Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 9 (2008) Ninjas v Dragons

Forum 7s - Round 9 2008
CHUCK NORRIS TEXAS DEATH NINJAS v ST GEORGE 'BOBONGIE' DRAGONS

jersey_ninjas_1.gif
-v-
jersey_dragons_1a.gif

Game Thread:
* Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
* Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee
* Only original articles, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.​

Naming Teams:
* 5v5 (+ 2 reserves for visiting team, 3 reserves for home team)
* No 'TBA' or changing players named
* Captains must stick with original teams named​

ALL THE RULES & REGULATIONS: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/rules.php

FULL TIME: Wedneday 13 August 2008 at 9pm (Syd time)

REFEREE: Pistol
Venue: Reliant Stadium​

**The Referee Blows Game On!**
whistle_2.gif

Last edited by a moderator:

ST GEORGE 'BOBONGIE' DRAGONS

Yes it's here. The Bobongies finale for 2008. It has been a long arduous season. Johnsy leads the team out, their spirits are lifted with the return of The Preacher. No pre game speeches needed, just the look of 5 men wanting, needing redemption.

The crowd roars as the 5 war horses plod on to the field.

The Preacher

jpoore.jpg

Johnsy
dean_young.jpg

Ribs
0,,6074200,00.jpg

Godz Illa

wjzxfq.jpg

Juanfarkall
0,,6014308,00.jpg

748 words between the lines
Expectation, Reality & Reflection

The St.George ”Bobongie” Dragons looked like forming a formidable squad at the start of the season, as the season preview on the F7’s website shows .

“Dragons are back in 2008 and have put together a powerful new squad”
“ The Dragons performed above expectations in the PVP trials and are set to produce a team of stars in 2008. A better than even chance to be finals contenders, the Dragons are firming at 5-1 ”

As the Dragons head into their last game of 2008, they are currently sitting at the foot of the table. The season has had many ups and downs, with computer malfunctions, editing issues, alcohol induced confusion, all contributing to a ride that players remember.

2008 Trial PVP Match - Titans 412 Def Dragons 384 (5 v 5 articles)
First 5 : The Preacher 73, Ribs 72, Johnsy 81, Godzilla 87, thommo4pm 71.

Godz gave a hint of his abilities with the team’s highest score for this round. A solid 87 with a great read “Getting Bobingie wit it”

Round 1 - Rabbitohs 347 Def Dragons 213 v (4 v 3 articles)
First 5 : Ribs 89, Dragon Punk 61, Saint Dragon 63, Dubopov, Dragon psa.

Dubopov lost his article at the last moment, he was bitterly disappointed. Ribs led the way with an impressive 89.

Round 3 - PVP Cup Final Titans 438 Def Dragons 425 (5 v 5 articles)
First 5: Ribs 88, Dubopov 89, The Preacher 83, Big Pat 79, Dragon-psa 86.

A high scoring game that finished in disappointment, a mere 13 points away from a win. Dubopov had a blinder with 89.

Round 4 - Dragons 348 Def Eels 331 (4 v 4 articles)
First 5: Johnsy 79, Ribs 88, Dubopov 89, Godzilla 92, Dragon-psa

This is a lesson for all those wishing to lead a side for a F7’s game. Never, ever post on an internet forum when you have had way, way too many beers. How I did this I will never know I mixed two forum members up, one had to take a daughter to the hospital and I placed this under another forum members name. Needless to say it did not go down to well with the latter member. Nonetheless we had our first win. GodzIlla in career best form, outstanding work champ 92 as a result the west coast coolers flowed long into the night.

Round 5 - Panthers 432 Def Dragons 328 (5 v 4 articles)
First 5 : Dubopov, The Preacher 86, Ribs 87, Dragon Punk 77, Johnsy 88.

Another loss. Disappointed once more, especially after a win the week before.

Round 6 - Cougars 423 Def Dragons 337 (5 v 4 articles)
First 5 : Johnsy 86, Ribs 84, Juanfarkall 82, Dragooner 87, The Preacher.

The loss the week before really hit hard, as we had our ass handed to us again !!!!
Dragooner had a great debut, taking the game ball after an inspiring 87

Round 7 – CHOOK RAPER Cup Bluebags 432 Def Dragons 429 (5 v 5 articles)
First 5 : Johnsy 84, Juanfarkall 87, Ribs 90, Dragon-psa 85, Dragon Punk 93.

This game had everything. Pregame banter, a bluebags reserve talking it up, knowing he was never a chance to get his pristine white shorts dirty. A cliffhanger, the bluebags won by a paltry 3 points. Dragon Punk led the way with a brilliant 93, top shelf mate. The referee ignored a protest by the Dragons captain. On the way to the team bus Ribs did notice a rather plump brown paper bag in the refs car, no more needed to be said.

Round 8 - Warriors 443 Def Dragons 264 (5 v 3 articles)
First 5 : Dragon Punk, Ribs 90, Juanfarkall 81, Saint Dragon, Johnsy 93.

Another loss, we only got 3 articles in against 5, always a tough ask. The handsome bugger, Johnsy equaled the Dragons season high score from the previous week by Dragon Punk with 93.

This brings us to our last game of 2008 against the ninjas. We have gone with an experienced side for this one, The Preacher, Johnsy, Ribs, GodzIlla, Juarnfarkall, and Dragon Punk warming the bench.

Reflecting, it is easily to be disappointed, but being my first year in the F7’s, I thought it would be fitting to end with one simple answer to a simple question. Are you backing up in 2009 Johnsy ?

I wouldn’t miss it for the world, how many people get the chance to wear this.

DragonsLogo_000.JPG

(http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/index.php)

Godz Illa

Godz Illa ~ Dragons

Greatest speech of modern history - nominations

There are a few things that all great speeches have in common. a) The moment. The exact time in history when the speaker’s words will resonate most. b) The cause. Passion, borne from fighting the good fight underpin every great speech. c) The words. All great speeches are as inspiring when read as they are when delivered orally. The below listed nominations for the Greatest Speech of Modern History award contain all these elements.

Nomination 1. John F Kennedy “Ask not what your country can do for you.”

Delivered by Kennedy at his Inauguration ceremony on January 20 1961, this speech was a challenge to his country, a stirring call to sacrifice for the common good. The Cold War and the space race with the Soviet Union were both well underway, and the vigorous, contagious enthusiasm of the young president inspired an entire nation. The words, apart from the familiar abovementioned, were masterfully delivered by Kennedy, but resonate equally even without his passionate Boston twang.

“If a beachhead of cooperation may push back the jungle of suspicion, let both sides join in creating a new endeavour - not a new balance of power, but a new world of law - where the strong are just, and the weak secure, and the peace preserved.”

Nomination 2. Martin Luther King “I have a dream.”

Few speeches in world history had the immediate and lasting impact of the Reverend King’s uplifting, electrifying, almost biblical words on August 28 1963 in Washington. In a time of great change, the speech proved to be the catalyst for the Civil Rights Act in the United States, but the impact has continued to this day and beyond. King confronted racism with love and compassion – his thundering delivery outshined only by the spectacular imagery of the words.

“I have a dream that one day even the state of Mississippi, a state sweltering with the heat of injustice, sweltering with the heat of oppression, will be transformed into an oasis of freedom and justice. I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the colour of their skin but by the content of their character. I have a dream today!”

Nomination 3. Winston Churchill “We shall fight on the beaches.”

At the time of this address to parliament on June 4 1940, Britain and her allies were well on the way to grim defeat at the hands of Nazi Germany - acknowledged by Churchill throughout the beginning and middle of the speech. As he approached the conclusion his voice approached a roar, and the war update became a spine-tingling call-to-arms. Churchill had taken the persona of an unmovable colossus, and by the mere power of his words had turned the tide of the war.

“We shall never surrender, and even if, which I do not for a moment believe, this island or a large part of it were subjugated and starving, then our empire beyond the seas, armed and guarded by the British fleet, would carry on the struggle, until, in God's good time, the new world, with all its power and might, steps forth to the rescue and the liberation of the old.”

Nomination 4. Nathan Brown “Make the game a bloodbath”

The sport of Rugby League does not boast a proud oratory history - that was changed by Nathan Brown on July 23 2008. Amid a volatile atmosphere of hatred, fear and cynicism of the NRL’s dominant force Melbourne Storm – a tyrannical organisation with incestuous ties to the governing body, which had intimidated, strangled, and wrestled all opponents since 2006 - Brown’s measured, passionate challenge to the Rugby League world struck with the power of a thunderbolt. A battle cry for coaches, players and fans alike, the words were met with echoes of acclaim and approval, and have proven to be Brown’s great legacy to the game.

“As far as I'm concerned the only thing Jason did wrong is he didn't headbutt him hard enough, that's what he should have done. Then Jeff Lima kicks Jason Ryles in the scrum, and then Ryles gets sent off for kicking back. Jason Ryles should have unpacked out of the scrum and put one on his chin and then when he went down give him more because you've got to fight the fire with the fire. Whingeing about it ... it does sh*t, it doesn't do anything."

Which is the greatest? You decide.

750 words

paulquinn49

CNTDN Side

paulquinn49 (c)
edabomb (c)
jamesgould (vc)
Freddo (vc)
Halatia (vc)

Timbo
Raider Azz (vc)

juanfarkall

The old man wiped a hand across his brow.

The sweat glistened across his index finger as if it were a typical summer’s day yet it was just another Friday afternoon in July.
He smiled to himself then put his mind back to the job at hand.
It was a job he had performed countless times before over the years, even before he had ceased to referee junior matches, his battle scarred knees unable to keep up with the enthusiastic yet erratic motions of Under 7 Rugby League players.

He had a wife, a family and friends of his own as well as a successful career but despite such achievements he was always happy and proud to admit that Rugby League was his life. He had met his wife when he was a young man and whilst she had often chastised him when injured as a player, he was also inspired by her unspoken support.
Similarly when their son had played the Great Game, she made the normal motherly sounds of concern for her offspring but never doubted that the child was in safe hands and that regardless of his sporting achievements, he would benefit from the experience.
Their other child, now a stunning young woman had never shown much interest in Rugby League but had always supported the men of the family through good times and bad almost as if it were a birthright passed down from her mother.

“Mind back on the job, son” he whispered to himself as he neared the fence, the field now freshly mown and ready for marking out.
He had performed these tasks so many times over the years, that he had it down to a near art form.

The first task at 10am each Friday was to inspect the field and surrounds for refuse, papers and foreign objects including “land mines” from dogs and kangaroos. There was nothing worse than missing a scrap of paper or plastic then shredding it with the mower.
Unfortunately in these modern times this inspection also involved checking for syringes and cigarette butts.
The next task was to daub a thick layer of sunscreen over his face and neck before firing up the old ride on mower to knock the top off of any weeds and provide a good looking playing surface for the weekend’s gladiators.
An hour or so later, he would start marking out the field. This was a job that had changed just a little over the years with moves from yards to metres and various requirements for 5, 10 and 20 metre lines as rules changed.
Sometimes if it was a particularly damp or dry weekend, he might have to reapply the lines a few times, but more often than not the Friday application of white paint did the trick.
He always applied two coats of paint to the try line because their was nothing worse for a young kid than not being able to clearly see the try line when diving over for the first four pointer of his career.
For the old man there were few things better than to see the joy in a young boy’s face when he scored that first try, jumped up from the ground and looked to his parents and team-mates as he beamed with pride and joy.

That was just one of the moments each weekend which made the old man’s job worthwhile.

He had never gotten very far as a player, and whilst he had played in a few premiership wins, was always happy just to be a part of the team. When the time came to concede to aching bones, he took up coaching with another former teammate and always sought to build the boy into a young man whilst improving the player.
A few of his charges went on to play NRL and represent the State and whilst this made the old man proud, it was no greater than the pride he felt when he met up with any of his other former protégés who had grown up to be decent young men.

A couple of years ago the club had awarded the old man life membership which had humbled and embarrassed him greatly. He was gracious in his acceptance but honest and sincere in his comment that whilst he may have given service to the game and his community it was small in comparison to the pleasure that Rugby League had given him over his life.

Volunteers keep the game alive.

750 words.

edabomb

Opportunity Lost

In celebrating Rugby Leagues Centenary season, the National Rugby League decided to set aside a specific round to commemorate the first round played, all the way back in 1908. Round 6 was the closest date wise to that original round, and was named the Centenary Round. The round would pit clubs against their traditional rivals, we even saw referees return to their original uniforms. It was a great occasion for the game and the fans arrived in support, but had the NRL thought slightly outside the square they could have generated so much more interest.

The first major issue I believe that could have been raised in the Centenary round was that of the video referee. Video referees have copped a hammering over the past couple of years, be it incorrect tries or constantly interfering in general play. It seems there is a genuine 50/50 split in opinion of whether video refs should be retained in any capacity. So, in a round where the NRL decided to return their referees to traditional clothing, why not bring back the in-goal judges? Plenty of fans in 2008 would have never seen a game of top flight rugby league played without a video ref, why not show them what it’s like? I am not passing judgment on whether the video ref is good for the game or not, frankly my opinion changes most weekends. But surely by serving up eight matches without them the fans could make a better-informed decision on the issue. If they saw that there are going to be a few wrong decisions with the alternative to video referees they may just ease off criticizing this area of the game.

Perhaps the strangest evolution in the game of rugby league has been the constant cries of ‘dominant’ and ‘surrender’. Before the turn of the century it was up to the players to interpret how long they could hold down a player once a tackle was completed, and it may be my imagination, but the matches back then generally seemed to flow like few do today. I would like to see this brought back, and more interpretation put in the referees hands in this area. While I feel changing this rule would have been slightly less black and white than the removal of the video referee, it still would have encouraged interest from the diehard NRL fans. It would also, somewhat; negate the gang tackling that is currently causing so much controversy.

071022101351-CORL_FC.jpg

Personally, I don’t think there is a sport in the world where the referee can provide as much coaching to a side as in the NRL. One of my major gripes with the current game is the calling of players offside when they’re in the defensive line. One wonders if a great dummy half like Steve Walters could have ever excelled in an era where players being constantly notified that they are offside would have negated his brilliant dummy half running. Generally this means defenders just have to back off until someone else tackles the player in possession, but they ultimately close up the gap that their offside play would have created by doing so. If an offside player discourages a player in possession of the ball from running to any point on the field they should be penalized, simple as that. This is destroying the art of running by the hooker in the modern game; soon the position will be merely a third half.

[FONT=&quot]While many out there will argue that the NRL is no place to trial rules for a round, I believe this was the perfect chance to illustrate the perceived problems with the modern game. The Centenary round of NRL is a once in a generation opportunity to think outside the square and see the results in the pinnacle of the sport. In a time when video referees are berated week in and week out it’d be fascinating to see a weekend of the toughest competition in the world being judged solely by the men in the middle. What’s the worst that could of happened? A few poor decisions? We get that with the system currently in place. You could also guarantee that there would be major interest in the matches played, which is exactly the promotion the NRL needs. However, once again the NRL failed to come up with anything mildly original to inspire debate and conversation over the greatest game of all. Maybe in 2108?

--------------------------------------
744 words including title
[/FONT]

paulquinn49

Escape artist for hire

Dissatisfied with my current employment I decided to visit a job seeking website and noticed a job that offered excitement, a chance to challenge myself, and overseas travel.

I applied, and as soon as the submit button was activated my phone rang to tell me I was successful, my long search was over. The ad now absent from the website, as if it never happened. Over the next few days I would become involved in one of the greatest sporting sensations this country has ever seen, in 2008, in Rugby League.

The first text message arrived, with a flight confirmation to Sydney and directions to an address in Caringbah, however a local to the area I knew my way, and did not require the flight, I thought to myself “1 minute in the job and I have already saved them money, brilliant!”

Upon my arrival at the house I was told to take off my shoes, and then join in a prayer to Mecca, I didn’t have the heart to tell them that the Mecca movie complex had since closed down, but respected their wishes. Then a familiar face came around the corner, it was SBW who rudely snarled to a bearded man “This is not a Polynesian boy, why do the white boys get the best jobs?” The bearded man then told me to wait in a room around the corner while he consulted his client/friend.

This is where I met Danny Weidler, he to was also waiting for SBW and the bearded man. I was still unsure of what was happening until Danny snapped, “He’s going to France, tonight!” The bearded man heard the outburst and swore me to secrecy, promptly ordering Danny and Myself to start working on the escape plan to France. I organised transport to the airport, while Danny started digging a hole claiming that “If we could get to China, underground, no one could follow us”

Shortly after my call a Maxi Taxi arrived to take SBW to his new life, and hopefully a bag of riches for myself. Just as we got in Anthony Mundine arrived and pleaded with SBW to accept a ride in his Hummer, as a Maxi Taxi would draw attention to us. Anthony promised to meet us later, and then signed off by doing some Polynesian handshake that I was not privy to. Danny promised to teach me later.

The food on the plane was surprisingly good, but it must not have agreed with SBW as when we got to the airport he stayed in the toilet an awful long time, even by my standards. Danny then took me shopping and bought us all commemorative beret’s to celebrate the occasion, no time to get them embryoided however.

Another hellish flight next to Danny and we had arrived in London, only to find out that the final leg of our journey into Toulon would not be going ahead as SBW had passport issues. It was at this point the bearded man, who now let me call him Khoder, informed me that we now all were going our separate ways, SBW would be staying in a safe house, Khoder would be going for a shave, Danny off to report the “shock news” from Toulon, while I was left with the easy task of organising the Visa.

I came through with the Visa a few days later and promptly handed it to SBW, who was rambling on about Rugby Union, how he wanted to be an All Black, how Anthony Mundine should have played representative football, and how player managers are underpaid at 10%. He said this with a straight face, as I understood how easily influenced someone could be, or become.

Finally arriving in Toulon was like a family reunion, we had pulled off what we thought would have been impossible, I brought out the champagne, and was quickly stopped by Anthony Mundine who had just flown in after a victorious fight. I then got a lecture on how we don’t need alcohol to celebrate.

Looking out into the majestic scenes of Toulon it began to dawn on me that my job was done, my success being my downfall, in that with SBW safely in France, there was no job for this escape artist. I returned home, no one knowing what I had helped create, with no employment options, I sit and wait for Khoder to give his soldier the call.

Come on! Who’s next?

748 Words

The Preacher

JUST WHO ARE THE SUPPORTERS

It is something that is said time and time again by club administrators, "We need to look after our corporate supporters." It's something that really irks me, as I've been a supporter for 45 years that I can remember, and I dare say I was at a few before that which I cannot recollect, yet nobody bothers to look after me other than myself.
You see, I'm one of those people that attends games to actually watch the bloody footy, not parade through the corporate entrance and make my way into the hallowed "boxes" where I'll see absolutely "diddly squat" of the action on the field, but will network and entertain.
I knew what to expect when I went to different grounds and was willing to accept what they put on offer as I was going to watch the game, not my manners. And it's a this point I'll give you a little run-down of some of the things I've seen.
I remember being at the Sydney Sports Ground sometime in the late sixties for a night pre-season game. The crowd was extremely large. Actually it was too large for the facilities provided. The gents toilet at the rear of the southern hill (remember the field used to run east-west) was that overloaded that men and boys were quite content to relieve themselves at the top of the entry tunnell and on the side wall. As kids we thought this was a great joke, and I remember they constructed a huge concrete slab against the side wall after that to cover the stain.
On the same theme, I was at a night game in Cronulla in either '67 or '68 and I think it was pre Woolaware Oval, and the toilet facilities were tar cans inside communal structures made from steel posts and six foot high heishan cloth. The gents was fine, but what the buiders of these didn't know was that the ladies had the lights inside pointing outways and all you could see were silhouette's of the women removing their undies to relieve themselves. It attracted quite an audience.
When I went to Lidcombe Oval, I knew the pies were crap, the drinks warm and the chance of a seat in the grandstand almost impossible, but I went to see the footy, and that's what I was willing to put up with.
This year I've heard the bleatings of people complaining about the hill at Brooky, fans being caught in the rain, parking problems etc. etc.
People have to realise what the public get from the clubs, the bare necesseties, that's it, full stop. The suits are so busy looking after other suits, they just want your money and haven't got time to worry about John J Citizen, so enjoy the game and shut up.
Having said all that, I can't see myself ever stopping attending matches. I have gone the extra step and have held membership to the Football Club for a number of years, and the AGM discussions between myself and the CEO, to try and gain a better go for the punter and more transparency from the board, have been "interesting dialogue".
I know you and I deserve better, and the clubs shouldn't be fawning over the corporates the way they do, while ignoring you, but just grin and bare it and enjoy the game. That's why we're there, to support the players in our teams. And here's a little tip, they prefer you to the suits anyway.

Ribs

Ribs limps out for the last match, a few niggling injuries from a tough season.

Good luck all, 749 words below the line.

All is well

In the games centenary year, there seems to be a perceived notion that the quality of rugby league is not what it was just a few seasons ago. After watching the majority of games this season, it would be difficult to argue to the contrary. I have been as guilty as anyone in pointing the blame at all and sundry including referees, administrators, journalists and player managers. But, as I sat here searching the brain for 750 words to end what has been a pretty disappointing year for the Dragons 7’s, I found myself coming up with so many more reasons why we seem to be getting more frown lines this season than any I can remember.

The game we have now is not so much a poorer quality, but a game that has been reigned back from a ridiculously fast paced game born from the late nineties Super League years. The unlimited interchange rule and ruck speed during those years created an exciting spectacle but removed from the game such a large part of its origins. The tough bastards that wore the 8 and 10 were replaced by guys from Gladiator. The bench was always 4 enormous forwards and smaller players were being phased out due to the constant barrage.

So what was better? Lots of tries, fast paced action and constant big hits were great but was that really rugby league? Comparing a game from 1997 to a game from the early 80s and you wouldn’t be sure you were watching the same sport. It would certainly be difficult to imagine what would happen if sides from either era tried to match it in the other. Many a beer has been consumed discussing that very subject.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the spectacle of the game at the time but putting things into context now, I think that era has a lot to do with the perceived argument that the game is suffering.

The reduction of the interchange to 10 per side has allowed the old school props like Petero Civoniceva, Steven Price and Luke Bailey to stand out above the others because they have the edge in endurance over guys like Willy Mason and Brett White. Added to that, other players with outstanding endurance like Craig Fitzgibbon are starting to be noticed for rep sides for that quality alone. These guys, to me, are far better examples of rugby league players than those that were able to punch out a fast paced, exciting 15 minutes, no matter how many tries were scored or hits were made.

The downside of this, however, is that the speed of the game suffers as players become tired. The game gets that 5 am on the dance floor look about it for a short period at the end of each half. This period of the game doesn’t look pretty and for fans it has become a painful test of nerve that I’m sure alcoholics anonymous attendees have been barred from viewing. But while it might not look pretty, it allows the little guys to get some back and guys like Billy Slater and Preston Campbell are a nightmare for the opposition when the forwards are tired. So, while the game’s shallow appearance may look less pretty than its late 90s predecessor, the subtle return of the old school guys and freakish midgets surely more than makes up for it.

There is no doubt that player loss to the UK Super League has had a minor impact but given the quality of the Toyota Cup this season, I think those losses are being well and truly accounted for and I for one am happy to have someone leave the club I follow if they aren’t 100 percent committed and honoured to be playing for it. Loyal and enthusiastic people replacing those who’s interest is elsewhere can only be a great thing.

The other perceived issue is that referees are having too much impact on the results of matches and I for one will attain to burning effigies after matches this season (not really though). However, having the competition so evenly matched makes this inevitable and I have to admit enjoying having no clue in the tipping these days.

So, while many can complain, this 750 words has given me some hope that the game is indeed heading in the right direction. Unless Saints don’t make the finals of course, then it’s back to blaming the referess, administrators…..

jamesgould

1995 – The Greatest Season Ever?

If you were a rugby league fan, the season of 1995 was shaping up as one of the greatest of all time. We know now that it all turned to custard in an almighty way, with Superleague arriving on the scene and ripping the game in two. In retrospect, 1995 was the last of the super-years. Before the game became fully professional and players discovered the phrase “burn-out”.

First of all, four new teams joined the fold. Never before or since have we had such a large number of expansions clubs in one year. The Auckland Warriors, North Queensland Cowboys, South Queensland Crushers and Western Reds all joined the fray. A song and dance routine outlining the new clubs at the previous year’s grand final pre-match entertainment had expectations at fever pitch and crowds for all four clubs were admirable in their initial season. Such an extension of the competition is impossible to imagine in these days, but back then it worked (until Superleague, at least, and admittedly, the talent was spread a little thin).

Have a hunt back through your season guides of the time and check out this itinerary. The start of February showcased the World Sevens, spread across Lang Park and the SFS. The Toohey’s Challenge knock-out competition then took us through until the start of March.

Straight after that the final Winfield Cup began, with a 22 round competition. City vs Country and State of Origin took place as per current day. Once those were finished, a full three test series between Australia and New Zealand took place on home soil for the Aussies. The Winfield Cup ended with a top eight for the first time and we finished with a World Cup throughout October.

As a 14 year old who had been an avid league supporter for a couple of years, the season seemed too good to be true. Add to this my beloved Newcastle Knights began to click and looked real premiership contenders.

The Superleague saga did not completely wreck the season, however. State of Origin was remarkable for Queensland’s amazing 3-0 victory, despite a side decimated by omitted Superleague players. It was an extremely entertaining series, with all three matches closely fought, and attacking football the order of the day.

The Trans-Tasman series was similarly sans-Superleaguers, but amazingly Australia defied the odds to inflict three thumping wins over the full-strength Kiwis. They won the World Cup in similar circumstances, although by lesser margins, as New Zealand and England pushed the defending champs to the limit.

Somewhere between 1995 and now, the NRL competition has become the hulking monolith of the rugby league season. So much of the variety and excitement of the season we witnessed in 1995 is gone. State of Origin has survived intact during this period, and probably grown in importance - now eclipsing even the NRL in terms of importance. The City Country clash was re-established in 2001, but now excludes the best players.

The post-season international series made a welcome comeback from 2004 to 2006, in the form of the Tri Nations. Encasing an impressive seven matches for each tournament, it has only been dampened by the withdrawal of players who opt for off-season surgery, rather than represent their country.

The mid-season test series, the pre-season competition and the sevens (bar a brief and somewhat half hearted two-year long resurrection) have never been sighted again. And personally, I think it’s a damn shame.

Sure, winning the premiership is the pinnacle, but that doesn’t mean we can’t intersperse it, break it up and create a bit of variety.

Is it totally necessary to have 26 rounds of the NRL in order to rank them teams and find a top-eight? There would be no difference in playing 22 – let’s face it, add on one more round to most seasons and you would come up with a couple of different teams in the semi finals.

The 1995 additions would add interest, a bit of colour to what can be a long slog of a season, and with television rights up for grabs, should not result in a reduction if television revenue.

The sevens and pre-season competition would give teams something to aim for other than a premiership, which is realistically out of reach for 12 or so sides. The mid-season test series would promote the importance of the international game.

1995 was the last great season, in my opinion. I’d love to see another like it.

Freddo

Freddo runs out onto the field, for perhaps the last time this year!

749 below the line

########################

The keys to success

With just a few weeks until the NRL finals are upon us, we realistically have 11 teams that could make the 8, while mathematically we have 13 still within striking distance. Having today completed the NRL ladder predictor, I can’t really see the top 8 changing too much, if at all by the time week one of the finals are upon us. I believe the year will come down to a Manly vs Storm grand final with the Storm taking the ultimate prize once again. The only team capable of spoiling the party I believe is Cronulla, who have improved greatly from last year, in that this year they look a side that has semi final, perhaps grand final written all over them. Going from a side unable to win a close game, to this year becoming the best side in the comp when the game comes down to the wire, you can confidently call a Cronulla victory. Where attack wins regular season games, it is defence that stands tall in the finals. However all teams (currently in the top 8, for arguments sake) hold keys to their success, in that on any day, if particular players fire and play a good game, it goes a long way to gaining a victory for their club, the same can be said if they have a bad day, suddenly the team game we all know and love boils down to whether a couple of players have a good game. It is a lot of pressure to allocate, some seem to know of their importance, while I believe other players go about their job, not realising the importance they hold to the team. I believe each team provides an internal key, as well as an external key.

Manly – Matt Orford, the external key, with all the pressure and expectations falling on his shoulder, it is further compounded with the media labelling him a big game choker. The internal key can be debated, but personally I believe it to be Glenn Stewart, a massive improver from the previous year, leaving his more fancied backrow partners to now follow his lead.

Storm – Let’s be honest right now, the Storm have no internal key, such is the quality of their roster. The Melbourne Storm possesses one of the best rosters the game has ever seen, and while they now sit in second place, I can’t see any team beating them.

Sharks – The ever-loved Brett Kimmorley, despite his haters, is the key to Cronulla. Not loved by either the coach or the fans has Brett moving on, but he is, this year, their best player. Internally Kearney a South’s reject has become the go to man, providing inspiration to his teammates by always having a go, putting his body on the line.

Roosters – Big Willie provides the external key with his words in the media, as well as being a target for his opposition, if he can dominate, the Roosters can. Internally it falls on Fitzgibbon who provides the heart, leading by example.

Broncos – Darren Lockyer, enough said. Internally Sam Thaiday provides the key with his strong running, offloads and general presence. A team I always expect to fade away, but through their fight remain one of the toughest sides in the competition.

Raiders – Externally Alan Tongue has taken over the role vacated by so many that have come before him, providing the inspiration with his never say die attitude. Internally Terry Campese has stood tall during the recent off field dramas, finally putting the years of reserve grade football behind him.

Dragons – Mark Gasnier the external key, ever dangerous, striking from anywhere. Hornby is the internal key, able to inject himself into any position, with relative ease, this creates doubt in the opposition, which can only be a good thing for the Dragons.

Knights – In years gone by it would be Johns, or even Buderus but a new era has dawned on Newcastle and it is now Kurt Gidley who reins supreme, with his determination and strength the inspiration the other players thrive on. Paterson provides the internal ability of the team with his attack and in particular his ball skills able to create chances out of nothing.

While each team may have a shot at winning the competition, Melbourne remains streets ahead of the others, with Manly looking certain to claim second place, behind a gritty Cronulla, who once again fall short

Hallatia

Hallatia makes a last ditch effort for the line for the Ninjas

EVERY man and his dog seems to have an opinion about the departure of Sonnny Bill Williams but does anybody even try to sound rational anymore?

What Williams offered league fans by agreeing to an interview for the footy show last Thursday was an opportunity to understand his mindset but it seems everyone just wanted to stick to their initial perceptions on the whole situation.

We can attempt to judge him, but do we have any right to seeing we’re unwilling to attempt to understand. Can you honestly say, you watched that interview with an open mind?

It’s true he walked out on a legally binding agreement, but how much does that mean? A contract is a legally binding promise; players make promises all the time letting down thousands of fans and their team mates.

Consider his options. He could have stayed with the dogs, where he was unhappy and getting paid less than quarter of his worth like many other players are, where he was tied into a five year contract and where he felt victimised and misunderstood by his mentor, Steve Folkes.

He made some great points in the interview none so important as; the game is in trouble and he has brought to the surface many underlying problems.

I am a huge fan of Mark Gasnier and it bothers me that there was not a bigger effort made to retain Gaz. However, the unfortunate truth is that there was not much anybody could do about it, the current state of the NRL quite simply fails to compete with what other options can offer, thus making the opportunity cost of playing rugby league for any of our elite footballers really high.

For league players there are very few options after the game, the kid wants to know that he is set up for life after footy, he was unhappy at the dogs and he flew away. In two years in France Sonny will make the same money he would have in five at the dogs.

Players are bound by their contract, shackled, however, a club can decide whenever they want to dump a player, Sonny compared players to cattle in the interview, I see his point, a footballer is a commodity bought and sold and owned, they even have expiry dates.

Even if it was for the money, the salary cap is a farce, it doesn’t keep the game even it holds it back, because the idea of playing overseas becomes so appealing.

When I first heard the news, I refused to take it on face value, it just didn't make sense I waited for the whole story and when it was offered, I listened and while I don’t endorse his actions, I understand a little.

With the NRL in its current state not many players get paid what they’re worth, luckily there is a lot more to it than the money. The truth is the salary for most rugby league players is pretty decent by our standards that is why we scoff at athletes going where there is more money, but we cannot measure it by the salary standards of average Joe, Average Joe is "just above broke". Rugby League players, particularly of the caliber of Sonny Bill Williams are professional athletes, meaning their salaries should only be measured by the standard of professional athletes.

Not being paid what you are worth is an insult, particularly when you feel an obligation to a club due to loyalty; it is simply not fair that clubs can do this to players. But they can, as fans of the game, who do we care about, the officials or the players? We don't go around cheering for CEOs.

Is there enough incentive for our elite to stay in the NRL? Unfortunately not, so what are we doing about it? Making them feel a sense of obligation and treating them like crap.

They are being treated worse than cattle, because so much is expected of them and they do not get the return for it, yet it is the players who generate the revenue for the teams, they are the human capital. The players are the product, the NRL markets them and it is their image which sells the game.

Loving the game is not enough to keep you in it, you need to feel like you belong and know you’re treated with respect, Williams didn’t feel that so he left and good for him he did what he thought was right.

750 words

Nice work by the Dragons to finish their F7s season with 5 out of 5. And the Ninjas also all turning up with their season on the line, needing the win to make the finals.

Best of luck to all.

Pistol

Hmm *looks at assigned referee*, its me :shock:.

Not to worry Dragons and Ninjas, marks will be delivered tomorrow