Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 5 Unfortunately.

Illusion

Hi guys I missed the game , been out all day fishing with my son . How did we go , were we that good or did they play bad ?

thebigredv

Hi guys I missed the game , been out all day fishing with my son . How did we go , were we that good or did they play bad ?
Played with a lot of discipline I thought despite how the penalty count reads. We respected the ball and everyone put their hand up for a go, not just Hunt. Sloan really came into hi own by the end of the game and is probably the brightest spark of the day for mine. Not only in attack but did some great stuff at the back. It was a good 80 minute display against a so-so outfit who lost their second string playmaker.

Watch the replay. You'll be impressed.

Illusion

Played with a lot of discipline I thought despite how the penalty count reads. We respected the ball and everyone put their hand up for a go, not just Hunt. Sloan really came into hi own by the end of the game and is probably the brightest spark of the day for mine. Not only in attack but did some great stuff at the back. It was a good 80 minute display against a so-so outfit who lost their second string playmaker.

Watch the replay. You'll be impressed.
Thanks mate for the update ...... Sounds like a good win .....

The Dolphins tried hard but were hampered by injuries. They seemed fatigued from the very beginning of the game.

The side were a bit more energetic in both defence and attack. More fluid in attack. JDB tightened up the middle of the defence.

Happy we got the win, but for me we confirmed we are a bottom 4-6 dweller.

Miles behind:

Brisbane
Panthers
Storm
Roosters
Souths
Sharks
Manly
Canterbury

We are gearing for a major rebuild.

hope the board chooses wisely when selecting the next coach.

Draginzaaar

Ravalawa is fair dinkum getting profiled. Did de Belin first contact upper thigh then slid down? Hoping that’s the case.

Much better team performance, less reliance on Hunt was noticeable and refreshing, much more variety in attack, more good experiences for Sloan. Amone was good. Mbye was used better and played better too.

Dolphins were severely damaged when they lost their half when 6 up and did go into the game with some key injuries so have to keep it all in perspective. But great to feel the comprehensive win, it’s been a while.
As soon as I saw the tackle, I thought 'He's in trouble'

Can anyone enlighten me regarding the rule about shoulder contact?
Yesterday I saw at least 4 tackles by the Dolphins in the first half alone where the second or third man in used their shoulder on the tackled player, with
not a hint of arm. I see this a lot and it goes unpunished, so when is a shoulder not a shoulder?

dungay dragon

Good news - great win
Bad News - prolongs Hooks stay
Mickey
Swift decision needed , esp, to get media pack of our backs .
With players also on notice expect those on the cusp to continue to perform in coming matches
New Coach also needs time to properly prepare his roster for 2024 with prospective new signings keen to know who the Coach will be prior .

Good win but still areas to improve of course.
We control the games with the breeze at the Gong.
Amone was good.
Jdb makes a difference, hope he won't get pinged for the legs tackle on report.Even though Mbye was ok today.
Liddle was great early.
Bird gives no room to his runners eg Molo when he runs to the line.
Our discipline wasn't the best but Sutton did ok today.
One sour point we made Issako look like Eric Grothe senior today which I wasn't happy with
It's unfortunate Liddle didn't get to play much after being great early. We have specialist dummy-half who makes a difference around the ruck, and for some reason he gets replaced by a utility player, every game. I'd like to know the reasoning behind that.

DfL

It's unfortunate Liddle didn't get to play much after being great early. We have specialist dummy-half who makes a difference around the ruck, and for some reason he gets replaced by a utility player, every game. I'd like to know the reasoning behind that.
Not a mbye fan my self but credit where credit is due he didn’t do much wrong coming of the bench and if we are gonna be stubborn and put him in the 17 then that is how he should be used. Mbye when he starts is too slow for the game, however when brought on 50-60 mins in the game can have a little bit of impact. And credit to hook for pointing out in the press conference that liddle has been much better than mbye so he will be starting.

I'm Hornby

Suggest watching the press conference where the coach sheds a bit of light on this and Liddle playing more minutes in the future.

Parko1310

what stood out to me from the game is, dolphins had heaps of injuries and couldn’t really compete and the dragons played well and put them to the sword. In the past, the dragons would still have struggled to beat a depleted side. Great game dragons
To be fair, he didn't need to. Game was sealed and may as well give Mbye some minutes and not risk Liddle in that scenario.

gitano

Amone's passing game is elite. There was a massive difference in his impact on our side compared to Bud. Happy to have them both but Bud to 14 and Mbye to reggies would be my preference.

Nice to be able to agree with you for once