Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 2 vs Sharks

dragonssamy61

Just arrived in Sydney after driving all day from the Goldie.
Would love to be going to the game but down for a funeral for a family member and good mate...... and was a mad Dragons fan.

I will be placing my jersey on his casket and leaving it with him, he loved the Dragons.

Hope we win it for him.

Hope all goes well for you and his family OKB.
May his family and friends have some peace.

Crush

Fair bit of propaganda being fed to the Sharkies for this game . How Dugan has a score to settle with us and to make matters worse the media have brought the great Steve Rodgers name into it , by saying that the 3 years he played at the Dragons were the worst of his career . Amazing the lengths that some people will go to in an effort to have the slightest advantage over their opponents . . . . are we really that good ?
It could be a heated affair I reckon.
Old man was speaking to edgy today and said that they got Roy Masters to give a motivational speech to the players. The general message was hatred for the sharks and how they should smash them.

FMD we need motivation talks from a man who coached in an era where almost anything was legal (poor old Steve Linnane) and was in fact the first person in the modern era to coach our club not having played for it and the Sharks need to bring up Sludge's defection to us when in fact very few of them would have ever seen play.
Strange days indeed how some people can evidently be motivated by such things whilst others hold onto the team song sheet in the shed because they haven't learnt the words yet.
Manufactured tribalism a curious thing indeed.

Coffs dragon

Fair bit of propaganda being fed to the Sharkies for this game . How Dugan has a score to settle with us and to make matters worse the media have brought the great Steve Rodgers name into it , by saying that the 3 years he played at the Dragons were the worst of his career . Amazing the lengths that some people will go to in an effort to have the slightest advantage over their opponents . . . . are we really that good ?
Was it also a coincidence that Steve Rodgers also gave us the 3 worst years of his distinguished career, plagued by injuries!!

hewi

Obviously answer: Of course not. Game plan should be tailored around the players you have and their strengths/weaknesses. The loss of Maloney and Ennis for Moylan and Brailey mean that there is more pressure on Townsend to organise and take up extra kicking duties. But the obvious one is losing Barba and having Dugan/Holmes at fullback as both are primarily ball runners and dont have the instincts to act as a ball-playing fullback. So you need to adjust, use centres/backrowers as ball players and work the game plan around the strength of the fullback.
The other option is to push Moylan to fullback (to play the Barba-type role) and find an adequate 5/8 with the ability to draw-and-pass and can run when he has to. Then you can fall back on the tried-and-true game plan - although with the loss of guys like Ennis, Lewis and Bird there's no guarantees.

Mary's answer: Change a game plan? Why bother? If you lose, it's because the players have to travel further to training.

Don’t forget the field may be 2 meters to long also.

hazzbeen

Im a bit worried about Dugan. Hes one of those annoying players that can really perform when he puts his mind to it. I can just see him having a blinder and then we will have to listen to all the noise about how we never should have let him go.
There I said it. Now it cant happen!
Love to see Dufty run around Duges for a try under the sticks .....

Ot.
Sele in starting line up for isp.
Thanks for the update Samy but it makes me very sad indeed.t
I have nothing personal against Latimore and don't wish him badly but I believe in my heart that Mc Fookknuckle just has no idea whatsoever
how to coach young players so he avoids it and looking at Aitken's "progression" and his limp support of Dufty, if he could find ways to not have them he most probably would.
In the meantime, I look at all these other sides with youth galore playing exciting footy (even when they lose) and wonder what would we be like if only they were given a proper chance.
Grouch put a great twist on it the other day "Stockholm Syndrome" very apt indeed.

Datramp

so.....

in this scenario do cronulla go in with a slender 1-0 half time lead, or kick a meaningless, yet hilarious field goal at the end of the game?

I say you will win 20-12
2 trys each with St George kicking an additional 4 penalty goals

Dragon's winning 2-0 with 5 mins left. Dugan kicks a Greg Inglis field goal to try and tie the game. Dragon's score a try followed by a penalty try when fatfita tries to kill Dufty in the act of scoring. Jdb slams fatfitas face into the turf
He avoids suspension as the judiciary states 'Fafita is a merkin who deserved it'

SBD82

Dragon's winning 2-0 with 5 mins left. Dugan kicks a Greg Inglis field goal to try and tie the game. Dragon's score a try followed by a penalty try when fatfita tries to kill Dufty in the act of scoring. Jdb slams fatfitas face into the turf
He avoids suspension as the judiciary states 'Fafita is a merkin who deserved it'
How ridiculous.

Fifita will never be able to catch dufty.

dragonssamy61

I have nothing personal against Latimore and don't wish him badly but I believe in my heart that Mc Fookknuckle just has no idea whatsoever
how to coach young players so he avoids it and looking at Aitken's "progression" and his limp support of Dufty, if he could find ways to not have them he most probably would.
In the meantime, I look at all these other sides with youth galore playing exciting footy (even when they lose) and wonder what would we be like if only they were given a proper chance.
Grouch put a great twist on it the other day "Stockholm Syndrome" very apt indeed.

I agree.ot
Mary like to pigeon hole the player.
Like sele and mann.

SBD82

question for you dragon nerds

if you had a gameplan that worked brilliantly one season with a certain spine combination.

but then you only had one of the four spine players two seasons later

would you keep the same gameplan?
It's certainly going to be the difference between Flanagan being remembered as a good coach, or a great coach.

He has the cattle to work with and reinvent your team, the question will be whether he has the brains to recreate his game plans to suit those players.

There are certainly enough ballplayers in your squad to allow for Dugan or Holmes to be a line running fullback.

I would love to have Rod Reddy playing now. He knew how to take a forward out of a game.
I hope Gallen gets smashed tonight. I hope Graham shows Fifita what it means to be a decent prop.

SackMaryNow

so.....

in this scenario do cronulla go in with a slender 1-0 half time lead, or kick a meaningless, yet hilarious field goal at the end of the game?

I say you will win 20-12
2 trys each with St George kicking an additional 4 penalty goals
lol Sharks to do a Greg Inglis field goal at 16-0 down.

It could be a heated affair I reckon.
Old man was speaking to edgy today and said that they got Roy Masters to give a motivational speech to the players. The general message was hatred for the sharks and how they should smash them.

I had wondered what become of young Roy - the old bestard , so he gone over to the Cronulla Mafia , of all people our Roy .

I did say this last year and that was to get him back to the Dragons to get our rocket scientist a hand , to let him know that it was alright to have more than one game plan .

If anyone knows how to motivate a team it's Roy , hell he could even had organised one of those ' slap ' sessions with you know who being the target . I garentee by the time it was over his head would be ringing with game plans !

Life's Good

Apparently Latimore found a shortcut to training therefore travelled 4kms less than Sele this week which was enough for McError to plump for Latimore on account of freshness.