Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

We often only have one 'prop'. Most of our go forward comes from Ma'u and Edwards (and Radradra in our own half) anyway.

Yeah I get that. But we still have about 160 prop mins every week. So we still play two props who aren't Moeroa for almost the whole game. And then Brown and Scott cover lock....so where does Tepai actually play?

It's like one of those mystery novels, in that I'll get all curious about it but then lose interest in about 15 mins....

Guth on the wing is an absolute waste.
He is good under the high ball, and has decent go forward. I agree his defence and workrate would be wasted but he would at least do a solid job on the wing. And Takairangi does seem to be a key personality in our team. I reckon Arthur's loves him.

Yeah I get that. But we still have about 160 prop mins every week. So we still play two props who aren't Moeroa for almost the whole game. And then Brown and Scott cover lock....so where does Tepai actually play?

It's like one of those mystery novels, in that I'll get all curious about it but then lose interest in about 15 mins....
I think you're making a false distinction between props and locks. We have 240 middle forward minutes, with differing runs/minute and tackles/minute output (and different numbers of minutes) from the cast of characters we use in the middle.

If you really want to know which two are the 'props' have a look at which two get back to receive kick offs and drop outs. The third one stands up front, ten metres away from the halfway line. Moeroa makes a kick return most weeks, and sometimes Brown does too. The only one who never does is Beau Scott.

Bazal a mate watched NZ game 3 times. He said you would be suprised how many times someone was just about through and Alvaro got him. He also said but he runs like a pussy and get belted.

I think you're making a false distinction between props and locks. We have 240 middle forward minutes, with differing runs/minute and tackles/minute output (and different numbers of minutes) from the cast of characters we use in the middle.

If you really want to know which two are the 'props' have a look at which two get back to receive kick offs and drop outs. The third one stands up front, ten metres away from the halfway line. Moeroa makes a kick return most weeks, and sometimes Brown does too. The only one who never does is Beau Scott.

Well I was making the distinction between prop minutes and lock minutes more than the actual positions tbh....

We've got (roughly) Mannah at 40 mins, Matagi at 40 mins, Vave at 30 and Alvaro at less than I thought at about 35. So maybe that's where I missed Tepai.

Obscene Assassin

Bazal a mate watched NZ game 3 times. He said you would be suprised how many times someone was just about through and Alvaro got him. He also said but he runs like a pussy and get belted.

Maybe if he was a lazy merkin in defence he could start running "harder"? That way he can make 200m a game and be praised by some as an elite prop. We'll probably start losing games eventually but hey who cares? We'd have an elite prop.

Glenneel

I'm not looking for an argument. I'm not Pou, thankfully. And it's not crap simply because it goes against your opinion.

But you and all fans have to accept that sometimes footy sides get belted. It's a fact. Even the top teams get thrashed. Sometimes it even happens 40-0 in a grand final whilst cheating the cap....

And also Tetevano is a shit human who shouldn't be allowed to play NRL footy.
Yes teams cop a hiding sometimes but I want to hear all the supporters yell in anger not just accept it by saying it happens occasionally, or in Parra's case far too often.

I don't know Tetevano's history so what did he do? I was just suggesting him based on how he plays

RazorRam0n

Lumping locks as middle forwards is ignorant.

2 good examples are taumololo and McGuire, as locks the expectation is on them to have sufficient footwork and ball playing ability to offer variation typically in middle set possessions eg taumololo passing out the back like an extra five eighth more times than he carts up. McGuire purposely lost weight this season to take on that role. Qld won't consider him up front despite their dire front row situation right now. He expects to be able to play 3rd or 4th ruck after the bigger more one dimensional forwards lay a platform expecting the defensive line moving back

Glenneel

I'm not sure cubs were falling over themselves to sign Fogarty. If they were he would surely have been in the top 25 (and maybe he was but I seriously doubt it). NRL recruiters are aware of what to look for, and they all would have known Fogarty was a small chance of making it. That's why he was uncontracted (to an NRL club) for all of 2016.

Then again, other players have been only contracted to ISC clubs and gone on to make an impact in the NRL, including Kenny Edwards and Cody Walker. As for DCE, he was contracted to Manly while carving up the QLD Cup. Everyone knew he was a good chance of becoming a first grader ever since he played in the NYC.
Think Edwards was contracted to Roosters and played up once too often, doesn't sound like KE does it?, so was let go. Was recommended to RS while playing Qld Cup.
The Fog had potential but maybe Sydney was a city a little too big for him, plus the cost of living much higher than GC. Does need to work on his tackling but.

Glenneel

He has plenty of great moments, but geez he can have a brain explosion or two on occasion. Some of the passes he tries to get away sometimes are just ridiculously stupid.

I do think the good outweighs the bad though. He still needs to fix his defence though.
Yes but you can't say that about Beau Scott, his passes are always taken, sometimes even by our opponents.

Glenneel

Didn't Auva'a do the same? Should be jailed imo and when come out can resume playing.
Now Meehan, was a standover man for criminals and supposedly has learnt his lesson. Imo not as bad as those who hit their misses/gf's so what is the holdup re NRL?
Lodge supposed to be allowed to play NRL next year and he was amongst the worse of the lot so what gives there, other than will play for Broncos. They aren't one of the favoured teams are they? (tongue in cheek).

Joshuatheeel

Think Edwards was contracted to Roosters and played up once too often, doesn't sound like KE does it?, so was let go. Was recommended to RS while playing Qld Cup.
The Fog had potential but maybe Sydney was a city a little too big for him, plus the cost of living much higher than GC. Does need to work on his tackling but.

KE played 20's for Manly / dragons not the Roosters, and was "let go" by both sides.

Pretty sure he wasn't playing QLD cup but in the Gold Coast 1st grade comp when we signed him.

Didn't Auva'a do the same? Should be jailed imo and when come out can resume playing.

What Auva'a did was bad, but was not in the same ballpark as Tetevano's offense.

Auva'a pleaded guilty to recklessly causing serious injury and criminal damage on a single occasion.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-11-13/auvaa-suspended-from-nrl-indefinitely/5889662

Tetevano's case involved assaults on several different occasions over a period of months and including punching and kicking (see article linked) in earllier post.

Lumping locks as middle forwards is ignorant.

2 good examples are taumololo and McGuire, as locks the expectation is on them to have sufficient footwork and ball playing ability to offer variation typically in middle set possessions eg taumololo passing out the back like an extra five eighth more times than he carts up. McGuire purposely lost weight this season to take on that role. Qld won't consider him up front despite their dire front row situation right now. He expects to be able to play 3rd or 4th ruck after the bigger more one dimensional forwards lay a platform expecting the defensive line moving back
My point is you don't need two blokes on the field taking that first run against a set defensive line. In fact there are hardly any sets where all three middle forwards carry the ball, so why choose all three based on their attacking ability? Most middle forwards are in the team for their defence.