Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Compared to some other props which we all know sterlo is refering to our pack is average.

Mannah and Alvaro. Will any be talked about for origin?

Look at some others. Not all but most are a better pairing imo.
Tamou,Rcg
Jwh ,Napa
Klemmer,Woods
Graheme,vaughn
Jnr, Boyd
Browmich,Glasby
M.Scott,Mclean
Burges x 2
Fafita,Prior
Latu,Wallace
Packer,Mautilino

Id rank our props between 11- 14. I think our strength is we have 6 props as good as each other. But our best 2 arent as good as most other teams. Once they go to their reserve 3-6 props id say we rank top 3 compared to our props ranked 3-6.

So Balmain Leagues Club is being compulsorily acquired ?

https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw...-site-for-harbour-tunnel-20180301-p4z29l.html

Is Denis Denuto still about ?

Beat up. The basket weavers in Balmain dont want the Westconnex. FFS drive through Drummoyne to Balmain and it’s death by a thousand cuts.

The acquisition is temporary access to dig the tunnel and then RMS will flog the site.

I would have thought that the tunnel haters would have some foresight and embrace the return of the Rozelle Balmain precinct into the wonderful village that it was, less 50% of the through traffic.

Yes Balmain LC was to return in the new development, but let’s face it, the 2018 locals are not the type to bother going to a pokie palace. Every pub in the area have pokies or they can go to the casino literally 2km away if they want glam surroundings.

Id rank our props between 11- 14. I think our strength is we have 6 props as good as each other. But our best 2 arent as good as most other teams. Once they go to their reserve 3-6 props id say we rank top 3 compared to our props ranked 3-6.
FFS, do i have to give you a Pou lesson in modern NRL?

The 2 guys that start the game in #8 and #10 are NOT necessarily your best 2 middle forwards

Teams have 3 starting middle fowards, including the guy given #13 - and he can be just as influential as the guys wearing 8 and 10 ... we have Nathan Brown who is very much rep quality

Then there are the bench players who often play more minutes than the 2 guys in 8 and 10 ... you want your 8 and 10 to be reliable defenders cos if you let in points early you are often f**ked

Joshuatheeel

I reckon Evans will be starting by round 10, I can see him having a big year.

Do we want to waste him by starting ?

I see Alvaro / Mannah as good save options to start with. Good defensively and while they won't break the line often they work hard offensively. The first 20 mins is normally more defensive.

Would rather Evan come on after 20 when the game opens up a bit and Alvaro / Mannah have done the hard work.

Joshuatheeel

f**k, why is everyone under rating out props (and forwards)!!

They were fine last year !! They got us to 4th last year!! We have added Evans and potential T-Rex to our middle forwards!!

Really how many games last year was our forward pack beaten ? Apart from the roosters game they pretty much did the job every week.

Most of our losses weren't from our pack losing the battle but from errors / poor completion rates.

I see Alvaro / Mannah as good save options to start with. Good defensively and while they won't break the line often they work hard offensively. The first 20 mins is normally more defensive.

Would rather Evan come on after 20 when the game opens up a bit and Alvaro / Mannah have done the hard work.
Because they are both too similar IMO, you need that balance especially against some of the bigger packs.

And I think Evans will prove to be too good off the bench in the same way Brown has done.

emjaycee

Last time I looked this was a 13 man game and as long as your starting 13, assisted by their 4 interchange mates get out there and get the job done over the WHOLE 80 mins, who gives a rats where they rank against the rest of the comp?

Either improve our attack and/or tighten up our defence so we don't average 19 points per loss and win as many games as we did last year and there is nothing wrong with our pack. 4 of our 8 losses were against team we should have beaten and beaten well. That's where we need to improve.

Stevie

I'd like to see Evans start. I think he can set the tone with some fire the first 20 and really rattle the teeth out of a few alongside Browny.

f**k I am getting excited already!

The blokes on the bench aren’t reserves FFS!