Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

****Rumour Only - from Rugby League Review****

Take it for what it is - a rumour only.

Source = The Shadow Rugby League Review July 2004 Edition

A Chief Executive from a Sydney-based club will be shown the door once the season has been completed.

His club has not been setting the world on fire and the talk at the Cobalt club is that the board of directors have already made the decision for him to walk in a few months.

And once he's gone, the same fate will follow for the under-performing coach.

Well it's either got to be Parramatta or Manly. I'd say that they'd have to referring to us.

Well Cobalt is generally referred to as the colour blue.

However, as I said take it as the rumour it is.

True EEL

geez i hope thats referring to our club.....as "they" both need to go.....

if we can sign these players (ie. Tahu, Stringer and Morrison) and then get a new coaching "regime" in place i'll be happy

True EEL said:
if we can sign these players (ie. Tahu, Stringer and Morrison) and then get a new coaching "regime" in place i'll be happy

**Acknowledging that it is a rumour**

Would these players want to come to the club if it will be that unsettled (ie. they will have no idea who the coach will be)???

Y2Eel

if this rumour is true lets go through the sides it could be....

Roosters Ricky is going to good

Bulldogs coach has had a few probs may be losing club captain but team is performing...

Broncos performing well this season

Storm belamy is doing another top job

Panthers under performing but have alot of injuries cant be them

Dragons brown finally has good side on park

Raiders hitting their straps doesnt look like it will be them

Sharks new coach already performing well

Cowboys see raiders

Knights under performing but doent have job nup not them

Tigers they suck but sheens has got 6 year plan like smith so not them just yet

Rabbitohs new coach already and new one next year...

Warriors new coach already

Sea Eagles they suck coach is crap playining staff is the same could be them but have new owner who owns 50% and runs the board so maybe it wont be them...

Eels comes down to us and manly as under achievers fitzgerald has been at helm for 20 years and counting (was it ray price who said we wont win a prem with fitzy as head?)

Hurriflatch

Intresting if proven to be true.

But I wonder what the success rate is of that person.

Both the Mole in RLW and Tony Peter's have a very poor success rate not sure about this guy

Cobalt means a deep blue (greeny-blue) colour, so that's part of the message the Shadow was trying to put out...

I don't believe that "Fitzy's board" would have the nerve, but stranger things have happened I guess?

If it were to happen it would probably be one of the biggest league stories in recent times.

Fitzy is a dynasty there....Smith is a 200 game coach for the club.

This would be enormous news....regardless of whether you are in favour of it or not.

I reckon its a load of crap - I don't believe they would boot either of them.

Despite all the bullshit "player polls", slander, etc etc, we are still looking likely (fingers crossed, touch wood) to sign 3 of the top free agents on the market: Riddell, Tahu, Morrison....if that comes off then I believe it will be one of the best signing sprees we have had and I think everyone can brand the RLW player poll as a complete load of shite

True EEL

Belly in Brisvegas said:
True EEL said:

**Acknowledging that it is a rumour**

Would these players want to come to the club if it will be that unsettled (ie. they will have no idea who the coach will be)???

i don't think that would be an issue, as it would be a fresh start for them anyway, so all the fresher if you know what i mean if there was a new coach and CEO as well??????

strider said:
I reckon its a load of crap - I don't believe they would boot either of them.

Despite all the bullsh*t "player polls", slander, etc etc, we are still looking likely (fingers crossed, touch wood) to sign 3 of the top free agents on the market: Riddell, Tahu, Morrison....if that comes off then I believe it will be one of the best signing sprees we have had and I think everyone can brand the RLW player poll as a complete load of sh*te

I'm with you on this as in all honesty I don't think they would however stranger things have happened. I'd be very surprised to see Fitzy go especially after how long he has been at the club.....

Currently, would Nick Politis be the 2nd longest serving CEO in the game behind Fitzy??

If so, how long has he been in charge at the Roosters?

Going through my head I think most of the CEOs around the place have not been in their jobs (ie. club that they are at now) for very long???

The CEO's have changed quite a lot - Parramatta and the Roosters would have to be the two who haven't changed as long as I can remember.

This reference to "Cobalt club".....if it was just referring to a colour (of a jersey), why would cobalt start with a capital "C".....its not some bloody night club this dude hangs out at is it? :lol:

...talk at the Cobalt club...

Could be just some club someone hangs out at in a drug induced state - and they were talking about footy :lol:

Glenn

Hmmm Fitzy shown the door, yikes Hell must be about to freeze over :lol:

Well, if true, it is obviously Parramatta.

I mean Manly ARE under-performing, but they have a new coach and let's face it - they did start the year off well and have only in recent weeks slumped badly.

Considering their roster and coach, they have done OK this year.

All the other clubs have been sorted by Y2Eel.

Just leaves Parramatta.

Although, as someone else mentioned, would it be clever to sign all these players and then get a new coach?