Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 21 - The Roosters

Aliceinwonderland

Oh my: I've just the last three pages of this thread, and honestly it sounds like the drivel that teenage girls go on with.....

(person no 1) I think.......is hot
(person 2) nah I think.......is hot and person no 1 is ugly.....and so it goes.

I thought it was a good team performance tonight. It probably was the week from hell with injuries, players needing to go home etc.

You realise how much Yeo and Api bring to the team in tightening up both defence and attack.

Tago looks good and not out of place.

Staines did OK, he did have one bad miss that let a try in.

May had a solid debut and looks to have some class and skills.

Luai supported Burton well tonight, they did OK together.

Kiks had a strong game, hit hard and was a bit of a beast.

To be honest I'm just thrilled with a solid win.

mxlegend99

Lol mx thought you were better than that..

Maybe you need to watch the cronulla debut last year again. I suggest you do.. watch his tries and tell me may doesnt score them.tonight...

3 of them he literally strolls in.. no one near him. One of them a winger lays a hand on him but any winger with half a bit of toe scores it..

You obviously havent watched any of May in the lower grades if you are simplifying his game like that. Hes as quick as charlie with more to feer as shown tonight.

All his oppurtunities were 10% at best..compare that to charlies on debut ( actually go watch)..

Staines isnt nrl winger level. I have no doubt ivan told him to have a dig this week because he had more carries in 12mins than all of last week..i think he knows his spots under pressure when to'os back..rightfully soo. May was great tonight and nadens proved hes a good finished on the wing
May scores zero tries and you're trying to argue he scores all 4 that Charlie did because wingers just score 4 on debut regularly.

I'm not knocking may. But you're kidding if you think his tries were interchangeable with just anyone. Some tried arguing Mansour scores them too. But that argument is the equivalent of those saying anyone can just step in and do what Nathan does. Ignoring the instincts that put players in those positions.

Girds89

Yeah he can't score a difficult try, his two vs manly last year:

Panthers first try Vs Storm also defending JAC in the first game this year:

Scoring nice tries is 10% of it mate..

Tmay jnr is as quick but actually gets involved.

If you cant admit hes debut tonight was very very impressive thatll do me.

His numbers and overall performance on debut was outstanding. Im sure if nath was ther to deliver a couple catch and fall over tries his meteres gained wouldve been 300m and not 200.

Girds89

May scores zero tries and you're trying to argue he scores all 4 that Charlie did because wingers just score 4 on debut regularly.

I'm not knocking may. But you're kidding if you think his tries were interchangeable with just anyone. Some tried arguing Mansour scores them too. But that argument is the equivalent of those saying anyone can just step in and do what Nathan does. Ignoring the instincts that put players in those positions.
Like i said. Obviously havent watched the replay. ..... literally 3 of the 4 tries adam docker scores on the wing. The last one he did well but any nrl winger has to score that.

Nathan played that game against nulla. No nath tonight for taylan.

Dont care what anyone says. Staines will be under imense pressure when too is back..

Tmay jnr has come in and thrown the gauntlet down. Great for the team!

franklin2323

Our attacks been shit without nath. Without some individual brilliance tonight we get done.

Not trying to be a downer but stop kidding yourself franklin.

You keep saving we beat chooks easy etc etc..

Once api and yeo are back the attacks fine etc etc.

Well reality is it was great to win but the same issues with attack are there still and luai and burton dont work. Maybr against bottom.8 sides but our attack was very poor tonight.. no direction at all.

You don't think our attack looked better tonight? Cronk said post game was the best we attacked without Cleary

Once again we missed a few opportunties that should of been taken. Just before half time Martin had May unmarked dropped it. Thankifully we got the penalty.

Another one too when May goes into touch. To'o prob scores that

Luai had 2 kicks both land perfectly. We got the penalty on one the other Momo dropped it over the line. Again put Crichton there we likely score it.

Tonight seemed to play alot more through the middle. Staines and Edwards were both getting it. Seemed the plan was to make the pack work then try to steam roll Walker.

Given only Edwards and Staines played in their normal position in the backline. Sweeping plays were likely not going to happen.

What matters is the side has 10 from a possible 12 points with a makeshift side.

We play like that with everyone back we put 40 on sides. We had a rookie on the wing. Capewell/Momo centre and had no halfback and beat the side running 4th.

maple_69

Sorry to take the thread off topic from deathriding a Panther in his first season but I was really happy with that performance.
Line speed was excellent, ball control and discipline was better than it’s been in a month and we were way less leaky up the middle.

May had a busy debut and Tago continued to impress. Definitely think he’s our guy to replace Burton next year. Kikau had a really nice game, very involved and didn’t overplay his hand, good to get some confidence into the big fella. Sorenson is also putting a great run of form together and I’ve been impressed with Leota while Fish has been out, he’s stepped it up.

WestyLife

Scoring nice tries is 10% of it mate..

Tmay jnr is as quick but actually gets involved.

If you cant admit hes debut tonight was very very impressive thatll do me.

His numbers and overall performance on debut was outstanding. Im sure if nath was ther to deliver a couple catch and fall over tries his meteres gained wouldve been 300m and not 200.

1. You were discrediting Staines finishing ability as you're doing in that very comment with the weird shit about catch and fall over tries. Staines is a proven finisher.

2. I never mentioned May so you're putting words in my mouth. It was a very good game from him and he should be the left winger as long as To'o is out.

John Hamblin

T May was great on debut and Tago was his usual very busy agrresive self. We have a lot to look foward to in coming years Turuva is raw but very elusive, Very happy with the effort tonight with a much undersrength team against a Rooster team that conceded only 8 points in the last two games. No need to play Nathan next week unless he is as good as he will be before surgery, Manly ran the Storm around and lost a close game. This is OUR YEAR!!!!!

Girds89

You don't think our attack looked better tonight?

Once again we missed a few opportunties that should of been taken. Just before half time Martin had May unmarked dropped it. Thankifully we got the penalty.

Another one too when May goes into touch. To'o prob scores that

Luai had 2 kicks both land perfectly. We got the penalty on one the other Momo dropped it over the line. Again put Crichton there we likely score it.

Tonight seemed to play alot more through the middle. Staines and Edwards were both getting it. Seemed the plan was to make the pack work then try to steam roll Walker.

Given only Edwards and Staines played in their normal position in the backline. Sweeping plays were likely not going to happen.

What matters is the side has 10 from a possible 12 points with a makeshift side.

We play like that with everyone back we put 40 on sides. We had a rookie on the wing. Capewell/Momo centre and had no halfback and beat the side running 4th.

1. You were discrediting Staines finishing ability as you're doing in that very comment with the weird shit about catch and fall over tries. Staines is a proven finisher.

2. I never mentioned May so you're putting words in my mouth. It was a very good game from him and he should be the left winger as long as To'o is out.
I was comparing his debut to tmay jnr. Look at staines debut and tell me any front rower doesnt score 3 of those 4 tries.

Tmay jnr stats last night were double anything staines has put up on the wing and thats without nath. Jfh. Critta... too

WestyLife

I was comparing his debut to tmay jnr. Look at staines debut and tell me any front rower doesnt score 3 of those 4 tries.

Tmay jnr stats last night were double anything staines has put up on the wing and thats without nath. Jfh. Critta... too
I didn't realise 170 was double 150.

maple_69

Another thing I’ve noticed is the lack of energy after we score a try since Brian has been out. The commaraderie in this side is their edge and the bromance between Romey and Bizza is at the heart of it. We lose that little bit of insane energy.

Bodhi

God forbid if we lose Nath in the finals (touchwood!), would like to see Ivan switch the halves around. Romey looks burdened with the 7 on his back. He's an out and out pivot like Cody Walker, let him float around and do his thing and leave the organisation and directing to Burto.

mxlegend99

Now not only does any winger score them but front rowers do?

Yet no winger since him has scored 3 or 4 tries on that wing. Its ridiculous when players do something incredible and well and truly above normal but people try to make out like anyone would have done it. 4 tries on debut... Anyone would have scored them though.

Fact us Charlie did score 4 on debut. May in a terrific debut scored none.

Girds89

I didn't realise 170 was double 150.
Obviously havent watched the game lately. Staines got the ball on a platter and mad a 50m break untouched. 3 tries no one near him untouched. There was 120m there alone.

You are just like realist and franklin.... use some stats to prove your point but fail to see the whole picture.

Girds89

Now not only does any winger score them but front rowers do?

Yet no winger since him has scored 3 or 4 tries on that wing. Its ridiculous when players do something incredible and well and truly above normal but people try to make out like anyone would have done it. 4 tries on debut... Anyone would have scored them though.

Fact us Charlie did score 4 on debut. May in a terrific debut scored none.
Hahaha mate. That means nothing. Id have scored 3 of them.

Girds89

Going out on a limb here.

In the same way betcats and franklin thought dean blore was better than cleary.

Staines wont be in our team come 2023.

Turuva
May
Tago
Critta
Too

snickers007

Interesting game tonight, some good signs, but still a fair way off our best.

First 50 mins of the game everything went our way. Compared to last week against Melbourne when we got zero calls.

Thought Burton was excellent. And probably Kikau's best game of the year. They had some really nice touches together.

Luai was fairly quiet early, but still had some nice touches leading to dropouts. Got his hands on the ball late, but I think he overplayed his hand a bit, and we were a bit clunky.

Leota killed all our momentum with a bad drop followed up with a poor challenge, and dumb penalty really let the Roosters back in the game.

TMay went well on debut, but missed 2 decent try scoring opportunities.

Any word on Leniu's injury?

Our goal line defence was great at times, and soft as hell other times. Last 3 weeks we've conceded either dummy half tries or crash line balls.

We missed a fair few tackles again tonight, but our scramble was great. I thought the Roosters threw a fair bit at us.

Tago has to start at left centre next week. He's quality. And I reckon May will be alongside him.

Would have liked to work for a field goal in the final 10 minutes. We've learnt nothing from that loss to the Sharks in terms of how to close out a tight match - and that's where we miss Cleary the most.

Happy with the win, I was very nervous before and throughout. Hopefully we can blow the cobwebs out next week against the Dragons.

franklin2323

God forbid we lose Nath in the finals (touchwood!), would like to see Ivan switch the halves around. Romey looks burdened with the 7 on his back. He's an out and out pivot like Cody Walker, let him float around and do his thing and leave the organisation and directing to Burto.

The Cody Walker comparision is a good one. Seems Ivan is the only one that can't see it

John Hamblin

Laui was solid but not his brilliant normal self. He may be still recovering from origin and injury, Guess what I think he will EXPLODE when Nathan returns, Whatch out Storm!!

Aliceinwonderland

Laui was solid but not his brilliant normal self. He may be still recovering from origin and injury, Guess what I think he will EXPLODE when Nathan returns, Whatch out Storm!!

Maybe. He played a different type of game tonight to support Burton. Different to how he supports Cleary when he plays. He was solid and good. Problem was before tonight the team were attempting to play as though Nathan was still there. tonight there were subtle differences which suited Burton's game style. I like that.