Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 1 v Knights @ Penrith - THE DEFENCE STARTS HERE!

choc_soldier

I really can't wait for this game. By next Friday, the wait will hopefully be well worth it.

The match-ups all over the park alone say that this is a classic in the making. This is a heavy weight battle.

The Knights - Andrew John's comeback match, running behind one of the best forward packs in the game, and with backs that are the amongst the best finishers.

The Panthers - Starting our premiership defence at home in front of the faithful. Trial form would suggest that we have lost none of our attacking flair, and our defence has improved somewhat.

This match will go down to the wire.

Panthers by 4. 8)

PREDATOR

Have read that the Knights could be without Kennedy,Parsons,Newton and one other so the pressure is on us to perform as we did last year when we played them without Johns.

*Sandy*

Yes Roo, same i am so looking forward to Friday week. :clap: Preston and Gowie will run it all over Johns. Priddis will leave Buderus scratching his head! :D

Priddis for NSW Hooker!!!!

SP

and im gonna be at this game, i cant wait, first Penrith home game (and live footy game) in 4 years :) :D

SP

hope not, usually can buy tickets at the gates anyway

or has that changed in the last 4 years?

Big Mick

I'm gonna go out on the limb and say Panthers by 18, I think we will win and win comfortably given newcastle would be without kennedy and others.

If they play, Penrith by 8.

mightypanther

-----------------------------------------------

I'm quietly confident of a big win against the Knights.

The boys are eager, and want to get their new season off to a rip roaring start,
so I think they're going to come out with all guns blazing.

I can't wait.........I am soooooo excited.

So Lewis......are you coming over to TC's after the game so we can all meet you and say hi ???

Oh and of course you too Predator, Fibro, Big Mick, kiwipanther, New Jack etc etc

All are welcome to join our rag tag bunch of misfits. :lol:

choc_soldier

I think we should have an LU get together at TC'S after the game... would be great to match a face with some of these names.

Also, I don't believe that the match is a sell-out yet, because they will put tickets on sale at the gate.

Speaking of which, I bought a ticket for the Knights the day they went on sale, but since then, I have got a season ticket, so I am now in possession of a spare ticket. The only thing is that it is a concession entry, so you need to be a student or something similar to use it.

If you are interested, feel free to PM me, and we'll see if we we organise something...

SP

yeah, i'll see if i can get over to TC's, i'll be going with my sister to the game, i'll try to get on here again while im down there (most probably at the Penrith Library) and organise stuff

SP

also, while im at the game, im gonna try and get a photo of me & luke lewis on the camera, then put it on here with "The 2 Lewis's, Me and Luke" :lol: , although not 1 part of my name has Lewis in it

mightypanther

-------------------

Cool. There will be heaps of us for you to meet.

There shouldn't be too much problem getting a photo with Lewis.

You could either wait somewhere near the dressing rooms after the game,
or near the western gate, as that is the gate that most of them come out
of, when they're ready go over to the club after the game.

You might even get a chance to catch him over at TC's later on.

The chances of seeing a lot of players at TC's are much higher after games
where we win of course. :D

I hope you penrith guys aren't writing Newcastle off cos if u were that would be a huge mistake! You just have to take a look at our backline esp with Joey back, fit as ever to steer them around the park, Bedsy around the ruck and his combination with Joey is brilliant. Last year the Knights had a good first up win against The Warriors in Auckland, who were in the grand final the previous year and I wouldnt be surprised if we won a close one again. I mean we have a superior record against you guys in Penrith but that means nothing come next Friday! I know this match can go either way and no one really knows who is going to win but may the best team win. Best of luck for all u penrith fans I hope the game is a beauty and im sure it will be. Enjoy the game

mightypanther

Yep Jaime it's pretty much guaranteed that it will be a great game.

And all games could go either way.......but you can't blame us for feeling confident
our guys are the Premiers after all.

We need to bask in it for a bit longer.

I'm sure you guys did when you won it too.

Yeah Mightypanther your right we did, I mean we were super confident there for a while in 2002 and panthers fans do deserve to have that feeling of confidence at the moment and yeah I don't blame you guys for being confident either if we would have won the comp we would be the same :D

New Jack

I reckon Penny will win by 10 but Newcastle is a team that can beat anyone on their day - if Penrith right them off we could be in trouble. I think it will be close, and we will score at the end to increase a 4 point lead - its just my opinion.