Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rugby Australia to target top NRL talent

Gobsmacked

Are people suddenly realising most sports journos are just speculating and making stuff up? It’s like whenever James Hooper speaks about a player’s contract amount. You know he’s making it up, the rest of the panel knows he is making it up, he knows everyone knows he is making it up, but we all just play along.
Cause it's fun ..

T to the T

The Lolabies just lost the final chance for Union to be relevant in this country.

They'll be lucky not to be broke before their world cup.

Praise be to Yeoweh.
Conceding a try against a poor Lions side in the last minute, throwing away an 18 point lead and not just losing the series, but all the added hype, interest and media coverage a season decided would bring. Golden decade starting off well!

Munky

Conceding a try against a poor Lions side in the last minute, throwing away an 18 point lead and not just losing the series, but all the added hype, interest and media coverage a season decided would bring. Golden decade starting off well!

I didn't know it was eighteen points.

That's 2023 Broncos level of f**k up.

T to the T

Is there a GreenAndGold meltdown thread?

Shouldnt be dependent on this but it probably is. Think Rugby is basically done now.
It sounds ridiculous but after the game I genuinely thought: “why do I even bother?”

I’m 30 and one by one all of the friends that I used to watch rugby with have moved on over the years, as they can’t handle the officiating and the disappointment.

Then I flick over to Reddit and I see every other nation belittling us in a way that no one else in world rugby ever really cops it, and it is really apparent to me that no one sport that I watch ever makes me feel this way.

I know I’m being a sook but eventually you have to ask why you continue to tune in.

I honestly reckon that one was the end of professional rugby Aus.
Yeah it just feels like no matter what, rugby still shoots itself in the foot with the referees interpretation.

Well yeah it’s a huge shame they go to Sydney and it will have absolutely zero traction. It’ll be 75% lions fans with everyone hocking off tickets.

Talk about a referee with ZERO idea for feel for a game and a series. A decision that could have definitely been a penalty to Australia and make it 1-1 and into a decider next week. He decides to ruin the game and award the Lions the series off a 50/50 call. That will turn so many people away from the game . PATHETIC!!

Just think of the build-up to next week, had the Wallabies snuck away with the W. Very deflating.

Sua'ali'i is the most expensive player who can't tackle in the world

He is the highest paid player in rugby in Aus and we lost player because of it
And the highest paid player in Aus footy codes so rightly so should he have pressure if he fails

tbh he was only average at league as well

Feeling for you! I’m absolutely crushed at home. And now have to rock up to a game 3 in Sydney I couldn’t give a shit about anymore.

Leighton Rhino

There was a journalist on NRL 360 who said directly that thier sources say that this is absolutely nothing to worry about and will never get off the ground- so top marks to him ( fat bald bloke with glasses) , he gained credibility from me because of it.

Not sure any of us were we worried....it would have been union rules.... That in itself puts if any new viewers

Vlad59

I saw 30 minutes of this game. It was probably better than the usual union offerings but the endless stoppages kill it as entertainment. The loss will break rugby Australia’s heart. Enjoy!

Wb1234

Tindall was a recent invitee to origin which seems a bit dumb

Wonder how being involved with the lions nothing is being mentioned about him signing union players

Maybe the saudis changed their mind and union now is a top 20 sport for them lol

BODISGOD

The difference from LIV here or even a Super League War is that the rugby authorities haven't ruled out working with this lot. I'd have an issue with players (like with LIV) going against the wider game ultimately but you can't blame anyone for talking if stupid money is being talked about.

I will say there does seem to be more buzz on this from the Aussie media on specific players which did suggest this was possibly just players angling for better NRL contracts. That said, the Daily Mail have now ran an article claiming England players are lined up and they have the Glazers / Fenway Sports and a tv deal on the table. I remain extremely dubious (why would Fenway Sports bother waiting for this when they could easily have invested in rugby before?!), I don't see how this makes money or has any commercial sense to it. The only thing is maybe the PIF got pissed off that Qatar got involved with the Nations Cup and are again happy to lose money. I could see Sky in the UK looking to buy the rights as the July-September window is what makes most sense for them to show rugby. It's not TNT Sports anyway as they have said they think the idea is a joke.