Ron's_Mate
So you don't have to listen to the f**kwit commentators whinging about whatever that nights complaints are.Why would you go watch footy at the pub without sound.
Lived in Canberra for 3 years but I prefer to watch origin at home.
That said, everywhere puts on a big night for origin. The Dock would be good but you would need to book a table. I imagine a place like Hopscotch would probably erect a big outdoor screen, although not normally a noted sports bar. King O’Malleys is always good for sport. Grease Monkey would be good but again, it’s small and you would need to book. The lighthouse always advertise for origin but it’s a bit out of town if you were staying near the city
I’ve said for years there is a market there that is waiting for someone to own. Sydney needs someone to open a “rugby league pub”. Framed jerseys on the wall. NRL bunting. Half priced beers if you’re in a jersey. FOX NRL on 24/7. Make it THE place to go and watch the footy. Surely a pub like that would do well?
The duxton in Canberra also does a meal deal for raiders home games, where you get bus to and from the pub and entry to the game included in your meal, meals range from $21-$40.
Wasn't that what triggered the Cronulla riots?? Some merkin wanted the A-League on the big screen at Woollooware Bowlo and bang, it was on for young and old ..Don’t ask for soccer whatever you do!
The ranch. Once upon a time it was called 'el ranchos',or more accurately, 'el punchos'.The ranch at marsfield is pretty good. Big screen that has always had the NRL on in the 12 months it’s been my local. Gets pretty packed on Sunday arvo’s though. You won’t get a decent spot on the sundays when UFC is on unless you’re there at midday.
$6 pints after 5 on fridays.
IncorrectWasn't that what triggered the Cronulla riots?? Some merkin wanted the A-League on the big screen at Woollooware Bowlo and bang, it was on for young and old ..
Sydney, Randwick LGA:
- The Regent Hotel. Decent sized screens and sound usually on in the top bar. NRL always on. Decent food and beer.
- Coogee Bay Hotel. Dedicated sports bar with lots of screens. NRL always on. Decent food and beer.
Canberra, City:
PJs - City
PJs shades KingOs for NRL due to TV Screen Size and large front room layout. Beers are better priced as well.
Canberra, inner north:
The Duxton - Turner
Have a beer at the former all bar nun where Toddy C peed on a bloke and got sacked. A bonafide Rugby League Venue.
Its all new here now with beers and pub grub all night. Many tvs and comfortable.
The duxton is also a very short walk from the Ruc bowls club.
The Ruc - Turner
The Rugby Untion Club took over the Turner Bowls Club and made it way better. Plenty of cold beers, screens and three bowling greens for barefoot in the summer.
Ducks Nuts - Dickson
Was Oneals. Owned by the former Raiders CEO.
Now more trendy. Good TV viewing angles. Dedicated UFC coverage if that is your thing. Young Henrys and Mountain Goat on Tap as well. Duck Pancakes are a good appetiser.
Canberra, inner south:
The Dock - Kingston Foreshore
Many dedicated NRL screens. Good beer on tap. Trendy atmosphere. Chicken Wings are really good. Sweet Potato fries also a good appetiser.
Hale and Mary - Kingston
Hale and Mary have f**ktons of screens, good beer and for mine do the best superbowl monday in canberra. NRL is also well put on at this bar.
Endorse this post. Particular PJ's over KIngO's
KingO's is sneaky shit. Hale + Mary is definitely the spot for sports in Canberra.
Endorse this post. Particular PJ's over KIngO's
KingO's is sneaky shit. Hale + Mary is definitely the spot for sports in Canberra.
PJs is definitely better than KingO's.
Debacle is good if they have the projector going, not so much a pub but as a result it's often more relaxed and the food and beer (or wine) is bloody good. Will always prefer to show the Brumbies, though, so useless on those nights. Bonus points because the owner hates AFL.
Civic Pub is underrated IMO. especially since it's been actively trying to shake the scummy image. Was my local when I lived in Braddon, solid spot.
Haven't been to Hale and Mary yet, but I've noticed a lot of folks starting to stay around Woden in the Abode and whatever the f**k that other place on the corner near the pool is called. Must be cheap for businesses to put folks up there or something.
Anyway if that's the case, Hellenic Club is the go for footy. Screens all over the place, great range of beers, good Chinese restaurant (with screens) upstairs and good bistro food downstairs, plus it's 60 seconds walk from either of the hotels.
I didn't put debacle on because they turned off the rugby league and turned off the projector on us watching some panthers vs knights game when the game was close.
that staff member had the people skills of a hornet.
Will be in Phuket for game 3 of origin.
Any suggestions??
Depends where in Phuket. There's an Aussie owned bar in Patong, I can't for the life of me remember what it's called though.
Wasn't hard to find the footy in Patong tbh