Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured Targets 3

Woody90

As a club, we only have two phases:
1) rebuilding.
2) working out that the current squad isn’t up to scratch.

There’s never a time where we have a squad with a 2-3 year window to challenge for the title. It’s just constantly rebuilding followed by disappointment.

This is exactly why I don’t understand the significant criticism of POS yet. What we’ve kept doing in the past (mostly overpaying average players that haven’t taken us anywhere ) clearly hasn’t worked. We’re actually got someone in charge now of recruitment with a good track record who’s trying to offload some of the bad contracts we’ve got on our books, let him do his job.

Just to be clear, I don’t think anyone has said they’re happy that KPP is leaving. We’re completely f**ked in the forwards next year regardless of whether he stays or not. Overpaying him out of desperation because we’re already so limited is exactly how we ended up paying him 750k to begin with. We’re f**ked either way. I’d much prefer us to put a line in the sand and refuse to overpay than succumb to a salary we’re not comfortable with to keep him on and still have a beyond average pack. That’s been our MO for decades and all it leads to is more clean outs. There’s a reason we have POS such a long contract. The club knew we were in trouble and he needs time.

slotmachine

Surely we pay KPP the 600k instead of having Cant play there week in week out?

With absolutely nothing to back this up I think they're being a lot more methodical with how they recruit.

Like they probably have $x assigned to the starting back row and if that means after paying Lucas they can only offer KPP $450k that's all they're going to offer, take it or leave it

HarVeeGee

Someone who will take 450k-ish I'd wager.

It sounds like the same deal with the middle signing too, they couldn't get Hazelton for the figure allocated so walked and are willing to move on from pahulu too.
It’s what you have to do.

Unfortunately, it’s a lot easier to do if you’re Melbourne or the Roosters.

The good news is POS has heaps of job security, so he’s not going to make decisions with protecting his job in mind. That’s where other clubs can get in to trouble - a recruitment guy justifies his job with headline signings. Paying $1.2 million for David Fifita at peak hype - there is no number which would have been too much to stop that signing being considered a coup. That’s a decision the recruiter makes to make themselves look good.

For better or worse, POS’ signature signing so far is one that the majority of the rugby league community thinks is insane & has pretty roundly criticised - paying all that money for Dylan Brown when his reputation as a player has never been lower. But he’s not bet his career on it. He’s here for as much of that 5 year deal as he likes I’d imagine.

Woody90

I’d be happy to promote from within with the back rowers. At least 1 of McEwen, ESL and Manulelua should kick on with another full preseason under their belts.

We should be looking at front rowers because we’re in much bigger need of a few decent ones.

I reckon Friz will stay too and he’s obviously another edge option.

I don't understand this argument - that the club can only hold one negotiation at a time, but this is the second time it's come up. You negotiate with other players. You have other options ready. You absolutely do not hold one negotiation with one bloke and just sit on your hands and wait for his answer at his leisure.

And to answer your last question, it sends a strong message to the player that he's not bigger than the club, that this is a business and that he can take it or leave it before we fill his position. This is professional footy, not a big cuddle puddle. He knows what we think he's worth, it's written on the contract we offered him.

You’re assuming that we haven’t been looking for a replacement. What are you basing that on? Just because Barry Toohey didn’t specifically name a back rower who were targeting?

These things are delicate. If you’re prioritising re-signing a guy who you think is valuable to your team then you don’t publicly go and find a replacement whilst that’s going on. To put it in layman’s terms. If you’re employer told you that they wanted you as a long term part of the company but you also knew they were looking for your replacement at the same time then you’d probably think “stuff this I’m out of here.”

What do you think POS does all day? He’s not in his office watching Seinfeld re-runs. He’s looking for ways to improve the squad. It’s absolutely not as simple as “oh well KPP is testing his value on the open market, I guess we’ll just sign a replacement next week”

I appreciate that people are frustrated with the way our roster is looking for next year but the idea that everyone at the club just sits there not doing anything about it is laughable. There are so many moving parts to this and there are 16 other clubs we’re competing with for player signatures, plus a bunch of super league clubs too, oh and occasionally rugby union, boxing and NFL too. And don’t get me started on the games that player managers play.

What we’ve kept doing in the past (mostly overpaying average players that haven’t taken us anywhere ) clearly hasn’t worked.
finally the penny has dropped

For better or worse, POS’ signature signing so far is one that the majority of the rugby league community thinks is insane & has pretty roundly criticised -
FOX and media is not the majority of the RL community. Hyperbole and turmoil is their job. Overs at the moment, but with 2 new clubs arriving, the signature will look a master stroke. The race to lock-up talent is about to enter frenzy stage.

Surely we pay KPP the 600k instead of having Cant play there week in week out?
precisely what has f**ked the cap. SOO backrowers Crichton and Martin are on 750K and he is NO WHERE in the same post code.

Yosh

finally the penny has dropped

FOX and media is not the majority of the RL community. Hyperbole and turmoil is their job. Overs at the moment, but with 2 new clubs arriving, the signature will look a master stroke. The race to lock-up talent is about to enter frenzy stage.

precisely what has f**ked the cap. SOO backrowers Crichton and Martin are on 750K and he is NO WHERE in the same post code.
We aren't near the same post code as the Panthers or Roosters either. We have to play a premium somewhere.

Also they have been at the club ages so they would have been happy to stay at lower wages the latest contract.

How many other clubs have SOO level backrowers at their club for 750k? You cherry picked the outliers to make your point.

Someone who will take 450k-ish I'd wager.

It sounds like the same deal with the middle signing too, they couldn't get Hazelton for the figure allocated so walked and are willing to move on from pahulu too.
This is great and all well and good, but how many spoons do they intend to procure in the meantime while we wait? One is already too many, but since we seem to lack the agility of more capable clubs in refreshing our roster - do we accept another one next year if they don't find someone? 2017? I can only assume there's going to be a whirlwind of value signings in the next few months - we need them.

And the reason why there's urgency in this, from me and others, is because ultimately I think losing Ponga isn't a good look for the club. Not just based on on-field stuff, but the optics of it are just awful and aren't going to help any with recruiting in the short to mid term. I honestly don't expect Kalyn to be on board with another "5 year plan".

And finally, if we've made the decision to go full rebuild, it's the perfect time for new coaching staff too. Hanging onto this clueless idiot makes zero sense if you're rebooting the roster. This prick walked into the place happy with the state of it. We were all happy with where we were at and our trajectory at the time and it has flatlined. The only reason to keep him on the books is financial and fans have every right to be f**ked off if that's the case too.