Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 6 vs Warriors

Dragonslayer

Dragons v Warriors, Sunday 2pm (4pm NZT) at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium
Dragons: Blake Lawrie (cork) drops out of the side, with Trent Merrin promoted to starting prop and Jackson Ford joining the bench. Jordan Pereira was the other player omitted from the squad on Saturday.

Latest recruit Josh McGuire could come straight into the team with the firebrand forward included in the extended squad after moving from the Cowboys.

Another recent signing, former Panthers back-rower Billy Burns, has also been included in the extended squad.

Fullback Matt Dufty has scored eight tries in his past seven games at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium.

Warriors: Peta Hiku (knee) has earned a recall and taken the place of winger David Fusitu'a, who suffered a hamstring injury in the narrow loss to Manly, while Marcelo Montoya has been named after copping a head knock at Central Coast Stadium.

Josh Curran is set to start in the second row with Eliesa Katoa dropping out of the squad.

Bunty Afoa and Jamayne Taunua-Brown are available after serving suspensions with Afoa scoring a spot on the interchange.

Tom Ale and Taniela Otukolo dropped off the extended bench 24 hours before kick-off.

The Warriors have won their past four games against the Dragons.

https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/04/14...s-pair-ill-lee-could-play-first-game-of-year/

This should be inspiration enough to fie up

blacksafake

I think this game v Warriors is a bit of a danger game for us.

Just watching the Manly v Titans game and is a walkover against the red hot favourites. even the commentators are bemused.

This could happen to us tomorrow if we aren't switched on or don't start well.
Agree
And the tigers we’re the better side against souffs so they better have their minds on this game.

SGMax

A must win tomorrow or last weeks efforts against Parra will mean nothing.
We need to win by 20 to stop Eels from leapfrogging in front of us on the ladder.
If we can score more than 32 points we will be the top point scoring team in the comp.
Firstly, just win and get the 2 competition points....we can move up the ladder on Anzac day.

redv13

We need to win by 20 to stop Eels from leapfrogging in front of us on the ladder.
If we can score more than 32 points we will be the top point scoring team in the comp.
Firstly, just win and get the 2 competition points....we can move up the ladder on Anzac day.
Win by 1 pt tomorrow and they are 4th. That will do me fine before Anzac Day. I feel good about tomorrow, bring on the Warriors!

getsmarty

McGuire set for Dragons debut on Sunday
Sat, 17 April 2021, 8:21 am
c1be2566df2ae0309a895dd7c1551091

Ex-North Queensland prop Josh McGuire looks set to make his debut for St George Illawarra on Sunday with the red hot side chasing five straight NRL wins.

The 31-year-old former Test and Origin prop joined the club on Tuesday and has been named on the extended bench to face the Warriors.

However, he looks set to be promoted to the 17 on Sunday with Billy Burns and Jackson Ford playing for the Dragons in their 42-6 loss to Penrith in the NSW Cup on Saturday.

Both Ford and Burns were named in Anthony Griffin's 19-man squad 24 hours prior to kick-off at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium.

The Dragons have been on the hunt for an experienced middle this season and Griffin is excited to finally inject McGuire into the side.

"He's a tough forward, someone in the middle of our pack who can play minutes," Griffin said.

"He's a real competitor he's played a lot of high profile football, a lot of Origin and Test football and finals, that experience and attitude he brings is what we're looking for from him."

A veteran of 232 NRL games, McGuire has battled to find a place in the Cowboys' starting side this season under new coach Todd Payten.

His transfer to the Dragons earlier this week is a chance for a fresh start at a club in the midst of a revival.

Last week's 26-12 win over Parramatta marked four straight for the Dragons for the first time since the start of 2019.

"We've got to keep getting better, we can't get anything out of last week's performance points wise, we've got to chase the points against the Warriors," Griffin said.

"They're a team with heaps of talent in their side and they're a hard team to play against.

"The (Warriors) been a bit unlucky, they should have beaten Newcastle and last week they were below their best which will make them even harder to play this week so it's going to be a massive challenge for us."

https://au.news.yahoo.com/mcguire-set-dragons-debut-sunday-072157086.html

mickeylane

This here below alone tells you the difference between coaching methods 2021 to previous barron years.. genius work by Hook..building mental toughness ..
“Griffin told his players to prepare as if they'll only have the ball for a few minutes per game. He also told them they need to be ready for every game to go to golden point extra time”.

ALSGI

So currently back to 6th, any win put’s us back to 4th and a win by 20 or more and we’re 3rd.

Forbes Creek Dragons

Game Day. Taking the Mrs out to the game, kids are getting looked after by the grandparents, few beers!
I’ve not been this excited about going to the footy in a long time.
Should be a cracking atmosphere!
That’s great mate, hopefully they can get a full house. They deserve it the way they have been playing. If I lived in Sydney and didn’t have to work today I’d be there for sure. I might try to catch the Anzac clash if I can get tickets.

ALSGI

Game Day. Taking the Mrs out to the game, kids are getting looked after by the grandparents, few beers!
Very envious mate, was almost going myself but couldn’t manage it today.
Give the bastard refs one or two for me!
Should be a great day hope they get up for you.

Illusion

Enjoy the day , ready for a big win ....

MarkD

Danger game... Boys need to be focused on the team in front of them not the Roosters next week... there’ll be a time for that... enjoy the game folks