Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 19 vs Raiders at Canberra Match Thread.

CycloneSteve

I was unfortunate enough to be at the game. I should have left at half-time but my boys wanted to stay a bit longer. After Dugan scored with 4 blokes hanging off him I said enough is enough. Besides that it was frickin cold....very very disappointed. Luckily I ripped the Raiders off by buying a GA ticket and then just walking into the Grandstand to sit :sarcasm:

Gene Krupa

I'm with Karma. Anyone who has watched our season HAS to see that we've been a sham all along. Take last week. We only just got home against a team who couldn't win a chook at a raffle with 99 of the 100 tickets. We've neither been convincing nor dominant in any of our wins and, save for a few star players who are putting in and the odd flash of briliance from our "name" players, we have a really, REALLY average team, where, if we take out our weak link, the replacement isn't very much better. I could harp on about ability and the coach (who, it is clear is, will and NEVER was up to NRL standard) but the problem is much more endemic than that. There is NO f**king heart in the club. I think I admit it, there isn't enough home grown talent to bring out the pride in the jersey. Too many journeymen or people who are earning a paypacket. The recent Vuna situation amplifies this. NO RESPECT FOR THE CLUB.

Now, I'm not saying fill the club with locals but there atleast needs to be someone who plays for more than pay or contracts. Someone who's not scared to say, "listen you f**ks, I love this club and I'll be DAMNED if I'm going to look like a pussy out there!"

You know the players I mean, Chief, Glanville, Peden.

I really would like to ring tomorrow and ask them the incentive for me to turn up next Monday night. Do I really want to go to a stadium that has no food before the first half kicks off, to see a team who couldn't give a f**k, on a sh*tty footy day, in the (probably) freezing, (possibly) raining cold. I'm a paid seated member (twice over), so they have my money anyway.

I'm just wondering if they really want my support?

And I knew what was going to happen after the first try. You could see it in their faces. "If they can pull that sh*t off in the first minute, what will they do to us all day?" Of course, the inevitable happened.

dreaming 09

I was unfortunate enough to be at the game. I should have left at half-time but my boys wanted to stay a bit longer. After Dugan scored with 4 blokes hanging off him I said enough is enough. Besides that it was frickin cold....very very disappointed. Luckily I ripped the Raiders off by buying a GA ticket and then just walking into the Grandstand to sit :sarcasm:
That is karma CycloneSteve if you sat in GA, knights might have won. :lol:

Ronnie Dobbs

The culture in your club is pre historic. I'll bet the boys will still be out pissing it up and loving life.

That sh*t don't cut it in 2010.

Rusty

Can I just say that Mullen is as useless as Dureau....a total turnstyle in defence and hack in attack.

Bicey_18

Not really surprised... we always seem to get towelled up in Canberra.

But when you look at the 2 sides on paper, Canberra is superior. Infact, we are probably the worst side on paper in the NRL. Thats the truth.. we are an extremely average football team who has no stand out players that most teams do..

TimW05

i feel for you guys..

watching your attack.. it was all one out running.. which got dominated... which was what ours was like when we lost 4 in a row not long ago

when ya's went to the 2nd man.. it looked more dangerous...

and you guys should be proud of Uate... he is a gun... most of our fans will acknowledge that

Serc

Alright its time for the (mostly damning) stats, some of which have been pointed out already by others:

Completions 18/31 (58%)

321 tackles made, 65 missed

42% possession

Uate 128m (9 runs, 1 line break, and that try)
Gidley 122m (13 runs, 1 try assist, 1 line break)
Sau 104m (10 runs)
Taia 92m (10 runs, 1 try assist)
MacDougall 88m (10 runs, 1 try assist, 1 line break)

Tackle breaks
Uate 8
Gidley 6

Offloads
MacDougall 2

Errors
Uate 3
MacDougall 2
Rogers 2
Mullen 2
Taia 2
Paterson 2

Hitups
Taufua 7 for 60m
Hilder 8 for 47m
Taia 6 for 45m
Cross 4 for 37m
Fa'aoso 4 for 25m
Tolar 4 for 25m
Paterson 2 for 20m
Kaufusi 3 for 19m

Tackles
Taia 47 (missed 5)
Cross 32 (missed 4)
Hilder 29 (missed 1)
MacDougall 25 (missed 0)

De Gois 24 (missed 6)
Mullen 21 (missed 3)
Paterson 21 (missed 10)
Fa'aoso 20 (missed 3)

Missed tackles
Paterson 10 (made 21)
Rogers 7 (made 8)
Uate 7 (made 8)
De Gois 6 (made 24)

Other notables
McManus missed 3, made 1
Gidley missed 4, made 10 (which is a little rare for him of late, though thats marking him a little hard, especially given the amount of line breaks the blokes in front of him let through today)

By the looks of things they ran at our right side all day...Mad Dog made 25 tackles and Mullen 21, compared to Rogers 8 and Sau 6.

Apey

By the looks of things they ran at our right side all day...Mad Dog made 25 tackles and Mullen 21, compared to Rogers 8 and Sau 6.

I thought they ran at our left more, the difference being Mullen/Doogs made most of the tackles.

It doesn't count as a missed tackle if you don't even lay a hand on the bloke, lol.

Rolla

So glad i didnt get to see the match, highlights were laughable though.

Look at those missed tackle stats! Pato should not be starting.... And to be honest if Jimmy isn't defending well then he offers nothing and shouldnt be there....Give kev a run.

Actually, aside from Aku's good try i have nothing positive or productive to add so i can't be f**ked.

Rolla

Ps after reading the other thread i withdraw the jimmy comment. It was based on his stats and a quick glimpse at the highlights, but according to those who watched the game they only tell a fraction of the story...my bad.

I just want to see new blood is all, i'd rather see kids with potential for a lot of improvement getting shown up a little, than 'first graders' going backwards and wasting the clubs and our time. We need to get some heart and enthusiasm into our team, so who gives a sh*t if they are physically ready, any kid that will go out there and put their body on the line will hopefully show our nuffy pack that the sh*t they are delivering is unacceptable. Con Mika in the 12 will be a start.

IanG

I left the club before half time and when I got home put the radio onto a music channel before switching to Star FM to listen to the other match. That performance was embarrassing to say the least. A number of those tries the Raider Scored were softer than marshmallows.

I sent a couple of friends of mine a text saying I was unable to send them a score message as I was in shock, I'd blown a Knights fuse. I do wonder about one of them who sent me back a message saying "Build A Bridge" which I replied "Knowing my luck it'd probably fall down"

Pika

Ps after reading the other thread i withdraw the jimmy comment. It was based on his stats and a quick glimpse at the highlights, but according to those who watched the game they only tell a fraction of the story...my bad.

I just want to see new blood is all, i'd rather see kids with potential for a lot of improvement getting shown up a little, than 'first graders' going backwards and wasting the clubs and our time. We need to get some heart and enthusiasm into our team, so who gives a sh*t if they are physically ready, any kid that will go out there and put their body on the line will hopefully show our nuffy pack that the sh*t they are delivering is unacceptable. Con Mika in the 12 will be a start.

Dont worry about it mate.

Sometimes a winger is made to look bad by those inside him.

antonius

we are playing no different to what we have been over the last few weeks... In fact the whole year.. We are just being found out for who we really are..
Just read through this thread and I reckon this post by CH sums it up best.

I see some here are feeling for Stone!!! FFS he's the bloke that sent this bunch out there with the attitude they have, no motivation at all. Our whole forward pack is soft. I forgotten when I last saw one of them really hit the ball up with pace, strength, and venom. No wonder they produce the stats they do, the run like 60 year olds. It's time to piss some of them off and give the young guys a decent run. This current lot rank as the worst ever. Edwards for one deserves a spot in front of some of these pretenders. As for our backs, other than Doogs, Gids and Aku they are just as bad. We are saddled with a team of mostly reserve graders, and that's the sad truth.