Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Joshuatheeel

I believe that we will lose tomorrow. The Tigers defense will shut us out. The Tigers have a more savvy coach then us. That is already evident by how well he has recruited in one off season compared to the five by our coach. He also inherited a basket case of a club when he signed on, but it didn't take him that long at all to attract the right type of players to his club to change their attitude.

I have said it before, in the salary cap era it should only take a decent coach/recruiter one to two years to create a good roster. I know we had our issues due to the previous management team, but boy were we cheating/paying overs for a long time for some real crappy players. Anyway some of it was BA and some of it not, but his inability to address our forward issues quickly(in one off season) has led us to this point.

Sure he doesn't want to pay big bucks, but that's to bad for him, the team and ultimately us the fans who make the team and his job possible. The more I think about it and watch other teams in the comp play the more bleeding obvious it is that he has failed big time in recruiting to our club what is the foundation of any team that wants to win the big end of season games.

He has done well only with the halves, well in bringing Moses back anyway. But to constantly overlook the frontrow, is coaching suicide. The game has never really changed from the very old adage that forwards win you games and the backs dictate by how much.

We are lacking massively in the frontrow. The only real class forward we have is Brown. from there it really goes down hill as far as genuine game breakers. Sure there are a few quality workers like Mannah and Alvaro and I like Edwards for his enthusiasm and up tempo approach coming off the bench which is always a necessary thing that a bench player should possess coming on. But the rest, well who really cares. Now don't get me wrong, Mannah and Alvaro, are not the answer to our engine room woes, but should only be a part of a bigger and more destructive running duo that we bring to the club.

Then having those two worker type of frontrowers makes sense and they shouldn't cost a fortune being tradesmen types. But size, power and muscle up front is what it is all about. Then our halves will have the freedom to play their natural and talented game. Look at the Warriors yesterday. That pack obliterated the Chooks. Why, because as good as their starting pack is, they don't have the go forward of the dynamic pack that is the Warriors and a good to solid half in Blake Green thrived and looked like a SOO player. People will say that maybe the Chooks did it to themselves with all that dropped ball. Yes maybe they did, but if you look closely, you will see that it was the intensity of the Warriors pack that helped in creating those errors.

Last year even when we were going well, we couldn't really put teams away or backup, back to back to back quality performances. Some games we would look tired or lacking enthusiasm, until someone like Semi would turn it for us. That is because our boys were trying their collective guts out last year, but being on the smaller side, would really struggle to play with the same ferocity week in week out. This year we have no Semi.

When was the last time that we had a powerful frontrower that consistently came on and made space by breaking up structured defense. Junior and before him Fui. Well that just isn't good enough BA. Now there are quite a few gorillas off contract this year, lets see what BA does from here. But if he can't bring at least two major scalps to our club, he hasn't got what it takes to win a premiership. Which is the best coaches are the best recruiters.

Also, don't get me started on our backrowers, this year. Or should I say our non-existent backrowers. Do we even have backrowers???

Seriously!! How the f**k did cleary inherit a basket case? Are you really that bias against BA and the eels?

FFS, tigers finished 9th in 2016 missing the 8, by 1 point.

BA inherited a side that finished last the previous 2 years!! Along with a club with a shit load of infighting!!

BA had half an offseason to get us ready for 2014 while Cleary had 6 months or more, before the offseason even started.

Only an idiot would compared us to a side like the tigers after 3 rounds!!

FFS warriors? I bet you put shit on Kearney the whole time he was here, but now he is a genius!!

Look at your f**ken post, even putting shit on the eels when we were winning last year!

Ha ha FFS, you want BA gone if he doesn't recruit a prop or 2? The season isn't even over!! f**k you had a hard on over the Cowboys recruiting McLean and look how good they are going!!

Chipmunk

Who in the roosters top 17 do you think isn’t a first grader?

From yesterday's team, Robinson, Manu, Radley. Maybe Tetevano too.

Tetevano was always picked in the 17 ahead of Evans all last year, so essentially you're saying that maybe Evans isn't a first grader.

The Roosters have fair raps on Manu.

I'd say Matterson would struggle to make plenty of other NRL teams.

Well after their excellent efforts the last 3 weeks they did deserve some leeway.
Sounds more like they've been getting more freedom this year which has led to the 0 and 3 start. Like he said in the pre-season, okay merkins, you finished top four so now you can take some ownership of your training sessions like the Storm and Sea Eagles (under Toovey).

But it didn't work.

Sounds more like they've been getting more freedom this year which has led to the 0 and 3 start. Like he said in the pre-season, okay merkins, you finished top four so now you can take some ownership of your training sessions like the Storm and Sea Eagles (under Toovey).

But it didn't work.
Yep it's all the players fault, it could never be the coaches he doesn't make mistakes because he is in a much better to make decisions than anybody else......

Tetevano was always picked in the 17 ahead of Evans all last year, so essentially you're saying that maybe Evans isn't a first grader.
Tetevano is a defensive player though, like Mannah and Alvaro. Evans is an attacking forward, and found himself behind Taukeiaho in that pecking order - the one time he found himself in the starting lineup was when Taukeiaho had to play out wide. In that game the starting middle forwards had these numbers:

JWH: 10 runs, 36 attempted tackles
Tetevano: 10 runs, 28 attempted tackles
Evans: 12 runs, 17 attempted tackles

You don't need a middle full of attacking forwards. Most of them just need to be workers.

Chipmunk

Tetevano is a defensive player though, like Mannah and Alvaro. Evans is an attacking forward, and found himself behind Taukeiaho in that pecking order - the one time he found himself in the starting lineup was when Taukeiaho had to play out wide.

You don't need a middle full of attacking forwards. Most of them just need to be workers.

You loved Evans defensive game before he got here though and defended like a muppet.

Joshuatheeel

BA is loyal. He has the side he wanted now so lets see what he does. I hope he shines but loyalty may cost him his job. Time will tell, and oh its all very exciting.

This BA loyal stuff is crap!! FFS, he moved French to wing and Hayne to fullback, dropped Kenny for the first week, Matagi last week, king this week, T-Rex has jumped over several players !! And that's just in the first 4 weeks!!

BA has no problems with making changes!

The Roosters have fair raps on Manu.

I'd say Matterson would struggle to make plenty of other NRL teams.
Well they are taking a risk on Manu, hoping he becomes the projected first grader they need. He is certainly still young enough to show a lot of improvement during the year. he is only a couple of months younger than Bevan French.

Matterson is only just a first grader, but a first grader nonetheless, IMO.

TheRam

Three Origin games doesn't make a middle forward worth half a million dollars FFS! Plus he signed his current contract before he ever played Origin. He would be on $350k tops, but I suspect $300k or less under the cap.

Pou how much do you recon we sighed Evens for?

Sorry it doesn't fit into your narrative of the coach is always right and she'll be right mate. Not so well done.
It's nothing to do with the coach always being right. It's the fact that the coach is assessing risk, and has more information than any of us. You claiming to know better than him whenever we lose is no different from some muppet saying I TOLD YOU SO whenever some outsider wins a horse race.

Chipmunk

Well they are taking a risk on Manu, hoping he becomes the projected first grader they need. He is certainly still young enough to show a lot of improvement during the year. he is only a couple of months younger than Bevan French.

Matterson is only just a first grader, but a first grader nonetheless, IMO.

You could use the exact paragraph but exchange French for Manu and you would accurately describe French.

You could replace Matterson with Matagi, Gower, King, Pritchard and a few others and it would be an accurate description of those players.

TheRam

That's because you're fooled by media hype after a couple of big hits. I dare say you think the recent hype over a couple of Tevita Pangai Jr highlights means he is worth $500k as well. Most clubs are smarter than that. Hopefully we are too. The Roosters and Broncos certainly are.

Well they certainly seem to have pulled the wool over your eyes.

Yep it's all the players fault, it could never be the coaches he doesn't make mistakes because he is in a much better to make decisions than anybody else......
Nah a bunch of slobs on the internet have a better idea of how to pick a team than some bloke who gets paid to do it. How is Canberra's huge pack going this year? Or the Dogs or the Cowboys?