Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 13 v The Stone Poneys

getsmarty

bel_web.jpg

TEAM LISTS

Behind enemy lines: Round 13
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Tue 1 Jun 2021, 04:02 PM
Share on social media
The Brisbane Broncos have named their mandatory 21-man squad ahead of the Round 13 clash against the St George Illawarra Dragons at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium, Kogarah on Thursday, June 3.

Selwyn Cobbo will make his NRL debut on the wing in place of Maroons star Xavier Coates. Captain Alex Glenn also returns in the back row while Tyson Gamble returns from suspension to replace Anthony Milford in the halves.

Match: Dragons v Broncos

Round 13 - Thursday 3rd June

7:50pm

Home Team

Dragons

Away Team

Broncos

Venue: Netstrata Jubilee Stadium, Sydney

Team Lists
Backs
  • Fullback for Dragons is number 1 Matthew Dufty

Fullback for Broncos is number 1 Jamayne Isaako
  • Winger for Dragons is number 2 Cody Ramsey

Winger for Broncos is number 2 Selwyn Cobbo
  • Centre for Dragons is number 3 Brayden Wiliame

Centre for Broncos is number 3 Herbie Farnworth
  • Centre for Dragons is number 4 Gerard Beale

Centre for Broncos is number 4 Jesse Arthars
  • Winger for Dragons is number 5 Mikaele Ravalawa

Winger for Broncos is number 5 David Mead
  • Five-Eighth for Dragons is number 6 Corey Norman

Five-Eighth for Broncos is number 6 Albert Kelly
  • Halfback for Dragons is number 7 Ben Hunt

Halfback for Broncos is number 7 Tyson Gamble
Forwards
  • Prop for Dragons is number 8 Blake Lawrie

Prop for Broncos is number 8 Matthew Lodge
  • Hooker for Dragons is number 9 Andrew McCullough

Hooker for Broncos is number 9 Jake Turpin
  • Prop for Dragons is number 10 Paul Vaughan

Prop for Broncos is number 10 Thomas Flegler
  • 2nd Row for Dragons is number 11 Josh Kerr

2nd Row for Broncos is number 11 Alex Glenn
  • 2nd Row for Dragons is number 12 Jack Bird

2nd Row for Broncos is number 12 Tevita Pangai Junior
  • Lock for Dragons is number 13 Jackson Ford

Lock for Broncos is number 13 John Asiata
Interchange
  • Interchange for Dragons is number 14 Talatau Amone

Interchange for Broncos is number 14 Kobe Hetherington
  • Interchange for Dragons is number 15 Poasa Faamausili

Interchange for Broncos is number 15 Keenan Palasia
  • Interchange for Dragons is number 16 Daniel Alvaro

Interchange for Broncos is number 16 Ethan Bullemor
  • Interchange for Dragons is number 17 Jack De Belin

Interchange for Broncos is number 17 TC Robati
Reserves
  • Reserve for Dragons is number 18 Kaide Ellis

Reserve for Broncos is number 18 Jordan Riki
  • Reserve for Dragons is number 19 Adam Clune

Reserve for Broncos is number 19 Tesi Niu
  • Reserve for Dragons is number 20 Jayden Sullivan

Reserve for Broncos is number 20 Dale Copley
  • Reserve for Dragons is number 21 Jordan Pereira

Reserve for Broncos is number 21 Cory Paix
Dragons Ins
  • Adam Clune
  • Jack De Belin
  • Jayden Sullivan
  • Josh Kerr
  • Matthew Dufty
  • Mikaele Ravalawa
Ins
Broncos Ins
  • Alex Glenn
  • Cory Paix
  • Jordan Riki
  • Matthew Lodge
  • Tesi Niu
  • Tyson Gamble
Dragons Outs
  • Billy Burns
  • Jaiyden Hunt
  • Tariq Sims
Outs
Broncos Ins
  • Anthony Milford
  • Payne Haas
  • Xavier Coates
Match Officials
  • Referee: Matt Cecchin
  • Touch Judge: Liam Kennedy
  • Touch Judge: Dave Munro
  • Senior Review Official: Henry Perenara
Last updated: 08:08 pm Tuesday 1st June 2021

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2021/06/01/behind-enemy-lines-round-13/

thebigredv

NRL squad for Round 13 v Brisbane Broncos –
1. Matt Dufty – sponsored by EFEX
2. Cody Ramsey– sponsored by Aspec Masonry
3. Brayden Wiliame– sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
4. Gerard Beale – sponsored by Floormania
5. Mikaele Ravalawa – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski
6. Corey Norman – sponsored by Deicorp
7. Ben Hunt (c) – sponsored by Narellan Pools Illawarra
8. Blake Lawrie – sponsored by Gym Solutions
9. Andrew McCullough – sponsored by Dincel Construction System
10. Paul Vaughan – sponsored by Fox and Jones
11. Josh Kerr – sponsored by Sneaky Burger
12. Jack Bird – sponsored by Modus Projects
13. Jackson Ford – sponsored by TLE Alexandria

Interchange:
14. Talatau Amone – sponsored by CMG Audio Visual
15. Poasa Faamausili – sponsored by Professionals Padstow
16. Daniel Alvaro – sponsored by Manna from Heaven
17. Jack de Belin – sponsored by TripADeal
18. Kaide Ellis
19. Adam Clune
20. Jayden Sullivan
21. Jordan Pereira

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2021/06/01/nrl-team-announcement-round-13-v-broncos/

Good move on Bird. Credit to the coach for that and believing in JDB. Wincing a bit at the centres but what can you do when inuries hit...

I give us a chance but too much Kerr for mine. Not a fan. Too much Norman too.

getsmarty

Jack de Belin ends NRL exile as Blake Ferguson dumped
The Dragons are set to gift a former star a return to the NRL while Parramatta Eels have sensationally dropped a star man.

Alex Conrad
June 1, 20216:09pm

St George Illawarra have confirmed that former star Jack de Belin will make his long-awaited comeback to NRL this weekend against the Brisbane Broncos.

It has been a long wait on the sidelines for the forward, who was stood down in February 2019 due to the sexual assault allegations against him.

De Belin made his return to the footy field in the NSW Cup on June 29, and Dragons coach is ready to throw him back into the NRL against a Broncos side who have struggled this season.

fda3520213fcfc3500c65acbcbefff17

De Belin made his long-awaited return to rugby league last weekend. (Photo by Jeremy Ng/Getty Images)Source:Getty Images

Dragons centre Zac Lomax is a close friend of de Belin, and was in attendance to see his return.

“To see Bomber back and what it meant to his family and teammates as well – everyone who turned up in support of him last weekend – it was a huge relief,” Lomax said.

“He’s the hardest trainer and in immaculate shape. It was good to see his lungs burning on the weekend. However, Hook (Griffin) wants to plays him, it will benefit the team – when Bomber is back he’s one of the best forwards in the game.

“I can’t wait to see him go (around). I think if anyone handles (the new game) it will be Bomber. It’s the hardest game in the world, especially with the six-again rule … you can do as much fitness as you want, but match fitness you need under your belt.

“It will take him a few games to find his feet, he’ll be the first person to tell you that, but Bomber out of all people has looked after himself every single day, been going to the gym and looking after his body. I can’t wait to see him get back out there.”

71e52f11cc5cff352c8b850e7cf9978d

De Belin chats with Zac Lomax after his return to the pitch. (Photo by Jeremy Ng/Getty Images)Source:Getty Images

https://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/j...d/news-story/dde7e0a9ff88b52be7372e27dbdc15fb

Dragons4me

I'm looking forward to seeing an Amone/Sullivan halves combination. I like the excitement and enthusiasm they bring which is infectious to the team. I don't see that excitement and enthusiasm in Hunt and Norman. What we see from them is it. That's the best we're going to get, week after week. It will only happen when we're out of contention for the finals.

George Dragon

Lomax is close mate, hopefully next week.

He is not close, his plaster doesn't come off until next week.

Our goal kicking will benefit from that but to be honest I am more excited to see more of the Feagais in first grade. When are they due? Matt was really impressive in his debit and Max also has shown he knows how to find the line.

Max is due back next week
Mat back in a few weeks.

Dunno about this one. Broncos will lift knowing this is a winnable game for them. Broncs usually get off to a good start, but then go to sleep. If we are not far behind after the first 20 then we should have points in us with Dufty and Rava back. Forward packs look about the same. Our halves are more experienced, their halves are more dynamic. Our centres are crud. Could go either way.

redv13

Dunno about this one. Broncos will lift knowing this is a winnable game for them. Broncs usually get off to a good start, but then go to sleep. If we are not far behind after the first 20 then we should have points in us with Dufty and Rava back. Forward packs look about the same. Our halves are more experienced, their halves are more dynamic. Our centres are crud. Could go either way.
Saints 13+

blacksafake

The Broncs have played some good footy at times & look to have some points in them against teams like us.Would like to see us start well, score a couple of tries early which would allow us to control the game. Defence & ball control are the obvious points we need to do. Oh & reduce the 6 agains.
I also don't want to see any of our players, especially Bird being baited & losing control when TPJ does his usual grubby tricks.

2010Dragons

If we can fix all 9 critical but simple issues below, we should win ever game including the finals.
  1. Unforced forced errors= Kerr, Bird, Dufty
  2. Too many dropped balls = Kerr, Bird, Dufty
  3. Dumb last tackle kicking options = Norman, Hunt
  4. Poor defensive line, Too many missed tackles, = Whole team, excluding Maca
  5. Repeat 6 again over and over. = Whole Team
  6. Unnecessary penalties given away = Whole team, mainly forwards
  7. Slow lazy defensive line speed = Whole team, mainly forwards
  8. Slow lazy hit ups by the unfit soft forwards, excluding Lawrie !
  9. Dumb poor attitude. Most of the players are playing with zero passion, zero ticker. Just go through the motions and pick up your pay check

hewi

If we can fix all 9 critical but simple issues below, we should win ever game including the finals.
  1. Unforced forced errors= Kerr, Bird, Dufty
  2. Too many dropped balls = Kerr, Bird, Dufty
  3. Dumb last tackle kicking options = Norman, Hunt
  4. Poor defensive line, Too many missed tackles, = Whole team, excluding Maca
  5. Repeat 6 again over and over. = Whole Team
  6. Unnecessary penalties given away = Whole team, mainly forwards
  7. Slow lazy defensive line speed = Whole team, mainly forwards
  8. Slow lazy hit ups by the unfit soft forwards, excluding Lawrie !
  9. Dumb poor attitude. Most of the players are playing with zero passion, zero ticker. Just go through the motions and pick up your pay check

Mate, if we could fix 4 of them I’d be doing cart wheels down the street

Dragsters

I'd like to see something experimental like:

1. Dufty/Ramsey
2. Matt Feagai
3. Max Feagai
4. Lomax
5. Ravalawa
6. Sullivan
7. Hunt
8. Vaughan
9. McCullogh
10. Lawrie
11. Sims
12. Bird
13. De Belin

Unstoppable.

Yep, I reckon that could be our strongest 13...

RedVDave

I have a feeling when De Belin comes on (assuming he is definitely playing) Bird will move into the centres with Williame going to the bench.

TruSaint

Make sure you’re watching Thursday night Johnno. Bird into the pack, he’ll be buzzing and so will JDB. Vaughan and Lawrie will lift too. I’m very confident this week

I gather from your post you believe Bird wants to play in the pack mate ?