Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff XXX

I reckon the club has French lined up for fullback - he has re-signed for a few years.

Yep. Not so much of a risk, considering he wouldn't be on huge money (I reckon he'd be on top 17 money - about $200k - in his final year), but whatever he's on next year there's the risk that he won't be ready. Injuries this year aren't helping his development unless he's doing his rehab with Steve Dank.

TheRam

True Norman is a lot better and there is no way you would pay the same for him as you would for Norman.

But don't forget Norman wasn't going that great 3 years ago when he signed a big contract with us, he was probably playing no better then what Brooks is playing now. And Brooks would be playing in a stronger eels side then what Norman started playing in.

It comes down to price and what cap space we have. If we have, lets say $1million to spend on a prop and half, I would happily sign brooks for $400-$500k and $500k for a prop, then Norman on $800k and $200k on a prop.

If you honestly think you would get either of the Tigers halves for 4-500k, you are as delusional as Pou.

You understand that your proclivity for mediocrity in the halves and for possibly half the team, has gotten us nowhere over thirty years? Even when we had great teams under BS, we failed to win titles because our halves were always inferior to the better ones.

To replace one member of arguably the best halves combination in the NRL, for someone that would cost at least $6-700k and is a shadow of the player he is replacing is total illogical nonsense. These are the guys that we build around for the next 6 or 7 years mate.

If we do that we will be the envy of the NRL. If we don't we will be the envy of the Mediocraty Party and its leader YOU.

One of you best Pou. You been using to much of your own snow my friend. Me thinks you should ease off a little. It's doing you no favours.

Supply and demand mate. You might not like the market but it's a reality. Footy players don't get paid how much they think they're worth, they get paid what the clubs think they're worth.

Brooks can hold out for as much as Norman's about to sign for, but he'll be unemployed unless he faces reality. Maybe you can help him get there.

$400-$500k I reckon is possible. It's not like he has been offered huge money or he probably would have left the Tigers now.

He is only on $500k now I think, so if he had the option of staying with the Tigers or joining a strong club for similar money he may just decide to leave to progress his career.
Mate have a look at some of the halves getting around in the NRL, he is the most overhyped footballer of the last 3 years. He's on over 500k now, you think he and his management will take a decent pay cut if he goes to open market???

He's still only 22 playing in a shit team with a crap pack, he could get 650k-700k easy.

yy_cheng

The Courier-Mail reported Coote’s two year extension is worth $1 million — well short of the reported $2.4 million four-year deal tabled by Sydney Roosters.

The Dragons and South Sydney also chased Coote’s signature, according to reports.
Coote is the latest Cowboys star to re-sign with the club yet to lose a major plank of their 2015 premiership-winning team.
Prop James Tamou is reportedly the Cowboys’ next priority re-signing.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/la...e/news-story/e384ac6b2cb42f79343171276222ad04

THat's cheap

no doubt that reported 2.4 million is bullshit, much like most media articles

Dibs

Yep, but if I was his manager I would be telling him, to worry about playing some good footy, pick a club with a good squad/coach and sign for 3 years rather then worrying about the size of his contract. As if he stays with tigers his next contract could be in the UK for f**k all and his career will be over.

The kid can play but I doubt staying at the Tigers will give him opportunity to develop to his full potential.

Well you would be the first manager in history I reckon to tell a client to take the smaller offer

IFR33K

Norman at 800k for 3/4 years will be an absolute steal. Should be at his peak and is currently in career best form. It's up to us to lose him....