Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 20 | v Newcastle | Hunter | Sun July 28 3:00pm

Home stretch.

Roll on boys, no losses before the finals and we're a massive shot for 2 trophies.

Cliffhanger

We have a pretty cruisey run to the finals apart from round 26.

It will take an 11 match winning streak. That would be our best in a long time.

We won 8 or 9 in a row back in 2002.

Newcastle are a good team. I had them in my top 4 pre-season and they've been up and down but can definitely trouble us.

When is the last time we lost up there? We seemed to only lose to them at Gosford.

I reckon this will be a good test of character. If we win we know we've been in a fight. If we lose it'll be a good lesson.

Horrie Is God

It'll be a tough game, mainly because we'll get hammered 25-2 in the penalty count..

But $BW will be back, & we have an awesome away record so far this year, so i'm confident we can get them..

If we play our up tempo game, we can run some of their older guys off their feet..

I hope Jenko's ankle pulls up okay, & he is able to play..

The JWH/Mason battle will be one to watch..

Also $BW mix of finesse & power, versus Jeremy Smith's brutality..

Big test for Jake, up against veterans in Bedsy & Golf Day Gower..

Maloney/Mullen is another good head to head..

And the battle of the wingers, both sides have exciting, pure finishers..

Even the fullback battle is a ripper..

But we are a different beast this year..

Us by enough..

Go Easts..

hugzy

the only way youse would lose is if your players turn up thinking it'll be like vs dargons or sharks.

we're a gritty side, but i know our fwd pack won't be able to contain urs (i need to have a dose of wateva JWH is on). 24-10 roosters (2 late tries blowing out the scoreline)

This has Canberra round 5 written all over it. 2 wins on the trot to nil and now we have to travel on a highway for 2 hours to play a tough away game.

If we are up 16-0 at halftime, watch out.

Monk

The Knights have been pretty decent at home this season. Hopefully Robbo doesn't let us get complacent or they could pull our pants down.

H.H

They will be tough, but I reckon we'll get them.

Bennett will be coaching his arse off this week setting up an ambush. Robbo will know this and set it as a challenge for the boys.

We'll do enough.

Horrie Is God

Good, tough, gritty away win..

Nice that we pulled away towards the end..Shows we had plenty of fight left in us..

Losing Mason early didn't help them..

Jake continues his improvement into one of the elite hookers in the game..It's a long way from making toasties in Jimmy's sandwich shop..Deserved MOM..

Samoa continues his fantastic year..Fitzy & Robbo have found a live one..He's not a huge man, but he runs 1000 miles an hour at the line..And he is becoming a try scoring machine..

The Giraffe (Toups) was good again..Made an error or 2, but his runs were full of purpose..

Boyd Cordner is a freak..I'm so glad he plays for us..

SKD was good in patches, his try off the Pearce bomb was good, but there was another SKDumb special when he bombed the try off Sheck's tip back..Gotta get the full genius moments out of his game..Pure finisher though..

BBQ had an ordinary day (apart from the lovely double pump for the last try) & looked frustrated out there..Some wayward kicks & a couple of misses in defence..The chip kick in the first half was a good idea, but the 2nd kick was just dumb..Sort of summed up his day..Nice we could still win with our 5/8th not at his best..

Pearce was solid again..The pass to lose possession right on half time was dumb, but he got a couple of repeat set in the 2nd half with grubbers:shock:, and didn't lose his composure when the Knights were making a run at us..

LOD had his usual tough effort..He is a metre eater, & proving to be another astute buy from England..

$BW was pretty quiet until his try, but it's nice to see we aren't relying on him to be a freak every week to win..His defence & play off the ball is impeccable..

Not a bad player out there for us IMO..

Onwards and upwards..

Go Easts..

Cliffhanger

I'm worried about SBW being put on reports.

People say Sonny's been quite every minute he doesn't make a line break or set up a try assist, he was far from quite all game.

If we can't beat Penrith without Sonny we may as well not turn up in September. We beat Cronulla 40-0 without him and handled the Merge easily when he went off.

It's our forward pack that wins us games. We don't rely on SBW

Cliffhanger

I think JWH is the most important player out the TBH.

Maloney is playing pretty poorly lately. He's been pretty average since Origin 2.

Headless Chook

Pretty much summed up everything as I thought Horrie. I'd add that I thought we were stifled in attack for most of the game. The Knights are a decent side at home so in a way it wasn't surprising.

However if they continue to give away ridiculous penalties time and time again it will cost us. I just hope it's not in the big one.

In Easts we trust.

It was a tough - gritty away win today. We weren't at our best and I blame the previous two easy wins we had. Games like today are important on the run into the finals. We need more tough games to stay sharp. If conditions don't require both teams to rest players, the last game against Souths is going to be the sought of big match rehearsal we need. A full strength Cronulla away could be helpful too.

the only way youse would lose is if your players turn up thinking it'll be like vs dargons or sharks.

we're a gritty side, but i know our fwd pack won't be able to contain urs (i need to have a dose of wateva JWH is on). 24-10 roosters (2 late tries blowing out the scoreline)

Ill pay that. ;-)

Nice work Chooks good tough win but do we seem to lose a bit of composure in the tight ones or is it just me?

WTF is up with Jackin the Beanstalk? Sick family member or beloved pet at home? Ab0 Alfie style gambling problems? No. 6 jersey still haunted by the wraith? Cranky little farker was way off his game today.

I don't think we played that well TBH so its a pleasing win. Friend easily best on field