Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 3 vs Titans

RufusRex

This post may take up a few lines but after all its been a most extraordinary 24 hours.
  1. Went to bed earlier this morning totally dejected after seeing the ball tampering take place. A pox on all those involved.
  2. Crush posted me a note to say Sele was in the team so that brightened me up a bit.
  3. The start of the game was electrifying.
  4. The little pause to 8 - 8 a bit concerning but not for long.
  5. The halves brilliant and Hunt showed his real worth and he will be a wonderful asset for a long long time.
  6. Widdop sensational and showing what a great reader of a game he can be and he sends his best wishes to Vas, Sigurd and all the other identities who maligned him.
  7. Dufty looking more and more at home and will be a beauty. No doubt someone will say he didn't get to 1 on the full but they can go f**k themselves.
  8. Sims played probably his best all round game in the big red v. His intensity was enormous and I hope it continues. (Graham effect maybe?)
  9. Nene backed up again with a very good effort and it beggars the question what the f**k was he doing on the RW anyway.
  10. Really loving Mann's little cameo's in the forwards as IMO the pace lifts when he comes on and if our 2 halves are a problem for the opposition he provides a great 3rd option. I posted that I liked this a while ago and somebody said I was mad well they can get f**ked to.
  11. Far better use of the bench today and IMHO Sele started to show real glimpses of what he can do. No disrespect to Latimore but he will be really valuable helping the youngsters in reggies.
  12. No doubt the 10 day turnaround did us the world of good and we kept our focus and it has to be said the opposition were poor however you can only play what is in front of you and today we excelled.
  13. To all concerned including the coaching staff, well done and it was a real joy to watch. Hopefully it is far more a reflection of who we are as team rather than who the opposition were.
  14. Some big tests to come but we should all be a little more buoyed by the prospect.
  15. If anyone thinks that I have ditched my scepticism in favour of new found optimism the answer is no, not quite yet but I sincerely hope there is more of this stylish footy to come and in the end if there is a fall this season I think in light of what we seen today the effect of such would be catastrophic even for the most optimistic people in this place.
  16. Last but not least tonight I will look into see what Cricket Australia have done to repair my faith in one of my favourite teams in one of my favourite sports but regardless of what they do I will sleep much better tonight having seen my favourite team in my favourite sport restore some of my faith in the way we should play footy.
  17. Hopefully I wake up in the morning and read the result in the paper and see Smith & Co have all been dumped but if it was all a dream then I'm going back to bed to see if I can start it all over.

Hey OT ... Sims is an 80 minute edge .. .you can get f**ked too ;-)
Loved your post, especially point 9 ...

I think we both agree that Host is a decent player but he is going to struggle to push his way in

Luc showing a glimpse of impact was fantastic and the decision for Sele over Latimore was good too.

saintzrule

good post old timer in a bit of late news the ICC have called for smith and co to be sacked so it will happen I’d say and yes a pox on all involved and regardless of what cricket Australia do and say the icc sanctions will be strong
Ball tampering has been going on since Adam was a boy, but this was the most inept and pathetic effort ever! And, it was us.

blacksafake

Isn’t it great having a true 1/2 & a quality one at that. Hunt runs the show & doesn’t panic, even if he does take the wrong option he doesn’t try to overplay his hand & go for the miracle play. Nene was superb with his strong running & great try, WTF he wasn’t playing left wing last season is beyond me. Simms was my mom. 80 minutes of in your face toughness. And yes wasn’t it great to finally see the bench used properly. Let’s hope it’s not an aberration.

Frank Facer

Credit were credit is due, well done mary!

I’ll still have to wait until we play some decent teams before getting too excited. Yes I know, we’ve played some already but the Broncos were terrible and probably couldn’t play much worse. We always get up for the Sharks and the game was pretty scappy anyway. Titans weren’t much chop and we did put them away well, so well done boys. Next week should be a good match up but I’m really looking forward to playing the Roosters and especially Melb to know if we are serious contenders or not. Hope they can fix up their defence on Nene’s side because they carved us up down there last year. How we compete versus the Storm will be the true yardstick as to whether we are serious contenders or not. They will exploit any weaknesses we have and our outside backs can be vunerable to the teams who do their homework.

Anyway well done boys. Do is proud and sack Mcgregor lol
Brisbane were shite on Friday night, but West were just as bad. They were very lucky to beat Nth Qld too, as one try had two forward passes and if Bolton didn't run into the upright, they would have lost for sure.

I think Cronulla will struggle to make the top 8. They have got Dugan at fullback, who scores very few tries himself and provides just as few try assists. I think that Townsend is one of the worst halfbacks in the comp and Hodkinson is just as bad. Moylan was out on the weekend with a hamstring injury. He had the same injury last year, it looks to be an on going probems. Hamstrings and groin injuries can continued to hamper players.

Saw a replay earlier of Ben Hunt splitting the defence ( like a knife through butter ) and then using his pin - point kicking to put our man Widdop over . What a difference to last year - s , this chap really does take on the defence and puts them in two minds . Tremendous ability and there will be more tries from his slick combination with Widdop .

Right now I'm parked in a truck bay outside of Ipswich. Unfortunately the ute has done what might be a torque converter or worse. With smoke pouring out we had no choice but to pull over and call for a tow, about 80 kms short of home. We'll get home in few hours and it'll cost a bit of coin.

But on the upside, I have an esky with beer in the back... and I saw my team put on 50 points today... so was it worth it? Bloody hell yeah!

Gareth67 ................. unfortunately, I wasn't able to get out to Toowoomba and meet DA61 and some of the guys but l will endeavour to meet up if and when we play in BrisVegas this season.

I'll have to purchase a new jersey, being l placed mine on my mates' coffin.
Another win for Enzo!

As you say mate , another day , sad news about your friend, condolences.

If not for the cream Graham would have been out for the next three weeks with a Grade 3 sunburn

Classic ! Noticed him in the teams victory song , basically in front of the camera , you could just see the top of his head . But what stood out was the way he was ' twirling ' his arm about , whereas everyone else was really in to it . Hope that he can get more involved in the aftermatch celebrations , as then I will know that he is one of the boys .

Crush

I think that is the first presser I have ever seen where I felt proud of both the coach and captain. They spoke well and didn't overplay their win. Well done Widdop, a great performance and a captain to be really proud of, something I couldn't say in the past.

Hills Dragon

Isn’t it great having a true 1/2 & a quality one at that. Hunt runs the show & doesn’t panic, even if he does take the wrong option he doesn’t try to overplay his hand & go for the miracle play. Nene was superb with his strong running & great try, WTF he wasn’t playing left wing last season is beyond me. Simms was my mom. 80 minutes of in your face toughness. And yes wasn’t it great to finally see the bench used properly. Let’s hope it’s not an aberration.
Simms was your mom? Breast feeding must have been horrible.

getsmarty

Widdop stars as Dragons run roughshod over Titans
Local Sport
r0_0_3808_2742_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

HAT-TRICK MAN: The Dragons celebrate the first of three tries to Matt Dufty on Sunday. Picture: AAP

DRAGONS skipper Gareth Widdop is not prone to exaggeration, but suggesting things are “slowly coming together” following his side’s 54-8 demolition of Gold Coast at Toowoomba on Sunday was an understatement – even for him.

Especially given his own performance that saw him score a try and lay on five others for a personal tally of 22 points.

After the toughest night of his young NRL career against Cronulla last week, Matt Dufty showed why he’s stoked the fires of excitement among the red v faithful with a hat-trick, while centre Tim Lafai also had three tries, but it was undoubtedly Widdop’s show.

The England International laid on three tries off his right boot, while Lafai and Nene Macdonald both had their skipper to thank for their second-half four-pointers.

Widdop also got across himself, with halves partner Ben Hunt providing the assist by way of a well-placed kick, to effectively put the result to bed midway through the second half. It was the Dragons third straight win to start the season – the first time the club has done so since 2014.

It was undoubtedly their best win of 2018, and possibly the most impressive of Paul McGregor’s tenure, with the club’s new-look spine looking anything but new.

“I like to think we’ve done enough work in the preseason,” Widdop said post-match.

“We’ve only had a limited time [together] but we’ve done a hell of a lot of work and it’s slowly coming together. I think a lot of things stuck today which was great.

“When you bring in a halfback who’s, I suppose, a traditional halfback it frees myself a little bit. Ben’s a good ball-runner as well so I think, myself, Ben, Duft… the more we’re linking, the more we’re playing together, we’re less predictable.

“That’s what we’ve been working on and we’re enjoying it at the moment. Last week we were a bit off with that, but we worked hard during the week and we managed to put on a few points.

"The more we play together, the better we’ll become. We know it’s still early, it’s only round three, but we’ll certainly take some confidence out of the last few weeks and move forward from this now.”

It proved a homecoming to forget for Titans star Ash Taylor. The Toowoomba product laid on his side’s only try for Michael Gordon in the 10th minute before putting two restarts out on the full and ending up on report for tripping midway through the second half.

Thing started awfully for the hosts, with Kane Elgey spilling the opening kickoff and allowing Dufty to stroll across untouched for the first try three plays later.

Widdop added a penalty goal six minutes later before Gordon crossed from a deft short-ball from Taylor and converted his own try to bring his side back within two after 10 minutes.

He leveled things up with a penalty goal of his own six minutes later but it was Widdop’s second penalty goal in the 26th minute that really proved the turning point.

Taylor put the ensuing kickoff dead on the full with Lafai scoring his first try in the very next set and setting in motion a 14 minute blitz that saw he and Dufty bag their respective doubles by halftime.

The hosts had a glimmer of hope when Dufty spilled a bomb five minutes after the resumption, with de Belin sin-binned for a professional foul in the scramble that followed.

The Titans couldn’t make the Dragons pay with Taylor again overcooking a restart after Widdop’s 48th minute penalty goal. It saw Macdonald add further weight to his credentials as one of the classiest finishers in the business with his 51st minute four-pointer.

De Belin returned to put Hunt into space, with the former Broncos half chipping ahead for Widdop to regather and extend the margin to 28 points with 23 minutes to play.

Widdop laid on his side’s final three tries off his boot, the first for Paul Vaughan deflecting off the upright and sitting up perfectly for the NSW hopeful, the second putting Dufty away for his hat-trick and the third seeing Lafai notch his treble in the shadows of fulltime.

http://www.illawarramercury.com.au/...-as-dragons-run-roughshod-over-titans/?cs=302

getsmarty

St George Illawarra Dragons thrash Gold Coast Titans 54-8 in Toowoomba
  • Dragon's Den
    r0_420_3934_2632_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Try time: Matt Dufty scored a hat-trick for the Dragons against the Titans. Picture: AAP Image
    Chalk Toowoomba up as a home away from home for St George Illawarra.

The Dragons continued their unblemished start to 2018 with a comprehensive 54-8 win over a poor Gold Coast side on Sunday, the club’s biggest win since 2004.

St George Illawarra ran in nine tries to one to remain top of the NRL table after wins in their opening three rounds.

Gareth Widdop was masterful. Matt Dufty exciting. The Dragons’ forward pack ferocious.

Titans five-eighth Kane Elgey dropped the opening kick-off. It set the tone for the Gold Coast’s afternoon. The Dragons opened the scoring from their first set when Dufty strolled through to touch down.

A Widdop penalty goal extended the lead to 8-0 before the Titans hit back. A well-worked play saw Ash Taylor find Michael Gordon with a slick inside pass.

Gordon’s own penalty goal leveled the scores before another Widdop two-pointer re-established St George Illawarra’s lead.

Tim Lafai crossed for his first try before Dufty scored a second just after the half hour mark. Not to be outdone, Lafai had a second a minute later to give the Dragons a 26-8 lead at half-time.

The Gold Coast were given a sniff when Jack de Belin was sent to the sin bin five minutes into the second half for holding onto a tackle too long after Dufty had made a rare mistake in dropping a high kick.

Not that it harmed St George Illawarra’s charge, a Widdop penalty goal and a Nene Macdonald try out wide extended the Dragons’ lead to 32-8 with de Belin off the field.

They were in front 36-8 before the hour mark when Widdop got tired of creating tries for his teammates to score his own on the back of a Ben Hunt break and kick.

Paul Vaughan crossed inside the final 10 minutes before Dufty completed his hat-trick late on from a break and early Widdop kick inside his own half. Lafai then completed his own hat-trick with a minute to go to complete the rout.

The Dragons have been here before. They led the competition after seven rounds last season before wilting badly to miss the finals. You get the sense this St George Illawarra team is different with the inclusions of Hunt and James Graham.

You expect the Saints to go marching on.

Leader Scoreboard

St George Illawarra Dragons 54 (Matt Dufty three, Tim Lafai three, Nene Macdonald, Gareth Widdop, Paul Vaughan tries. Gareth Widdop nine goals)

defeated

Gold Coast Titans 8 (Michael Gordon try. Michael Gordon two goals)

at Clive Berghofer Stadium, Toowoomba

Crowd: 7,297

Leader man of the match: Gareth Widdop (Dragons)

Dragons’ next three: Knights (home – Wollongong), Rabbitohs (home – Kogarah), Sharks (home – Wollongong)

http://www.theleader.com.au/story/5304694/dragons-thrash-titans-in-toowoomba/?cs=3833