Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 23 v Storm announced...

antonius

1. The AFL have mentioned their intentions to introduce MNF in coming seasons.

2. I accept you would prefer to put other commitments first, that's your perogative.

3. I never inferred to you specifically as being fair weather. Not attending based on children commitments is vastly different to not attending based on a bit of wind and rain out the window, and I don't believe I ever singled you out once on here?

4. Why should MNF in another sport be any different just because it's in another country? If Sydney was a city in the USA, it would be in the Top 5 population wise, and every MNF game there has no difficulty in attendance even though its televised live. I don't see why it need be different at all? They have live telecast of it, its a weeknight, why not compare it? There's plenty of similarities between the NRL and NFL Monday Night Games! ( Just look at the American set up Daley/Alexander and Smith do when they cross to them mid match standing up against the FoxSports logo backdrop hands in pockets, overcoats on - its as American as it gets :lol: )

How often have you seen poor weather keep our fans away from games? ALL THE TIME. Not saying YOU. Saying that we are fair weather.

I don't see how pointing out that fans of other teams in other sports attend their games in snowstorms is not relevant when ours can't go when there's a few drops of rain. :lol:

Not sure why you got your back up at me personally Cram, as I never once singled out you at all. I made mention of the weather/MNF in America/their crowds/our crowds and nothing at all about your childrens commitments.

Defensive much?

And if you read my thread properly, you'll see I wrote that " NRL FANS IN GENERAL " are fair weather NOT JUST KNIGHTS FANS... But I guess that was easily overlooked while on your high horse? The exact quote was "apart from the fact that some Knights fans ( and NRL fans in general ) are so fair weather"...

I'd never have a crack at you for choosing your childrens commitments over a Knights game mate, and while we may have clashed a bit on here in the past, I'd like to think you'd at least give me some credit that I'd never degrade you over something like that. I do have an issue with people not going just because it's on TV, or because the weather might be a bit cold or a few drops of rain, because it makes me sick to turn on the TV and see other countries fans turn up rain hail and shine en masse.

Why don't we have that same passion is all I am saying.
That is the only reason we have Monday night football ie;- because Fox want it, so they get it. it's not designed to please fans or the clubs.

The NRL/Fox are just not winning the war on getting us to embrace if at the moment. Like all change it may take time. I guess that as it goes on we will find out whether it does work.

MNF is always amongst fox sports top rating programs, so I'd say its a sure fire winner for them and the NRL by extension cuz next time they negotiate TV deals it will likely increase it.

Would the NRL care too much about crowd figures I have to admit I am ignorant as to how that would effect their revenue in comparision to the money from TV deals.

Karmawave

MNF is always amongst fox sports top rating programs, so I'd say its a sure fire winner for them and the NRL by extension cuz next time they negotiate TV deals it will likely increase it.

Would the NRL care too much about crowd figures I have to admit I am ignorant as to how that would effect their revenue in comparision to the money from TV deals.

That's exactly it.

MNF ratings go through the roof for Foxtel.

Fans need to support their teams more by going to the games whether it be a Monday, Sunday, Saturday or Friday anyway. It's not like we are selling out games on Sunday afternoons either.

cram

No you are not ignorant you are spot on. Their revenue streams from TV are what they are after. I guess its mainly the clubs that the lack of crowds effects but if they get more money from the NRL because of TV it should negate that.

I am a little out of touch with pay tv. I don't have it and have no real desire to get it. I honestly don't even think I would watch much footy if I had it. I am more inclined to sit down have a beer, read the paper and listen to the radio.

I am getting old.....lol

Baron you make valid points.

antonius

A snippet from a recent 7's game article I wrote sums up my feelings.

These game schedule changes are the direct result of television requirements. The game needs the money that comes from television to survive. However I think the very thing that is keeping the game afloat is slowly choking the life out of the game for the fans. Do the Television companies and other media outlets pay enough for the rights to broadcast the game? I think not. If the product is worth more (and I believe it is) then the game should be getting that money from the various media outlets that feed off it. They sell the product overseas, to say nothing of the spin off programmes from the game (footy show, The Roast etc) How much compensation did the clubs receive when Monday night Football was introduced? I bet it was nowhere near what it cost in lost crowds. Fox in particular are the ones benefiting from all the schedule changes, David Gallop should be making TV rights and match scheduling his number 1 priority. Make them pay what it’s worth! Maybe then we can afford a reserve grade.

Karmawave

That may be all true Tony about TV running the game, but the reality is, if you look across many sports around the world, TV ratings are sky high, the games are broadcast live, and still the fans turn up in huge numbers to support their team in person.

Why is it that Rugby League seems to have this problem when so many other sports around the world do not?

Live broadcasts are apart of the fabric of all sports.

If people were interested, they attend.

The fact we don't is a blight on our passion in my opinion.

SOO and Grand Finals are broadcast live on TV and we sell them out. There's nothing stopping us from doing exactly the same thing for regular weekend games apart from general apathy amongst fans...

antonius

For the price of one ticket to an NRL game fans can watch all the games at home. I'm not saying that's a good attitude, but unfortunately it's a fact of life, and in the present financial climate people opt not to attend.
I also think league has deeper running problems than just that. Don't discount the fact that the image of the game in recent times has taken a pounding, and that is having an effect on crowds. Don't under estimate that suggestion.

Karmawave

For the price of one ticket to an NRL game fans can watch all the games at home. I'm not saying that's a good attitude, but unfortunately it's a fact of life, and in the present financial climate people opt not to attend.
I also think league has deeper running problems than just that. Don't discount the fact that the image of the game in recent times has taken a pounding, and that is having an effect on crowds. Don't under estimate that suggestion.

We have issues sure, but I still believe much of it is apathy and lack of genuine passion for our teams. It's not everyone, some fans are unbelievably passionate, but look how hard we had to try to sell out SOO in Sydney! If a game should have been sold out in minutes, that would be it surely? We can't blame the financial issues for that one, because we've struggled to sell it out in previous years when the financial climate was much stronger too.

It highlights apathy, and sure, some of that may have been caused by the image of the game.

As for the TV coverage, you'll find that across the world, in my sports, live coverage does not come at a cost at all , and like here, most major events are broadcast on FTA channels.

Here, our PAYTV is a cost for sure, but if we wanted to go to the game live, we would. Anyone who has been to a live game knows how much better it is to watch a game unfolding live than just the mere width of the TV camera on a plasma. You can't beat it.

Possibly a solution is PAYTV ' blacking out ' local regions until after the game is completed to encourage people to go to the games, but unsure if they have the technology to do that yet?

In the states local regions are often ' blacked out ' of local coverage of a live event while the rest of the country sees it live. It happens especially in baseball ( where each team has 81 home games ), and Channel 9 actually do a similar thing here with the cricket when the games are not sold out in Sydney. They prevent it from being telecast in that city until later in the day.

Foxsports could possibly look into that, but watch the ' fans ' call for someone's blood if they blackout a Knights game in Newcastle...

Its a solution though if crowds at games are a priority - which I don't think they are.

In general , I truly believe NRL fans are fair weather overall, because rain and weather has such a drastic impact on the crowds.

A quick look at the EPL soccer crowds, and other sports such as NFL in mid winter in America shows that regardless of weather, truly passionate fans will turn up to support their teams rain, hail or shine.

The same can apply with live television broadcasts.

cram

If I did not buy a season ticket/s I would not watch any footy....lol

I know I would not bother. My next neighbor offers me to come over all the time to watch Fox but I never do.... I listen to plenty of footy on the radio.

Serc

With SOO in Sydney there are two problems:

1) That it is the wrong stadium to be playing RL in (only reason it is there because it holds the biggest capacity)

2) Generally the only seats left are the 5,000-10,000 really really crappy ones.

Karmawave

I've been to ANZ Stadium plenty of times, sitting all kinds of spots in the stadium for all kinds of sports ( cricket, AFL, soccer, union ( omg yes, it was the World Cup forgive me ) , and I don't believe there's a bad seat at all in the stadium.

You get good viewing from just about anywhere at that stadium I reckon Serc.

I've been to ANZ Stadium plenty of times, sitting all kinds of spots in the stadium for all kinds of sports ( cricket, AFL, soccer, union ( omg yes, it was the World Cup forgive me ) , and I don't believe there's a bad seat at all in the stadium.

You get good viewing from just about anywhere at that stadium I reckon Serc.
you mustn't have sat everywhere then. there are some bloody crap seats. i've been there heaps too... but out of the 2 biggest games i've been to (2000 and 2001 GF) i had terrible seats for 2000 and practically perfect seats for '01.

Karmawave

yeah?

Well i've never been in very back row or anything. Just different sections of the ground. I usually hate sitting anywhere other than between the 30m to 30m, but I never really had an issue when sitting elsewhere there.

Big Tim

You cant compare RL to NFL.

The NFL gets wonderful profits from TV, that they share with the teams.

NFL games are on a Thursday night (NFL.com game) Sunday arvo/night or Monday night. So there is only a small chance that your attendance will be effected.

Many NFL teams have multi-year waiting lists for season tickets, and the fans who own those season tickets sell that one game to someone else if they cant make it.

We have trouble filling our stadium at the best of times, let alone on a Monday night.

Some teams dont get MNF for over 5 years, so when they do it is a sellout because it is a novelty.

Other than TV ratings, the games are worlds apart.

cram

I must admit I was a little surprised that the Knights and Storm got that Monday night game. I have not looked at what other games are on but I thought after their game the other week that it may have been viewed as a Friday night or Sunday game.

MC DUI

Guess what I won't and your references have no impact on my decision. The point is this where do you get off referring to childrens sport and their commitment as crappy....grow up.

Grow up get real...

Seriously depending on the age of your child missing one or two training sessions a year wouldnt be a big deal.

cram

Okay after checking the draw I am a little perplexed.

Do teams have to have a certain number of home games that are Monday nights?

There are two QLD Teams with Friday night games and the Broncos have the Sunday afternoon game.

Would it be fair to say that QLD sides have a decided advantage in relation to sponsorship dollars when one them is guaranteed a TV game every Friday night?

Karmawave

You cant compare RL to NFL.

Why not? I realise the TV contracts are very different ( but still quite similar in structure btw ), but the point I made about the weather is totally relevant. NFL fans go to the games rain hail or shine. NRL fans don't.

Parts of America get worse winter weather than we experience here in Newcastle that's for sure, and their attendance is never affected.

Why not compare the two?