent years, however, the changes have seemed a lot more arbitrary. We’ve had interchange laws bouncing up and down, two referees, video intervention reaching extreme levels, and stoppages in play becoming more and more prominent.

Most people would agree that the game was at its zenith in 1994. Of course it is a subjective point of view that may not be shared by all, but crowd and television figures, as well as general observation, would indicate that rugby league was at it’s most popular at that time. There have, of course, been many good rule changes since then, but the quantity has been excessive.

This season has seen some common sense on the part of administrators. At last the ridiculous stoppages surrounding line drop-outs has been hurried up. Look at a game from the early 1990s and there virtually was no stoppage! How the huge delays came about I have no idea, but refereeing interpretations didn’t help, with a time-out being blown over a penalty for time-wasting every occasion.

There has generally been a reluctance to blow penalties, in recent years. In my opinion it has lead to a slowing down of the play the ball, as defensive sides realise they can get away with greater wrestling. I wouldn’t mind an increase in penalties, because it would result in a greater spectacle in the long run. That has been the case this year with tackles making contact with the head being penalised instantly – another initiative to be applauded.

The reduced interchange has been another great success. I hope the reduction continues in future seasons. I see no reason why it cannot go down further to eight in 2009 and six in 2010. Six would be the ultimate – in essence (coaches innovations aside) it would allow for two permanent replacements and two temporary interchanges. The game becomes more about stamina, and games are decided at the end of the match. At times in the past decade, defence has seemed as strong in the final five minutes as it was in the first. It’s not an ideal situation.

It is early days, but points per match are up almost five on the last two years. The changes seem to be working, with a more entertaining brand of football being played.

There are still blunders though. Stopping play to check whether a ball has been stripped or lost is one. We should be striving for a quicker game, not unnecessarily lengthening it. How often do you go home after the match cursing the referee for making an incorrect stripping decision? Never! The incorrect try decisions are a different matter, but stripped balls are frequently 50-50 calls anyway.

Having the coaches make the important decisions is a sticking point in my view. Leave it to a board of thinkers of the game, who have the codes best interests in mind. Warren Ryan, Phil Gould and a few others. This year has been an improvement, but there is still work to do to return rugby league to the free-flowing spectacle it can be. Coaches looking for the biggest advantage in winning the competition are more hindrance than help.

Oh, and apparently quick twenty metre taps are back, but I haven’t seen one yet. I guess you can’t win ‘em all …

paulquinn49

PQ for the CNTDN
Todd of Nazareth (746 words)

It was the sixth day of June 1986.

A local woman, Leanne had given birth in a quaint barn to a young boy, known as Todd. In attendance were the 3 wise men and possibly a goat, perhaps for Leanne to eat at a later date, if she wished.

Following a star in the skies above the 3 wise men stumbled across the birth of Todd, feeling somewhat awkward for the intrusion on Leanne the 3 wise men offered gifts but were on short notice, as they had not planned on witnessing a birth. There would be no gold, frankincense or myrrh for Todd on this day, but the gifts received would one day impact on his life. A comb, a toy car and a permanent marker were the rewards for a life that so far had done nothing to warrant such lavish gifts.

Todd of Nazareth would become a legend, born into the world a saviour, his every move watched, adored and reported on. The pressure was on this young man to perform, whether it is curing a common case of blindness or endlessly explaining how his father is a cloud, which talks to him.

Before long Todd began acting out, growing his hair, not shaving, refusing to settle for a 9-5 job, spitting into the drinking water before turning it into wine. The expectation of excellence now had a grip on him, with nothing more than an old fish and a loaf of bread he was to feed some 5000 people.

His personal and professional life now had no boundaries, becoming one in an orgy of alcohol, drink driving charges and court appearances. This wasn’t the man people knew, however no one stepped back to notice if they actually knew him at all, for behind all the make up, myths and expectation he was a mere mortal.

His comb, his sanctuary for the image he represents, the car his demise and the permanent markers the tattoos of nothingness all projecting the image of a confused individual.

Questions were soon asked of his commitment and faith to himself, the people that had nurtured and supported him in his times of need wanted answers. A fresh start was on the table, Manly, Penrith or even Canterbury could offer more in the way of monetary riches, but by turning his back on his people he would lose much more.

As with his whole professional life Todd now had a decision to make that affected a lot more people than himself. The people had expected him to stay after they helped him through the tough times, this was also the only home he had ever known. Leaving would cause a ripple affect the community would struggle to cope with, by leaving the future of the coach was up in the air, the issue of attracting talent with a supposed talentless roster was an issue.

For a person with personal issues and trying to create a professional career, having the hopes, dreams and future of the club relying on one decision must be enough to send you to the funny farm.

The longer a decision was held off the less confident and compassionate the people became. Deadlines came and deadlines passed, one day he was staying the next he was leaving. The people had enough and sentenced Todd of Nazareth to death.

Nailed to the cross, bleeding for all to see, they yelled, they screamed asking him why he didn’t want to stay. No response. People gathered to watch as the saviour stood stuck in time, nailed to the cross, watching people watch him. It dragged on for days, until finally the people choked the soul out of Todd.

In the 3 days without Todd, people began seeing the light, that life did indeed go on without him, it would take time but the people knew that by not relying on one man to be their saviour they could become stronger individuals and people as a whole. As soon as this great realisation came grumbling was heard at the resting place of Todd, he had risen from the dead.

As he rolled the stone away from the entrance to the cave the people this time didn’t bow down and praise his every move, seeing what their favourite son had become with the pressure placed on him, he was a disillusioned boy walking among men, he is no longer Todd of Nazareth, he is Todd of Goulburn.

last-suppersmall.jpg

TiTTieS_[CNTDN]

TiTTieS_[CNTDN] takes to the field in the hope of earning some favour from the almighty Chuck Norris. 749 words including title.

----------------------------------------------------------

A Season To Remember

It’s only 2 rounds old, yet the season seems to have got off to a rather slow start – much slower, that is, than usual. Well, for most teams, anyway. The Sharks have burst from the blocks with away wins to both of last year’s grand finalists. The Knights are 2 from 2 having narrowly avoided the spoon last year while the Broncos have flogged Penrith and comfortably taken the points with an out of town victory against the resurgent Roosters.

At the other end of the table, last year’s wooden spooners are already on their way to back to back spoons. Manly, after a great 2007 which saw them reach the decider, have fallen to teams not widely expected to serious premiership threats. And for most teams, it seems that they took their Mad Mondays to Western Australia where it is hard to get a cup of coffee after 4pm.

At this point, it is fair to say that the more things change, the more things stay the same. This is especially true of any NRL season. The one consistency from season to season is that there is, in fact, no exact formula for how things will happen. Sure, refereeing mistakes will happen week in week out; it has certainly been no different this year. Sure, there will be coaches who find themselves under the pump before any real form lines can be established.

Whilst most seasons seem to follow the same recipe but with differing amounts of each ingredient, this year will be more like a wedding cake than a child’s racing track birthday cake. It will get off to a slow start and take a lot of effort, but the results will be there to be enjoyed. This is the big one. The premiership’s pinnacle is naturally the grand final. The game’s pinnacle, on the other hand, is State Of Origin football. However, this year, I feel that State Of Origin will take a back seat to the Telstra Premiership.

Most coaches, if not all of them, will be acutely aware that the premiership is not won in May and therefore be content to feel their way into the season. Matthew Elliot already finds himself under the pump with vocal fans already calling for his head. While results certainly do matter at this early stage of the season, form is not yet a critical factor. Parramatta showed us this in their Round 1 clash with the Bulldogs. Down at half time, they roared back in the second half and snatched victory from a tiring Bulldogs defence.

As much as a punter may want form lines to be their bible, they can simply only provide a handy guide. At this stage of the season, form lines have been established, although they are still in their infancy. Consider this: Round 1 saw the Tigers narrowly beat the Dragons. In the same round, the Titans were solid winners over the Cowboys. The following round, the Tigers once again ran out victors, this time against a hapless Cowboys outfit. So, if we were to use these games as form guides, it would be logical that: the Tigers can beat the Dragons who can beat the Titans. So, therefore, a win to the Tigers over the Titans should be a certainty, right?

Not necessarily. Factor in home ground advantage and time between games from one week to the next, and you start to see your guides become a little shaky. Then other such factors as crowds, underdog status and weather conditions can really shake the form guides even more.

Finally, injuries and suspensions are the bane of most supporters’ existence. These will have a major say in a number of teams’ fortunes this year – as they do any year. Those blessed with more than average football talent will no doubt find themselves in the firing line week in week out. Andrew Johns suffered this for most of his career while players like Darren Lockyer and Jonathon Thurston have to cope with this on a weekly basis.

This season promises to deliver a lot of highs and lows. The ladder is sure to become congested come season’s end. Teams in the top 4 will most likely only start to feel safe and secure in the 8 in the last few rounds. Other teams will be eagerly watching results, uncomfortable that their fate lies in the hands of the footballing gods.
Strap yourself in and enjoy the ride.

Jesbass

Well done to both teams for a quality hustle, and good luck for the result.

It's just so good to have the season going again, regardless of the result.

*shakes hands with the opposition, then tips his hat to the officials*

Over to you, ref. :)

Hallatia

hey Jesbass,

I'm not sure if I should tell you this but up until you injured your own players in this game, I thought you were a chick:lol: