Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 1 vs. Bulldogs Discussion + Voting

Ghoulies

My first thoughts are that the Bulldogs played much worse than I thought they would, while we played slightly better than expected.

I'm not comfortable with our last try being awarded as I'm generally opposed to players running behind team mates, but at least in this instance it seemed to have almost no impact on the defence.

I'll vote after watching the replay.

Dazzat

Without Barba we would not have won tonight. He didn't do much, but what he did made a difference.

Maranta - granted he played well. Solid in taking bombs, with some solid runs up the middle. However ... still doesn't change the fact he should not have been in the team in the first place.

The big difference between tonight and the trial game - defence. Attitude.

Let us not forget that the Bulldogs' roster is very average when it comes to attacking options. So, yes we defended well, but against a team that has no X-Factor.

3. McCullough
2. Gillett
1. Barba

Dazzat

No, he ain't just yet though if he improves like he did last season; who knows.

A better than expected first half from the boys. I think we are looking better than we perhaps are right now if only because the Doggies are out of sorts here. They have little direction in attack.

1. Corey Parker off after 20 minutes. Concern? I want our captain out there for 80 minutes.

2. Our star fullback made immediate impact. Looks sharp. Clever kick to set up the opening try to Copley.

3. Hoffman isn't our answer at 6 and please, don't let him kick the ball. I'd like to see Kodi Nikorima at 6 with Hoffman on Maranta's wing.

4. Forwards look good.

5. I liked our defence though again the Doggies our helping our cause. We are up and in their face not allowing much breathing space. It's good to see.

6. Ben Hunt. Hmm...

Agreed. We will not win over 50% of games with a 5/8 that cannot pass and cannot kick.

Nerd

Well that was a pleasant surprise. What a difference a ball playing fullback makes.

Hats off to Maranta that was the best game he has played ever! But still shouldn't be in the team.

I'm happy with the rule changes that speed up the play the ball. The teams that went best in the last few years were the ones that slowed the play the ball down with the wrestle. Interesting that both the Roosters and the Dogs have struggled with the quick play the ball. I wonder how the other two main exponents Manly and the Storm will go this round?

Hunt's passing game was good but he really needs to sharpen up his kicking game as tonight he was shit.

3. Barba
2. Parker
1. Copley

isaiah

Well that was a pleasant surprise. What a difference a ball playing fullback makes.

Hats off to Maranta that was the best game he has played ever! But still shouldn't be in the team.

I'm happy with the rule changes that speed up the play the ball. The teams that went best in the last few years were the ones that slowed the play the ball down with the wrestle. Interesting that both the Roosters and the Dogs have struggled with the quick play the ball. I wonder how the other two main exponents Manly and the Storm will go this round?

Hunt's passing game was good but he really needs to sharpen up his kicking game as tonight he was shit.

3. Barba
2. Parker
1. Copley
agree with the point about the wrestle. could end up a souths v cowboys gf

Boy

Was at the game

Forgot the sign ....seems maranta silenced me for this game

More I think about the game the happier I get
Until Hoffman.
Kodi Nikorama had a great game tonight should have been in that 6

Boys looked happy and enjoying themselves
Few silly errors
Gillette had a shocking moment leading to another set of 6 within 20m

Do not think this game solves our problems
But happy we have enough good players to make good plays when needed that we won't be walkovers

Edit: oh and I thought hunt did alright but with Hoffman not really relieving much pressure
He had a spotlight on him that tested and often bested locky when Wallace went missing

lockyno1

Lets just say neither side is featuring in the finals. Take the 2 points, they won't be coming that often this season! Not sure what was worse...Hoffman at 5/8, Hunt's kicking game or the fact we let a side that played for 15 minutes to get within 6!

Votes:

3- Parker
2- Hannant
1. Kennedy (for smacking Ennis)

AceAv

Yeh that GTFO shove on Ennis's big mouth was great!

We'll I'm pretty happy with that for a first game. Nice to come away with the win and some positive stuff from Barba, Vidot, Copley, Gillette and even Thaiday!

But unfortunately there is some serious negatives too

Hoffman is just a dancer/fender now, that plays like he is just trying to get out of his in goal and dive to the ground. There is no place for him at 5'8 and he belongs on the wing or in the centres or on the sideline in Normans old seat. There's plenty of backs that can take his spot if he wants to cry about losing his full back role..

Hunt needs to practice his kicking game a lot and honestly needs it to not always go to him, he had a decent game on defense and was involved in a few decent plays for me to not be concerned with his development. Anyone who thinks he's bad; hasn't watched him enough and has much of an eye for potential talent. We will do well with him at halfback, but he needs someone like Nikorima to partner.

Barba is a brilliant fullback and slots into playmaker role well too. He must stay at #1

Hasn't Copley made up ground (literally) he smashed some metres tonight and I am very happy to have him playing in the #4

Im glad Maranta finally had a good game and hopefully the confidence will snowball with him. Personally I think he did what was expected of most wingers every game without making any costly errors, so good job mate.

Vidot is like a good version of Dugan. Strong fast and unpredictable. He's great on the wing..

Our forwards did alright, was their solid defense (when dogs threw everything at us) that got us home. I can see why Glenn gets picked, because he gets through a tonne of work and throws his body into every hit up, it's a shame he can't finish or keep the play going though. Gillette was similar tonight in that regards.

Dogs were very ordinary 1st half and we should have been more patient and let them just shoot themselves. We had some good opportunities that were butchered by bad playmaking decisions a few times unfortunately but the better side did win tonight. However we were only 1 try better and I agree it was just the lack of xfactor that stopped the dogs from getting the try they needed.

I had no issue with the last try and if anything we deserve it. Reeds knock back to Vidot when he went over was a try for mine completely. Ref didn't even think about going upstairs for it =\

Geez was nice to hear Griffin say he has a plan and everything is under control and running smoothly. The stats from last 2 years show something quite different!!?

Will be interesting to see how he reacts to the negatives in this game and if he makes chamges or stays stubborn.

Man it's good to have Friday night footy back!

Frank_Grimes

3. Macca - may not have been his best in attack, but 57 tackles is an outstanding effort, and I think this could have been his first 80min game at 9.

2. Barba - the difference in attack for most of the game. Without his breaks, and that try assist in the opening minutes, we wouldn't have been in that game.

1. Hannant - good strong bullocking runs up the middle, and made crucial metres out of our own half at the back end of the game. He needs to be starting.

On the rest of team. The Hoffman experiment at 6 went pretty much exactly as most of us here thought it would - dismally. Hunt's kicks were awful, but Hoffman may as well have not touched the ball with his foot. Gould (as geniused as he can be at times) was right. When you have a player who is clearly not a strong or accurate kicker, get them to perfect a grubber kick. Hoffman never tried this. We all remember how Karmichael was acting as a playmaker from fullback in his final season. Some of his grubber kicks were pinpoint, and almost always resulted in a try or a repeat set.

Hunt. Not a great start, but it seems like all of the playmaking pressure was put on him, since every time Hoffman got the ball he would simply try to beat defenders.

Maranta had possibly the beat game of his career, but still really shouldn't have been selected. If he can back this up every week then fine, but something tells me he won't.

Copley is back to the kind of form he was hitting late 2011. He's taking hit ups and getting us out of our own half when needed.

The rest were solid if not underperforming a little.

Happy to take the points, but if history tells us anything, Griffin will stick with Hoffman at 6, and we will suffer another year of boring predictable attack that works in the first 20 minutes, but the opposition works out and shuts down for the rest of the game.

lockyno1

Kade needs to be at 6 next week, but just you watch Hook be very defensive and not change it.

ggmu

It will never happen but in my opinion Jack Reed should be very worried about losing his spot once Hodges is back. A back 5 of:
1. Barba
2. Hoffman
3. Copley
4. Hodges
5. Vidot.
Seems pretty strong to me.

THE CHAMP

Vidot is going to be one of the signings of the years if he keeps up that kind of form.
Kodi in Maranta out (I know he played alright but was found out in the air by Morris pretty awfully) Hoffman to the wing. If Hodges comes back near top form we can make the finals.

Great to get the win but it may bite us on the arse as Griffin will not make any changes. Where did he get his nickname because I have never seen him "hook" any player no matter how deserving.

Ever time I see Maranta play I am reminded of Stu Kelly and it send shivers down my spine. Watched Whitchurch last week vs PNG and he played very well should get another shot asap.

Frank_Grimes

Just on Lowrie getting the piss knocked out of him by Pritchard - Gus made the point, and it highlights the stupidity of the shoulder charge rule. If you are holding the ball - attacking a player with your shoulder and knocking them out is fine. If you're a defender - not fine.

Silly really.

AceAv

Great to get the win but it may bite us on the arse as Griffin will not make any changes. Where did he get his nickname because I have never seen him "hook" any player no matter how deserving.

So true lol..

Then again -he did "hook" Wallace after 2.5 years of dismal form, so I guess we'll see some big changes in 2016!!

man2iel_

3 - Andrew McCullough; 80 minutes, 57 tackles and busy in attack as usual.
2 - Corey Parker; A good captain's effort. Led from the front.
1 - Lachlan Maranta; Scored the match winner, handled everything Canterbury threw at him when defending. Picked up handy metres when the forwards were sucking in the big ones. Deserves a point.

Special mention to our star fullback who looked a class above in the first half (despite disappearing somewhat in the second). Every touch showed he has the extra time great players do and the zip was there early. Give him 4-6 rounds for match fitness and the NRL will see him return to 2012 form.

Dazzat

Usual concerning quotes from Griffin after the game, telling us that he thought Hoffman had a good game at No. 6.

Hoffman did NOT have a good game at No. 6. He was caught in possession too many times. Yes, he did his usual few elusive runs, but continuing with a No. 6 who can't pass and can't kick is crazy.

Why is it always the case that one wonders if Griffin watches the same game as supporters do.

man2iel_

Usual concerning quotes from Griffin after the game, telling us that he thought Hoffman had a good game at No. 6.

Hoffman did NOT have a good game at No. 6. He was caught in possession too many times. Yes, he did his usual few elusive runs, but continuing with a No. 6 who can't pass and can't kick is crazy.

Why is it always the case that one wonders if Griffin watches the same game as supporters do.

Griffin is stubborn to a fault in his views on players and is blinded by it to a large extent. Look no further than his persistence with Wallace. No former Broncos great will convince me Griffin is our long term option. Lockyer's play and leadership masked the flaws in Griffin as a coach in 2011; the past two seasons showed us what we have in Griffin and 2014 will be no different.

Hoffman was nothing more than an extra running forward for the most part, an undersized one, but a forward all the same. As you note, he died with the ball way too often and whilst he wasn't there to play a traditional 6's role, Hoffman close to the action hampered our play.

Reports suggest Kodi Nikorima was on song in the opener; pick him for round two and blood him against the best in the business: Johnathan Thurston.

Big Pete

3. Alex Glenn
2. Andrew McCullough
1. Lachlan Maranta

Just on Lowrie getting the piss knocked out of him by Pritchard - Gus made the point, and it highlights the stupidity of the shoulder charge rule. If you are holding the ball - attacking a player with your shoulder and knocking them out is fine. If you're a defender - not fine.

Silly really.

It's a tricky one and I've been waiting for it to happen to raise the point. In fairness to Franky, Lowrie came in at a million miles an hour forcing Frank to brace for the oncoming impact which knocked Lowrie to the ground. So it's bit of a case of what was Pritchard allowed to do? To me, it was just an unfortunate situation and the only aspect that really disappointed me was the Dogs reaction. Young David Klemmer went over and made a spectacle of it which I think encouraged all the others to come over and use it as a source of inspiration. As a Broncos fan, luckily it didn't pay off.

He paid Hoffman a couple of compliments for his running & defensive game which were all fair. He conceded the attack needed work but it was always going to be a work in progress.

Bit of a case of jumping at shadows.

Ever time I see Maranta play I am reminded of Stu Kelly and it send shivers down my spine. Watched Whitchurch last week vs PNG and he played very well should get another shot asap.

Whitchurch is no longer apart of the Broncos. He was trying to link up with the Knights, but they couldn't work anything out.

I don't think he offers a lot on the wing regardless. On the surface, doesn't have the speed or foot-work for it and I'd have to question how he'd go with the positioning aspect and his ability under the high ball.

I reckon his future lies in the backrow. Certainly has the size for it and it seems like his strengths lie in his ability to run good lines.

If one of the expansion clubs is accepted, I'd like to see them take a punt on him.

Special mention to our star fullback who looked a class above in the first half (despite disappearing somewhat in the second).

Barba didn't really get much of an opportunity. Dogs had all the field position for the bulk of the game. Still, he set up Glenn with a beauty of a pass that should have seen him score. Then he put Reed through, but Reed who has the tendancy to be out of position was standing way too flat and was unable to control the ball. If he had a clean grasp, it would have been try time in the corner.