Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed Signings with added crap - XXVI

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...-parramatta-eels/story-fnp0lyn3-1227615873715

Then wtf is he claiming ?

Generally if there is a SOC then they have to justify the amount and without mentioning the so called lost wages, I dont see how they could justify any amount, then again I am no legal eagle.

Cos this is breach of contact claim. So they would be asking the court to put the claimant back in the same position as if the requirements of the contract had been performed. Unspecified damages. Actual losses + costs.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...-parramatta-eels/story-fnp0lyn3-1227615873715

Then wtf is he claiming ?

Generally if there is a SOC then they have to justify the amount and without mentioning the so called lost wages, I dont see how they could justify any amount, then again I am no legal eagle.

A statement of claim does not have to be for a fixed amount of money. And given the uncertainty regarding the magnitude of any 'damages', and the fact that it is a contract that at the time of the claim was unperformed (i.e. Hoppa hadn't yet done any work under that 'contract', and the club hadn't paid him under that 'contract') it is not entirely surprising. The club have made it clear that they do not intend to honour the original 'agreements'.

Bigfella

neither should he

He' s not seeking both alternatives. He is suing for money, not his position.

You want us to be able to defend the claim by arguing there is no contract, then if we lose, say righto then there's a contract after all so he has to come and play for us.

Your point makes no sense, which is no doubt why Twizzle repeated it immediately.

A statement of claim does not have to be for a fixed amount of money. And given the uncertainty regarding the magnitude of any 'damages', and the fact that it is a contract that at the time of the claim was unperformed (i.e. Hoppa hadn't yet done any work under that 'contract', and the club hadn't paid him under that 'contract') it is not entirely surprising. The club have made it clear that they do not intend to honour the original 'agreements'.

I've been involved with a few and had to justify the amounts not only in the statement but to a magistrate and head to provide copies of documents.

These were civil claims but I dont know if its similar to this sort of claim.

Nothing is surprising when it comes to the Eels.

TheRam

And many of you guys pay me out for trashing our management. We are a joke.

As for the too many Islanders thing, I'm glad the coach sees it my way, although he nor anyone else at the club would never admit to it.

TheRam

The Ram is owed an apology... whilst the lead-in to the statement was tongue in cheek, it was so no one later accused me of stating FACT when I was in fact, just stating something I understand to be true. There was no satire or sarcasm intended in the actual comment about Haynes manager and his accountant.

And we all know Beavis is Haynes manager, does anyone know who his accountant is (apart from Stagger and I)?

Don't sweat it emjaycee, I don't care what any of these clowns have to say, when all they offer are excuses.

TheRam

Agree with your post except for the following.... "Just enjoy being the underdog."
Mate, there's only so long anyone can enjoy being that.
That's why I appreciate Ram's posts.
He's had enough of being lame.
I get the impression that there's only so much crap some fans can take.
We SHOULD be a powerhouse, but the year after year of pathetic management of this organisation has been nothing more than an embarrassment to the NRL.
I don't blame RAM for his posts. He's one of the few on this site to actually tell it how it is.
In the meantime, lame pricks continue to defend the inadequate running of this potentially mighty club.
We have such a huge following, yet it is being bastardised by the clowns running the show.

Not good enough.

Thank you Suitman, I couldn't have said it any better myself...Oh wait, I think I may have a bazillion times again. But again, thank you, it is much appreciated.

TheRam

That's why I like your posts.
I'm sick of the f**king do-gooders on this site who will defend the Eels till the day they die.
We are trying to do something about this shit now, but fair dinkum, I still have no faith that we are run by professionals. We are run by part timers.
And we'll continue to be a part time club and an embarrassment until we get some decent businessmen on board. Where they'll come from - god only knows.
The potential of the Eels is enormous.

Again spot on mate.

I've been involved with a few and had to justify the amounts not only in the statement but to a magistrate and head to provide copies of documents.

These were civil claims but I dont know if its similar to this sort of claim.

Nothing is surprising when it comes to the Eels.

Were you trying to establish proof of an existing debt?

And many of you guys pay me out for trashing our management. We are a joke.

As for the too many Islanders thing, I'm glad the coach sees it my way, although he nor anyone else at the club would never admit to it.

Don't sweat it emjaycee, I don't care what any of these clowns have to say, when all they offer are excuses.

Thank you Suitman, I couldn't have said it any better myself...Oh wait, I think I may have a bazillion times again. But again, thank you, it is much appreciated.

Are you really that dim??? Serious question.

But you were/are wrong.

Again spot on mate.

Chuckles is in a good mood again

i'm convinced you're permanently on your rags

I thought all the stuff about any offers to hoops being overs was all bullshit and that market forces would ensure no one gets paid more than they are worth?

You notice his value declined as the season wore on? Or else why did we retract the offer? Don't tell me you still think our salary cap is f**ked. The club recently stated they can afford to spend more on players for next year.

EelsFan05

Again spot on mate.

I agree, to a certain extent, that professional business people would be a welcome change. In saying that it did nothing for the NRL management. Smith botched nearly everything he touched. A nice balance of professional acumen and footy savvy would be great.

TheRam

Yeah. I don't have a problem with people complaining and agree entirely with you.

I do wonder though whether they really know how to fix the problems that they are complaining about. If they don't, then it isn't really helpful feedback but if they feel good after they have gotten it off their chest then more power to them.

And what does complaining on an online website do to help bring in decent businessmen? Would decent businessmen surround themselves with people who are constantly putting shit on them?

I don't complain online because it's pointless, I go to the Leagues Club every 2 years and make my vote as to who I think should be on the LC board who controls the PNRL so it doesn't matter what I write online.

See some may say it is pointless to constantly complain about something that appears to have no benifit in complaining about, but I think that is wrong.

To my way of thinking, if more people complained and tolerated less crap about things...services, politics, roads etc, and I mean really complained, then there would come a tipping point and ultimately something would change and fairly quickly.

But it needs for a real good pissed off and sustained whinge. Anything less is ignored by the powers that be, just like for example our politicians who have learned the art of fragmentation of the population to avoid real political unrest over taking them.

Well the same can definitely be said of our club. There are always going to be 5-10% of supporters like me who will stick it to them as long as they keep producing clangers like the Hopa affair and others, Foran affair anyone?

Then there will always be around 70-80% who acknowledge their short comings and cockups, but easily dismiss them and look for any positive because they see no upside or point in pursuing a negative or destructive(in their eyes) point of view. So mostly just turn a blind eye to it, and get annoyed with people that keep reminding them of it.

And finally there are the rest, the perennial optimists who never say a bad word or entertain the thought of a negative outburst in public and will always see a glass totally full kind of view point.

Needless to say I am of the pissed off whinger type that only goes by deeds and results not blustering or rhetoric. So therefore I will always whinge until we get it right and at the very least until then going off is one way of keeping me sane following this ridiculously amateurish mob, even if it is only on an internet footy site.

OMG are we still whinging about the whingers and those who whinge about their right to whinge ?

85 days to go. :crazy:

#3amigos