Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 5 vs Penrith Match Thread

Noise

I'm just not sure why we are going right side so much, it's like they are avoiding our left side in attack and if we don't manage to score in the set send a kick high over to semi.
We just seem to be making quite a few silly/basic errors in attack.
The excuse of haven't had enough time together now needs to stop, we are up to round 6.
We are only 2 points behind first, so we can't complain too much, it's just getting very frustrating watching our class players get basically no ball in attack.

And the few times we have gone left attacking their line Jennings gets it with no room. He needs early ball in space which he is not getting.

That looks like it is about to change....

Kornstar

Our ball distribution is sooooo slow!! The defence is always in our faces so quickly.

The good teams glide the ball so fast out to the edges, we really struggle in that department.

The refs were abysmal today and could easily be blamed but that last 10 minutes were the Parramatta we have known for so long.

Joely01

And the few times we have gone left attacking their line Jennings gets it with no room. He needs early ball in space which he is not getting.

That looks like it is about to change....

Yep, they are using Jennings at the moment as another forward basically.
It's cringe worthy

Casper The Ghost

Some of the passes they are not throwing are just as concerning. Norman bombed at least 2 tries not passing. Once to a flying Jennings, the other to an unmarked Semi. But according to Casper he was a 7 out of 10 today :lol:

When Jennings turned up and Norman realised he was there, the Norman pass would have been at least 1 metre forward. A very good decision was made in the heat of the moment by Norman.

Remember the Jennings double movement in the first round against Broncos? Temptation got the best of him and this was a bad decision. We still had one more play the ball to score which Jennings should have taken advantage of. Instead the Broncos got a penalty and all the pressure on their try line was released

Good on Norman not passing the ball to Jennings. He played well in this game. :D

Not sure about this unmarked Semi situation. Will watch the replay ASAP and reply.

Joely01

Jennings and Semi are being totally wasted.

Yep it's sad to see!
Semi has been the best winger and one of the best backs in the comp for 2 years.
That was before we add Foran and Jennings to the side.
We add these two strike players and apart from the dogs game he has gone backwards, it's not his fault at all he still does a lot of work. But he has basically been avoided in attack all year apart from when he went in field in the dogs game.
Maybe the way forward is swapping him and Gordon throughout the game so semi can spend some time floating around

Forty20

A positive way to look it at it all is that we played at the absolute collective talent floor of the team today and it still took a contentions Bunker overrule some last second bullshit/magic from the Panthers to jag the win. I align to this view to an extent as it shows how far the squad has come and potentially how high the talent ceiling is.

Still, you can not deny that we need to address some areas of concern with haste. Unlike recent season starts though, we actually have something to build on so I am pretty optimistic of where we are at in spite of today's loss.

Yep it's sad to see!
Semi has been the best winger and one of the best backs in the comp for 2 years.
That was before we add Foran and Jennings to the side.
We add these two strike players and apart from the dogs game he has gone backwards, it's not his fault at all he still does a lot of work. But he has basically been avoided in attack all year apart from when he went in field in the dogs game.
Maybe the way forward is swapping him and Gordon throughout the game so semi can spend some time floating around
Agree with everything you have said mate, Jennings ad Semi are being used more as forwards atm.

Can I say that I'm really not that impressed with Foran so far.

I know that play down the right side today was nice but they're just too few and far between, and the gap he left for Wallace to go over for dummy half was disgraceful.

And I don't want to hear anything about "time" - it's been 4 games now and that's more than enough time to click.

No doubt he'll get better as the season goes on but, really, for a $1m+ man, I'm getting more disappointed by the week.

Also, we didn't deserve to be in front, today, anyways. That pass was a mile forward.

How dare you. You may bag Sandow for being on 550k and missing a tackle but Foran? We are not racists here now put your manners back in.

Joely01

Agree with everything you have said mate, Jennings ad Semi are being used more as forwards atm.

We have a guy that it doesn't matter who you ask, what team they support will rave about him. All the experts etc.
But for some reason our game plan seems to be basically go the opposite side to him... It's a very strange game plan

Firstly - Where do people rate penrith? I hate guys calling the bunker cost us. Face it we got lucky on 2 tries. The drop ball where we pick up and Gordon scores and that perfect bounce for de gois to score.

We had a 6 point lead with 6 mins to go. And the fact they missed conversion and had to score again with the last play of game.

I tell you right now the difference in todays game - Matt Moylan..... You can blow as much smoke up Forans ass as you like. But this Moylan guy has not played footy in almost 12 mths. He was awesome. Caught every ball- Positional play and nice passing. I have said it before he is the best thing since Darren lockyer and today he was the reason Penrith WON.

Forans been SHIT. That calming influence? That's costs 1.2 million? I can get a bottle of valium for $20. For 1.2 mill I want to see calming influence along with attacking brilliance and a flawless defensive effort.
I will give him till round 13 before I judge him properly thou. He deserves that.

I have said it 10 times before. Norman will finish his career as the better footballer.

Casper The Ghost

In attack and during the first 5 rounds, it seems they are focusing on the simple aspects of controlling the speed of the play the ball at the ruck and getting that working and then from there, executing sweeping movements which they did today because they were chancing their arms. This hardly happened in the first 4 games against Broncos, Cowboys, Dogs and Tigers.

I reckon our attack is now gradually on the up and through practise will improve over the coming 5 rounds as Foran & Norman get better with their sweeping movements initiated from our control of the ruck during those moments when it's happening.

Joely01

Also, I don't want to say the bunker cost us.
I have seen enough in the first month to feel a bit confident with our online defence.
But the NRL really need to start looking at it and make it black and white in the obstruction ruling, and then what it can and can't rule on during play.
We may as well get to the point of having no refs on the field and it being officiated on the big screen at games.

Someone

we are 3 from 5. some of you are acting like the sky is falling. we didnt play well and still came within 5 seconds of winning that game. and dont underestimate penrith, they are a quality side.

heres hoping we can bounce back against that merkin ricky next week.

Joshuatheeel

Pretty gutted!! Gee I have losing!!

The ref didn't cost us anything today and the effort / defence is there. Obviously there are some errors and decision making costing us at times but overall in my opinion it's our attack that really cost us today. Yes letting in two tries was crap in the last 5 but gee we should have been will in front by then.

I would be tempted to swap semi / Gutherson. Why couldn't semi play on the left? He agent getting chances with Jennings and there was two chances Gutherson bombed today that Semi would have scored from last year.

We are going wide to early rather then playing up the middle more. Really think we should be using Paulo / gowers / Moeroa ball skills more up the middle - will help make our attack not so predictable

Norman stuffed up a few times with our sweeping playing, a few times the pass went to no one.

Foran's kick on the fourth with 2 to go was stupid!!! Expect more from a million dollar half.

Let's not forget half our starting top 13 pack is out (peats / mannah / Watmough is out)

We had 6 missed tackles at half time yet finished with 33 for the game.

How many line breaks have we made this year ?

Who has provided more at centre hoppa or Jennings ?

Casper The Ghost

To initiate fast play the balls so we can control the ruck or get back that control of the ruck is what is going on - well for most of the game - Semi was slow during the later stages.

It is a very simple game plan and our boys only need to keep exercising the practise of their moves during each game. Then comes the natural ad lib cohesion as they all get to know what each other is going to do instinctively at any given moment during a game.

From scratch we've built a new high performance engine that needs testing and tweaking till it's at its peak and keep it that way until we build another engine in seasons to come.

Joshuatheeel

we are 3 from 5. some of you are acting like the sky is falling. we didnt play well and still came within 5 seconds of winning that game. and dont underestimate penrith, they are a quality side.

heres hoping we can bounce back against that merkin ricky next week.

It is, we bloody lost!! :)u