Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 23 vs Tigers.

hewi

Being an old Wollongong boy I often read the Dragons posts with interest and have to say you are certainly prolific posters.

Let me say Dragon supporters are very much like Tigers supporters, we love our clubs but we are totally frustrated in their erratic performances. Just let me say if you read our posts on this game we are just as concerned and worried about the result as you all are. You'll still be in the game don't worry.

I do agree though, I personally think a coach other than Macgregor would get you places.....he just can't seem to get you to the next level a team with your players should be at.

Good luck for the weekend.

Mate, the problem is you have a coach we have a moron. Your team has confidence we have 13 broken tired and disinterested players. There is nothing I can identify that’s gives a Dragons supporters any confidence going into this game I’m afraid. I can’t see the Dragons winning this.

jeffdragon

Being an old Wollongong boy I often read the Dragons posts with interest and have to say you are certainly prolific posters.

Let me say Dragon supporters are very much like Tigers supporters, we love our clubs but we are totally frustrated in their erratic performances. Just let me say if you read our posts on this game we are just as concerned and worried about the result as you all are. You'll still be in the game don't worry.

I do agree though, I personally think a coach other than Macgregor would get you places.....he just can't seem to get you to the next level a team with your players should be at.

Good luck for the weekend.[/QUOTE

After last weeks effort i have no confidence in us to win this weekend.at all.

Slippery Morris

Fanoua and Lawrence are back which gets them close to full strength and at is at freakin Leichhardt. Gonna be a tough game.

If Saints win it guarantees them top 8 regardless of results in their next 2 games. So maybe Mary can rest the Jack, Friz............hang on it's Mary sorry what was I thinking.

Crush

I'm not much of a gambler but just got on a multi Dragons 13+ into Wallabies 1-12.
Paying $29.50.
Load up people!

I'm not much of a gambler but just got on a multi Dragons 13+ into Wallabies 1-12.
Paying $29.50.
Load up people!
Now I'm a New Zealander and still think the Wallabies are half a chance Saturday night.
Getting the first leg up may be your problem.

And I'm not a gambler, but I think $29.50 is a little light on for a payout for those two miracles.

Crush

Now I'm a New Zealander and still think the Wallabies are half a chance Saturday night.
Getting the first leg up may be your problem.

And I'm not a gambler, but I think $29.50 is a little light on for a payout for those two miracles.
Cmon brew. Have a crack!
Juicy odds those, dragons are a given to punish the tigers and wallabies by a whisker. I'm not a wealthy man so I only bet a $20 but if you happen to own a house may I suggest that you put it on this multi? Ohh, and gamble responsibly.

BLM01

Oh no. Brisbane won. Tigers are on a must win mentality. Then again so should we be. It is at Leichhardt. Dragons by 1 :D

getsmarty

Dragons fullback Matt Dufty ready to apply lessons of 2018
Dragons Den
r0_25_2796_1634_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Refreshed: Matt Dufty. Picture: AAP Image/Dan Himbrechts.

From the moment he burst onto the Holden Cup scene as an 18-year-old, Matt Dufty has been viewed as a future star of rugby league.

And when he scored one try and set up another two during his NRL debut last year, it seemed Dufty was destined to live up to the hype.

However, after a promising start to 2018, Dufty’s performances of late have reflected that of the Dragons.

Heading into the final weeks of his first full season in the NRL, the 22-year-old concedes it has been far more draining than he could have anticipated.

“Yes definitely [it’s been tough],” Dufty said. “I only came in at the back end of last year and I was running on heaps of adrenaline, my body was feeling good, and it was the same at the start of the year.

“The grind, it’s pretty full on. But it shows you the importance of the recovery you’ve got to do. It’s not just physically, but mentally, you’ve just got to learn to step away from footy when you’ve been given a few days off.

“It’s a big thing that the coaching staff tell us. It’s pretty hard to be footy all the time, it’s good to step away and spend time with friends, family and all the people who aren’t going to judge you for playing footy.”

Having learnt the importance of refocusing mentally each week, and with the most exciting aspect of the NRL season just weeks away, Dufty is feeling refreshed and ready to lift the Dragons out of their current form slump.

“I think for me that mental adjustment was the biggest thing to get used to. I was always ‘Footy, footy, footy,’ but now I cherish the little breaks you get during the week, so you can come in with your head screwed on and you can give 100 per cent. For me personally, my body’s feeling pretty good, and I’m keen to rip in for the end of the year.”

While learning about the importance of recovery and refreshing the mind, Dufty has also found the gaps which appeared earlier in the season have suddenly been slammed shut. The footwork that he used to burst past defenders is now being met by a solid wall of opposition jumpers.

Defenders now know what to expect when Dufty has the ball in his hands and he knows the onus is on him to develop the extra tools required to keep opposition players guessing when he runs towards them. It’s a challenge he’s excited to embark on.

“Yes I’ve noticed teams have adjusted, but that’s what footy teams do, they watch video, they game plan, we’re the same. Teams have pretty much adapted to the style of footy I play, which puts it back on me to try and change things up a bit coming into the finals. I think that’s a good challenge to have.

“I think I can ball play and support a bit more, little things like that. It’s not so much changing my game, I think it’s more adding things to your game.”

The next opportunity for Dufty to show off his added versatility comes on Saturday night against the Tigers. While he doesn’t anticipate his style of play will change in Gareth Widdop’s absence, he is expecting the team to deliver a much-improved performance.

“Yes definitely, we know the quality of the squad we have. We’ve been in a bit of a hole lately, but it’s easy to turn it around.

“All the boys are pretty keen to prove everyone wrong and win the last three and finish in the top four.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au...y-lessons-from-first-full-nrl-season/?cs=3713

Dragonslayer

With the Broncos winning tonight the Tigers will either:

Come out firing and blow us away early...………...or

The pressure of their season on the line will get to them and they capitulate rather easily.

If the first option applies, then we are really, really up shite creek with no paddles and a hole in the boat.
If the second option applies, then it would really mask our real issues and everyone will say we're back. False dawn as they say.

IMO a hard fought win with enterprising play and hard core defense would be the only indicator we have, all but slightly, turned the corner.

rednwhites

After this long it is really hard to know how we can win a game from here.

I think the key players for us are Hunt and Sims. The former will need to create all the play and take the bulk of the kicking while the latter has been our most influential player, and has not been putting the same kind of fear into the opposition of late.

We will have to win in spite of our coach who is bound to come with no game plan and nothing original, just expecting our fortunes to change.

Brooks has been dangerous of late and their forwards will want to match it with ours so we must dominate from the outset.

Who am I kidding. Tigers by 20.

With the Broncos winning the tigers season is over if they lose.
Our season is in dire straights if we lose, so I expect to see the same intensity and passion we displayed against the Bulldogs in the last round of last year.

Does the scoreboard at Leichhardt go up to 3 figures for the home team?

hazzbeen

Every where I look they are all tipping the Tigers , wow how we have fallen .... Anyway for what its worth go the Dragons , or maybe , go the Saints or maybe just go ....

Mickthedragon

Im just gonna go to the game and see what happens. I had a tigers mate get me a ticket a while back so can't pike out now. Will wear the jersey and hope for the best. Never been to a game at Leichhardt oval so had to do it.
Of course, i was much more confident back when i said yes to the ticket.

I am expecting the Tigers to show everyone just what they are capable of in tomorrows match against the Dragons. It shall be up to our boys to pull their socks up , forget about the past month and show their fans that they are not only up to the challenge , but have enough fortitude and self belief to pull off a victory against the odds .

The Tigers fully understand that they need to win each of their remaining 3 matches to qualify for the finals . Of course the Dragons must win at least 1 of their 3 games to be assured of a spot in the 8 . It would be tremendous if they could beat the Tigers - Bulldogs and Knights , as that would be a much needed injection of hope for the Big Red V supporters.

The ball is in our court , as the Dragons and the Dragons alone control their destiny for season 2018 .