Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 5 vs Souths

We should have kept Cook, it was foolish to let him go. He would've been great in a hooker rotation and now proves he can do 80min. I hope Robson can be as effective. McInnes is doing a great job but has not shown any spark in attack for a while. Instead of persisting with Rein and buying Havilli, we would have been better off keeping Cook.
Hindsight is a wonderful thing.
Have you noticed how Havili has been playing for Canberra?
Watching cook play these days, we pulled the wrong "Rein" for sure but I don't think we gave Havili enough game time.

ouryears

Ok, a wins a win, but.....
Our kicking game was the poorest I've seen all year.

Now having said that, our defence was exceptional, we had no ball or field position in the second half, we still held them out for repeat sets.

Good tough win.
It was good to get a win against a tough talented team without Hunt or Widdop being in the top 3 players on the night, we have that up our sleeves.

FlameThrower

Lets give him some credit here , last year I was critical of Mary not giving players a go , and not mixing things up . At least we are seeing player interchange that he would never had done last year . He just has to be more selective when to use players and who to use ......
Yes agreed, I should have expanded further- but you summed it up for me!

ouryears

We should have kept Cook, it was foolish to let him go. He would've been great in a hooker rotation and now proves he can do 80min. I hope Robson can be as effective. McInnes is doing a great job but has not shown any spark in attack for a while. Instead of persisting with Rein and buying Havilli, we would have been better off keeping Cook.
Definitely cook is SOO material, the club didn’t see his potential damn it

It was good to get a win against a tough talented team without Hunt or Widdop being in the top 3 players on the night, we have that up our sleeves.

I thought Hunt and Widdop played poorly, but then for some reason the refs decided tonight wasn't the night they were going to police the offside play, there were times, I thought quite a few, where Souths players were making no effort to get behind the refs line, including standing a yard in front of the ref while standing right beside him.

Seoul Dragon

Read that Souths had 35 tackles in our 20. If so the boys did well.
Just a sideline, when Aitken was down with cramping I couldn’t believe my ears when I heard badger asking “Greg” on 2 occasions are you ok whilst he was getting up. No such thought for poor Euan.

Yep, I am against this approach of refs using players first names.

Usually happens with the games elite players and creates a unnecessary connection bet players and refs. The relationship s/be unemotional and 100% objective and the "matey" feeling one gets when a ref uses a first name is appropriate imo.

In rugby refs use a players number......."gold 7" etc.

ouryears

I thought Hunt and Widdop played poorly, but then for some reason the refs decided tonight wasn't the night they were going to police the offside play, there were times, I thought quite a few, where Souths players were making no effort to get behind the refs line, including standing a yard in front of the ref while standing right beside him.

Sure did mate. Always seems to be against the rabbits. Surprisingly the rabbit fans think we were favoured

ouryears

Well they seemed to have got Lafai to put away the stupid flick passes, maybe they can Instill the same disipline in Luc.
Someone has to get into his head space and get him to understand you gotta be hard and tough to play this game at first grade level. Got to be a warrior, a weapon, not just a guy running on the field to play a game of footy with your mates

ALSGI

Our halves were being heavily marked all night and I couldn’t believe how much off side souffs were getting away with.

ouryears

Our halves were being heavily marked all night and I couldn’t believe how much off side souffs were getting away with.
You would still think they could come up with a plan to beat that, standing a bit deeper, getting a forward to stand in front of them for a bit of block and protection, it happens to JT and Cronk every week for the past 10 yrs but they still have match winning games.

Hopefully the boys will discuss it and implement a strategy to overcome it

ouryears

Very disappointing last night - basic errors & drop ball meant we were under the pump as a result.
It’s ok I reckon, we beat a team who has beaten us 9 times in the last 12 matches and a team who is hard skilled and tough

We need a tough win, 5 day turnaround teams lose 75% of the time,
But we won..... yeahhhhhh

FlameThrower

Hindsight is a wonderful thing.
Have you noticed how Havili has been playing for Canberra?
Watching cook play these days, we pulled the wrong "Rein" for sure but I don't think we gave Havili enough game time.
Bulldogs only gave him 1 season then turfed him too - if Farrah was on his game ,at Souths, Cook may have been on his way to ESL. But looks like his talents are finally showing. What I like about Cook is his outright speed off the mark...and looks to be always testing the opposition..solid player.

You would still think they could come up with a plan to beat that, standing a bit deeper, getting a forward to stand in front of them for a bit of block and protection, it happens to JT and Cronk every week for the past 10 yrs but they still have match winning games.

Hopefully the boys will discuss it and implement a strategy to overcome it

Maybe the refs could just be consistent, but then again you have Gould and Johns relentlessly attacking them for enforcing the rules.

kit66

That was our best defensive display in a long, long time. I'm really proud of the boys, no-one should underestimate how tough that game was, a short turnaround and against a team that always lifts against us but we held strong. 2 disallowed tries made it look like a close game but we were always in control apart from a 5 minute period when Souths decided to play some desperation footy. The Nene No Try - Obstruction was a terrible call. And how can you blow 33 penalties one week to make a point about off side then just ignore it the next week, I hate Badger.
Aitkens' move on Inglis was superb as was Nightie's try saver while do a running backwards reverse pirouette, magic. Sims, Hunt and Vaughan were mighty in defence. Wids was a bit quiet but still kept us organized and put in some great kicks. Good effort all round. 5 in a row...woohooo !
Next up the gummies at home, going for 6 !

ouryears

Maybe the refs could just be consistent, but then again you have Gould and Johns relentlessly attacking them for enforcing the rules.
I wish the refs wold stand firm on this but it depends what Greenberg is saying to the refs boss, I think the stamp down on it has gone