Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff XXX

Dibs

even if he wants $800k and Brooks is offered to us for $400k?

Brooks isn't worth even that much at the moment the way his playing but will probably end up getting more than that. Isn't there in option in his favour at the Tigers for over 500k

Brooks isn't half the player Norman is, and he would be wanting similar money.

We lost our best front rower, losing Norman would be an absolute failure as far as our retention goes. But of course Pou is happy for us to lose our best players.

Chipmunk

It's probably too late now. He took a risk waiting until he showed his best form and now his price is massive. He'll end up somewhere as the primary half.

We should sign one of the kids from Wests. At least their prices will be dropping.

Funnily enough I bought Mitchell Moses on my Rugby League Team Manager game for 2017. Initially I slotted him in at fullback until Beven French was ready though. Corey Norman's form fell away in the game though and he's been lucky to sit on the bench as the impact player.

Dibs

Funnily enough I bought Mitchell Moses on my Rugby League Team Manager game for 2017. Initially I slotted him in at fullback until Beven French was ready though. Corey Norman's form fell away in the game though and he's been lucky to sit on the bench as the impact player.

No not really funny. More irelevant

We lost our best front rower, losing Norman would be an absolute failure as far as our retention goes. But of course Pou is happy for us to lose our best players.

If he's half the player why would he get similar money you f**ken peanut?

:lol: Because he's overhyped to the max and the dearth of decent halves in the competition you f**king know it all f**k face :)

I mean an average footballer like Mybe is looking at 800k.

Joshuatheeel

True Norman is a lot better and there is no way you would pay the same for him as you would for Norman.

But don't forget Norman wasn't going that great 3 years ago when he signed a big contract with us, he was probably playing no better then what Brooks is playing now. And Brooks would be playing in a stronger eels side then what Norman started playing in.

It comes down to price and what cap space we have. If we have, lets say $1million to spend on a prop and half, I would happily sign brooks for $400-$500k and $500k for a prop, then Norman on $800k and $200k on a prop.

Joshuatheeel

Isn't there in option in his favour at the Tigers for over 500k

Yep, but if I was his manager I would be telling him, to worry about playing some good footy, pick a club with a good squad/coach and sign for 3 years rather then worrying about the size of his contract. As if he stays with tigers his next contract could be in the UK for f**k all and his career will be over.

The kid can play but I doubt staying at the Tigers will give him opportunity to develop to his full potential.

Joshuatheeel

People will really think we could sign Brooks on 400k??? lol

$400-$500k I reckon is possible. It's not like he has been offered huge money or he probably would have left the Tigers now.

He is only on $500k now I think, so if he had the option of staying with the Tigers or joining a strong club for similar money he may just decide to leave to progress his career.

I think Norman is doable. He wants to stay under BA and also he wants to stay and partner Foran.

I also dont think it will be too hard for him to attract TPAs with his current form.

On the down side his current form may encourage other clubs to pay overs and thats something we cant control but he may not necessarily go to the highest bidder as he has expressed his desire to stay.

Yep, but if I was his manager I would be telling him, to worry about playing some good footy, pick a club with a good squad/coach and sign for 3 years rather then worrying about the size of his contract. As if he stays with tigers his next contract could be in the UK for f**k all and his career will be over.

The kid can play but I doubt staying at the Tigers will give him opportunity to develop to his full potential.

Plus he is marketable, meaning he will pull good TPAs at our club. It's just the non-marketable players (like Ferguson, Watmough and Darius Boyd) that can only get big TPAs from clubs with rich fans.

I think Norman is doable. He wants to stay under BA and also he wants to stay and partner Foran.

I also dont think it will be too hard for him to attract TPAs with his current form.

On the down side his current form may encourage other clubs to pay overs and thats something we cant control but he may not necessarily go to the highest bidder as he has expressed his desire to stay.

"I want to stay" always includes the disclaimer "...for the right price." I'd say the right price is very close to whatever the highest offer is.

TheRam

You understand the key to remaining competitive is paying unders for as many players as possible and overs for as few as possible?

You understand that your proclivity for mediocrity in the halves and for possibly half the team, has gotten us nowhere over thirty years? Even when we had great teams under BS, we failed to win titles because our halves were always inferior to the better ones.

To replace one member of arguably the best halves combination in the NRL, for someone that would cost at least $6-700k and is a shadow of the player he is replacing is total illogical nonsense. These are the guys that we build around for the next 6 or 7 years mate.

If we do that we will be the envy of the NRL. If we don't we will be the envy of the Mediocraty Party and its leader YOU.

One of you best Pou. You been using to much of your own snow my friend. Me thinks you should ease off a little. It's doing you no favours.