franklin2323
It's my belief once Luai or Burton is in the halves Nathan will be better.
I don't know how. Nathan is just very average so many dumb options last night
It's my belief once Luai or Burton is in the halves Nathan will be better.
I don't know how. Nathan is just very average so many dumb options last night
I think he is frustrated at jimmies lack of effort. The kid gives a 100% and for the last 6 months maloney has just plodded along. Give him a halves partner that wants to be there and is full of just as much energy and he will kill it.It's happened before. Sometimes halves just clash. I'm open to being wrong but it's how I see it at the moment. See that sharks game. He seemed to have a burden lifted. Don't know if it's mental or a technical thing but it happens.
Cleary has only played 3 games without Maloney the last 2 years, there’s not enough to go on to say he’ll be better just be he’s gone.
In fact Maloney was arguably the one more impeded by Cleary. When Maloney played and Cleary didn’t our record is 8 wins & 2 losses.
The attack won’t get better if Cleary is the main focus, we’ll continue to struggle. He just doesn’t have the natural instincts of a first receiver.
That strengthens my argument that they clash as halves partners.
Another assault on my eyeballs as we played ugly, boring Cleary ball. It was just the same as the rest of the season. Forwards deliver us field position, we fail to score because we are slow, dim witted, lack fitness, speed, movement, execution, vision and skill. Plodding, turgid, dumb football. The effort was there, but we just lack any sort of footy IQ as a team.
Other points:
As the season has gone on, it has become more and more apparent that Nathan Cleary is not suited to halfback and is not good enough to play halfback in a team vying for the top eight. He is either a hooker, or a lock and I am not sure he would even be a good running 5/8th. He loves defence and doesn't shy away from the contact, but he simply doesn't have the skill and vision to unlock defences. This is his worst season in the NRL. Just awful as a halfback.
- We don't need inspector Morse to solve the mystery of "Who at all the pies". RCG and Katoa are going down for a long stretch;
- Whare, slow and offers nothing but effort;
- RCG a better effort but not the level he could be if he had his confidence back and our Pie Face fitness regime was changed;
- JFH has had a brilliant season. Topping the tackle count and the metres run against the Premiers is no mean feat;
- We missed Mansour's metres, Crichton only delivered 32m and was very quiet. However, his speed and height were helpful in defence. Mansour may have been found out by the Rooster's pace and kicking;
- We have spirit and try hard, Dave's mate deserves credit for that. They know they were in a battle, we just can't create enough points to make it mentally tough as well as physically tough.
Can he improve? Well he is only 21, but he very rarely executes a pass to put a player into space or for a try. I like him because he always gives 100%, but sadly that isn't enough reason to be given the number 7 jersey. The number 7 is crucial to how a team performs and I fear as long as he is the number 7 we will never realise our potential. I really, really hope I am wrong. The biggest issue is that if he needs to be moved or dropped, we are asking his own Father to do that. Does anybody see a problem with that?
But not to Cleary’s benefit. The only solid evidence we have is Cleary was getting in Maloney’s way.
If you go back to 2017 Cleary wasn’t doing heaps of ball playing or anything, he’s never been a natural first receiver. It’s forced.
Even if only 1 game we have seen him be much better. It has been demonstrated to go both ways.
But correlation doesn’t equal causation.
If you look at the sharks game in detail the best attacking parts of Cleary’s game was his running, not ball playing.
In fact most of Cleary’s top shelf games have seen his running take centre stage.
Especially with Burton outside him who looks to be very technical.Nothing saying a 7 can't be a run first time. Stirling said exactly that. His running game will open up options for his passing.
Nothing saying a 7 can't be a run first time. Stirling said exactly that. His running game will open up options for his passing.
winning a prem means your finished?Signing Maloney at all was the real issue. 2016 told anyone with an idea that he was finished
It's happened before. Sometimes halves just clash. I'm open to being wrong but it's how I see it at the moment. See that sharks game. He seemed to have a burden lifted. Don't know if it's mental or a technical thing but it happens.
Signing Maloney at all was the real issue. 2016 told anyone with an idea that he was finished
There was one example last night I remember. He runs across field RCG steaming into a gap when attacking their line. Cleary takes the tackle... That is all him
Which is why I ask the question. Is it mental? Technical? Whatever the reason it happens.