Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings 2011/2012

Glad you've somewhat changed your tune with Sandow. Whenever I now watch him play I have a big grin. The pressure will be on but I think he is the right man for the job.

I am still concerned by our lack of a back up option. History will show if I wear any egg.

I think Roberts will get first crack at 6 and if Morts doesn't force his way back into the side in 2011 year I reckon there will be a possibility of an early release or a tap on the shoulder.

If we go into next season without another option in the halves, McGuire has shown he isn't abe to handle the rigours of regular football in that position, we will keep Mortimer. Unless we find another option beforehand.

I am still concerned by our lack of a back up option. History will show if I wear any egg.

If we go into next season without another option in the halves, McGuire has shown he isn't abe to handle the rigours of regular football in that position, we will keep Mortimer. Unless we find another option beforehand.

Seage at 6 ?

Who gives a f**k if he doesn't need the money ? That is irrelevant.

It's entirely relevant because he comes under the cap for whatever he's being paid.

If he's coming back it's to help out his mates, not because he's chasing a paycheque.

He is a dual international.

He was a dual international. About a hundred years ago.

The NRL will not accept some minimal contract. You reckon if Lockyer comes back next year mid season that the NRL will allow a $55K contract because he doesn't need the money ?

Yes I do. Lockyer's already on peanuts and the NRL knows full well he'll be on a lot more money as part of the Broncos coaching staff next year.

If Rogers is coming back for minimum wage, the NRL will accept it because they have to. It's not like he's still any kind of superstar.

It's entirely relevant because he comes under the cap for whatever he's being paid.

If he's coming back it's to help out his mates, not because he's chasing a paycheque.

He was a dual international. About a hundred years ago.

Yes I do. Lockyer's already on peanuts and the NRL knows full well he'll be on a lot more money as part of the Broncos coaching staff next year.

If Rogers is coming back for minimum wage, the NRL will accept it because they have to. It's not like he's still any kind of superstar.

I disagree.

caylo

Pfft. You reckon he'd sign for a squad player's salary?

Wes is 28 and in career best form. I'd say for the next 2 years he will want a minimum of $200k. That's first grader's money.

he is a very good right centre, for 200K he is a bargin in this day and age. Most backs demand big dollars and for someone who is experianced, strong and quick he would be a great pick up.

Sure they can.

He was already retired so it's not like he needed the money. Plus he's only playing for half a season.

If I was the Titans there's no way I'd let Tonga go early.

Not even half the season. He'll get payment for 3 months which is what is left remaining of this season.

yy_cheng

Well if both Sandow and Roberts doesn't work, it probably will mean Hayne at 6. Finding someone to fill 1 is easier than finding someone to fill the 6.

No matter how badly Sandow plays, he will most likely get the 7 for at least a year.

6. Hayne
7. Sandow

Whereby Hayne is not camped on one side of the field.

We've got plenty a depth problem.

Wing
Centre
Halves
Hookers

Casper The Ghost

My son got this t-shirt @ Port Douglas markets.

000000-thumb-275x274-design-261.png

LOL :lol::lol::lol:

Casper The Ghost

Sorry boxy but I have to agree with Bigfella. If Roberts is our starting 5/8 next year I have great concerns for our attack. Sandow has developed nicely and I may well be wearing some egg on my face. Happy to admit it but Chris "Go it alone" Sandow may well need some backup that Roberts won't necessarily offer.
However, when it comes to Roberts it is far less to do with the coach then the player himself. He has yet to cement one true position in first grade and has been used at fullback, 5/8, halfback, hooker and imo his rightful position, 14. In other words he is like a Polynesian John Morris. He is enigmatic (if you aren't sure of the word look it up) and while he can have the odd good game he can have more than the odd bad game.

Fact is, Keating is keeping him in reserve grade. But then so has Josh Reynolds and if Aidan Sezer hadn't signed with the Titans then he would have as well.

I hope he can cement the starting role at Parramatta but precedents set in past seasons suggest this won't be the case.

I hope somewhere in the recruitment policy we have they are looking at another player capable of playing in the halves if the likes of Mortimer and Humble won't be used in that role. McGuire may well fill the 14. role if he is retained but I feel Roberts would be better served in that role.

6. Hayne and 7. Sandow would be my most preferred option.

Colonel, I consider you one of the most astute footy brains on this forum who does not get emotional caught up with players .i.e. making them out to be something more or less than the facts and here again in this post, I am agreeing with everything you say. But then, when it comes to forum members, you quickly reveal that there is a few screws loose which cause you to lose all sense of reality/fact. Why is that? Did you walk into a telegraph pole damaging only one side of the brain? Please explain this mental handicap. Maybe I can help!

Casper The Ghost

I don't think people have a right to blow up even if we don't do any more recruitment.

And my thoughts on this have nothing to do with who we have already signed - i think people have no right to complain about signings simply because it is impossible to know all the nuances in the recruitment process and to understand why certain players are or aren't signed.

Fans constantly bag players out, even thought there are many things that the fans can't see. They are not in a position to see the full effect a player has on his teammates. They can not see the skill that a player shows in training that has not yet transferred to the game. They are not aware of what the coaches instructions were and whether that player carried them out.

However, at least in these situations, a fan can see the players performance to some degree, as it is right there on the field every week. So, there is some justification when the fans bag out the players, though - due to the numerous things that they can't see - they are as often wrong as right.

BUT, when it comes to negotiations, the fans KNOW NOTHING. There are a million different things that can put off any negotiation, in any walk of life, and it is not the job of the Parramatta Eels recruiters to pay more than they think a player is worth, or acquiesce to player's (or his slimy agent's) requests if they don't think that he is worth it.

And that's just the money part. There is also the element of the character that you are bringing to the club, and whether they will compliment the current characters etc. (eg Brian Smith went out of is way to buy "talkers" before 2005, because he felt the team was too quiet on the field). Rugby League doesn't have a normal interview process - we don't advertise that we need a fast winger for example - so the negotiation is essentially the interview. If a player exhibits a certain character in the negotiation process, then the club may not want him, but another club may not see that character, or may want it.

If you actually find out what someone is paid and you think that they are overpaid, then perhaps you have a right to complain. And if the people at the club responsible for recruitment continually, year after year, give us an average squad, then perhaps we as fans should complain (as long as we are comfortable that we have the money to spend year after year). But apart from that I think fans should realise that they don't know squat about the recuitment processes.

Another realist, can you please close the windows & blinds, draw the curtains, close the doors and leave the lights off.
The brilliance is just too intense for this forum.
Excellent Post mate. :thumb