Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 9 | Roosters 24-6 Knights @ Allianz | Sunday 3pm

R9 result :: Roosters vs Knights

bluesbreaker

I agree 1000%. In my opinion he's the best example of an organizing halfback in the comp. Him or DTE I guess... Happy to eat humble pie on that Finchy-looking motherf**ker. Sensational player.

RABK

2014 side.

1. Darius Boyd
2. James McManus
3. Siuatonga Likiliki
4. Israel Falou
5. Akuila Uate
6. Jarrod Mullen
7. Mitchell Pearce
8. Kade Snowden
9. Matt Ballin
10. Korbin Sims
11. Beau Scott
12. Chris Houston
13. Greg Bird

14. Kurt Gidley
15. Willie Mason
16. Kyle O'Donnell
17. Neville Costigan

:p

mozza91

Pearce is a much better defender than Mullen. He's got a lot of Joey in him about his defense, front on he is excellent.

I guess mullen is faster but that would be th only thing he has over pearcey.
In past years maybe, Mullen's defence has been faultless this year, he's putting big blokes on their asses consistently.

Frederick

2014 side.

1. Darius Boyd
2. James McManus
3. Siuatonga Likiliki
4. Israel Falou
5. Akuila Uate
6. Jarrod Mullen
7. Mitchell Pearce
8. Kade Snowden
9. Matt Ballin
10. Korbin Sims
11. Beau Scott
12. Chris Houston
13. Greg Bird

14. Kurt Gidley
15. Willie Mason
16. Kyle O'Donnell
17. Neville Costigan

:p
No room for SBW in the top 17?

If Mullo gets over the top of Pearce then it will be intreresting to see which way Stuart goes with the halves. Mullen literally needs to dominate peacre but the forwards need to give him that chance. I believe Mullen is still abig chance and this is why. Last week Peacre did not shut St george down in the last 8 minutes. Pearce cannot shut down games under pressure. Mullo probably is in the same boat. Killing the game is essential against a Queensland mentality that does not relent given the slightest chance.

The winner of this duel may well decide the halfback spot. The real question is does Mullen's superb defence hold him in the game still. Mullen gets 80 minutes on the weekend to show why he belongs in origin as the perfect compliment to Carney's explosive attack. I think Mullen is a better option cos Pearce will want the ball far too often and take Carney out of the game. I think quietly stuart wants Mullen to displace Pearce through sheer desire and form. For no other reason than to just finally have someone grab the origin concept as being about giving it everything cos you want it more.

Pearce has one win from six starts. Horrendous stats for an origin half. It is a joke that he gets another shot without being put out to pasture to improve his reason for being there. Somewhere inside Jarrod Mullen lies the player who can be the pain in Queenslands arse. Stuart needs to roll the dice. Not rely on the safe bet becuase he has allegedly no other options. Hell if it was my call it would be Wallace but he appears to have been brushed completely. Mullen can do the job. I think we are being too harsh when we say he can't get there again. It was origin 2007 that started his problems anyway. The kid wants the chance to redeem himself. Redemption is the strongest force on earth if you are chasing it.

Pearce will be the first NSW half picked until he retires its a shame because his terrible but its just one of those things!

Joker's Wild

lol Pearce isnt terrible at all. He is a very well rounded halfback and has had the unlucky fortune to come through the NSW ranks at a time where Qld have dominated. His club is also struggling under a coach that fails to get the best out of his players long term, we as Knights fans know that better than most.

If Pearce was on the market tomorrow half the teams in the comp would be making him offers, including the Knights

Rod

I rate Pearce. I think he gets a bad rap on here.

If we were to sign him (hypothetically), Mullen would be the perfect foil for him. Just like Carney was for him in 2010.

Big Tim

Bit of a mancrush JW?

His about the most uninspiring uncreative hb going around.

Cooper Cronk is also uncreative, but people line up to slobber on his privates.

This team, especially under Bennett, needs an organiser. As much as I hate to say it, Pearce would be a perfect fit in a Bennett coached team.

lol Pearce isnt terrible at all. He is a very well rounded halfback and has had the unlucky fortune to come through the NSW ranks at a time where Qld have dominated. His club is also struggling under a coach that fails to get the best out of his players long term, we as Knights fans know that better than most.

If Pearce was on the market tomorrow half the teams in the comp would be making him offers, including the Knights

It his origin record that i adressed. Clear as day. Don't turn it into something it is not. Of course we may have an interest a club level. Pearce is a talent. He has had his chances at origin level. He failed to this point. I think Stuart is panicking big time. Whingeing about going to Melbourne shows me a man who does not believe we can win. His passion is a mask of a lack of confidence.

Joker's Wild

Bit of a mancrush JW?

His about the most uninspiring uncreative hb going around.

Not at all, I just dont buy into all the bullshit about his so called lack of talent.

As for your 2nd line there, well I could name plenty of HBs who are more "Uncreative" as you say. Wallace, Robson, Walsh, Hornby, McCrone, Reynolds, Keating and our very own Gidley all come to the top of my head. Hell, even Cronk can be thrown into that catagory too if we are being fair dinkum.

The Showstopper said:
It his origin record that i adressed. Clear as day. Don't turn it into something it is not. Of course we may have an interest a club level. Pearce is a talent. He has had his chances at origin level. He failed to this point. I think Stuart is panicking big time. Whingeing about going to Melbourne shows me a man who does not believe we can win. His passion is a mask of a lack of confidence.

Settle down mate, my post was in reply to Frances calling him "Terrible", not you.

Since you bring it up though, who do NSW go with if not Pearce? Every other NSW eligible HB would either be a step sideways (Wallace, Hornby) or a step down (Everyone else) from Pearce. Sad as it is, he is our best and we just have to deal with it

Yosh

Pearce might have lost 5 of 6 games but you couldn't blame him for any of them. He isn't Joey but he'll do a better job than Mullen.

he will definitely do a better job than Mullen as a #7. we can put the Mullen as a halfback subplot to bed for good, i think. it's over, he's finally a 5/8th. i can only imagine him playing halfback in desperate injury situations now.

Serc

Weather looking fantastic for Sunday arvo...I reckon we will win too :) saw some odds yesterday and they had us at $2.30 and the Roosters at $1.60. Definitely worth having a look at if you are a betting man!

Mullen's defence is overrated and Pearce's is underrated. There is not the massive difference between them that people are implying.

Pearce will be the first NSW half picked until he retires its a shame because his terrible but its just one of those things!

Not at all, I just dont buy into all the bullshit about his so called lack of talent.

As for your 2nd line there, well I could name plenty of HBs who are more "Uncreative" as you say. Wallace, Robson, Walsh, Hornby, McCrone, Reynolds, Keating and our very own Gidley all come to the top of my head. Hell, even Cronk can be thrown into that catagory too if we are being fair dinkum.

Settle down mate, my post was in reply to Frances calling him "Terrible", not you.

Since you bring it up though, who do NSW go with if not Pearce? Every other NSW eligible HB would either be a step sideways (Wallace, Hornby) or a step down (Everyone else) from Pearce. Sad as it is, he is our best and we just have to deal with it

Terrible at state level, his just not a rep player.

Players like Wallace, Mullen and Pearce are all very good in regards to club footy but there game just isn't at that level.

Yosh

Terrible at state level, his just not a rep player.

Players like Wallace, Mullen and Pearce are all very good in regards to club footy but there game just isn't at that level.

I thought Pearce was okay.

I think Wallace can be very good as well.

Spot On

I refuse to rate any half that has played behind the NSW pack the last 6 years. They have had little time or space to do a great deal of impressing. We can only hope that Tamou, Merrin and ????? give Gal some support and rip in this year. They must get over the QLD rotation. Maybe then we'll see if Pearce has what it takes.

Just a side bit, but origin related, I heard a story about the late Artie Beetson a while back. Many years ago he told an audience at a function that he believed that the new crop of young QLD Origin players coming through were good enough to win 8 series straight. The year he said that - pre 2006!

Rolla

Tuimavave out, Cuthbertson in. Fa'aoso onto the bench.

With mason and Faas we have some impact on the bench. Mckinnon and Eddy the other two benchies. Lets hope we don't lose a half or hooker through the game