Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 8 vs Eels

RedV Resurgence

possm, with us and McGregor, to have an under-performing player dropped, there has to be someone in the lower grades not "knocking on the door" but kicking the door in and spraying the room with machine gun fire. Do we have anyone who fits such a description? ?

I'm of the mind that Pereira should be dropped before Rava. Pereira isn't naturally gifted but he puts 110% into everything he does. Unfortunately, recently he has been making too many simple mistakes. Let's hope that ends tomorrow.

Het Glenno, am hearing you with the need to have someone in the lower grades pushing for a spot. When I was confronted with such a situation I would drop the player in the top grade, so he was aware that spot was not his and he has to earn it.

What I found was that both players would react, the change and realignment in the players heads would mostly be immediate. This also has an effect on other players to perform. The best part of this strategy is that these players would open up on one one one discussions. They would ask what do I need to do better? You can then have the discussion, effort, urgency, defense, passing, kick chase etc.

getsmarty

lomaxz-try_2nh_2387.jpg

TEAM LISTS

24-hour warning: Round 8 v Parramatta Eels
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Sat 4 May 2019, 04:05 PM

St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor has amended his squad to 19 ahead of the Dragons' Round 8 clash against the Parramatta Eels at Bankwest Stadium.

Lachlan Timm and Jonus Pearson are the two players to drop out of the squad named on Tuesday. They will line up for the Canterbury Cup Dragons against Wentworthville on Sunday afternoon.

NRL squad for Round 8 v Parramatta Eels –

1. Matt Dufty – sponsored by Dynamic Projects
2. Jordan Pereira – sponsored by SMAI
3. Zac Lomax – sponsored by Tosich Group
4. Tim Lafai – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
5. Mikaele Ravalawa – sponsored by Professionals Padstow
6. Corey Norman – sponsored by Illawarra Mercury/St George & Sutherland Shire Leader
7. Ben Hunt – sponsored by Paul's Customs and Forwarding Solutions
8. James Graham (c) – sponsored by EFEX
9. Cameron McInnes (c) – sponsored by Floormania
10. Paul Vaughan – sponsored by My Muscle Chef
11. Tyson Frizell (c) – sponsored by Val Morgan
12. Tariq Sims – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)
13. Blake Lawrie – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski
Interchange:
14. Jeremy Latimore – sponsored by Dincel ConstructionSystem
15. Euan Aitken – sponsored by University of Wollongong
16. Jacob Host – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)
17. Luciano Leilua – sponsored by Domus Lighting
18. Mitch Allgood
19. Jai Field

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/05/04/24-hour-warning-round-8-v-parramatta-eels/

getsmarty

normanc_1nh_0916.jpg

EELS

Norman's 'forced' exit pays off for both Dragons and Eels
Author
Dan Walsh NRL.com Reporter
Timestamp
Sat 4 May 2019, 04:29 PM
walshdan-head.png

Paul McGregor expects Corey Norman to have a point to prove after he was "forced to leave" Parramatta, but coaching counterpart Brad Arthur sees both clubs benefiting from the playmaker's high-profile move to St George Illawarra.

A 30,000-strong sell-out crowd is anticipated for Norman's first clash with his old Eels teammates at Bankwest Stadium on Sunday, less than six months after a drawn-out exit from the blue and gold.

Wrangles over relatively minor finances delayed Norman's release from the last year of his Eels deal, while then-halves partner Mitchell Moses was also told he was free to take his services elsewhere, such was Parramatta's desire to split the pair.

McGregor no doubt had those conversations in mind when asked if Norman would carry added motivation for the Dragons.

"I've never played against a former club so I don't know the experience but I certainly know when players have come up against their old clubs, especially when they've been moved for different purposes, they have a point to prove," McGregor said on Saturday.

"He was one of those players that got forced to leave and probably didn't want to.

"He's motivated because he's at a new club and he wants to prove the club he's gone to is the right choice."

Eels v Dragons - Round 8

Understandably Arthur was more pragmatic when posed the same question, pointing to the improved form of both halves following last year's wooden spoon.

Norman has booted two match-winning field goals in his first two months at the Dragons while Moses has five try assists and 55 points (fifth in the NRL) to his name going into the clash.

"Not everything goes to plan and I know it didn't [in 2018]," Arthur said.

"He had better opportunities so we're happy for Normy and it's worked out for both clubs. It's just what it is.

"It's hard to have two dominant playmakers that both want to control the team so it's worked out well for the Dragons and for Parramatta.

"We knew throughout [last] year, we were struggling in that area."

Arthur added that Moses was now "enjoying the extra responsibility" that comes with being the dominant playmaker in combination with 20-year-old Jaeman Salmon.

Along with skipper Clint Gutherson, Moses is the most high-profile of 14 off-contract Eels that have attracted endless headlines over their contract negotiations.

Both stars currently have three-year offers before them, with Gutherson on record wanting an extra season's security from the Eels.

NRL.com understands that talks with back-rower Manu Ma'u around a two-year extension are also progressing well and may be finalised by the end of May.

The scrutiny around the club's roster doesn't seem to be effecting morale, with Gutherson interrupting his coach's press conference shouting: "Are we going to win tomorrow Brad?"

To which Arthur responded: "If you have a go Clint, we will."

"Look, it's what it is. It's part of the game," Arthur said of the external focus on contract discussions.

"The pleasing thing is, the club is very keen to keep those players. The players want to stay.

"I'm sure something would be sorted out sooner than later. But it's always easier when both parties are comfortable with where it's at."

Eels captain Tim Mannah will sit out the clash with a foot injury that is not considered a long-term issue, with Kane Evans promoted to Parramatta's bench.

https://www.nrl.com/news/2019/05/04/normans-forced-exit-pays-off-for-both-dragons-and-eels/

Mary's rotation policy is focused on the reserve players who don't get a run anyway.

A big ask for the Dragons today at the new Parramatta Stadium ( great looking ground , a damn pity our board could not harass the NRL and state government for a similar one ).

We have had 10 day break to get over the bumps and bruises of the Anzac loss so we should be fit enough to compete against what is a very willing Eels forward pack . The back line seems to be somewhat more solid now with the inclusion of Lomax at center who I believe will complement Lafai and with Norman feeding them some quality ball we may all be in for a surprise as far as try scoring opportunities are concerned.

A tough , tough game with the the more adventurous side taking home the points , just hope that the whistle blowers do not decide the final result . Dragons by 8 :innocent:

ALSGI

We could slip out of the top 8 if we lose by 12+, or go to 5th if we win by 30+. I’d be happy with a close win at this stadium and sit in 6th.

The new (or as Mary would say - noo) stadium should be a huge lift for Parra - or will it be on their 2nd outing here ?? They’re favourites. There’s going to be a huge crowd but we aint the Tigers that they flogged here last time and a loss to the Knights last week (away) makes them ripe for picking.

I reckon we’ll win well today, at least be the better team if not by a huge score. In attack I’m really looking forward to the Hunt/Lomax/Rava combo on the right and seeing Norman against his old club with Lafai/Periera on the left - with a lot of Dufty thrown in on top. In Defence it should be better without Aitken on the right but our back three still give me the jitters.

I’d love to see Aitken come on with fire in his belly for a period in the forwards and make a difference with hard hits, hard runs or he should be in CC. Same with Lat’s.

I reckon we’re more than up for this, Stadium, Refs and our sidelined aside we’re the better team and will win, 31-18.

Warriors in Aukland next Saturday arvo, we go alright over there (except for last year).

Dragons 09

Just heard some numpty on the radio suggesting Aitken will be in the starting side....surely that can't be right? Anyone heard anything?

George Dragon

We could slip out of the top 8 if we lose by 12+, or go to 5th if we win by 30+. I’d be happy with a close win at this stadium and sit in 6th.

The new (or as Mary would say - noo) stadium should be a huge lift for Parra - or will it be on their 2nd outing here ?? They’re favourites. There’s going to be a huge crowd but we aint the Tigers that they flogged here last time and a loss to the Knights last week (away) makes them ripe for picking.

I reckon we’ll win well today, at least be the better team if not by a huge score. In attack I’m really looking forward to the Hunt/Lomax/Rava combo on the right and seeing Norman against his old club with Lafai/Periera on the left - with a lot of Dufty thrown in on top. In Defence it should be better without Aitken on the right but our back three still give me the jitters.

I’d love to see Aitken come on with fire in his belly for a period in the forwards and make a difference with hard hits, hard runs or he should be in CC. Same with Lat’s.

I reckon we’re more than up for this, Stadium, Refs and our sidelined aside we’re the better team and will win, 31-18.

Warriors in Aukland next Saturday arvo, we go alright over there (except for last year).
29+ to drop out of 8

Crush

Warriors at Suncorp not Auckland mate.

If Ben Hunt doesn't fire we are toast.
This is exactly the situation where he needs to stand up and take ownership of the team and put the opposition to the sword.
Plenty of people wanting to bag out Widdop for not having done so (in their opinion at least) so I will be interested to see who they blame if we don't get the chocolates today.
Precise kicking game, continually building of pressure, actually taking on the line to create confusion and selective passing game is what is required and the very reason why we purchased Hunt.
If he does so, we win and win well, so it is "time to deliver" and no excuses.

Crush

This is exactly the situation where he needs to stand up and take ownership of the team and put the opposition to the sword.
Plenty of people wanting to bag out Widdop for not having done so (in their opinion at least) so I will be interested to see who they blame if we don't get the chocolates today.
Precise kicking game, continually building of pressure, actually taking on the line to create confusion and selective passing game is what is required and the very reason why we purchased Hunt.
Ben Hunt is a lottery just like Widdop was. If he turns up we fire, if he doesn't we lose. They are similar players consistancy wise, great when they are on but incredibly frustrating when they have off days.

A lot will depend on whether our boys come to the game with good line speed in defence. If they do and our forwards dominate, I expect Norman and Hunt along with our backs on both sides will have a big game. Expect Dufty to run onto inside passes from Lomax and make plenty of ground. Here is hoping Lomax runs protection for both Rava and Dufty when the high ball is deployed by the Eels halves.